Deletes the queue specified by the queue URL, regardless of whether the queue is empty.
- request (DeleteQueueRequest)
- Delete Queue request
If the specified queue does not exist, SQS returns a successful response. Use DeleteQueue with care; once you delete your queue, any messages in the queue are no longer available.
When you delete a queue, the deletion process takes up to 60 seconds. Requests you send involving that queue during the 60 seconds might succeed. For example, a SendMessage request might succeed, but after the 60 seconds, the queue and that message you sent no longer exist. Also, when you delete a queue, you must wait at least 60 seconds before creating a queue with the same name.
We reserve the right to delete queues that have had no activity for more than 30 days.