具有成本效益的资源 - AWS Well-Architected Framework

具有成本效益的资源

为工作负载使用合适的实例和资源是节约成本的关键。例如,在小型服务器上运行某个报告需要五个小时,而在另一个两倍成本的大型服务器上运行只需要一个小时。虽然两个服务器提供同样的结果,但小型服务器随着时间推移会产生更多成本。

良好架构的工作负载会使用最具有成本效益的资源,这样可以产生巨大而积极的经济效益。您还可以使用托管服务降低成本。例如,您可以使用按电子邮件收费的服务,而无需自己维护电子邮件服务器。

AWS 提供各种灵活且具有成本效益的定价选项,以最符合您需求的方式从 Amazon EC2 和其他服务获取实例。按需 实例 允许按小时支付计算容量的费用,且无需最低使用承诺。 Savings Plans 和预留实例 与按需定价相比最高可节约 75% 的成本。使用 Spot 实例,您可以利用未使用的 Amazon EC2 容量,并且与按需定价相比最高可节约 90% 的成本。Spot 实例 适用于以下情况:系统可以容忍使用服务器队列,其中单个服务器可以动态装卸(例如无状态 Web 服务器)、批处理或使用 HPC 和大数据。

选择合适的服务还可以减少使用量和降低成本;例如,使用 CloudFront 可以最大限度地减少数据传输成本;例如,使用 Amazon Aurora on RDS 可以消除昂贵的数据库许可成本。

以下问题主要针对成本优化方面的注意事项。

COST 5:您在选择服务时如何评估成本?
Amazon EC2、Amazon EBS 和 Amazon S3 属于构建块 AWS 服务。托管服务(如 Amazon RDS 和 Amazon DynamoDB)属于更高级别或应用程序级别的 AWS 服务。通过选择适当的基础服务和托管服务,您可以优化工作负载,从而降低成本。例如,使用托管服务,您可以节省或消除大部分管理和运营开销,从而使您有精力从事应用程序和业务相关活动。
COST 6:在选择资源类型、规模和数量时,如何实现成本目标?
确保选择适合当前任务的资源规模和资源数量。选择最经济实惠的资源类型、规模和数量可以尽可能减少浪费。
COST 7:您如何使用定价模式来降低成本?
使用最适合的资源定价模式可以尽可能减少支出。
COST 8:您如何规划数据传输费用?
务必要监控和规划您的数据传输费用,以便制定架构决策,尽可能降低成本。持续以小步迭代的方式进行架构优化可以实现运营成本的大幅降低。

通过在选择服务时考虑成本因素,并使用 Cost Explorer 和 AWS Trusted Advisor 等工具定期检查 AWS 使用情况,您可以主动监控利用率并相应地调整部署。

Cost-effective resources - AWS Well-Architected Framework

Cost-effective resources

Using the appropriate instances and resources for your workload is key to cost savings. For example, a reporting process might take five hours to run on a smaller server but one hour to run on a larger server that is twice as expensive. Both servers give you the same outcome, but the smaller server incurs more cost over time.

A well-architected workload uses the most cost-effective resources, which can have a significant and positive economic impact. You also have the opportunity to use managed services to reduce costs. For example, rather than maintaining servers to deliver email, you can use a service that charges on a per-message basis.

AWS offers a variety of flexible and cost-effective pricing options to acquire instances from Amazon EC2 and other services in a way that best fits your needs. On-Demand Instances allow you to pay for compute capacity by the hour, with no minimum commitments required. Savings Plans and Reserved Instances offer savings of up to 75% off On-Demand pricing. With Spot Instances, you can leverage unused Amazon EC2 capacity and offer savings of up to 90% off On-Demand pricing. Spot Instances are appropriate where the system can tolerate using a fleet of servers where individual servers can come and go dynamically, such as stateless web servers, batch processing, or when using HPC and big data.

Appropriate service selection can also reduce usage and costs; such as CloudFront to minimize data transfer, or completely eliminate costs, such as utilizing Amazon Aurora on RDS to remove expensive database licensing costs.

The following questions focus on these considerations for cost optimization.

COST 5:  How do you evaluate cost when you select services?
Amazon EC2, Amazon EBS, and Amazon S3 are building-block AWS services. Managed services, such as Amazon RDS and Amazon DynamoDB, are higher level, or application level, AWS services. By selecting the appropriate building blocks and managed services, you can optimize this workload for cost. For example, using managed services, you can reduce or remove much of your administrative and operational overhead, freeing you to work on applications and business-related activities.
COST 6:  How do you meet cost targets when you select resource type, size and number?
Ensure that you choose the appropriate resource size and number of resources for the task at hand. You minimize waste by selecting the most cost effective type, size, and number.
COST 7:  How do you use pricing models to reduce cost?
Use the pricing model that is most appropriate for your resources to minimize expense.
COST 8:  How do you plan for data transfer charges?
Ensure that you plan and monitor data transfer charges so that you can make architectural decisions to minimize costs. A small yet effective architectural change can drastically reduce your operational costs over time.

By factoring in cost during service selection, and using tools such as Cost Explorer and AWS Trusted Advisor to regularly review your AWS usage, you can actively monitor your utilization and adjust your deployments accordingly.