Amazon WorkDocs
Administration Guide

Managing Sites

Administrators can manage site-wide operations, such as choosing a preferred language for site content and email notifications, setting storage limits, and specifying recovery bin retention policy. They can also change settings for Managing Security Settings and Inviting and Managing Amazon WorkDocs Users.

Language Settings

Specify the language to use for site content and email notifications.

To change language settings

  1. Under My Account, choose Open admin control panel.

  2. For Preferred Language Settings, choose your preferred language.

Online Editing Settings

Enable or disable online editing settings from the Admin control panel. For more information, see Enabling Collaborative Editing.

Storage Settings

Specify the amount of storage that new users receive.

To change storage settings

  1. Under My Account, choose Open admin control panel.

  2. For Storage, choose Change.

  3. In the Storage Limit dialog box, choose whether to give new users unlimited or limited storage.

  4. Choose Save Changes.

Changing the storage setting affects only users that are added after the setting is changed. It does not change the amount of storage allocated to existing users. To change the storage limit for an existing user, see Editing Users.

Security Settings

You can manage security settings for users. This includes setting up external sharing and publicly shareable link options, and configuring default settings for user invites, new users, and enabled users. For more information, see Managing Security Settings.

Recovery Bin Retention Settings

Files deleted by a user are stored in the user’s recycle bin for 30 days. Afterwards, the files are temporarily moved to a recovery bin for 60 days before they are permanently deleted. The recovery bin is visible only to administrators. By changing the site-wide data retention policy, site administrators can change the recovery bin retention period, up to a maximum of 365 days. Files are permanently deleted at the end of the retention period.

To change the recovery bin retention period

  1. Under My Account, choose Open admin control panel.

  2. Next to Recovery bin retention, choose Change.

  3. Type the number of days to retain files in the recovery bin, and choose Save.

    Note

    The default retention period is 60 days. This can be changed to 0–365 days.

You can restore user files from the recovery bin before they are permanently deleted.

To restore a user's file

  1. Under My Account, choose Open admin control panel.

  2. Under Manage Users, choose the user's folder icon.

  3. Under Recovery bin, choose any of the user's files to restore.

  4. On the Restore file page, choose the location to restore the file, and choose Restore.

Manage Users Settings

You can manage settings for users, including changing user roles and inviting, enabling, or disabling users. For more information, see Inviting and Managing Amazon WorkDocs Users.

Deleting a Site

Use the Amazon WorkDocs console to delete an Amazon WorkDocs site.

Warning

You lose all user information and files when you delete a site. Delete a site only if you are sure that this information is no longer needed.

To delete a site

  1. Open the Amazon WorkDocs console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/zocalo/.

  2. If necessary, from the navigation bar, choose the AWS Region that you need. For more information, see Regions and Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

  3. On the Manage Your WorkDocs Sites page, choose the site to delete. Choose Actions, then choose Delete WorkDocs Site.

  4. In the Delete Selected WorkDocs Site dialog box, choose whether to delete the user directory at the same time.

    1. Choose I also want to delete the user directory to delete the AWS Directory Service Simple AD or AD Connector for an on-premises Microsoft Active Directory. To delete the directory, it cannot have any other AWS applications enabled. For more information, see Deleting a Simple AD Directory or Deleting an AD Connector Directory in the AWS Directory Service Administration Guide.

  5. Verify that you are deleting the proper site, type DELETE in the confirmation field, and choose Delete WorkDocs Site.

    The site is immediately deleted and is no longer available.

Note

If you didn't provide your own directory for Amazon WorkDocs, then we created one for you. When you delete the Amazon WorkDocs site, you are charged for the directory we created for you unless you delete the directory or use it for another AWS application. For pricing information, see Other Directory Types Pricing.