管理 Storage Gateway 的本地磁盘 - AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon S3 文件网关文档已移至什么是 Amazon S3 文件网关?

Amazon FSx 文件网关文档已移至什么是 Amazon FSx 文件网关?

磁带网关文档已移至什么是磁带网关?

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

管理 Storage Gateway 的本地磁盘

网关虚拟机 (VM) 使用您在本地分配的本地磁盘进行缓冲和存储。在 Amazon EC2 实例上创建的网关使用 Amazon EBS 卷作为本地磁盘。

确定本地磁盘存储量

要为网关分配的磁盘的数量和大小由您自己决定。根据您部署的存储解决方案 (请参阅 规划 Storage Gateway 部署),网关需要以下附加存储:

  • 卷网关:

    • 存储网关至少需要一个磁盘用作上传缓冲区。

    • 缓存网关至少需要两个磁盘。一个用作缓存,另一个用作上传缓冲区。

下表为所部署的网关推荐了本地磁盘存储的大小。在设置网关后以及工作负载需求增大时,您可以添加更多本地存储。

本地存储 描述
上传缓冲区 上传缓冲区在网关将数据上传到 Amazon S3 之前为数据提供了一个暂存区域。您的网关通过加密的安全套接字层 (SSL) 连接将此缓冲区数据上传到 AWS。
缓存存储空间 缓存存储空间用作等待从上传缓冲区上传到 Amazon S3 的数据的本地持久存储。当应用程序对卷或磁带执行 I/O 时,网关会将数据保存到缓存存储以实现低延迟访问。当您的应用程序请求卷或磁带中的数据时,网关在从 AWS下载数据前会先检查缓存存储中的数据。
注意

预置磁盘时,强烈建议您不要将本地磁盘预置为使用相同物理存储资源(同一磁盘)的上传缓冲区和缓存存储空间。底层物理存储资源在 VMware 中表示为数据存储。部署网关 VM 时,您可选择用来存储 VM 文件的数据存储。预配置本地磁盘 (例如,用作缓存存储空间或上传缓冲区) 时,您可以选择将虚拟磁盘存储在与 VM 相同的数据存储中,也可以选择将其存储在其他数据存储中。

如果您有多个数据存储,强烈建议为缓存存储空间选择一个数据存储,为上传缓冲区选择另一个数据存储。仅由一个底层物理磁盘支持的数据存储在用于同时支持缓存存储空间和上传缓冲区的某些情况下可能导致性能不佳。这同样适用于备份是一个 RAID1 等低性能 RAID 配置的情况。

最初配置并部署网关后,您可以通过添加或删除用于上传缓冲区的磁盘来调整本地存储。还可以添加用于缓存存储空间的磁盘。

确定要分配的上传缓冲区的大小

您可以利用上传缓冲区公式来确定要分配的上传缓冲区的大小。我们强烈建议您至少分配 150 GiB 的上传缓冲区。如果公式返回小于 150 GiB 的值,请将 150 GiB 用作您分配给上传缓冲区的空间量。您可以为每个网关配置高达 2TiB 的上传缓冲区容量。

注意

对于卷网关,当上传缓冲区达到其容量后,您的卷将进入“传递”状态。在此状态下,您的应用程序写入的新数据会保存在本地,但不会 AWS 立即上传到。因此,您不能拍摄新快照。当上传缓冲区容量释放时,该卷将进入“BOOTSTRAPPING”(引导) 状态。在此状态下,任何保留在本地的新数据都将上传到。 AWS最后,该卷恢复为“活动”状态。然后,Storage Gateway 会恢复本地存储的数据与存储在中的副本的正常同步 AWS,然后您就可以开始拍摄新快照了。有关卷状态的更多信息,请参阅 了解卷状态和转换

若要估算要分配的上传缓冲区的容量,您可以确定所需的传入和传出数据速率,并将它们插入到以下公式。

传入数据的速率

此速率指应用程序吞吐量,亦即您的本地应用程序在某段时间内将数据写入网关的速率。

传出数据的速率

此速率指网络吞吐量,亦即您的网关将数据上传到 AWS时可达到的速率。此速率取决于您的网络速度、使用率以及您是否激活了带宽限制。该速率应该针对压缩率进行调整。将数据上传到时 AWS,网关会尽可能应用数据压缩。例如,如果您的应用程序数据为纯文本,您可以获得约 2:1 的有效压缩率。不过,如果您正在写入视频,网关可能无法实现任何数据压缩,并且可能需要更多的网关上传缓冲区。

如果满足以下任一条件,我们强烈建议您至少分配 150 GiB 的上传缓冲区空间:

  • 您的传入费率高于传出费率。

  • 公式返回一个小于 150 GiB 的值。

基于应用程序和网络吞吐量压缩和写入持续时间的上传缓冲区公式。

例如,假定您的业务应用程序每天 12 个小时以每秒 40 MB 的速率向网关写入文本数据并且您的网络吞吐量为每秒 12 MB。假定文本数据的压缩系数为 2:1,您将需要为上传缓冲区分配约 690 GiB 的空间。

((40 MB/sec) - (12 MB/sec * 2)) * (12 hours * 3600 seconds/hour) = 691200 megabytes

您可以将此近似值用来初步确定您希望分配给网关作为上传缓冲区空间的磁盘大小。使用 Storage Gateway 控制台按需添加更多的上传缓冲区空间。此外,您还可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 运营指标来监控上传缓冲区的使用情况并确定额外的存储需求。有关指标及设置警报的更多信息,请参阅 监控上传缓冲区

确定要分配的缓存存储的大小

您的网关使用其缓存存储来提供对最近访问数据的低延迟访问。缓存存储空间用作等待从上传缓冲区上传到 Amazon S3 的数据的本地持久存储。一般而言,将缓存存储空间的大小配置为上传缓冲区大小的 1.1 倍。有关如何估算缓存存储大小的更多信息,请参阅 确定要分配的上传缓冲区的大小

您可以将此近似值用来初步为缓存存储空间预配置磁盘。然后,您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 运营指标监控缓存存储空间使用情况,并使用控制台根据需要配置更多存储空间。有关使用指标和设置警报的信息,请参阅 监控缓存存储

配置额外的上传缓冲区和缓存存储

随着应用程序需求的变化,您可以增加网关的上传缓冲区容量或缓存存储容量。您可以在不中断功能或导致停机的情况下为网关添加存储容量。添加更多存储时,在开启网关 VM 的情况下添加。

重要

向现有网关添加缓存或上传缓冲区时,必须在网关主机虚拟机管理程序或 Amazon EC2 实例上创建新磁盘。请勿删除或更改已分配为缓存或上传缓冲区的现有磁盘的大小。

为网关配置额外的上传缓冲区或缓存存储
  1. 在您的网关主机管理程序或 Amazon EC2 实例上预配置一个或多个新磁盘。有关如何在管理程序中预配置磁盘的信息,请参阅管理程序的文档。有关为 Amazon EC2 实例预配置 Amazon EBS 卷的信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud 用户指南》中的 Amazon EBS 卷。在以下步骤中,将此磁盘配置为上传缓冲区或缓存存储。

  2. 打开 Storage Gateway 控制台,网址为 https://console.aws.amazon.com/storagegateway/home

  3. 在导航窗格中,选择 网关

  4. 搜索您的网关并从列表中选择它。

  5. 操作菜单中选择配置存储

  6. 配置存储部分,确定您预配置的磁盘。如果您未看到您的磁盘,请选择刷新图标来刷新列表。对于每个磁盘,从已分配给下拉菜单中选择上传缓冲区缓存存储

    注意

    上传缓冲区是在存储卷网关上分配磁盘的唯一可用选项。

  7. 选择保存更改来保存您的配置设置。

Managing local disks for your Storage Gateway - AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon S3 File Gateway documentation has been moved to What is Amazon S3 File Gateway?

Amazon FSx File Gateway documentation has been moved to What is Amazon FSx File Gateway?

Tape Gateway documentation has been moved to What is Tape Gateway?

Managing local disks for your Storage Gateway

The gateway virtual machine (VM) uses the local disks that you allocate on-premises for buffering and storage. Gateways created on Amazon EC2 instances use Amazon EBS volumes as local disks.

Deciding the amount of local disk storage

The number and size of disks that you want to allocate for your gateway is up to you. Depending on the storage solution you deploy (see Plan your Storage Gateway deployment), the gateway requires the following additional storage:

  • Volume Gateways:

    • Stored gateways require at least one disk to use as an upload buffer.

    • Cached gateways require at least two disks. One to use as a cache, and one to use as an upload buffer.

The following table recommends sizes for local disk storage for your deployed gateway. You can add more local storage later after you set up the gateway, and as your workload demands increase.

Local storage Description
Upload buffer The upload buffer provides a staging area for the data before the gateway uploads the data to Amazon S3. Your gateway uploads this buffer data over an encrypted Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) connection to AWS.
Cache storage The cache storage acts as the on-premises durable store for data that is pending upload to Amazon S3 from the upload buffer. When your application performs I/O on a volume or tape, the gateway saves the data to the cache storage for low-latency access. When your application requests data from a volume or tape, the gateway first checks the cache storage for the data before downloading the data from AWS.
Note

When you provision disks, we strongly recommend that you do not provision local disks for the upload buffer and cache storage if they use the same physical resource (the same disk). Underlying physical storage resources are represented as a data store in VMware. When you deploy the gateway VM, you choose a data store on which to store the VM files. When you provision a local disk (for example, to use as cache storage or upload buffer), you have the option to store the virtual disk in the same data store as the VM or a different data store.

If you have more than one data store, we strongly recommend that you choose one data store for the cache storage and another for the upload buffer. A data store that is backed by only one underlying physical disk can lead to poor performance in some situations when it is used to back both the cache storage and upload buffer. This is also true if the backup is a less-performant RAID configuration such as RAID1.

After the initial configuration and deployment of your gateway, you can adjust the local storage by adding or removing disks for an upload buffer. You can also add disks for cache storage.

Determining the size of upload buffer to allocate

You can determine the size of your upload buffer to allocate by using an upload buffer formula. We strongly recommend that you allocate at least 150 GiB of upload buffer. If the formula returns a value less than 150 GiB, use 150 GiB as the amount you allocate to the upload buffer. You can configure up to 2 TiB of upload buffer capacity for each gateway.

Note

For Volume Gateways, when the upload buffer reaches its capacity, your volume goes to PASS THROUGH status. In this status, new data that your application writes is persisted locally but not uploaded to AWS immediately. Thus, you cannot take new snapshots. When the upload buffer capacity frees up, the volume goes through BOOTSTRAPPING status. In this status, any new data that was persisted locally is uploaded to AWS. Finally, the volume returns to ACTIVE status. Storage Gateway then resumes normal synchronization of the data stored locally with the copy stored in AWS, and you can start taking new snapshots. For more information about volume status, see Understanding Volume Statuses and Transitions.

To estimate the amount of upload buffer to allocate, you can determine the expected incoming and outgoing data rates and plug them into the following formula.

Rate of incoming data

This rate refers to the application throughput, the rate at which your on-premises applications write data to your gateway over some period of time.

Rate of outgoing data

This rate refers to the network throughput, the rate at which your gateway is able to upload data to AWS. This rate depends on your network speed, utilization, and whether you've enabled bandwidth throttling. This rate should be adjusted for compression. When uploading data to AWS, the gateway applies data compression where possible. For example, if your application data is text-only, you might get an effective compression ratio of about 2:1. However, if you are writing videos, the gateway might not be able to achieve any data compression and might require more upload buffer for the gateway.

We strongly recommend that you allocate at least 150 GiB of upload buffer space if either of the following is true:

  • Your incoming rate is higher than the outgoing rate.

  • The formula returns a value less than 150 GiB.

For example, assume that your business applications write text data to your gateway at a rate of 40 MB per second for 12 hours per day and your network throughput is 12 MB per second. Assuming a compression factor of 2:1 for the text data, you would allocate approximately 690 GiB of space for the upload buffer.

((40 MB/sec) - (12 MB/sec * 2)) * (12 hours * 3600 seconds/hour) = 691200 megabytes

You can initially use this approximation to determine the disk size that you want to allocate to the gateway as upload buffer space. Add more upload buffer space as needed using the Storage Gateway console. Also, you can use the Amazon CloudWatch operational metrics to monitor upload buffer usage and determine additional storage requirements. For information on metrics and setting the alarms, see Monitoring the upload buffer.

Determining the size of cache storage to allocate

Your gateway uses its cache storage to provide low-latency access to your recently accessed data. The cache storage acts as the on-premises durable store for data that is pending upload to Amazon S3 from the upload buffer. Generally speaking, you size the cache storage at 1.1 times the upload buffer size. For more information about how to estimate your cache storage size, see Determining the size of upload buffer to allocate.

You can initially use this approximation to provision disks for the cache storage. You can then use Amazon CloudWatch operational metrics to monitor the cache storage usage and provision more storage as needed using the console. For information on using the metrics and setting up alarms, see Monitoring cache storage.

Configuring additional upload buffer or cache storage

As your application needs change, you can increase the gateway's upload buffer or cache storage capacity. You can add storage capacity to your gateway without interrupting functionality or causing downtime. When you add more storage, you do so with the gateway VM turned on.

Important

When adding cache or upload buffer to an existing gateway, you must create new disks on the gateway host hypervisor or Amazon EC2 instance. Do not remove or change the size of existing disks that have already been allocated as cache or upload buffer.

To configure additional upload buffer or cache storage for your gateway

  1. Provision one or more new disks on your gateway host hypervisor or Amazon EC2 instance. For information about how to provision a disk on a hypervisor, see your hypervisor's documentation. For information about provisioning Amazon EBS volumes for an Amazon EC2 instance, see Amazon EBS volumes in the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud User Guide for Linux Instances. In the following steps, you will configure this disk as upload buffer or cache storage.

  2. Open the Storage Gateway console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/storagegateway/home.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Gateways.

  4. Search for your gateway and select it from the list.

  5. From the Actions menu, choose Configure storage.

  6. In the Configure storage section, identify the disks you provisioned. If you don't see your disks, choose the refresh icon to refresh the list. For each disk, choose either UPLOAD BUFFER or CACHE STORAGE from the Allocated to drop-down menu.

    Note

    UPLOAD BUFFER is the only available option for allocating disks on Stored Volume Gateways.

  7. Choose Save changes to save your configuration settings.