演練: 使用資源資料同步來彙總清查資料 - AWS Systems Manager

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

演練: 使用資源資料同步來彙總清查資料

以下逐步教學會說明如何使用 AWS CLI 來建立資源資料同步組態。資源資料同步會自動將所有受管執行個體的清查資料移至中央 S3 儲存貯體。每當搜索到新的清查資料時,同步就會自動更新中央 S3 儲存貯體內的資料。同時,此逐步教學也會介紹如何使用 Amazon Athena 和 Amazon QuickSight 來查詢彙總資料,並予以分析。如需使用 Amazon EC2 主控台建立資源資料同步的相關資訊,請參閱設定庫存的資源資料同步

注意

此逐步教學涵蓋的資訊能協助您使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 加密同步作業。庫存並不會收集任何使用者專用、私有或敏感的資料,因此加密為選用功能。如需 AWS KMS 的詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Key Management Service Developer Guide

開始之前

請先收集來自受管執行個體的清查中繼資料,再開始進行此演練。為了完成此逐步教學中的 Amazon Athena 和 Amazon QuickSight 小節,建議您收集應用程式中繼資料。如需如何收集清查中繼資料的詳細資訊,請參閱 演練: 使用 CLI 設定受管執行個體以進行清查

(選用) 若您想使用 AWS KMS 加密同步作業,請建立包含以下政策的新金鑰,或是更新現有金鑰並新增這項政策。

{ "Version":"2012-10-17", "Id":"ssm-access-policy", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"ssm-access-policy-statement", "Action":[ "kms:GenerateDataKey" ], "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Resource":"arn:aws:kms:region:AWS-account-ID:key/KMS-key-id" } ] }

建立庫存的資源資料同步

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/ 開啟 Amazon S3 主控台。

  2. 建立儲存貯體以存放您的彙整清查資料。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Simple Storage Service 入門指南中的建立儲存貯體。請記下儲存貯體名稱以及您建立的所在 AWS 區域。

  3. 建立儲存貯體後,請選擇 Permissions (許可) 索引標籤,接著選擇 Bucket Policy (儲存貯體政策)

  4. 複製下列儲存貯體政策並貼至政策編輯器。取代 DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKETaccount-id 使用您建立的 S3 儲存貯體名稱和有效的 AWS 帳號 ID。或者,取代 bucket-prefix 取代為 Amazon S3 字首的名稱 (子系)。如果您未建立字首,請移除 bucket-prefix/ 來自政策中的 ARN。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "SSMBucketPermissionsCheck", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "s3:GetBucketAcl", "Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET" }, { "Sid": " SSMBucketDelivery", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "s3:PutObject", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/*/accountid=account-id/*"], "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "s3:x-amz-acl": "bucket-owner-full-control" } } } ] }
  5. (選用) 您必須將以下政策新增至儲存貯體,才能加密同步作業。請重複先前步驟,即可新增以下政策至儲存貯體。

    { "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Action":"s3:PutObject", "Resource":"arn:aws:s3:::DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/*/accountid=*/*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "s3:x-amz-server-side-encryption":"aws:kms", "s3:x-amz-server-side-encryption-aws-kms-key-id":"arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID" } } } ] }
  6. 如果您尚未安裝並設定 AWS CLI,請進行相應的作業。

    如需資訊,請參閱 安裝或升級 AWS 命令列工具

  7. (選用) 若您要加密同步作業,請執行下列命令,藉此驗證儲存貯體政策是否強制執行 KMS 金鑰需求。

    Linux
    aws s3 cp ./A_file_in_the_bucket s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/ \ --sse aws:kms \ --sse-kms-key-id "arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_id" \ --region region, for example, us-east-2
    Windows
    aws s3 cp ./A_file_in_the_bucket s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/ ^ --sse aws:kms ^ --sse-kms-key-id "arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_id" ^ --region region, for example, us-east-2
  8. 請執行下列命令,以您在此程序開頭建立的 S3 儲存貯體,建立資源資料同步組態。此命令會從您目前登入的 AWS 區域建立同步。

    注意

    如果同步與目標 S3 儲存貯體位於不同區域,您可能需要支付資料傳輸費用。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon S3 定價

    Linux
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name a_name \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=bucket_region"
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name a_name ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=bucket_region"

    您可以透過 region 參數,指定應建立同步組態的位置。在以下範例中,系統會將來自 us-west-1 區域的清查資料同步至 us-west-2 區域內的 S3 儲存貯體。

    Linux
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name InventoryDataWest \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=HybridEnv,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=us-west-2" --region us-west-1
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name InventoryDataWest ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=HybridEnv,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=us-west-2" ^ --region us-west-1

    (選用) 您能夠執行下列命令以建立同步,即可使用 AWS KMS 加密同步作業。如果您選擇加密同步作業,則 AWS KMS 金鑰與 S3 儲存貯體必須位於相同區域。

    Linux
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name sync_name \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,AWSKMSKeyARN=arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID,Region=bucket_region" \ --region region
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name sync_name ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,AWSKMSKeyARN=arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID,Region=bucket_region" ^ --region region
  9. 執行下列命令,藉此檢視同步組態狀態。

    aws ssm list-resource-data-sync

    若您在不同區域中建立同步組態,請務必指定 region 參數,如下方範例所示。

    aws ssm list-resource-data-sync --region us-west-1
  10. 成功建立同步組態後,請瀏覽 Amazon S3 中的目標儲存貯體。庫存資料應該會在幾分鐘內出現。

使用 中的資料 Amazon Athena

下節會介紹在 Amazon Athena 中檢視及查詢資料的方法。開始操作前,建議您了解 Athena。如需詳細資訊,請查看的Amazon Athena何謂 ?使用資料。Amazon Athena 使用者指南

在 Amazon Athena 中檢視及查詢資料

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/athena/ 開啟 Athena 主控台。

  2. 複製下列陳述式並貼至查詢編輯器,然後選擇 Run Query (執行查詢)

    CREATE DATABASE ssminventory

    系統會建立名為 ssminventory 的資料庫。

  3. 複製下列陳述式並貼至查詢編輯器,然後選擇 Run Query (執行查詢)。取代 DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKETbucket_prefix 取代為 Amazon S3 目標的名稱和字首。

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_Application ( Name string, ApplicationType string, Publisher string, Version string, InstalledTime string, Architecture string, URL string, Summary string, PackageId string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket_prefix/AWS:Application/'
  4. 複製下列陳述式並貼至查詢編輯器,然後選擇 Run Query (執行查詢)

    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_Application

    系統將分割資料表。

    注意

    如果您是從其他 AWS 區域或帳戶建立資源資料同步,便需要重新執行此命令,才能更新分割區。另外,您可能也需要更新 S3 儲存貯體政策。

  5. 選擇 AWS_Application 資料表旁的檢視圖示,即可預覽資料。

    
                            alt-text
  6. 複製下列陳述式並貼至查詢編輯器,然後選擇 Run Query (執行查詢)

    SELECT a.name, a.version, count( a.version) frequency from aws_application a where a.name = 'aws-cfn-bootstrap' group by a.name, a.version order by frequency desc

    查詢會傳回不同版本 aws-cfn-bootstrap 的計數,這是在 Linux 和 Windows Server 的 EC2 執行個體上出現的 AWS 應用程式。

  7. 單獨複製以下陳述式並貼到查詢編輯器中,取代 DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKETbucket-prefix 連同 Amazon S3 的資訊,然後選擇 Run Query (執行查詢)。這些陳述式能夠設定 Athena 中的其他清查資料表。

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_AWSComponent ( `ResourceId` string, `Name` string, `ApplicationType` string, `Publisher` string, `Version` string, `InstalledTime` string, `Architecture` string, `URL` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:AWSComponent/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_AWSComponent
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_WindowsUpdate ( `ResourceId` string, `HotFixId` string, `Description` string, `InstalledTime` string, `InstalledBy` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:WindowsUpdate/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_WindowsUpdate
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_InstanceInformation ( `AgentType` string, `AgentVersion` string, `ComputerName` string, `IamRole` string, `InstanceId` string, `IpAddress` string, `PlatformName` string, `PlatformType` string, `PlatformVersion` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:InstanceInformation/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_InstanceInformation
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_Network ( `ResourceId` string, `Name` string, `SubnetMask` string, `Gateway` string, `DHCPServer` string, `DNSServer` string, `MacAddress` string, `IPV4` string, `IPV6` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:Network/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_Network
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_PatchSummary ( `ResourceId` string, `PatchGroup` string, `BaselineId` string, `SnapshotId` string, `OwnerInformation` string, `InstalledCount` int, `InstalledOtherCount` int, `NotApplicableCount` int, `MissingCount` int, `FailedCount` int, `OperationType` string, `OperationStartTime` string, `OperationEndTime` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:PatchSummary/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_PatchSummary

使用 中的資料 Amazon QuickSight

下節將概要說明可用來在 Amazon QuickSight 中建置視覺效果的連結。

在 Amazon QuickSight 中建置視覺效果

  1. 登入 Amazon QuickSight 並登入 主控台。QuickSight

  2. 移至 AWS_Application 資料表與您所建的任何其他資料表,並建立資料集。如需詳細資訊,請參閱使用 Amazon Athena 資料建立資料集

  3. 聯結資料表。舉例而言,您可以聯結 AWS_InstanceInformation 中的 instanceid 欄位,因為該欄位與其他庫存資料表中的 resourceid 欄位相符。如需聯結資料表的詳細資訊,請參閱聯結資料表

  4. 建置視覺效果。如需詳細資訊,請前往使用 Amazon QuickSight 視覺效果

Walkthrough: Use resource data sync to aggregate inventory data - AWS Systems Manager

Walkthrough: Use resource data sync to aggregate inventory data

The following walkthrough describes how to create a resource data sync configuration for AWS Systems Manager Inventory by using the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI). A resource data sync automatically ports inventory data from all of your managed instances to a central Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket. The sync automatically updates the data in the central Amazon S3 bucket whenever new inventory data is discovered. This walkthrough also describes how to use Amazon Athena and Amazon QuickSight to query and analyze the aggregated data. For information about creating a resource data sync by using Systems Manager in the AWS Management Console, see Configuring resource data sync for Inventory. For information about querying inventory from multiple AWS Regions and accounts by using Systems Manager in the AWS Management Console, see Querying inventory data from multiple Regions and accounts.

Note

This walkthrough includes information about how to encrypt the sync by using AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS). Inventory doesn't collect any user-specific, proprietary, or sensitive data so encryption is optional. For more information about AWS KMS, see AWS Key Management Service Developer Guide.

Before You Begin

Review or complete the following tasks before you begin the walkthrough in this section.

  • Collect inventory data from your managed instances. For the purpose of the Amazon Athena and Amazon QuickSight sections in this walkthrough, we recommend that you collect Application data. For more information about how to collect inventory data, see Configuring inventory collection or Walkthrough: Configure your managed instances for Inventory by using the CLI.

  • (Optional) If the inventory data is stored in an Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket that uses AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) encryption, you must also configure your IAM account and the Amazon-GlueServiceRoleForSSM service role for AWS KMS encryption. If you don't configure your IAM account and this role, Systems Manager displays Cannot load Glue tables when you choose the Detailed View tab in the console. For more information, see (Optional) Configure permissions for viewing AWS KMS encrypted data.

  • (Optional) If you want to encrypt the resource data sync by using AWS KMS, then you must either create a new key that includes the following policy, or you must update an existing key and add this policy to it.

    { "Version":"2012-10-17", "Id":"ssm-access-policy", "Statement":[ { "Sid":"ssm-access-policy-statement", "Action":[ "kms:GenerateDataKey" ], "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Resource":"arn:aws:kms:Region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_id" } ] }

To create a resource data sync for Inventory

  1. Open the Amazon S3 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/.

  2. Create a bucket to store your aggregated inventory data. For more information, see Create a Bucket in the Amazon Simple Storage Service Getting Started Guide. Make a note of the bucket name and the AWS Region where you created it.

  3. After you create the bucket, choose the Permissions tab, and then choose Bucket Policy.

  4. Copy and paste the following bucket policy into the policy editor. Replace DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET and account-id with the name of the Amazon S3 bucket you created and a valid AWS account ID. Optionally, replace bucket-prefix with the name of an Amazon S3 prefix (subdirectory). If you didn't created a prefix, remove bucket-prefix/ from the ARN in the policy.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": " SSMBucketDelivery", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "s3:PutObject", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/*/accountid=account-id/*"], "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "s3:x-amz-acl": "bucket-owner-full-control" } } } ] }
  5. (Optional) If you want to encrypt the sync, then you must add the following policy to the bucket. Repeat the previous step to add the following policy to the bucket.

    { "Version":"2012-10-17", "Statement":[ { "Effect":"Allow", "Principal":{ "Service":"ssm.amazonaws.com" }, "Action":"s3:PutObject", "Resource":"arn:aws:s3:::DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/*/accountid=*/*", "Condition":{ "StringEquals":{ "s3:x-amz-server-side-encryption":"aws:kms", "s3:x-amz-server-side-encryption-aws-kms-key-id":"arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID" } } } ] }
  6. Install and configure the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI), if you haven't already.

    For information, see Install or upgrade AWS command line tools.

  7. (Optional) If you want to encrypt the sync, run the following command to verify that the bucket policy is enforcing the AWS KMS key requirement.

    Linux & macOS
    aws s3 cp ./A_file_in_the_bucket s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/ \ --sse aws:kms \ --sse-kms-key-id "arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_id" \ --region region, for example, us-east-2
    Windows
    aws s3 cp ./A_file_in_the_bucket s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/ ^ --sse aws:kms ^ --sse-kms-key-id "arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_id" ^ --region region, for example, us-east-2
  8. Run the following command to create a resource data sync configuration with the Amazon S3 bucket you created at the start of this procedure. This command creates a sync from the AWS Region you're logged into.

    Note

    If the sync and the target Amazon S3 bucket are located in different regions, you might be subject to data transfer pricing. For more information, see Amazon S3 Pricing.

    Linux & macOS
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name a_name \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=bucket_region"
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name a_name ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=bucket_region"

    You can use the region parameter to specify where the sync configuration should be created. In the following example, inventory data from the us-west-1 Region, will be synchronized in the Amazon S3 bucket in the us-west-2 Region.

    Linux & macOS
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name InventoryDataWest \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=HybridEnv,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=us-west-2" --region us-west-1
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name InventoryDataWest ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=HybridEnv,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,Region=us-west-2" ^ --region us-west-1

    (Optional) If you want to encrypt the sync by using AWS KMS, run the following command to create the sync. If you encrypt the sync, then the AWS KMS key and the Amazon S3 bucket must be in the same Region.

    Linux & macOS
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync \ --sync-name sync_name \ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,AWSKMSKeyARN=arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID,Region=bucket_region" \ --region region
    Windows
    aws ssm create-resource-data-sync ^ --sync-name sync_name ^ --s3-destination "BucketName=DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET,Prefix=prefix_name, if_specified,SyncFormat=JsonSerDe,AWSKMSKeyARN=arn:aws:kms:region:account_ID:key/KMS_key_ID,Region=bucket_region" ^ --region region
  9. Run the following command to view the status of sync configuration.

    aws ssm list-resource-data-sync

    If you created the sync configuration in a different Region, then you must specify the region parameter, as shown in the following example.

    aws ssm list-resource-data-sync --region us-west-1
  10. After the sync configuration is created successfully, examine the target bucket in Amazon S3. Inventory data should be displayed within a few minutes.

Working with the Data in Amazon Athena

The following section describes how to view and query the data in Amazon Athena. Before you begin, we recommend that you learn about Athena. For more information, see What is Amazon Athena? and Working with Data in the Amazon Athena User Guide.

To view and query the data in Amazon Athena

  1. Open the Athena console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/athena/.

  2. Copy and paste the following statement into the query editor and then choose Run Query.

    CREATE DATABASE ssminventory

    The system creates a database called ssminventory.

  3. Copy and paste the following statement into the query editor and then choose Run Query. Replace DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET and bucket_prefix with the name and prefix of the Amazon S3 target.

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_Application ( Name string, ResourceId string, ApplicationType string, Publisher string, Version string, InstalledTime string, Architecture string, URL string, Summary string, PackageId string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket_prefix/AWS:Application/'
  4. Copy and paste the following statement into the query editor and then choose Run Query.

    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_Application

    The system partitions the table.

    Note

    If you create resource data syncs from additional AWS Regions or AWS accounts, then you must run this command again to update the partitions. You might also need to update your Amazon S3 bucket policy.

  5. To preview your data, choose the view icon next to the AWS_Application table.

    
                            alt-text
  6. Copy and paste the following statement into the query editor and then choose Run Query.

    SELECT a.name, a.version, count( a.version) frequency from aws_application a where a.name = 'aws-cfn-bootstrap' group by a.name, a.version order by frequency desc

    The query returns a count of different versions of aws-cfn-bootstrap, which is an AWS application present on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances for Linux, macOS, and Windows Server.

  7. Individually copy and paste the following statements into the query editor, replace DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET and bucket-prefix with information for Amazon S3, and then choose Run Query. These statements set up additional inventory tables in Athena.

    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_AWSComponent ( `ResourceId` string, `Name` string, `ApplicationType` string, `Publisher` string, `Version` string, `InstalledTime` string, `Architecture` string, `URL` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:AWSComponent/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_AWSComponent
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_WindowsUpdate ( `ResourceId` string, `HotFixId` string, `Description` string, `InstalledTime` string, `InstalledBy` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:WindowsUpdate/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_WindowsUpdate
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_InstanceInformation ( `AgentType` string, `AgentVersion` string, `ComputerName` string, `IamRole` string, `InstanceId` string, `IpAddress` string, `PlatformName` string, `PlatformType` string, `PlatformVersion` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:InstanceInformation/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_InstanceInformation
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_Network ( `ResourceId` string, `Name` string, `SubnetMask` string, `Gateway` string, `DHCPServer` string, `DNSServer` string, `MacAddress` string, `IPV4` string, `IPV6` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:Network/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_Network
    CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE IF NOT EXISTS ssminventory.AWS_PatchSummary ( `ResourceId` string, `PatchGroup` string, `BaselineId` string, `SnapshotId` string, `OwnerInformation` string, `InstalledCount` int, `InstalledOtherCount` int, `NotApplicableCount` int, `MissingCount` int, `FailedCount` int, `OperationType` string, `OperationStartTime` string, `OperationEndTime` string ) PARTITIONED BY (AccountId string, Region string, ResourceType string) ROW FORMAT SERDE 'org.openx.data.jsonserde.JsonSerDe' WITH SERDEPROPERTIES ( 'serialization.format' = '1' ) LOCATION 's3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/bucket-prefix/AWS:PatchSummary/'
    MSCK REPAIR TABLE ssminventory.AWS_PatchSummary

Working with the Data in Amazon QuickSight

The following section provides an overview with links for building a visualization in Amazon QuickSight.

To build a visualization in Amazon QuickSight

  1. Sign up for Amazon QuickSight and then log in to the QuickSight console.

  2. Create a data set from the AWS_Application table and any other tables you created. For more information, see Creating a Data Set Using Amazon Athena Data.

  3. Join tables. For example, you could join the instanceid column from AWS_InstanceInformation because it matches the resourceid column in other inventory tables. For more information about joining tables, see Joining Tables.

  4. Build a visualization. For more information, see Working with Amazon QuickSight Visuals.