AWS Guide for .NET Developers

Types of Cloud Computing

Cloud computing provides a simple way to access servers, storage, databases, and a broad set of application services over the internet. A cloud services platform such as Amazon Web Services owns and maintains the network-connected hardware required for these application services. You provision and use what you need via a web application, command-line tool, or SDK.

There are three main models for cloud computing. Each model represents a different part of the cloud computing stack, as follows:

  • Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS)

  • Platform as a Service (PaaS)

  • Software as a Service (SaaS)

Infrastructure as a Service

Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) contains the basic building blocks for cloud IT. Typically, it provides access to networking features, computers (virtual or on dedicated hardware), and data storage space.

As a .NET developer, you might use IaaS to host an ASP.NET website, set up and tear down test or development environments, deploy high-performance computing apps, and take advantage of networking and security resources.

Platform as a Service

Platform as a Service (PaaS) removes the need for organizations to manage the underlying infrastructure (usually hardware and operating systems). PaaS enables you to focus on the deployment and management of your applications. This helps you be more efficient, because you don't need to worry about resource procurement, capacity planning, software maintenance, patching, or any of the other undifferentiated heavy lifting involved in running your application.

Software as a Service

Software as a Service (SaaS) provides you with a completed product that the service provider runs and manages. In most cases, people referring to SaaS are referring to end-user applications. As a .NET developer, you might write an application or integrate with an application provided as a service.