Definition - High Performance Computing Lens


There are five best practice areas for security in the cloud:

  • Identity and access management (IAM)

  • Detective controls

  • Infrastructure protection

  • Data protection

  • Incident response

Before architecting any system, you must establish security practices. You must be able to control permissions, identify security incidents, protect your systems and services, and maintain the confidentiality and integrity of data through data protection. You should have a well-defined and practiced process for responding to security incidents. These tools and techniques are important because they support objectives such as preventing data loss and complying with regulatory obligations.

The AWS Shared Responsibility Model enables organizations that adopt the cloud to achieve their security and compliance goals. Because AWS physically secures the infrastructure that supports our cloud services, you can focus on using services to accomplish your goals. The AWS Cloud provides access to security data, and an automated approach to responding to security events.

All of the security best practice areas are vital and well documented in the AWS Well-Architected Framework whitepaper. The detective controls, infrastructure protection, and incident response areas are described in the AWS Well-Architected Framework whitepaper. They are not described in this whitepaper and do not require modification for HPC workloads.