要求元件選項 - AWS WAF、AWS Firewall Manager 與 AWS Shield Advanced

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

要求元件選項

本節說明您可以指定用於檢查的 Web 要求元件。您可以為尋找 Web 請求中的模式的匹配規則語句指定請求組件。這些類型的語句包括字符串匹配,正則表達式匹配,大小約束和 SQL 注入攻擊語句。如需如何使用這些要求元件設定的詳細資訊,請參閱以下網址的個別規則陳述式 比對規則陳述式

除非另有說明,否則如果 Web 要求沒有在規則陳述式中指定的 request 元件,則AWS WAF會將要求評估為不符合規則條件。

注意

您可以為每個需要它的規則陳述式指定單一請求元件。若要檢查請求的多個元件,請為每個元件建立規則陳述式。

主AWS WAF控台和 API 文件提供下列位置的要求元件設定指引:

  • 主控台上的規則產生器 — 在一般規則類型的陳述式設定中,在 [請求元件] 下的 [檢查] 對話方塊中選擇您要檢查的元件

  • API 陳述式內容FieldToMatch

本節的其餘部分描述了要檢查的 Web 請求部分的選項。

HTTP 方法

檢查要求的 HTTP 方法。HTTP 方法指出 Web 請求要求受保護的資源執行的操作類型,例如POSTGET

單一標頭

檢查請求中的單個命名標頭。對於此選項,您可以指定標頭名稱,例如,User-AgentReferer。名稱的字串比對不區分大小寫。

所有標題

檢查所有要求標頭,包括 Cookie。您可以套用篩選器來檢查所有標頭的子集。對於此選項,您可以提供下列規格:

  • 匹配模式 — 用於獲取標題子集以進行檢查的過濾器。 AWS WAF在標題鍵中查找這些模式。

    比對模式設定可以是下列其中一種:

    • 全部 — 匹配所有鍵。評估所有標題的規則檢查條件。

    • 排除的標頭 — 僅檢查其金鑰不符合您在此處指定的任何字串的標頭。鍵的字符串匹配不區分大小寫。

    • 包含的標頭 — 僅檢查具有與您在此處指定的其中一個字串相符的索引鍵的標頭。鍵的字符串匹配不區分大小寫。

  • 比對範圍 — AWS WAF 應使用規則檢查條件檢查的標頭部分。您可以指定 [索引鍵]、[] 或 [全部] 來檢查相符項目的索引鍵和值。

    A@@ ll 並不需要在鍵中找到匹配項,並在值中找到匹配項。它需要在鍵或值或兩者中找到匹配。若要在索引鍵和值中要求相符項目,請使用邏輯AND陳述式來組合兩個比對規則,一個會檢查索引鍵,另一個會檢查這些值。

  • 超大處理 — AWS WAF 如何處理標頭資料大於AWS WAF可檢查的要求。 AWS WAF最多可以檢查請求標頭的前 8 KB(8,192 字節),最多可以檢查前 200 個標頭。內容可供檢查,最多可AWS WAF達到第一個限制。您可以選擇繼續檢驗,或跳過檢驗並將請求標示為符合或不符合規則。如需處理過大內容的詳細資訊,請參閱處理過大的 Web 請求組件 AWS WAF

表頭順序

檢查包含要求標頭名稱清單的字串,依照它們在AWS WAF接收檢查的 Web 要求中出現的順序排列。 AWS WAF生成字符串,然後使用該字符串作為字段以匹配其檢查中的組件。 AWS WAF例如,用冒號和不添加空格分隔字符串中的標題名稱。host:user-agent:accept:authorization:referer

對於此選項,您可以提供下列規格:

  • 超大處理 — AWS WAF 如何處理具有大於AWS WAF可檢查的標頭資料的要求。 AWS WAF最多可以檢查請求標頭的前 8 KB(8,192 字節),最多可以檢查前 200 個標頭。內容可供檢查,最多可AWS WAF達到第一個限制。您可以選擇繼續檢查可用的標頭,或跳過檢查並將請求標示為符合或不符合規則。如需處理過大內容的詳細資訊,請參閱處理過大的 Web 請求組件 AWS WAF

Cookie

檢查所有的請求餅乾。您可以套用篩選器來檢查所有 Cookie 的子集。對於此選項,您可以提供下列規格:

  • 匹配模式 — 用於獲取 cookie 子集以進行檢查的過濾器。 AWS WAF會在 Cookie 金鑰中尋找這些模式。

    比對模式設定可以是下列其中一種:

    • 全部 — 匹配所有鍵。評估所有 Cookie 的規則檢查標準。

    • 排除的 Cookie — 僅檢查其鍵不符合您在此處指定的任何字串的 Cookie。密鑰的字符串匹配區分大小寫,並且必須完全相符。

    • 包含的 Cookie — 僅檢查具有與您在此處指定的其中一個字串相符的金鑰的 Cookie。密鑰的字符串匹配區分大小寫,並且必須完全相符。

  • 比對範圍 — Cookie AWS WAF 應使用規則檢查條件檢查的部分。您可以為鍵和指定「鍵」、「值」或「全部」。

    A@@ ll 並不需要在鍵中找到匹配項,並在值中找到匹配項。它需要在鍵或值或兩者中找到匹配。若要在索引鍵和值中要求相符項目,請使用邏輯AND陳述式來組合兩個比對規則,一個會檢查索引鍵,另一個會檢查這些值。

  • 超大處理 — AWS WAF 如何處理 Cookie 資料大於AWS WAF可檢查的要求。 AWS WAF最多可以檢查請求餅乾的前 8 KB(8,192 字節),最多可以檢查前 200 個餅乾。內容可供檢查,最多可AWS WAF達到第一個限制。您可以選擇繼續檢驗,或跳過檢驗並將請求標示為符合或不符合規則。如需處理過大內容的詳細資訊,請參閱處理過大的 Web 請求組件 AWS WAF

URI 路徑

檢查識別資源的 URL 部分,/images/daily-ad.jpg例如。如需詳細資訊,請參閱統一資源識別元 (URI):一般語法

如果您未搭配此選項使用文字轉換,則AWS WAF不會將 URI 標準化,並且會完全依照從要求中從用戶端接收到的方式進行檢查。如需有關文字轉換的資訊,請參閱文字轉換

指紋

檢查請求的 JA3 指紋。JA3 指紋是從傳入要求的 TLS 用戶端 Hello 衍生的 32 個字元雜湊。此指紋可做為用戶端 TLS 組態的唯一識別碼。 AWS WAF針對具有足夠 TLS 用戶端 Hello 資訊進行計算的每個要求,計算並記錄此指紋。幾乎所有 Web 請求都包含此信息。

如何獲取客戶端的 JA3 指紋

您可以從網頁 ACL 記錄取得用戶端要求的 JA3 指紋。如果能AWS WAF夠計算指紋,它將其包含在日誌中。如需有關記錄欄位的資訊,請參閱日誌欄位

規則陳述式需求

您只能在字串 match 陳述式中檢查 JA3 指紋,該陳述式設定為完全符合您提供的字串。從字串 match 陳述式規格中的記錄提供 JA3 指紋字串,以符合任何 future 具有相同 TLS 組態的要求。如需有關字串 match 陳述式的資訊,請參閱字串比對規則陳述式

您必須為此規則陳述式提供後援行為。後援行為是您在無法計算 JA3 指紋時AWS WAF要指派給 Web 要AWS WAF求的符合狀態。如果您選擇比對,請AWS WAF將要求視為符合規則陳述式,並將規則動作套用至請求。如果您選擇不符合,請AWS WAF將要求視為不符合規則陳述式。

若要使用此比對選項,您必須記錄 Web ACL 流量。如需相關資訊,請參閱 記錄AWS WAF網頁 ACL 流量

查詢字串

檢查出現在?字元後面的 URL 部分 (如果有的話)。

注意

對於跨網站指令碼比對陳述式,建議您選擇 [所有查詢參數],而不是 [查詢字串]。選擇「所有查詢參數」會將 10 個 WCU 新增至基本成本。

單一查詢參數

檢查您已定義為查詢字串一部分的單一查詢參數。 AWS WAF檢查您指定的參數值。

對於此選項,您也可以指定 Query 引數。例如,如果 URL 是www.xyz.com?UserName=abc&SalesRegion=seattle,您可以SalesRegion為查詢引數指定UserName或。引數名稱的最大長度為 30 個字元。名稱不區分大小寫,因此如果您指定UserName,則會AWS WAF比對的所有變體UserName,包括usernameUsERName

如果查詢字串包含您所指定之查詢引數的多個執行個體,則會使用OR邏輯AWS WAF檢查相符項目的所有值。例如,在 URL www.xyz.com?SalesRegion=boston&SalesRegion=seattle 中,AWS WAF 會評估您針對 bostonseattle 指定的名稱。如果其中一個相符,則檢查會是相符。

所有查詢參數

檢查請求中的所有查詢參數。這類似於單一查詢參數元件選擇,但AWS WAF會檢查查詢字串內所有引數的值。例如,如果 URL 為 www.xyz.com?UserName=abc&SalesRegion=seattle,則 AWS WAF 會在 UserNameSalesRegion 的值符合比對檢查準則時觸發比對。

選擇此選項會將 10 個 WCU 新增至基本成本。

Body

檢查請求主體,評估為純文本。您也可以使用JSON內容類型將本文評估為 JSON。

要求主體是緊接在要求標頭之後的要求的一部分。它包含 Web 請求所需的任何其他數據,例如,來自表單的數據。

  • 在控制台中,您可以在「請求」選項選擇「主」下選擇「內容類型」選擇「純文本」選擇。

  • 在 API 中,在規則的FieldToMatch規格中,您可Body以指定以純文字檢查要求內文。

對於地區網路 ACL,AWS WAF可以檢查要求主體的前 8 KB。對於 CloudFront 網路 ACL,預設情況下AWS WAF可以檢查前 16 KB,而且您可以將網頁 ACL 組態中的此限制增加到 32 KB、48 KB 或 64 KB。若要取得有關變更限制的資訊,請參閱 CloudFront Web ACL 的車身檢查尺寸限制

您必須為此元件類型指定過大處理。超大處理定義如何AWS WAF處理具有大於AWS WAF可檢查的主體資料的要求。您可以選擇繼續檢驗,或跳過檢驗並將請求標示為符合或不符合規則。如需處理過大內容的詳細資訊,請參閱處理過大的 Web 請求組件 AWS WAF

您也可以將主體評估為已剖析的 JSON。如需相關資訊,請參閱下一節。

正文

檢查請求主體,評估為 JSON。您也可以將本文評估為純文字。

要求主體是緊接在要求標頭之後的要求的一部分。它包含 Web 請求所需的任何其他數據,例如,來自表單的數據。

  • 在控制台中,您可以在「請求」選項選擇「主」下選擇「內容類型」選擇 JSON 來選擇此選項。

  • 在 API 中,您可以在規則的FieldToMatch規格中指定JsonBody

對於地區網路 ACL,AWS WAF可以檢查要求主體的前 8 KB。對於 CloudFront 網路 ACL,預設情況下AWS WAF可以檢查前 16 KB,而且您可以將網頁 ACL 組態中的此限制增加到 32 KB、48 KB 或 64 KB。若要取得有關變更限制的資訊,請參閱 CloudFront Web ACL 的車身檢查尺寸限制

您必須為此元件類型指定過大處理。超大處理定義如何AWS WAF處理具有大於AWS WAF可檢查的主體資料的要求。您可以選擇繼續檢驗,或跳過檢驗並將請求標示為符合或不符合規則。如需處理過大內容的詳細資訊,請參閱處理過大的 Web 請求組件 AWS WAF

當AWS WAF檢查 Web 請求主體作為解析的 JSON 時,它會從 JSON 中解析和提取元素,並檢查您使用規則的匹配語句條件指示的部分。

選擇此選項會將比對陳述式的基本成本 WCU 加倍。例如,如果比對陳述式的基本成本是 5 個沒有 JSON 剖析的 WCU,則使用 JSON 剖析會將成本加倍至 10 個 WCU。

使用此選項,AWS WAF會針對 Web 要求主體執行兩種比對模式。第一匹配模式的輸出被用作輸入到第二匹配模式:

  1. AWS WAF剖析並擷取 JSON 內容,並識別要檢查的元素。若要這麼做,請AWS WAF使用您在規則的 JSON 主體規格中提供的條件。

  2. AWS WAF將任何文字轉換套用至擷取的元素,然後將產生的 JSON 元素與規則陳述式的符合條件比對。如果有任何元素相符,則 Web 要求就會與規則相符。

您可以為AWS WAF第一個模式比對步驟指定下列準則,以識別要檢查的 JSON 元素:

  • 主體解析後備行為-如AWS WAF果無法完全解析 JSON 主體,該怎麼辦。以下為可用選項:

    • 無 (預設行為)-只AWS WAF會評估內容,直到遇到剖析錯誤的時間點為止。

    • 評估為字符串-檢查正文為純文本。 AWS WAF會將您為 JSON 檢查定義的文字轉換和檢驗準則套用至內文字串。

    • 匹配-將 Web 請求視為規則語句匹配。 AWS WAF將規則動作套用至請求。

    • 不匹配-將 Web 請求視為與規則語句不匹配。

    AWS WAF 會盡力剖析整個 JSON 內文,但可能會因為無效字元、重複索引鍵、截斷以及根節點不是物件或陣列的任何內容而被迫停止。

    AWS WAF將下列範例中的 JSON 剖析為兩個有效的索引鍵:value 配對:

    • 缺失逗號:{"key1":"value1""key2":"value2"}

    • 缺失冒號:{"key1":"value1","key2""value2"}

    • 額外冒號:{"key1"::"value1","key2""value2"}

  • JSON 比對範圍 — JSON 中AWS WAF應檢查的元素類型。您可以為鍵和指定「鍵」、「值」或「全部」。

    A@@ ll 並不需要在鍵中找到匹配項,並在值中找到匹配項。它需要在鍵或值或兩者中找到匹配。若要在索引鍵和值中要求相符項目,請使用邏輯AND陳述式來組合兩個比對規則,一個會檢查索引鍵,另一個會檢查這些值。

  • 要檢查的內容 — 已剖析並擷取的 JSON 中您AWS WAF要檢查的元素。

    您必須指定下列其中一項:

    • 完整的 JSON 內容-評估已剖析 JSON 中的所有元素。

    • 僅包含的元素-僅評估 JSON 中符合您提供的 JSON 指針條件的元素。如需 JSON 指標語法的相關資訊,請參閱網際網路工程工作小組 (IETF) 文JavaScript 件物件標記法 (JSON) 指標

      請勿使用此選項在 JSON 中包含所有路徑。請改用完整的 JSON 內容

      例如,在控制台中,您可以提供以下內容:

      /dogs/0/name /dogs/1/name

      在 API 或 CLI 中,您可以提供下列資訊:

      "IncludedPaths": ["/dogs/0/name", "/dogs/1/name"]
JSON 主體檢查案例範例

如果包含的元素設置為/a/b,則對於以下 JSON 主體:

{ "a":{ "c":"d", "b":{ "e":{ "f":"g" } } } }

下列清單說AWS WAF明每個比對範圍設定的評估方式。不評估密鑰b,這是包含的元素路徑的一部分。

  • 對於一個匹配範圍設置為 all:e, f,g

  • 對於設置為 key: e 和的匹配範圍f

  • 對於匹配範圍設置為值:g

Request component options - AWS WAF, AWS Firewall Manager, and AWS Shield Advanced

Request component options

This section describes the components of the web request that you can specify for inspection. You specify the request component for match rule statements that look for patterns inside the web request. These types of statements include string match, regex match, size constraint, and SQL injection attack statements. For information on how to use these request component settings, see the individual rule statements at Match rule statements

Unless otherwise noted, if a web request doesn't have the request component that's specified in the rule statement, AWS WAF evaluates the request as not matching the rule criteria.

Note

You specify a single request component for each rule statement that requires it. To inspect more than one component of a request, create a rule statement for each component.

The AWS WAF console and API documentation provide guidance for the request component settings in the following locations:

  • Rule builder on the console – In the Statement settings for a regular rule type, choose the component that you want to inspect in the Inspect dialogue under Request components.

  • API statement contentsFieldToMatch

The rest of this section describes the options for the part of the web request to inspect.

HTTP method

Inspects the HTTP method for the request. The HTTP method indicates the type of operation that the web request is asking your protected resource to perform, such as POST or GET.

Single header

Inspects a single named header in the request.

For this option, you specify the header name, for example, User-Agent or Referer. The string match for the name is not case sensitive.

All headers

Inspects all of the request headers, including cookies. You can apply a filter to inspect a subset of all headers.

For this option, you provide the following specifications:

  • Match patterns – The filter to use to obtain a subset of headers for inspection. AWS WAF looks for these patterns in the headers keys.

    The match patterns setting can be one of the following:

    • All – Match all keys. Evaluate the rule inspection criteria for all headers.

    • Excluded headers – Inspect only the headers whose keys don't match any of the strings that you specify here. The string match for a key is not case sensitive.

    • Included headers – Inspect only the headers that have a key that matches one of the strings that you specify here. The string match for a key is not case sensitive.

  • Match scope – The parts of the headers that AWS WAF should inspect with the rule inspection criteria. You can specify Keys, Values, or All to inspect both keys and values for a match.

    All does not require a match to be found in the keys and a match to be found in the values. It requires a match to be found in the keys or the values or both. To require a match in the keys and in the values, use a logical AND statement to combine two match rules, one that inspects the keys and another that inspects the values.

  • Oversize handling – How AWS WAF should handle requests that have header data that is larger than AWS WAF can inspect. AWS WAF can inspect at most the first 8 KB (8,192 bytes) of the request headers and at most the first 200 headers. The content is available for inspection by AWS WAF up to the first limit reached. You can choose to continue the inspection, or to skip inspection and mark the request as matching or not matching the rule. For more information about handling oversize content, see Handling of oversize request components in AWS WAF.

Header order

Inspect a string containing the list of the request's header names, ordered as they appear in the web request that AWS WAF receives for inspection. AWS WAF generates the string and then uses that as the field to match component in its inspection. AWS WAF separates the header names in the string with colons and with no added spaces, for example host:user-agent:accept:authorization:referer.

For this option, you provide the following specifications:

  • Oversize handling – How AWS WAF should handle requests that have header data that is more numerous or larger than AWS WAF can inspect. AWS WAF can inspect at most the first 8 KB (8,192 bytes) of the request headers and at most the first 200 headers. The content is available for inspection by AWS WAF up to the first limit reached. You can choose to continue inspecting the headers that are available, or to skip inspection and mark the request as matching or not matching the rule. For more information about handling oversize content, see Handling of oversize request components in AWS WAF.

Cookies

Inspects all of the request cookies. You can apply a filter to inspect a subset of all cookies.

For this option, you provide the following specifications:

  • Match patterns – The filter to use to obtain a subset of cookies for inspection. AWS WAF looks for these patterns in the cookie keys.

    The match patterns setting can be one of the following:

    • All – Match all keys. Evaluate the rule inspection criteria for all cookies.

    • Excluded cookies – Inspect only the cookies whose keys don't match any of the strings that you specify here. The string match for a key is case sensitive and must be exact.

    • Included cookies – Inspect only the cookies that have a key that matches one of the strings that you specify here. The string match for a key is case sensitive and must be exact.

  • Match scope – The parts of the cookies that AWS WAF should inspect with the rule inspection criteria. You can specify Keys, Values, or All for both keys and values.

    All does not require a match to be found in the keys and a match to be found in the values. It requires a match to be found in the keys or the values or both. To require a match in the keys and in the values, use a logical AND statement to combine two match rules, one that inspects the keys and another that inspects the values.

  • Oversize handling – How AWS WAF should handle requests that have cookie data that is larger than AWS WAF can inspect. AWS WAF can inspect at most the first 8 KB (8,192 bytes) of the request cookies and at most the first 200 cookies. The content is available for inspection by AWS WAF up to the first limit reached. You can choose to continue the inspection, or to skip inspection and mark the request as matching or not matching the rule. For more information about handling oversize content, see Handling of oversize request components in AWS WAF.

URI path

Inspects the part of a URL that identifies a resource, for example, /images/daily-ad.jpg. For information, see Uniform Resource Identifier (URI): Generic Syntax.

If you don't use a text transformation with this option, AWS WAF doesn't normalize the URI and inspects it exactly as it receives it from the client in the request. For information about text transformations, see Text transformation options.

JA3 fingerprint

Inspects the request's JA3 fingerprint.

Note

JA3 fingerprint inspection is available only for Amazon CloudFront distributions and Application Load Balancers.

The JA3 fingerprint is a 32-character hash derived from the TLS Client Hello of an incoming request. This fingerprint serves as a unique identifier for the client's TLS configuration. AWS WAF calculates and logs this fingerprint for each request that has enough TLS Client Hello information for the calculation. Almost all web requests include this information.

How to get the JA3 fingerprint for a client

You can obtain the JA3 fingerprint for a client's requests from the web ACL logs. If AWS WAF is able to calculate the fingerprint, it includes it in the logs. For information about the logging fields, see Log fields.

Rule statement requirements

You can inspect the JA3 fingerprint only inside a string match statement that's set to exactly match the string that you provide. Provide the JA3 fingerprint string from the logs in your string match statement specification, to match with any future requests that have the same TLS configuration. For information about the string match statement, see String match rule statement.

You must provide a fallback behavior for this rule statement. The fallback behavior is the match status that you want AWS WAF to assign to the web request if AWS WAF is unable to calculate the JA3 fingerprint. If you choose to match, AWS WAF treats the request as matching the rule statement and applies the rule action to the request. If you choose to not match, AWS WAF treats the request as not matching the rule statement.

To use this match option, you must log your web ACL traffic. For information, see Logging AWS WAF web ACL traffic.

Query string

Inspects the part of the URL that appears after a ? character, if any.

Note

For cross-site scripting match statements, we recommend that you choose All query parameters instead of Query string. Choosing All query parameters adds 10 WCUs to the base cost.

Single query parameter

Inspects a single query parameter that you have defined as part of the query string. AWS WAF inspects the value of the parameter that you specify.

For this option, you also specify a Query argument. For example, if the URL is www.xyz.com?UserName=abc&SalesRegion=seattle, you can specify UserName or SalesRegion for the query argument. The maximum length for the name of the argument is 30 characters. The name is not case sensitive, so if you specify UserName, AWS WAF matches all variations of UserName, including username and UsERName.

If the query string contains more than one instance of the query argument that you've specified, AWS WAF inspects all the values for a match, using OR logic. For example, in the URL www.xyz.com?SalesRegion=boston&SalesRegion=seattle, AWS WAF evaluates the name that you've specified against boston and seattle. If either is a match, the inspection is a match.

All query parameters

Inspects all query parameters in the request. This is similar to the single query parameter component choice, but AWS WAF inspects the values of all arguments within the query string. For example, if the URL is www.xyz.com?UserName=abc&SalesRegion=seattle, AWS WAF triggers a match if either the value of UserName or SalesRegion match the inspection criteria.

Choosing this option adds 10 WCUs to the base cost.

Body

Inspects the request body, evaluated as plain text. You can also evaluate the body as JSON using the JSON content type.

The request body is the part of the request that immediately follows the request headers. It contains any additional data that is needed for the web request, for example, data from a form.

  • In the console, you select this under the Request option choice Body, by selecting the Content type choice Plain text.

  • In the API, in the rule's FieldToMatch specification, you specify Body to inspect the request body as plain text.

For Application Load Balancer and AWS AppSync, AWS WAF can inspect the first 8 KB of the body of a request. For CloudFront, API Gateway, Amazon Cognito, App Runner, and Verified Access, by default, AWS WAF can inspect the first 16 KB, and you can increase the limit up to 64 KB in your web ACL configuration. For more information, see Managing body inspection size limits.

You must specify oversize handling for this component type. Oversize handling defines how AWS WAF handles requests that have body data that is larger than AWS WAF can inspect. You can choose to continue the inspection, or to skip inspection and mark the request as matching or not matching the rule. For more information about handling oversize content, see Handling of oversize request components in AWS WAF.

You can also evaluate the body as parsed JSON. For information about this, see the section that follows.

JSON body

Inspects the request body, evaluated as JSON. You can also evaluate the body as plain text.

The request body is the part of the request that immediately follows the request headers. It contains any additional data that is needed for the web request, for example, data from a form.

  • In the console, you select this under the Request option choice Body, by selecting the Content type choice JSON.

  • In the API, in the rule's FieldToMatch specification, you specify JsonBody.

For Application Load Balancer and AWS AppSync, AWS WAF can inspect the first 8 KB of the body of a request. For CloudFront, API Gateway, Amazon Cognito, App Runner, and Verified Access, by default, AWS WAF can inspect the first 16 KB, and you can increase the limit up to 64 KB in your web ACL configuration. For more information, see Managing body inspection size limits.

You must specify oversize handling for this component type. Oversize handling defines how AWS WAF handles requests that have body data that is larger than AWS WAF can inspect. You can choose to continue the inspection, or to skip inspection and mark the request as matching or not matching the rule. For more information about handling oversize content, see Handling of oversize request components in AWS WAF.

Choosing this option doubles the match statement's base cost WCUs. For example, if the match statement base cost is 5 WCUs without JSON parsing, using JSON parsing doubles the cost to 10 WCUs.

How AWS WAF handles JSON body inspection

When AWS WAF inspects the web request body as JSON, it performs steps to parse the body and extract the JSON elements for inspection. AWS WAF performs these steps in accordance with your configuration choices.

The following lists the steps that AWS WAF performs.

  1. Parse the body contents – AWS WAF parses the contents of the web request body in order to extract the JSON elements for inspection. AWS WAF does its best to parse the entire contents of the body, but parsing can fail for a variety of error states in the contents. Examples include invalid characters, duplicate keys, truncation, and content whose root node isn't an object or an array.

    The option Body parsing fallback behavior determines what AWS WAF does if it fails to completely parse the JSON body:

    • None (default behavior) - AWS WAF evaluates the content only up to the point where it encountered a parsing error.

    • Evaluate as string - Inspect the body as plain text. AWS WAF applies the text transformations and inspection criteria that you defined for the JSON inspection to the body text string.

    • Match - Treat the web request as matching the rule statement. AWS WAF applies the rule action to the request.

    • No match - Treat the web request as not matching the rule statement.

    Note

    This fallback behavior only triggers when AWS WAF encounters an error while parsing the JSON string.

    Parsing doesn't fully validate the JSON

    AWS WAF parsing doesn't fully validate the input JSON string, so parsing can succeed even for invalid JSON.

    For example, AWS WAF parses the following invalid JSON without error:

    • Missing comma: {"key1":"value1""key2":"value2"}

    • Missing colon: {"key1":"value1","key2""value2"}

    • Extra colons: {"key1"::"value1","key2""value2"}

    For cases such as these where the parsing succeeds but the result isn't completely valid JSON, the outcome of the subsequent steps in the evaluation can vary. The extraction might miss some elements, or the rule evaluation might have unexpected results. We recommend that you validate the JSON that you receive in your application and handle invalid JSON as needed.

  2. Extract the JSON elements – AWS WAF identifies the subset of JSON elements to inspect according to your settings:

    • The option JSON match scope specifies the types of elements in the JSON that AWS WAF should inspect.

      You can specify Keys, Values, or All for both keys and values.

      All does not require a match to be found in the keys and a match to be found in the values. It requires a match to be found in the keys or the values or both. To require a match in the keys and in the values, use a logical AND statement to combine two match rules, one that inspects the keys and another that inspects the values.

    • The option Content to inspect specifies how to filter the element set to the subset that you want AWS WAF to inspect.

      You must specify one of the following:

      • Full JSON content - Evaluate all elements.

      • Only included elements - Evaluate only elements whose paths match the JSON Pointer criteria that you provide. Don't use this option to indicate all paths in the JSON. Instead, use Full JSON content.

        For information about JSON Pointer syntax, see the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) documentation JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) Pointer.

        For example, in the console, you can provide the following:

        /dogs/0/name /dogs/1/name

        In the API or CLI, you can provide the following:

        "IncludedPaths": ["/dogs/0/name", "/dogs/1/name"]

    For example, say that the Content to inspect setting is Only included elements, and the included elements setting is /a/b.

    For the following example JSON body:

    { "a":{ "c":"d", "b":{ "e":{ "f":"g" } } } }

    The element sets that AWS WAF would inspect for each JSON match scope setting are listed below. Note that the key b, which is part of the included elements path, isn't evaluated.

    • All: e, f, and g.

    • Keys: e and f.

    • Values: g.

  3. Inspect the JSON element set – AWS WAF applies any text transformations that you've specified to the extracted JSON elements and then matches the resulting element set against the rule statement's match criteria. This is the same transformation and evaluation behavior as for other web request components. If any of the extracted JSON elements match, the web request is a match for the rule.