設定的 VPC - Amazon WorkSpaces

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

設定的 VPC

WorkSpaces 將您的 WorkSpaces 在虛擬私有雲端 (VPC) 中執行個體。您的 WorkSpaces 必須具有互聯網訪問權限,以便您可以使用 Amazon 安裝操作系統更新並部署應用程序 WorkSpaces 應用程序管理器 (Amazon WAM)。

您可以建立具有兩個私有子網路的 VPC WorkSpaces 和公有子網路中的 NAT 閘道。或者,您可以建立具有兩個公有子網路的 VPC WorkSpaces 並將彈性 IP 地址與每個 WorkSpace 關聯。

提示

有關各種部署方案的目錄和虛擬私有雲 (VPC) 設計注意事項的詳細探索,請參閲部署 Amazon WorkSpaces 的最佳實務白皮書。

要求

您 VPC 的子網路必須位於您啟動 WorkSpaces 的區域中的不同可用區域。可用區域是代表不同的位置,旨在隔離其他可用區域的故障。藉由在個別的可用區域中啟動執行個體,您就可以保護應用程式免於發生單點故障。各個子網路必須完全位於某一可用區域內,不得跨越多個區域。

注意

亞馬遜 WorkSpaces 在每個受支持區域的可用區域的子集中提供。若要確定哪些可用區可用於您正在用於 WorkSpaces 的 VPC 的子網,請參閲Amazon WorkSpaces 的可用區域

設定具有私有子網路和 NAT 閘道的 VPC

如果您使用AWS Directory Service建立AWS託管 Microsoft 或 Simple AD,我們建議您使用一個公有子網路和兩個私有子網路來配置 VPC。配置您的目錄以啟動 WorkSpaces 在私有子網路中。為了提供互聯網接入 WorkSpaces ,請在公有子網路中配置 NAT 網路。


            設定 WorkSpaces VPC

先決條件

如果您不熟悉 VPC 和子網的使用,我們建議您閲讀IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide,然後執行下列任務。

注意

如果您需要使用私有子網路和 NAT 網路來配置 VPC,您可以按照 「入門項目」教程,詳細介紹瞭如何設定您的 VPC 和 WorkSpaces 目錄。該教程還介紹瞭如何啟動 WorkSpaces、創建自定義映像和捆綁包以及執行與管理 WorkSpaces 相關的其他任務。

步驟 1:配置彈性 IP 地址

設定彈性 IP 地址為您的 NAT 網關提供的信息,如下所示。請注意,如果您使用的是另一種提供互聯網路訪問的方法,可略過此步驟。

配置彈性 IP 地址

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/ 開啟 Amazon VPC 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Elastic IPs (彈性 IP)

  3. 選擇 Allocate Elastic IP address (配置彈性 IP 地址)

  4. 配置彈性 IP 地址頁面,用於公共 IPv4 地址池,選擇卓越亞馬遜 IPv4 地址集區您帶來的公有 IPv4 地址AWS帳戶, 或客户擁有的 IPv4 地址池選擇,然後選擇配置

  5. 記下彈性 IP 地址,然後選擇Close (關閉)

步驟 2:建立 VPC

如下所示,建立具有一個公有子網路和兩個私有子網路的 VPC。

若要建立 VPC

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/ 開啟 Amazon VPC 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇VPC 儀表板位於左上角。

  3. 選擇 Launch VPC Wizard (啟動 VPC 精靈)

  4. 選擇含公有和私有子網路的 VPC選擇,然後選擇選擇

  5. 按如下方式配置 VPC:

    1. 適用於IPv4 CIDR 區塊中,輸入 VPC 的 CIDR 區塊。我們建議您使用來自私有 (非可公開路由) IP 地址範圍的 CIDR 區塊RFC 1918。例如:10.0.0.0/16。如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide

    2. 適用於IPv6 CIDR 區塊, 保留無 IPv6 CIDR 區塊。

    3. 適用於VPC name (VPC 名稱)中,輸入 VPC 的名稱。

  6. 根據以下內容設定公有子網路:

    1. 適用於IPv4 CIDR 區塊中,輸入子網路的 CIDR 區塊。例如:10.0.0.0/24。如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide

    2. 適用於可用區域, 保留無偏好設定

    3. 適用於Public subnet name (公有子網路名稱)中,輸入子網路的名稱 (例如,WorkSpaces Public Subnet

  7. 根據以下內容設定第一個私有子網路:

    1. 適用於Private subnet's IPv4 CIDR (私有子網路的 IPv4 CIDR)中,輸入子網路的 CIDR 區塊。例如:10.0.1.0/24

    2. 若要為可用區域,請參Amazon WorkSpaces 的可用區域

    3. 適用於Private subnet name (私有子網路名稱)中,輸入子網路的名稱 (例如,WorkSpaces Private Subnet 1

  8. 適用於彈性 IP 分配 ID下,選取您建立的彈性 IP 地址。請注意,如果您使用的是另一種提供互聯網路訪問的方法,可略過此步驟。

  9. 適用於服務端點,什麼都不做。

  10. 適用於Enable DNS hostnames (啟用 DNS 主機名稱), 保留

  11. 適用於Hardware tenancy (硬體租用), 保留預設值

  12. 選擇 Create VPC (建立 VPC)。請注意,設定 VPC 需要幾分鐘的時間。建立 VPC 之後,選擇 OK (確定)

注意

您可以建立 IPv6 CIDR 區塊與 VPC 和子網路的關聯。但是,如果您將子網配置為自動為子網中啟動的實例分配 IPv6 地址,則無法使用圖形捆綁包。(您可以使用圖形 .G4DN、圖形專業 .G4DN 和 GraphicsPro 但是捆綁。) 此限制源於不支持 IPv6 的上一代實例類型的硬件限制。

若要解決此問題,您可以暫時禁用自動指定 IPv6 位址設置 WorkSpaces 子網,然後在啟動圖形捆綁包後重新啟用此設置(如果需要),以便任何其他捆綁包接收所需的 IP 地址。

在預設情況下,自動指定 IPv6 位址設置處於禁用狀態。若要從 Amazon VPC 控台檢查此設置,請在導覽窗格中,選擇子網路。選取子網路,然後選擇動作修改自動指派 IP 設定

如需有關使用 IPv6 地址的詳細資訊,請參您 VPC 中的 IP 定址中的Amazon VPC User Guide

步驟 3:添加第二個私有子網

在上一個步驟中,您建立了具有一個公有子網路和一個私有子網路的 VPC。請使用下列程序來新增第二個私有子網路。

添加私有子網

  1. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Subnets (子網路)

  2. 選擇 Create Subnet (建立子網路)

  3. 適用於Name tag (名稱標籤)中,輸入私有子網路的名稱 (例如,WorkSpaces Private Subnet 2

  4. 對於 VPC (VPC),選取您建立的 VPC。

  5. 若要為可用區域,請參Amazon WorkSpaces 的可用區域。確保您選擇的可用區域與您選擇的可用區域不同步驟 7舊版。

  6. 適用於IPv4 CIDR 區塊中,輸入子網路的 CIDR 區塊。例如:10.0.2.0/24

  7. 選擇建立Close (關閉)

步驟 4:驗證並命名路由表

您可以驗證和命名每個子網的路由表。

驗證和命名路由表

  1. 在導覽窗格中,選擇子網路,並選取您建立的公有子網路。

    1. 路由表標籤上,請選擇路由表的 ID(例如,rtb-12345678)。

    2. 選取路由表。在 Name (名稱) 下,請選擇編輯圖示 (鉛筆) 並輸入名稱 (例如 workspaces-public-routetable),接著選擇核取記號來儲存名稱。

    3. 路由標籤上,確認本機流量有一個路由,且有另一個路由會為 VPC 將所有其他流量傳送到網際網際網路閘道。例如,您應該看到類似於下表中的條目。

      目的地 目標
      10.0.0.0/16 區域
      0.0.0.0/0 igw-12345678
  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Subnets (子網路),並選取您建立的第一個私有子網路,例如 WorkSpaces Private Subnet 1

    1. Route Table (路由表) 標籤上,請選擇路由表的 ID。

    2. 選取路由表。在 Name (名稱) 下,請選擇編輯圖示 (鉛筆) 並輸入名稱 (例如 workspaces-private-routetable),接著選擇核取記號來儲存名稱。

    3. 路由標籤確認本機流量有一個路由,且有另一個路由會向 NAT 網路閘道傳送所有其他流量。例如,您應該看到類似於下表中的條目。

      目的地 目標
      10.0.0.0/16 區域
      0.0.0.0/0 NAT 12345678
      注意

      若要為您的 WorkSpaces ,請確保您的 NAT 網關配置在公有子網中。

  3. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Subnets (子網路),並選取您建立的第二個私有子網路,例如 WorkSpaces Private Subnet 2。在 Route Table (路由表) 標籤上,請確認路由表為私有路由表 (例如 workspaces-private-routetable)。如果路由表不同,請選擇 Edit (編輯) 並選取此路由表。

步驟 5:將您的路由 WorkSpaces 到子網

要將您的 WorkSpaces 添加到您的 VPC 的子網,請確保在設置 WorkSpaces 目錄。

設定 WorkSpaces 目錄,請參閲使用 WorkSpaces 啟動虛擬桌面,然後選擇要使用的目錄類型的教程(AWS託管 Microsoft AD、Simple AD、AD Connector 或AWS託管的微軟 AD 目錄和您的本地域)。

設定具有公有子網路的 VPC

如果您願意,您可以建立具有兩個公有子網路的 VPC。為了提供互聯網接入 WorkSpaces ,請將目錄配置為自動分配彈性 IP 地址,或手動為每個 WorkSpace 分配彈性 IP 地址。

先決條件

如果您不熟悉 VPC 和子網的使用,我們建議您閲讀IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide,然後執行下列任務。

步驟 1:建立 VPC

建立具有下列公有子網路的 VPC。

若要建立 VPC

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/ 開啟 Amazon VPC 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇VPC 儀表板位於左上角。

  3. 選擇 Launch VPC Wizard (啟動 VPC 精靈)

  4. 選擇具有單一公有子網路的 VPC選擇,然後選擇選擇

  5. 適用於IPv4 CIDR 區塊中,輸入 VPC 的 CIDR 區塊。我們建議您使用來自私有 (非可公開路由) IP 地址範圍的 CIDR 區塊RFC 1918。例如:10.0.0.0/16。如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide

  6. 適用於IPv6 CIDR 區塊, 保留No IPv6 CIDR Block (無 IPv6 CIDR 區塊)

  7. 適用於VPC name (VPC 名稱)中,輸入 VPC 的名稱。

  8. 適用於Public subnet's IPv4 CIDR (公有子網路的 IPv4 CIDR)中,輸入子網路的 CIDR 區塊。例如:10.0.0.0/24。如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」IPv4 的 VPC 和子網路規模中的Amazon VPC User Guide

  9. 若要為可用區域,請參Amazon WorkSpaces 的可用區域

  10. (可選)對於Subnet name (子網路名稱)中,輸入子網路的名稱。

  11. 適用於服務端點,什麼都不做。

  12. 適用於Enable DNS hostnames (啟用 DNS 主機名稱), 保留

  13. 適用於Hardware tenancy (硬體租用), 保留預設值

  14. 選擇 Create VPC (建立 VPC)。建立 VPC 之後,選擇 OK (確定)

注意

您可以建立 IPv6 CIDR 區塊與 VPC 和子網路的關聯。但是,如果您將子網配置為自動為子網中啟動的實例分配 IPv6 地址,則無法使用圖形捆綁包。(您可以使用 GraphicsPro 但是捆綁。) 此限制源於不支持 IPv6 的上一代實例類型的硬件限制。

若要解決此問題,您可以暫時禁用自動指定 IPv6 位址設置 WorkSpaces 子網,然後在啟動圖形捆綁包後重新啟用此設置(如果需要),以便任何其他捆綁包接收所需的 IP 地址。

在預設情況下,自動指定 IPv6 位址設置處於禁用狀態。若要從 Amazon VPC 控台檢查此設置,請在導覽窗格中,選擇子網路。選取子網路,然後選擇動作修改自動指派 IP 設定

如需有關使用 IPv6 地址的詳細資訊,請參您 VPC 中的 IP 定址中的Amazon VPC User Guide

步驟 2:添加第二個公有子網

在上一個步驟中,您建立了具有一個公有子網路的 VPC。使用以下過程添加第二個公有子網,並將其與第一個公有子網的路由表相關聯,該子網具有通往 VPC Internet 網關的路由。

添加公有子網路

  1. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Subnets (子網路)

  2. 選擇 Create Subnet (建立子網路)

  3. 對於 Name tag (名稱標籤),輸入子網路的名稱。

  4. 對於 VPC (VPC),選取您建立的 VPC。

  5. 若要為可用區域,請參Amazon WorkSpaces 的可用區域。確保您選擇的可用區域與您選擇的可用區域不同步驟 9舊版。

  6. 適用於IPv4 CIDR 區塊中,輸入子網路的 CIDR 區塊。例如:10.0.1.0/24

  7. 選擇 Create (建立)。建立子網路之後,請選擇Close (關閉)

  8. 將新的公有子網與為第一個子網創建的路由表相關聯,如下所示:

    1. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Subnets (子網路)

    2. 選擇第一個子網路。

    3. Route Table (路由表) 標籤上,請選擇路由表的 ID。

    4. Subnet Associations (子網路關聯) 標籤上,選擇 Edit subnet associations (編輯子網路關聯)

    5. 選中第二個子網(您剛創建的公有子網)的複選框,然後選擇Save

步驟 3:指派彈性 IP 地址

您可以分配彈性 IP 地址(靜態公有 IP 地址)添加到 WorkSpaces 自動或手動。要使用自動分配,請參閲配置自動 IP 地址。要手動分配彈性 IP 地址,請執行以下步驟。

警告

我們建議您不要修改 WorkSpace 啟動後。如果您在目錄級別啟用了彈性 IP 地址的自動分配,則彈性 IP 地址(來自亞馬遜提供的池)會分配給您的 WorkSpace 當它被啟動時。但是,如果您將您擁有的彈性 IP 地址關聯到 WorkSpace,然後您稍後將該彈性 IP 地址與 WorkSpace 取消關聯,則 WorkSpace 會丟失其公有 IP 地址,並且它不會自動從亞馬遜提供的池獲取新 IP 地址。

要將亞馬遜提供的池中的新公有 IP 地址與 WorkSpace 關聯,您必須重建 WorWorkSpace。如果不想重建 WorkSpace,則必須將您擁有的另一個彈性 IP 地址關聯到 WorkSpace。

若要將彈性 IP 地址指派給 WorkSpace 手動

有關如何為 WorkSpace 指派彈性 IP 地址的視頻教程,請參閲AWS知識中心視頻如何將彈性 IP 地址與 WorkSpace 關聯?

  1. 開啟 WorkSpaces 主控台https://console.aws.amazon.com/workspaces/

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇WorkSpaces

  3. 展開行(選擇箭頭圖標) WorkSpace 並注意WorkSpace IP。這是 WorkSpace 的主要私有 IP 地址。

  4. https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  5. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Elastic IPs (彈性 IP)。如果您沒有可用的彈性 IP 地址,請選擇配置彈性 IP 地址並選擇卓越亞馬遜 IPv4 地址集區或者客户擁有的 IPv4 地址池選擇,然後選擇配置。記下新 IP 地址。

  6. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 Network Interfaces (網路介面)。

  7. 選取 WorkSpace 的網路界面。要查找工 WorkSpace 的網絡接口,請輸入WorkSpace IP值(您之前在步驟 3),然後按Enter。所以此WorkSpace IP值與網絡接口的主要私有 IPv4 IP(完成) 列。請注意,網路界面的VPC ID值與您的 WorkSpaces VPC。

  8. 選擇 Actions (動作)、Manage IP Addresses (管理 IP 地址)。選擇指派新 IP選擇,然後選擇是,更新。記下新 IP 地址。

  9. 選擇動作 > 建立與地址的關聯

  10. 關聯彈性 IP 地址頁面上,選擇彈性 IP 地址Address。適用於建立關聯至私有 IP 地址,指定新的私有 IP 地址,然後選擇關聯地址

步驟 4:將您的路由 WorkSpaces 到子網

要將您的 WorkSpaces 添加到您的 VPC 的子網,請確保在設置 WorkSpaces 目錄。

設定 WorkSpaces 目錄,請參閲使用 WorkSpaces 啟動虛擬桌面,然後選擇要使用的目錄類型的教程(AWS託管 Microsoft AD、Simple AD、AD Connector 或AWS託管的微軟 AD 目錄和您的本地域)。

Configure a VPC for WorkSpaces - Amazon WorkSpaces

Configure a VPC for WorkSpaces

WorkSpaces launches your WorkSpaces in a virtual private cloud (VPC). Your WorkSpaces must have access to the internet so that you can install updates to the operating system and deploy applications using Amazon WorkSpaces Application Manager (Amazon WAM).

You can create a VPC with two private subnets for your WorkSpaces and a NAT gateway in a public subnet. Alternatively, you can create a VPC with two public subnets for your WorkSpaces and associate an Elastic IP address with each WorkSpace.

Tip

For a detailed exploration of directory and virtual private cloud (VPC) design considerations for various deployment scenarios, see the Best Practices for Deploying Amazon WorkSpaces whitepaper.

Requirements

Your VPC's subnets must reside in different Availability Zones in the Region where you're launching WorkSpaces. Availability Zones are distinct locations that are engineered to be isolated from failures in other Availability Zones. By launching instances in separate Availability Zones, you can protect your applications from the failure of a single location. Each subnet must reside entirely within one Availability Zone and cannot span zones.

Note

Amazon WorkSpaces is available in a subset of the Availability Zones in each supported Region. To determine which Availability Zones you can use for the subnets of the VPC that you're using for WorkSpaces, see Availability Zones for Amazon WorkSpaces.

Configure a VPC with Private Subnets and a NAT Gateway

If you use AWS Directory Service to create an AWS Managed Microsoft or a Simple AD, we recommend that you configure the VPC with one public subnet and two private subnets. Configure your directory to launch your WorkSpaces in the private subnets. To provide internet access to WorkSpaces in a private subnet, configure a NAT gateway in the public subnet.


            Configure your WorkSpaces VPC

Prerequisites

If you aren't already familiar with working with VPCs and subnets, we recommend reading VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide before performing the following tasks.

Note

As an alternative to the following procedure for configuring a VPC with private subnets and a NAT gateway, you can follow the steps in the "Getting started project" tutorial, which details how to set up your VPC and your WorkSpaces directory. That tutorial also covers how to launch WorkSpaces, create custom images and bundles, and perform other tasks related to administering your WorkSpaces.

Step 1: Allocate an Elastic IP Address

Allocate an Elastic IP address for your NAT gateway as follows. Note that if you are using an alternative method of providing internet access, you can skip this step.

To allocate an Elastic IP address

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Elastic IPs.

  3. Choose Allocate Elastic IP address.

  4. On the Allocate Elastic IP address page, for Public iPv4 address pool, choose Amazon's pool of IPv4 addresses, Public IPv4 address that you bring to your AWS account, or Customer owned pool of IPv4 addresses, and then choose Allocate.

  5. Make a note of the Elastic IP address, then choose Close.

Step 2: Create a VPC

Create a VPC with one public subnet and two private subnets as follows.

To create the VPC

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose VPC Dashboard in the upper-left corner.

  3. Choose Launch VPC Wizard.

  4. Choose VPC with Public and Private Subnets and then choose Select.

  5. Configure the VPC as follows:

    1. For IPv4 CIDR block, enter the CIDR block for the VPC. We recommend that you use a CIDR block from the private (non-publicly routable) IP address ranges specified in RFC 1918. For example, 10.0.0.0/16. For more information, see VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

    2. For IPv6 CIDR Block, keep No IPv6 CIDR Block.

    3. For VPC name, enter a name for the VPC.

  6. Configure the public subnet as follows:

    1. For IPv4 CIDR block, enter the CIDR block for the subnet. For example, 10.0.0.0/24. For more information, see VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

    2. For Availability Zone, keep No Preference.

    3. For Public subnet name, enter a name for the subnet (for example, WorkSpaces Public Subnet).

  7. Configure the first private subnet as follows:

    1. For Private subnet's IPv4 CIDR, enter the CIDR block for the subnet. For example, 10.0.1.0/24.

    2. To make an appropriate selection for Availability Zone, see Availability Zones for Amazon WorkSpaces.

    3. For Private subnet name, enter a name for the subnet (for example, WorkSpaces Private Subnet 1).

  8. For Elastic IP Allocation ID, choose the Elastic IP address that you created. Note that if you are using an alternative method of providing internet access, you can skip this step.

  9. For Service endpoints, do nothing.

  10. For Enable DNS hostnames, keep Yes.

  11. For Hardware tenancy, keep Default.

  12. Choose Create VPC. Note that it takes several minutes to set up your VPC. After the VPC is created, choose OK.

Note

You can associate an IPv6 CIDR block with your VPC and subnets. However, if you configure your subnets to automatically assign IPv6 addresses to instances launched in the subnet, then you cannot use Graphics bundles. (You can use GraphicsPro bundles, however.) This restriction arises from a hardware limitation of previous-generation instance types that do not support IPv6.

To work around this issue, you can temporarily disable the auto-assign IPv6 addresses setting on the WorkSpaces subnets before launching Graphics bundles, and then reenable this setting (if needed) after launching Graphics bundles so that any other bundles receive the desired IP addresses.

By default, the auto-assign IPv6 addresses setting is disabled. To check this setting from the Amazon VPC console, in the navigation pane, choose Subnets. Select the subnet, and choose Actions, Modify auto-assign IP settings.

For more information about working with IPv6 addresses, see IP Addressing in Your VPC in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

Step 3: Add a Second Private Subnet

In the previous step, you created a VPC with one public subnet and one private subnet. Use the following procedure to add a second private subnet.

To add a private subnet

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets.

  2. Choose Create Subnet.

  3. For Name tag, enter a name for the private subnet (for example, WorkSpaces Private Subnet 2).

  4. For VPC, select the VPC that you created.

  5. To make an appropriate selection for Availability Zone, see Availability Zones for Amazon WorkSpaces. Make sure you select a different Availability Zone from the one you selected for Step 7 earlier.

  6. For IPv4 CIDR block, enter the CIDR block for the subnet. For example, 10.0.2.0/24.

  7. Choose Create and Close.

Step 4: Verify and Name the Route Tables

You can verify and name the route tables for each subnet.

To verify and name the route tables

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets, and select the public subnet that you created.

    1. On the Route Table tab, choose the ID of the route table (for example, rtb-12345678).

    2. Select the route table. Under Name, choose the edit icon (the pencil), and enter a name (for example, workspaces-public-routetable), and then choose the check mark to save the name.

    3. On the Routes tab, verify that there is one route for local traffic and another route that sends all other traffic to the internet gateway for the VPC. For example, you should see entries similar to those in the following table.

      Destination Target
      10.0.0.0/16 local
      0.0.0.0/0 igw-12345678
  2. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets, and select the first private subnet that you created (for example, WorkSpaces Private Subnet 1).

    1. On the Route Table tab, choose the ID of the route table.

    2. Select the route table. Under Name, choose the edit icon (the pencil), and enter a name (for example, workspaces-private-routetable), and then choose the check mark to save the name.

    3. On the Routes tab, verify that there is one route for local traffic and another route that sends all other traffic to the NAT gateway. For example, you should see entries similar to those in the following table.

      Destination Target
      10.0.0.0/16 local
      0.0.0.0/0 nat-12345678
      Note

      To provide internet access to your WorkSpaces in the private subnets, make sure your NAT gateway is configured in the public subnet.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets, and select the second private subnet that you created (for example, WorkSpaces Private Subnet 2). On the Route Table tab, verify that the route table is the private route table (for example, workspaces-private-routetable). If the route table is different, choose Edit and select this route table.

Step 5: Route Your WorkSpaces to the Subnets

To route your WorkSpaces to your VPC's subnets, make sure to select your VPC and subnets during the process of setting up your WorkSpaces directory.

To set up your WorkSpaces directory, see Launch a Virtual Desktop Using WorkSpaces, and select the tutorial for the type of directory you'd like to use (AWS Managed Microsoft AD, Simple AD, AD Connector, or a trust relationship between your AWS Managed Microsoft AD directory and your on-premises domain).

Configure a VPC with Public Subnets

If you prefer, you can create a VPC with two public subnets. To provide internet access to WorkSpaces in public subnets, configure the directory to assign Elastic IP addresses automatically or manually assign an Elastic IP address to each WorkSpace.

Prerequisites

If you aren't already familiar with working with VPCs and subnets, we recommend reading VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide before performing the following tasks.

Step 1: Create a VPC

Create a VPC with one public subnet as follows.

To create the VPC

  1. Open the Amazon VPC console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/vpc/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose VPC Dashboard in the upper-left corner.

  3. Choose Launch VPC Wizard.

  4. Choose VPC with a Single Public Subnet and then choose Select.

  5. For IPv4 CIDR block, enter the CIDR block for the VPC. We recommend that you use a CIDR block from the private (non-publicly routable) IP address ranges specified in RFC 1918. For example, 10.0.0.0/16. For more information, see VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

  6. For IPv6 CIDR block, keep No IPv6 CIDR Block.

  7. For VPC name, enter a name for the VPC.

  8. For Public subnet's IPv4 CIDR, enter the CIDR block for the subnet. For example, 10.0.0.0/24. For more information, see VPC and Subnet Sizing for IPv4 in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

  9. To make an appropriate selection for Availability Zone, see Availability Zones for Amazon WorkSpaces.

  10. (Optional) For Subnet name, enter a name for the subnet.

  11. For Service endpoints, do nothing.

  12. For Enable DNS hostnames, keep Yes.

  13. For Hardware tenancy, keep Default.

  14. Choose Create VPC. After the VPC is created, choose OK.

Note

You can associate an IPv6 CIDR block with your VPC and subnets. However, if you configure your subnets to automatically assign IPv6 addresses to instances launched in the subnet, then you cannot use Graphics bundles. (You can use GraphicsPro bundles, however.) This restriction arises from a hardware limitation of previous-generation instance types that do not support IPv6.

To work around this issue, you can temporarily disable the auto-assign IPv6 addresses setting on the WorkSpaces subnets before launching Graphics bundles, and then reenable this setting (if needed) after launching Graphics bundles so that any other bundles receive the desired IP addresses.

By default, the auto-assign IPv6 addresses setting is disabled. To check this setting from the Amazon VPC console, in the navigation pane, choose Subnets. Select the subnet, and choose Actions, Modify auto-assign IP settings.

For more information about working with IPv6 addresses, see IP Addressing in Your VPC in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

Step 2: Add a Second Public Subnet

In the previous step, you created a VPC with one public subnet. Use the following procedure to add a second public subnet and associate it with the route table for the first public subnet, which has a route to the internet gateway for the VPC.

To add a public subnet

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets.

  2. Choose Create Subnet.

  3. For Name tag, enter a name for the subnet.

  4. For VPC, select the VPC that you created.

  5. To make an appropriate selection for Availability Zone, see Availability Zones for Amazon WorkSpaces. Make sure you select a different Availability Zone from the one you selected for Step 9 earlier.

  6. For IPv4 CIDR block, enter the CIDR block for the subnet. For example, 10.0.1.0/24.

  7. Choose Create. After the subnet is created, choose Close.

  8. Associate the new public subnet with the route table created for the first subnet as follows:

    1. In the navigation pane, choose Subnets.

    2. Select the first subnet.

    3. On the Route Table tab, choose the ID of the route table.

    4. On the Subnet Associations tab, choose Edit subnet associations.

    5. Select the check box for the second subnet (the public subnet you just created) and choose Save.

Step 3: Assign the Elastic IP Address

You can assign Elastic IP addresses (static public IP addresses) to your WorkSpaces automatically or manually. To use automatic assignment, see Configure Automatic IP Addresses. To assign Elastic IP addresses manually, use the following procedure.

Warning

We recommend that you not modify the elastic network interface of the WorkSpace after it is launched. If you have enabled automatic assignment of Elastic IP addresses at the directory level, an Elastic IP address (from the Amazon-provided pool) is assigned to your WorkSpace when it is launched. However, if you associate an Elastic IP address that you own to a WorkSpace, and then you later disassociate that Elastic IP address from the WorkSpace, the WorkSpace loses its public IP address, and it doesn't automatically get a new one from the Amazon-provided pool.

To associate a new public IP address from the Amazon-provided pool with the WorkSpace, you must rebuild the WorkSpace. If you don't want to rebuild the WorkSpace, you must associate another Elastic IP address that you own to the WorkSpace.

To assign an Elastic IP address to a WorkSpace manually

For a video tutorial about how to assign an Elastic IP address to a WorkSpace, see the AWS Knowledge Center video How do I associate an Elastic IP Address with a WorkSpace?.

  1. Open the WorkSpaces console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/workspaces/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose WorkSpaces.

  3. Expand the row (choose the arrow icon) for the WorkSpace and note the value of WorkSpace IP. This is the primary private IP address of the WorkSpace.

  4. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  5. In the navigation pane, choose Elastic IPs. If you do not have an available Elastic IP address, choose Allocate Elastic IP address and choose Amazon's pool of IPv4 addresses or Customer owned pool of IPv4 addresses, and then choose Allocate. Make note of the new IP address.

  6. In the navigation pane, choose Network Interfaces.

  7. Select the network interface for your WorkSpace. To find the network interface for your WorkSpace, enter the WorkSpace IP value (which you noted earlier in Step 3) in the search box, and then press Enter. The WorkSpace IP value matches the value in the network interface's Primary private IPv4 IP column. Note that the network interface's VPC ID value matches the ID of your WorkSpaces VPC.

  8. Choose Actions, Manage IP Addresses. Choose Assign new IP, and then choose Yes, Update. Make note of the new IP address.

  9. Choose Actions, Associate Address.

  10. On the Associate Elastic IP Address page, choose an Elastic IP address from Address. For Associate to private IP address, specify the new private IP address, and then choose Associate Address.

Step 4: Route Your WorkSpaces to the Subnets

To route your WorkSpaces to your VPC's subnets, make sure to select your VPC and subnets during the process of setting up your WorkSpaces directory.

To set up your WorkSpaces directory, see Launch a Virtual Desktop Using WorkSpaces, and select the tutorial for the type of directory you'd like to use (AWS Managed Microsoft AD, Simple AD, AD Connector, or a trust relationship between your AWS Managed Microsoft AD directory and your on-premises domain).