使用短期查詢加速 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

使用短期查詢加速

短期查詢加速 (SQA) 可排定讓短期執行的查詢優先於長期執行的查詢。SQA 會在專用空間中執行短期查詢,所以 SQA 查詢不會被迫在佇列中排在長期查詢後面等待。SQA 只優先處理短期執行且位於使用者定義佇列中的查詢。SQA 可讓短期執行的查詢更快開始執行,使用者會更快看到結果。

如果啟用 SQA,您可以減少或去除短期查詢執行專用的工作負載管理 (WLM) 佇列。此外,長期執行的查詢不需要與短期查詢爭奪佇列中的槽,因此,您可以將 WLM 佇列設定為使用較少的查詢槽。使用較低的並行性時,就大部分工作負載而言,查詢傳輸量會增加,且整體系統效能會改善。

CREATE TABLE AS (CTAS) 陳述式和唯讀查詢 (例如 SELECT 陳述式) 符合 SQA 的資格。

Amazon Redshift 使用機器學習算法來分析每個合格查詢,並預測查詢的執行時間。根據預設,WLM 會根據叢集工作負載的分析結果,動態指派 SQA 最長執行時間的值。或者,您可以指定固定值 1—20 秒。在某些情況下,查詢的預期執行時間可能比已定義的 SQA 最長執行時間更短。在這些情況下,查詢需要在佇列中等待。在此,SQA 會使查詢脫離 WLM 佇列,並排定為優先執行。如果查詢執行的時間比 SQA 最長執行時間還久,WLM 會根據 WLM 佇列指派規則,將查詢移至第一個相符的 WLM 佇列。隨著 SQA 從查詢模式中學習一段時間,預測會越準確。

根據預設,SQA 在預設參數群組中會啟用,且適用於所有新的參數群組。若要在 Amazon Redshift 主控台停用 SQA,請編輯參數叢集的 WLM 組態,並取消選取啟用短期查詢加速。在最佳作法上,建議使用的 WLM 查詢槽計數為 15 或更少,以維持最佳的整體系統效能。如需修改 WLM 組態的相關資訊,請參設定工作負載管理中的Amazon Redshift 叢集管理指南

短期查詢最長執行時間

啟用 SQA 時,根據預設,WLM 會將短期查詢的最長執行時間設為動態。建議維持 SQA 最長執行時間的動態設定。您可以指定固定值 1—20 秒以覆寫預設設定。

在某些情況下,您可能考慮針對 SQA 最長執行時間值使用不同的值,以改善系統效能。在此情況下,請分析工作負載,以找出大部分短期執行查詢的最長執行時間。下列查詢傳回第 70 個百分位數附近之查詢的最長執行時間。

select least(greatest(percentile_cont(0.7) within group (order by total_exec_time / 1000000) + 2, 2), 20) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 and final_state = 'Completed';

決定適合工作負載的最長執行時間值之後,就不需要變更,除非工作負載大幅改變。

監控 SQA

若要檢查是否已啟用 SQA,請執行下列查詢。如果查詢傳回一列,表示 SQA 已啟用。

select * from stv_wlm_service_class_config where service_class = 14;

下列查詢顯示通過每個查詢佇列 (服務類別) 的查詢數。也顯示平均執行時間、第 90 個百分位數的查詢數和等待時間,以及平均等待時間。SQA 查詢使用服務類別 14。

select final_state, service_class, count(*), avg(total_exec_time), percentile_cont(0.9) within group (order by total_queue_time), avg(total_queue_time) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 group by 1,2 order by 2,1;

若要找出哪些查詢由 SQA 挑出且成功完成,請執行下列查詢。

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class = 14 and a.final_state = 'Completed' order by b.query desc limit 5;

若要找出由 SQA 挑出但逾時的查詢,請執行下列查詢。

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class = 14 and a.final_state = 'Evicted' order by b.query desc limit 5;

Menu
Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Short Query Acceleration

Short query acceleration (SQA) prioritizes selected short-running queries ahead of longer-running queries. SQA executes short-running queries in a dedicated space, so that SQA queries aren't forced to wait in queues behind longer queries. With SQA, short-running queries begin executing more quickly and users see results sooner.

If you enable SQA, you can reduce or eliminate WLM queues that are dedicated to running short queries. In addition, long-running queries don't need to contend with short queries for slots in a queue, so you can configure your WLM queues to use fewer query slots. When you use lower concurrency, query throughput is increased and overall system performance is improved for most workloads.

CREATE TABLE AS (CTAS) statements and read-only queries, such as SELECT statements, are eligible for SQA. Amazon Redshift uses a machine learning algorithm to analyze each eligible query and predict the query's execution time. If the query's predicted execution time is less than the defined SQA maximum run time, then SQA separates the query from the WLM queues and schedules it for priority execution. If a query runs longer than the SQA maximum run time, WLM moves the query to the first matching WLM queue based on the WLM queue assignment rules. Over time, predictions improve as SQA learns from your query patterns.

To enable SQA in the AWS console, edit the WLM configuration for a parameter group and choose Enable short query acceleration. When you enable SQA, your total WLM query slot count, or concurrency, across all user-defined queues must be 15 or fewer. If you enable SQA using the AWS CLI or the Amazon Redshift API, the slot count limitation is not enforced. As a best practice, we recommend using a WLM query slot count of 15 or fewer to maintain optimum overall system performance. For information about modifying WLM configurations, see Configuring Workload Management in the Amazon Redshift Cluster Management Guide

Maximum Run Time for Short Queries

When you enable SQA, you can specify a maximum run time for short queries between 1 and 20 seconds. The default value of 5 seconds works well for most use cases.

If you think using different SQA maximum run time values might improve your system performance, analyze your workflow to find the maximum execution time for most of your short-running queries. The following query returns the maximum run time for queries at about the 70th percentile.

select least(greatest(percentile_cont(0.7) within group (order by total_exec_time / 1000000) + 2, 2), 20) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 and final_state = 'Completed';

After you identify a maximum run time value that works well for your workload, you don't need to change it unless your workload changes significantly.

Monitoring SQA

To check whether SQA is enabled, run the following query. If the query returns a row, then SQA is enabled.

select * from stv_wlm_service_class_config where service_class = 14;

The following query shows the number of queries that went through each query queue (service class), along with average execution time, the number of queries with wait time at the 90th percentile, and the average wait time. SQA queries use service class 14.

select final_state, service_class, count(*), avg(total_exec_time), percentile_cont(0.9) within group (order by total_queue_time), avg(total_queue_time) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 group by 1,2 order by 2,1;

To find which queries were picked up by SQA and completed successfully, run the following query.

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class = 14 and a.final_state = 'Completed' order by b.query desc limit 5;

To find queries that were picked up by SQA but timed out, run the following query.

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class = 14 and a.final_state = 'Evicted' order by b.query desc limit 5;