Organisation - AWS Well-Architected Framework

Organisation

Vos équipes doivent avoir une compréhension commune de l'ensemble de votre charge de travail, de leur rôle dans celle-ci et de leurs objectifs économiques communs afin de fixer les priorités qui permettent la réussite de l'entreprise. Des priorités bien définies maximiseront les bénéfices tirés de vos efforts. Évaluer les besoins des clients internes et externes en impliquant les principales parties prenantes, notamment les équipes commerciales, de développement et d'exploitation, afin de déterminer où il est nécessaire de concentrer les efforts. L'évaluation des besoins des clients vous permet de vous assurer que vous avez une compréhension approfondie du soutien nécessaire pour atteindre les résultats économiques. Assurez-vous de connaître les lignes directrices ou les obligations définies par la gouvernance de votre entreprise, ainsi que les facteurs externes, tels que les exigences de conformité réglementaire et les normes sectorielles, qui peuvent imposer un objectif spécifique ou mettre l'accent sur ce dernier. Vérifiez que vous disposez de mécanismes permettant d'identifier les changements apportés à la gouvernance interne et aux exigences de conformité externe. Si aucune exigence n'est identifiée, assurez-vous d'avoir effectué les vérifications préalables dans cette détermination. Revoyez régulièrement vos priorités afin qu'elles puissent être mises à jour en fonction de l'évolution des besoins.

Évaluez les menaces pesant sur l'entreprise (par exemple, les risques et les responsabilités de l'entreprise, et les menaces sur la sécurité des informations) et conservez ces informations dans un registre des risques. Évaluez l'impact des risques et les compromis entre des intérêts concurrents ou des approches alternatives. Par exemple, l'accélération de la mise sur le marché de nouvelles fonctionnalités peut être privilégiée par rapport à l'optimisation des coûts, ou vous pouvez choisir une base de données relationnelle pour les données non relationnelles afin de simplifier la migration d'un système sans restructuration. Gérez les avantages et les risques afin de prendre des décisions éclairées lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer où il est nécessaire de concentrer les efforts. Certains risques ou choix peuvent être acceptables pendant un certain temps, il peut être possible d'atténuer les risques associés, ou il peut devenir inacceptable de laisser un risque subsister, auquel cas vous prendrez des mesures pour y remédier.

Vos équipes doivent comprendre leur rôle dans l'obtention des résultats de l'entreprise. Les équipes doivent comprendre leur rôle dans la réussite des autres équipes, le rôle des autres équipes dans leur réussite, et avoir des objectifs communs. Comprendre la responsabilité, la manière dont les décisions sont prises et qui a le pouvoir de prendre des décisions vous aide à concentrer les efforts et à maximiser les avantages de vos équipes. Les besoins d'une équipe seront déterminés par le client qu'elle soutient, son organisation, la composition de l'équipe et les caractéristiques de sa charge de travail. Il n'est pas raisonnable de s'attendre à ce qu'un modèle d'exploitation unique puisse soutenir toutes les équipes et leurs charges de travail dans votre entreprise.

Assurez-vous qu'il existe des propriétaires identifiés pour chaque application, charge de travail, plateforme et composant d'infrastructure, et que chaque processus et procédure a un propriétaire identifié responsable de sa définition, et des propriétaires responsables de leur performance.

La compréhension de la valeur ajoutée de chaque composant, processus et procédure, de la raison pour laquelle ces ressources sont en place ou ces activités exécutées, et de la raison pour laquelle cette propriété existe, éclaire les actions des membres de votre équipe. Définissez clairement les responsabilités des membres de l'équipe afin qu'ils puissent agir de manière appropriée et disposer de mécanismes permettant d'identifier la responsabilité et la propriété. Mettez en œuvre des mécanismes permettant de demander des ajouts, des modifications et des exceptions afin de ne pas entraver l'innovation. Définissez des accords entre les équipes décrivant la manière dont elles travaillent ensemble pour se soutenir mutuellement et soutenir les résultats de votre entreprise.

Fournissez un soutien aux membres de votre équipe afin qu'ils puissent être plus efficaces dans leur action et soutenir les résultats de votre entreprise. Les dirigeants engagés doivent fixer des attentes et mesurer le succès. Les principaux dirigeants devraient être le parrain, l'avocat et le moteur de l'adoption des bonnes pratiques et de l'évolution de l'organisation. Permettez aux membres de l'équipe d'agir lorsque les résultats sont menacés afin de minimiser l'impact et de les encourager à remonter jusqu'aux décideurs et aux parties prenantes lorsqu'ils estiment qu'il existe un risque afin de pouvoir le traiter et éviter les incidents. Fournissez en temps utile des communications claires et exploitables sur les risques connus et les événements prévus afin que les membres de l'équipe puissent prendre des mesures appropriées en temps opportun.

Encouragez l'expérimentation pour accélérer la formation et maintenir l'intérêt et l'engagement des membres de l'équipe. Les équipes doivent développer leurs compétences pour adopter les nouvelles technologies, et pour soutenir l'évolution des besoins et des responsabilités. Soutenez et encouragez cette démarche en accordant du temps structurel à la formation. Assurez-vous que les membres de votre équipe disposent des ressources, à la fois des outils et des membres de l'équipe, nécessaires à la réussite et à la mise à l'échelle pour soutenir les résultats de l'entreprise. Exploitez la diversité inter-organisationnelle pour rechercher des perspectives multiples et uniques. Utilisez cette perspective pour accroître l'innovation, remettre en question vos hypothèses et réduire le risque de biais de confirmation. Développez l'inclusion, la diversité et l'accessibilité au sein de vos équipes afin d'obtenir des perspectives bénéfiques.

Si des exigences réglementaires ou de conformité externes s'appliquent à votre organisation, vous devez utiliser les ressources fournies par AWS Cloud Compliance pour former vos équipes afin qu'elles puissent déterminer l'impact sur vos priorités. Le cadre Well-Architected met l'accent sur la formation, la mesure et l'amélioration. Il offre une approche cohérente pour évaluer les architectures et mettre en œuvre des conceptions qui seront mises à l'échelle dans le temps. AWS fournit l'outil AWS Well-Architected Tool pour vous aider à vérifier votre approche avant le développement et l'état de vos charges de travail avant et pendant la production. Vous pouvez comparer les charges de travail aux bonnes pratiques architecturales AWS les plus récentes, surveiller leur état global et obtenir des informations sur les risques potentiels. AWS Trusted Advisor est un outil qui permet d'accéder à un ensemble de vérifications de base qui recommandent des optimisations pouvant vous aider à définir vos priorités. Les clients du Business and Enterprise Support ont accès à des contrôles supplémentaires axés sur la sécurité, la fiabilité, les performances, l'optimisation des coûts et la durabilité qui peuvent les aider à définir leurs priorités.

AWS peut vous aider à former vos équipes à AWS et à ses services afin qu'elles comprennent mieux comment leurs choix peuvent avoir un impact sur votre charge de travail. Utilisez les ressources fournies par AWS Support (Centre de connaissances AWS, forums de discussion AWSet AWS Support Center) et la documentation AWS pour former vos équipes. Contactez AWS Support via AWS Support Center pour obtenir des réponses à vos questions AWS. AWS partage également les bonnes pratiques et les modèles que nous avons appris grâce à l'exploitation d'AWS dans Amazon Builders' Library. Un grand nombre d'autres informations utiles sont disponibles sur le blog AWS et sur le podcast officiel AWS. AWS Training and Certification offre une formation par le biais de cours en ligne d'auto-formation sur les principes fondamentaux d'AWS. Vous pouvez également vous inscrire à une formation dirigée par un formateur afin de soutenir le développement des compétences AWS de vos équipes.

Utilisez des outils ou des services qui permettent de gérer de manière centralisée vos environnements dans plusieurs comptes, comme AWS Organizations, pour gérer vos modèles d'exploitation. Des services tels que AWS Control Tower élargissent cette fonctionnalité de gestion en vous permettant de définir des plans (soutenant vos modèles d'exploitation) pour la configuration des comptes, d'appliquer une gouvernance continue en utilisant AWS Organizations et d'automatiser l'allocation de nouveaux comptes. Les fournisseurs de services gérés tels que AWS Managed Services, les partenaires AWS Managed Services ou les fournisseurs de services gérés du réseau de partenaires AWS offrent une expertise dans la mise en œuvre des environnements cloud et soutiennent vos exigences de sécurité et de conformité, ainsi que vos objectifs métier. L'ajout de services gérés à votre modèle d'exploitation peut vous faire gagner du temps et économiser des ressources, et maintenir vos équipes internes réduites et concentrées sur les résultats stratégiques qui différencieront votre entreprise, plutôt que de développer de nouvelles compétences et capacités.

Les questions suivantes sont axées sur ces quelques considérations relatives à l'excellence opérationnelle. (Pour obtenir la liste des questions et des bonnes pratiques d'excellence opérationnelle, consultez l' Appendix.)

OPS 1:  How do you determine what your priorities are?
Everyone must understand their part in achieving business success. Have shared goals in order to set priorities for resources. This will maximize the benefits of your efforts.
OPS 2:  How do you structure your organization to support your business outcomes?
Your teams must understand their part in achieving business outcomes. Teams must understand their roles in the success of other teams, the role of other teams in their success, and have shared goals. Understanding responsibility, ownership, how decisions are made, and who has authority to make decisions will help focus efforts and maximize the benefits from your teams.
OPS 3:  How does your organizational culture support your business outcomes?
Provide support for your team members so that they can be more effective in taking action and supporting your business outcome.

Vous pouvez décider à un moment donné de mettre l'accent sur un petit sous-ensemble de priorités opérationnelles. Utilisez une approche équilibrée sur le long terme pour garantir le développement des capacités nécessaires et de la gestion des risques. Vérifiez régulièrement les priorités opérationnelles et mettez-les à jour en fonction de l'évolution de vos besoins. Lorsque la responsabilité et la propriété sont indéfinies ou inconnues, vous risquez à la fois de ne pas effectuer les actions nécessaires en temps utile et de déployer des efforts redondants et potentiellement conflictuels pour répondre à ces besoins. La culture organisationnelle a un impact direct sur la satisfaction professionnelle et la fidélisation des membres de l'équipe. Stimulez l'engagement et l'exploitation des capacités des membres de votre équipe pour assurer la réussite de votre entreprise. L'expérimentation est nécessaire pour que l'innovation se produise et transforme les idées en résultats. Admettez qu'un résultat non désiré est une expérience positive qui a identifié un chemin qui ne mène pas au succès.

Organization - AWS Well-Architected Framework

Organization

Your teams need to have a shared understanding of your entire workload, their role in it, and shared business goals to set the priorities that will enable business success. Well-defined priorities will maximize the benefits of your efforts. Evaluate internal and external customer needs involving key stakeholders, including business, development, and operations teams, to determine where to focus efforts. Evaluating customer needs will ensure that you have a thorough understanding of the support that is required to achieve business outcomes. Ensure that you are aware of guidelines or obligations defined by your organizational governance and external factors, such as regulatory compliance requirements and industry standards, that may mandate or emphasize specific focus. Validate that you have mechanisms to identify changes to internal governance and external compliance requirements. If no requirements are identified, ensure that you have applied due diligence to this determination. Review your priorities regularly so that they can be updated as needs change.

Evaluate threats to the business (for example, business risk and liabilities, and information security threats) and maintain this information in a risk registry. Evaluate the impact of risks, and tradeoffs between competing interests or alternative approaches. For example, accelerating speed to market for new features may be emphasized over cost optimization, or you may choose a relational database for non-relational data to simplify the effort to migrate a system without refactoring. Manage benefits and risks to make informed decisions when determining where to focus efforts. Some risks or choices may be acceptable for a time, it may be possible to mitigate associated risks, or it may become unacceptable to allow a risk to remain, in which case you will take action to address the risk.

Your teams must understand their part in achieving business outcomes. Teams need to understand their roles in the success of other teams, the role of other teams in their success, and have shared goals. Understanding responsibility, ownership, how decisions are made, and who has authority to make decisions will help focus efforts and maximize the benefits from your teams. The needs of a team will be shaped by the customer they support, their organization, the makeup of the team, and the characteristics of their workload. It's unreasonable to expect a single operating model to be able to support all teams and their workloads in your organization.

Ensure that there are identified owners for each application, workload, platform, and infrastructure component, and that each process and procedure has an identified owner responsible for its definition, and owners responsible for their performance.

Having understanding of the business value of each component, process, and procedure, of why those resources are in place or activities are performed, and why that ownership exists will inform the actions of your team members. Clearly define the responsibilities of team members so that they may act appropriately and have mechanisms to identify responsibility and ownership. Have mechanisms to request additions, changes, and exceptions so that you do not constrain innovation. Define agreements between teams describing how they work together to support each other and your business outcomes.

Provide support for your team members so that they can be more effective in taking action and supporting your business outcomes. Engaged senior leadership should set expectations and measure success. Senior leadership should be the sponsor, advocate, and driver for the adoption of best practices and evolution of the organization. Empower team members to take action when outcomes are at risk to minimize impact and encourage them to escalate to decision makers and stakeholders when they believe there is a risk so that it can be addressed and incidents avoided. Provide timely, clear, and actionable communications of known risks and planned events so that team members can take timely and appropriate action.

Encourage experimentation to accelerate learning and keep team members interested and engaged. Teams must grow their skill sets to adopt new technologies, and to support changes in demand and responsibilities. Support and encourage this by providing dedicated structured time for learning. Ensure your team members have the resources, both tools and team members, to be successful and scale to support your business outcomes. Leverage cross-organizational diversity to seek multiple unique perspectives. Use this perspective to increase innovation, challenge your assumptions, and reduce the risk of confirmation bias. Grow inclusion, diversity, and accessibility within your teams to gain beneficial perspectives.

If there are external regulatory or compliance requirements that apply to your organization, you should use the resources provided by AWS Cloud Compliance to help educate your teams so that they can determine the impact on your priorities. The Well-Architected Framework emphasizes learning, measuring, and improving. It provides a consistent approach for you to evaluate architectures, and implement designs that will scale over time. AWS provides the AWS Well-Architected Tool to help you review your approach prior to development, the state of your workloads prior to production, and the state of your workloads in production. You can compare workloads to the latest AWS architectural best practices, monitor their overall status, and gain insight into potential risks. AWS Trusted Advisor is a tool that provides access to a core set of checks that recommend optimizations that may help shape your priorities. Business and Enterprise Support customers receive access to additional checks focusing on security, reliability, performance, and cost-optimization that can further help shape their priorities.

AWS can help you educate your teams about AWS and its services to increase their understanding of how their choices can have an impact on your workload. You should use the resources provided by AWS Support (AWS Knowledge Center, AWS Discussion Forums, and AWS Support Center) and AWS Documentation to educate your teams. Reach out to AWS Support through AWS Support Center for help with your AWS questions. AWS also shares best practices and patterns that we have learned through the operation of AWS in The Amazon Builders' Library. A wide variety of other useful information is available through the AWS Blog and The Official AWS Podcast. AWS Training and Certification provides some free training through self-paced digital courses on AWS fundamentals. You can also register for instructor-led training to further support the development of your teams’ AWS skills.

You should use tools or services that enable you to centrally govern your environments across accounts, such as AWS Organizations, to help manage your operating models. Services like AWS Control Tower expand this management capability by enabling you to define blueprints (supporting your operating models) for the setup of accounts, apply ongoing governance using AWS Organizations, and automate provisioning of new accounts. Managed Services providers such as AWS Managed Services, AWS Managed Services Partners, or Managed Services Providers in the AWS Partner Network, provide expertise implementing cloud environments, and support your security and compliance requirements and business goals. Adding Managed Services to your operating model can save you time and resources, and lets you keep your internal teams lean and focused on strategic outcomes that will differentiate your business, rather than developing new skills and capabilities.

The following questions focus on these considerations for operational excellence. (For a list of operational excellence questions and best practices, see the Appendix.).

OPS 1:  How do you determine what your priorities are?
Everyone needs to understand their part in enabling business success. Have shared goals in order to set priorities for resources. This will maximize the benefits of your efforts.
OPS 2:  How do you structure your organization to support your business outcomes?
Your teams must understand their part in achieving business outcomes. Teams need to understand their roles in the success of other teams, the role of other teams in their success, and have shared goals. Understanding responsibility, ownership, how decisions are made, and who has authority to make decisions will help focus efforts and maximize the benefits from your teams.
OPS 3:  How does your organizational culture support your business outcomes?
Provide support for your team members so that they can be more effective in taking action and supporting your business outcome.

You might find that you want to emphasize a small subset of your priorities at some point in time. Use a balanced approach over the long term to ensure the development of needed capabilities and management of risk. Review your priorities regularly and update them as needs change. When responsibility and ownership are undefined or unknown, you are at risk of both not performing necessary action in a timely fashion and of redundant and potentially conflicting efforts emerging to address those needs. Organizational culture has a direct impact on team member job satisfaction and retention. Enable the engagement and capabilities of your team members to enable the success of your business. Experimentation is required for innovation to happen and turn ideas into outcomes. Recognize that an undesired result is a successful experiment that has identified a path that will not lead to success.