Menu
Amazon WorkMail
Administrator Guide (Version 1.0)

Remotely Wipe Mobile Devices

You can only remotely wipe user devices when they are connected to Amazon WorkMail. If a device is disconnected from the network, this procedure doesn't work.

Warning

For most mobile devices, a remote wipe resets the device to factory defaults. All data, including personal files, can be removed when you perform this procedure.

To remotely wipe a user's mobile device

  1. Open the Amazon WorkMail console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/workmail/.

  2. If necessary, change the region. From the navigation bar, select the region that meets your needs. For more information, see Regions and Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

  3. On the Organizations screen, in the list of organizations, select your organization's alias.

  4. In the navigation pane, choose Users, select the user with the device to view, and choose Mobile.

  5. In the list of devices, select the device to wipe and choose Wipe device.

  6. Check the status in overview to see whether the wipe is requested.

  7. After the device is wiped, you can remove the device from the list.

    Important

    To re-add a device, make sure the device is removed from the list; otherwise, the device will be wiped again.