COST01-BP03 建立云预算和预测 - 成本优化支柱

COST01-BP03 建立云预算和预测

调整现有的组织预算和预测流程,使之适应云成本和使用情况的易变特性。流程必须是动态的,可以使用基于趋势或基于业务驱动因素的算法,也可以将两者结合使用。

未建立这种最佳实践的情况下暴露的风险等级:

实施指导

客户使用云来提高效率、速度和敏捷性,这导致成本和使用量的变化速度极快。随着工作负载效率的提高或者新工作负载和功能的部署,成本可以降低(有时也会提高)。工作负载可以扩展以服务更多的客户,这会增加云的使用量和成本。现在比以前更容易获得资源。云的弹性也使成本和预测变得具有弹性。必须修改现有的组织预算流程,将这种变化因素考虑在内。

预算通常针对一年进行编制,并且保持固定,要求所有相关人员严格遵守。相比之下,预测更为灵活,可以在全年重新调整,并提供一年、两年或三年的动态预测。在确定各技术和业务利益相关者的财务预期方面,预算制定和预测都起着至关重要的作用。准确的预测和实施还要求直接负责预置成本的利益相关者承担责任,也能提高他们的整体成本意识。

使用基于趋势(将历史成本用作输入)的算法或者基于驱动因素(例如新产品发布、区域扩张或用于工作负载的新环境)的算法(适用于动态和可变支出环境),或者将趋势和业务驱动因素相结合,调整现有的预算和预测流程,使其更为灵活。

您可以使用 AWS Cost Explorer ,根据历史支出,对确定的未来时间范围进行基于趋势的预测。AWS Cost Explorer 的预测引擎会根据付费类型(例如,预留实例)对历史数据进行细分,并结合使用机器学习和基于规则的模型来分别预测所有付费类型的支出。

确定可能影响使用成本的业务驱动因素,并分别针对每个驱动因素进行预测,以确保提前计算出预期使用量。其中一些驱动因素与组织中的 IT 和产品团队有关。其他业务驱动因素(如营销活动、促销、合并和收购)则是销售、营销和业务领导者所了解的,因此与他们合作,将所有这些需求驱动因素考虑在内也很重要。您需要与他们密切合作,以了解对新的内部驱动因素的影响。

使用 Cost Explorer 或任何其他工具确定了基于趋势的预测后,请使用 AWS Pricing Calculator ,根据预期使用情况(流量、每秒请求数、所需 Amazon EC2 实例)估计 AWS 使用场景和未来成本。您也可以使用此工具来协助自己计划支出方式,找到节省成本的机会,并在使用 AWS 时做出明智的决定。跟踪预测的准确性非常重要,因为预算的制定需要基于这些预测计算和估算值。

使用 AWS Budgets  设置精细的自定义预算,通过指定时间段、重复发生或金额(固定或可变),以及添加筛选条件(如服务、AWS 区域和标签)来实现。为了随时了解现有预算的执行情况,您可以创建 AWS Budgets 报告 并安排好时间表,定期以电子邮件的形式发送给您和您的利益相关者。您还可以创建 AWS Budgets 警报, 该警报可以根据实际成本(本质上是被动的)创建或根据预测成本(从而留出时间缓解潜在的成本超支情况)创建。您的成本或使用量超出或预计将超出预算金额时,系统会向您发送警报。

使用 AWS Cost Anomaly Detection  防止或减少意外成本,加强控制,同时不放慢创新速度。AWS Cost Anomaly Detection 利用机器学习来识别异常支出并找出根本原因,使您能够快速采取行动。 只需简单三步,您就可以创建自己的情境化监控器,在检测到任何异常支出时接收警报。

正如 Well-Architected 成本优化支柱的 “财务与技术人员合作”部分所述,在 IT 部门、财务部门和其他利益相关者之间建立合作关系和沟通机制非常重要,以确保他们都使用相同的工具或流程来保持一致性。在预算可能需要更改的情况下,增加沟通机制接触点有助于更快地应对这些更改。

实施步骤

  • 分析基于趋势的预测: 使用偏好的基于趋势的预测工具,例如 AWS Cost Explorer 和 Amazon Forecast。从服务、账户、标签和成本类别等不同维度分析使用成本。如果需要进行高级预测,请将 AWS 成本和使用情况报告 数据导入 Amazon Forecast(该工具将线性回归作为机器学习的一种形式应用于预测)。

  • 分析基于驱动因素的预测: 确定业务驱动因素对云使用情况的影响,并分别针对每个驱动因素进行预测,以预先计算预期的使用成本。与业务单位负责人和利益相关者密切合作,了解新驱动因素的影响,计算预期成本变化以确定准确的预算。

  • 更新现有的预测和预算流程: 根据所采用的预测方法(如基于趋势的预测方法、基于业务驱动因素的预测方法,或者结合使用两种预测方法),确定预测预算编制流程。预算应根据这些预测流程进行计算,并符合实际情况。

  • 配置警报和通知: 使用 AWS Budgets 警报和 AWS Cost Anomaly Detection 获取警报和通知。

  • 与主要利益相关者定期审核: 例如,与 IT、财务、平台团队和其他业务领域的利益相关者进行定期审核,以与业务方向和使用方面的变化保持一致。

资源

相关文档:

相关视频:

相关示例:

COST01-BP03 Establish cloud budgets and forecasts - Cost Optimization Pillar

COST01-BP03 Establish cloud budgets and forecasts

Adjust existing organizational budgeting and forecasting processes to be compatible with the highly variable nature of cloud costs and usage. Processes must be dynamic, using trend-based or business driver-based algorithms or a combination of both.

Level of risk exposed if this best practice is not established: High

Implementation guidance

Customers use the cloud for efficiency, speed, and agility, which creates a highly variable amount of cost and usage. Costs can decrease (or sometimes increase) with increases in workload efficiency or as new workloads and features are deployed. Workloads can scale to serve more of your customers, which increases cloud usage and costs. Resources are now more readily accessible than ever before. The elasticity of the cloud also brings an elasticity of costs and forecasts. Existing organizational budgeting processes must be modified to incorporate this variability.

The budget is usually prepared for a single year and remains fixed, requiring strict adherence from everyone involved. In contrast, forecasting is more flexible, allowing for readjustments throughout the year and providing dynamic projections over a period of one, two, or three years. Both budgeting and forecasting play a crucial role in establishing financial expectations among various technology and business stakeholders. Accurate forecasting and implementation also bring accountability for stakeholders who are directly responsible for provisioning cost in the first place, and it can also raise their overall cost awareness.

Adjust existing budgeting and forecasting processes to become more dynamic using either a trend-based algorithm (using historical costs as inputs) or driver-based algorithms (for example, new product launches, Regional expansion, or new environments for workloads), which is ideal for a dynamic and variable spending environment, or a combination of both trend and business drivers.

You can use AWS Cost Explorer for trend-based forecasting in a defined future time range based on your past spend. AWS Cost Explorer's forecasting engine segments your historical data based on charge types (for example, Reserved Instances) and uses a combination of machine learning and rule-based models to predict spend across all charge types individually.

Identify the business drivers which may impact your usage cost and forecast for each of them separately to ensure expected usage is calculated in advance. Some of the drivers are linked to IT and product teams within the organization. Other business drivers, such as marketing events, promotions, mergers, and acquisitions, are known by your sales, marketing, and business leaders, and it's important to collaborate and account for all those demand drivers as well. You need to work with them closely to understand the impact on new internal drivers.

Once you've determined your trend-based forecast using Cost Explorer or any other tools, use the AWS Pricing Calculator to estimate your AWS use case and future costs based on the expected usage (traffic, requests-per-second, or required Amazon EC2 instance). You can also use it to help you plan how you spend, find cost saving opportunities, and make informed decisions when using AWS. It is important to track the accuracy of that forecast as budgets should be set based on these forecast calculations and estimations.

Use AWS Budgets to set custom budgets at a granular level by specifying the time period, recurrence, or amount (fixed or variable), and adding filters such as service, AWS Region, and tags. To stay informed on the performance of your existing budgets, you can create and schedule AWS Budgets Reports to be emailed to you and your stakeholders on a regular cadence. You can also create AWS Budgets Alerts based on actual costs, which is reactive in nature, or on forecasted costs, which provides time to implement mitigations against potential cost overruns. You can be alerted when your cost or usage exceeds, or if they are forecasted to exceed, your budgeted amount.

Use AWS Cost Anomaly Detection to prevent or reduce cost surprises and enhance control without slowing innovation. AWS Cost Anomaly Detection leverages machine learning to identify anomalous spend and root causes, so you can quickly take action. With three simple steps, you can create your own contextualized monitor and receive alerts when any anomalous spend is detected.

As mentioned in the Well-Architected cost optimization pillar's Finance and Technology Partnership section, it is important to have partnership and cadences between IT, finance, and other stakeholders to verify that they are all using the same tools or processes for consistency. In cases where budgets may need to change, increasing cadence touch points can help react to those changes more quickly.

Implementation steps

  • Analyze trend-based forecasting: Use preferred trend-based forecasting tools such as AWS Cost Explorer and Amazon Forecast. Analyze your usage cost on the different dimensions like service, account, tags and cost categories. If advanced forecasting is required, import your AWS Cost and Usage Report data into Amazon Forecast (which applies linear regression as a form of machine learning to forecast).

  • Analyze driver-based forecasting: Identify the impact of business drivers on your cloud usage and forecast for each of them separately to calculate expected usage cost in advance. Work closely with business unit owners and stakeholders to understand the impact on new drivers and calculate expected cost changes to define accurate budgets.

  • Update existing forecasting and budget processes: Define your forecasting budgeting processes based on adopted forecasting methods such as trend-based, business driver-based, or a combination of both forecasting methods. Budgets should be calculated and realistic, based on these forecasting processes.

  • Configure alerts and notifications: Use AWS Budgets Alerts and AWS Cost Anomaly Detection to get alerts and notifications.

  • Perform regular reviews with key stakeholders: For example, stakeholders in IT, finance, platform teams, and other areas of the business, should align with changes in business direction and usage.

Resources

Related documents:

Related videos:

Related examples: