共享 Linux AMI 的準則 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

共享 Linux AMI 的準則

請使用下列準則來減少可能遭受攻擊的範圍,以及改善所建立 AMI 的可靠性。

重要

沒有任何一份清單可詳盡列出所有的安全性準則。請小心建置您的共享 AMI,並花些時間思考那些位置可能暴露機密資料。

如果您要為其建立 AMI AWS Marketplace,請參閱《AWS Marketplace 賣家指南》中建立 AMI 的最佳做法,以瞭解準則、政策和最佳做法。

如需有關安全共享 AMI 的詳細資訊,請參閱以下文章:

更新 AMI 工具之後再使用

如為執行個體存放區後端 AMI,建議您的 AMI 先下載並升級 Amazon EC2 AMI 建立工具之後再使用。如此可確保以共享 AMI 為基礎的新 AMI 取得最新的 AMI 工具。

若為 Amazon Linux 2,請使用下列命令安裝 aws-amitools-ec2 套件,並將 AMI 工具新增至 PATH。若為 Amazon Linux AMI,則預設已安裝 aws-amitools-ec2 套件。

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum install -y aws-amitools-ec2 && export PATH=$PATH:/opt/aws/bin > /etc/profile.d/aws-amitools-ec2.sh && . /etc/profile.d/aws-amitools-ec2.sh

使用以下命令更新 AMI 工具:

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum upgrade -y aws-amitools-ec2

如為其他的發行版本,請確定您取得最新的 AMI 工具。

停用根使用者的密碼型態遠端登入

公用 AMI 使用固定的根密碼會帶來安全風險,且資訊會迅速向外散佈。即便仰賴使用者於第一次登入時變更密碼,都會留下一些可能遭到濫用的空窗。

若要解決此問題,請停用根使用者的密碼型態遠端登入。

停用根使用者的密碼型態遠端登入
  1. 使用文字編輯器開啟 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 檔案,並找出下行:

    #PermitRootLogin yes
  2. 將行變為:

    PermitRootLogin without-password

    此組態檔案的位置可能與您的發行版本不同,或您不是執行 OpenSSH。若是這種情況,請參閱相關文件。

停用本機根存取

使用共享 AMI 時,最佳實務之一就是停用直接根登入。若要停用,請登入運作中的執行個體,然後發出下列命令:

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo passwd -l root
注意

此命令不會影響 sudo 的使用。

移除 SSH 主機金鑰對

如果您打算共享來自公用 AMI 的 AMI,請移除 /etc/ssh 中現有的 SSH 主機金鑰對。有其他人使用您的 AMI 啟動執行個體時,會強迫 SSH 產生新的唯一 SSH 金鑰對,藉此以改善安全性和減少發生「中間人」攻擊的可能性。

移除位在您系統中所有下列的金鑰檔案。

  • ssh_host_dsa_key

  • ssh_host_dsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_key

  • ssh_host_key.pub

  • ssh_host_rsa_key

  • ssh_host_rsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_ecdsa_key

  • ssh_host_ecdsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_ed25519_key

  • ssh_host_ed25519_key.pub

您可以使用下列命令安全地移除所有這些檔案:

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo shred -u /etc/ssh/*_key /etc/ssh/*_key.pub
警告

像是 shred 等安全移除公用程式可能不會從儲存媒體中移除檔案的所有複本。檔案的隱藏複本可能由日誌檔案系統 (包含 Amazon Linux 預設 ext4)、快照、備份、RAID 和暫時性快取建立。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 shred 文件

重要

如果您忘記從公用 AMI 中移除現有的 SSH 主機金鑰對,我們的定期稽核流程會通知您和執行您可能有安全風險之 AMI 執行個體的所有客戶。過一段短時間的寬限期後,我們會將 AMI 標示為私有。

安裝公有金鑰登入資料

設定 AMI 避免使用密碼登入後,您必須確定使用者可用其他機制登入。

Amazon EC2 允許使用者在啟動執行個體時指定公私金鑰對名稱。為 RunInstances API 呼叫 (或透過命令列 API 工具) 提供有效的金鑰對名稱時,公有金鑰 (呼叫 CreateKeyPairImportKeyPair 後金鑰對中 Amazon EC2 保留在伺服器上的部分) 會透過執行個體中繼資料的 HTTP 查詢提供給執行個體。

若要透過 SSH 登入,您的 AMI 必須在開機時擷取金鑰值,並將其附加至 /root/.ssh/authorized_keys (或 AMI 上任何其他使用者帳戶的對等檔案)。使用者可用金鑰對啟動您 AMI 的執行個體並登入,無需根密碼。

包括 Amazon Linux 和 Ubuntu 等許多發行版本皆使用 cloud-init 套件來注入所設定使用者的公有金鑰登入資料。如果您的發行版本不支援 cloud-init,您可新增下列程式碼至系統啟動指令碼 (例如 /etc/rc.local),以納入您在啟動時為根使用者指定的公有金鑰。

注意

在下列範例中,IP 地址 http://169.254.169.254/ 是 link-local 地址且僅在執行個體中有效。

IMDSv2
if [ ! -d /root/.ssh ] ; then mkdir -p /root/.ssh chmod 700 /root/.ssh fi # Fetch public key using HTTP TOKEN=`curl -X PUT "http://169.254.169.254/latest/api/token" -H "X-aws-ec2-metadata-token-ttl-seconds: 21600"` \ && curl -H "X-aws-ec2-metadata-token: $TOKEN" http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/public-keys/0/openssh-key > /tmp/my-key if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then cat /tmp/my-key >> /root/.ssh/authorized_keys chmod 700 /root/.ssh/authorized_keys rm /tmp/my-key fi
IMDSv1
if [ ! -d /root/.ssh ] ; then mkdir -p /root/.ssh chmod 700 /root/.ssh fi # Fetch public key using HTTP curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/public-keys/0/openssh-key > /tmp/my-key if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then cat /tmp/my-key >> /root/.ssh/authorized_keys chmod 700 /root/.ssh/authorized_keys rm /tmp/my-key fi

這會套用到任何使用者;無需將其限制到 root 使用者。

注意

重新綁定以此 AMI 為基礎的執行個體,會加入其啟動金鑰。若要避免加入金鑰,您必須清除 (或刪除) authorized_keys 檔案或將此檔案排除於重新綁定之外。

停用 sshd DNS 檢查 (選擇性)

停用 sshd DNS 檢查會稍微降低 sshd 的安全性。但假如 DNS 解析失敗,SSH 登入仍能如預期運作。如果您不停用 sshd 檢查,DNS 解析失敗將封鎖所有登入。

停用 sshd DNS 檢查
  1. 使用文字編輯器開啟 /etc/ssh/sshd_config 檔案,並找出下行:

    #UseDNS yes
  2. 將行變為:

    UseDNS no
注意

此組態檔案的位置可能與您的發行版本不同,或您不是執行 OpenSSH。若是這種情況,請參閱相關文件。

自我保護

我們建議您不要將機密資料或軟體存放在共享的任何 AMI 上。啟動共享 AMI 的使用者可能會重新綁定,並將其註冊為自己的 AMI。請按照以下準則幫助您避免一些容易遭到忽視的安全風險:

  • 建議使用 --exclude directoryec2-bundle-vol 選項跳過含有您不想加入到套件內之機密資訊的任何目錄和子目錄。尤其請在綁定映像時排除所有使用者擁有的 SSH 公有/私有金鑰對和 SSH authorized_keys 檔案。Amazon 公有 AMI 會將這些資訊存放在根使用者的 /root/.ssh,和一般使用者的 /home/user_name/.ssh/ 內。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 ec2-bundle-vol

  • 綁定前務必刪除 shell 歷程記錄。如果您在同一 AMI 嘗試一次以上的套件上傳,shell 歷程記錄會包含您的存取金鑰。以下範例應該是您在從執行個體內綁定之前執行的最後一項命令。

    [ec2-user ~]$ shred -u ~/.*history
    警告

    上面警告中提及的 shred 限制同樣適用於此處。

    請注意,bash 會在退出時將目前工作階段的歷程記錄寫入到磁碟。如果您在刪除 ~/.bash_history 後登出執行個體,然後再重新登入,您會發現 ~/.bash_history 已重新建立,並包含在先前工作階段中執行的所有命令。

    bash 以外的其他程式也會將歷程記錄寫入到磁碟。請小心使用,並移除或排除不必要以點開頭的檔案或以點開頭的目錄。

  • 綁定執行中的執行個體需要您的私有金鑰和 X.509 憑證。因此請將這些憑證和其他登入資料放在不會加入綁定的位置 (例如執行個體存放區)。

Menu
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Guidelines for Shared Linux AMIs

Use the following guidelines to reduce the attack surface and improve the reliability of the AMIs you create.

Note

No list of security guidelines can be exhaustive. Build your shared AMIs carefully and take time to consider where you might expose sensitive data.

If you are building AMIs for AWS Marketplace, see Building AMIs for AWS Marketplace for guidelines, policies and best practices.

For additional information about sharing AMIs safely, see the following articles:

Update the AMI Tools at Boot Time

For AMIs backed by instance store, we recommend that your AMIs download and upgrade the Amazon EC2 AMI creation tools during startup. This ensures that new AMIs based on your shared AMIs have the latest AMI tools.

For Amazon Linux, add the following to /etc/rc.local:

# Update the Amazon EC2 AMI tools
echo " + Updating EC2 AMI tools"
yum update -y aws-amitools-ec2
echo " + Updated EC2 AMI tools"

Use this method to automatically update other software on your image.

Note

When deciding which software to automatically update, consider the amount of WAN traffic that the update will generate (your users will be charged for it) and the risk of the update breaking other software on the AMI.

For other distributions, make sure you have the latest AMI tools.

Disable Password-Based Remote Logins for Root

Using a fixed root password for a public AMI is a security risk that can quickly become known. Even relying on users to change the password after the first login opens a small window of opportunity for potential abuse.

To solve this problem, disable password-based remote logins for the root user.

To disable password-based remote logins for root

  1. Open the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file with a text editor and locate the following line:

    #PermitRootLogin yes
  2. Change the line to:

    PermitRootLogin without-password

    The location of this configuration file might differ for your distribution, or if you are not running OpenSSH. If this is the case, consult the relevant documentation.

Disable Local Root Access

When you work with shared AMIs, a best practice is to disable direct root logins. To do this, log into your running instance and issue the following command:

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo passwd -l root

Note

This command does not impact the use of sudo.

Remove SSH Host Key Pairs

If you plan to share an AMI derived from a public AMI, remove the existing SSH host key pairs located in /etc/ssh. This forces SSH to generate new unique SSH key pairs when someone launches an instance using your AMI, improving security and reducing the likelihood of "man-in-the-middle" attacks.

Remove all of the following key files that are present on your system.

  • ssh_host_dsa_key

  • ssh_host_dsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_key

  • ssh_host_key.pub

  • ssh_host_rsa_key

  • ssh_host_rsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_ecdsa_key

  • ssh_host_ecdsa_key.pub

  • ssh_host_ed25519_key

  • ssh_host_ed25519_key.pub

You can securely remove all of these files with the following command.

[ec2-user ~]$ sudo shred -u /etc/ssh/*_key /etc/ssh/*_key.pub

Warning

Secure deletion utilities such as shred may not remove all copies of a file from your storage media. Hidden copies of files may be created by journalling file systems (including Amazon Linux default ext4), snapshots, backups, RAID, and temporary caching. For more information see the shred documentation.

Important

If you forget to remove the existing SSH host key pairs from your public AMI, our routine auditing process notifies you and all customers running instances of your AMI of the potential security risk. After a short grace period, we mark the AMI private.

Install Public Key Credentials

After configuring the AMI to prevent logging in using a password, you must make sure users can log in using another mechanism.

Amazon EC2 allows users to specify a public-private key pair name when launching an instance. When a valid key pair name is provided to the RunInstances API call (or through the command line API tools), the public key (the portion of the key pair that Amazon EC2 retains on the server after a call to CreateKeyPair or ImportKeyPair) is made available to the instance through an HTTP query against the instance metadata.

To log in through SSH, your AMI must retrieve the key value at boot and append it to /root/.ssh/authorized_keys (or the equivalent for any other user account on the AMI). Users can launch instances of your AMI with a key pair and log in without requiring a root password.

Many distributions, including Amazon Linux and Ubuntu, use the cloud-init package to inject public key credentials for a configured user. If your distribution does not support cloud-init, you can add the following code to a system start-up script (such as /etc/rc.local) to pull in the public key you specified at launch for the root user.

if [ ! -d /root/.ssh ] ; then
        mkdir -p /root/.ssh
        chmod 700 /root/.ssh
fi
# Fetch public key using HTTP
curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/public-keys/0/openssh-key > /tmp/my-key
if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then
        cat /tmp/my-key >> /root/.ssh/authorized_keys
        chmod 700 /root/.ssh/authorized_keys
        rm /tmp/my-key
fi

This can be applied to any user account; you do not need to restrict it to root.

Note

Rebundling an instance based on this AMI includes the key with which it was launched. To prevent the key's inclusion, you must clear out (or delete) the authorized_keys file or exclude this file from rebundling.

Disabling sshd DNS Checks (Optional)

Disabling sshd DNS checks slightly weakens your sshd security. However, if DNS resolution fails, SSH logins still work. If you do not disable sshd checks, DNS resolution failures prevent all logins.

To disable sshd DNS checks

  1. Open the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file with a text editor and locate the following line:

    #UseDNS yes
  2. Change the line to:

    UseDNS no

Note

The location of this configuration file can differ for your distribution or if you are not running OpenSSH. If this is the case, consult the relevant documentation.

Identify Yourself

Currently, there is no easy way to know who provided a shared AMI, because each AMI is represented by an account ID.

We recommend that you post a description of your AMI, and the AMI ID, in the Amazon EC2 forum. This provides a convenient central location for users who are interested in trying new shared AMIs. You can also post the AMI to the Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) page.

Protect Yourself

The previous sections described how to make your shared AMIs safe, secure, and usable for the users who launch them. This section describes guidelines to protect yourself from the users of your AMI.

We recommend against storing sensitive data or software on any AMI that you share. Users who launch a shared AMI might be able to rebundle it and register it as their own. Follow these guidelines to help you to avoid some easily overlooked security risks:

  • We recommend using the --exclude directory option on ec2-bundle-vol to skip any directories and subdirectories that contain secret information that you would not like to include in your bundle. In particular, exclude all user-owned SSH public/private key pairs and SSH authorized_keys files when bundling the image. The Amazon public AMIs store these in /root/.ssh for the root account, and /home/user_name/.ssh/ for regular user accounts. For more information, see ec2-bundle-vol in the Amazon EC2 Command Line Reference.

  • Always delete the shell history before bundling. If you attempt more than one bundle upload in the same AMI, the shell history contains your secret access key. The following example should be the last command executed before bundling from within the instance.

    [ec2-user ~]$ shred -u ~/.*history

    Warning

    The limitations of shred described in the warning above apply here as well.

    Be aware that bash writes the history of the current session to the disk on exit. If you log out of your instance after deleting ~/.bash_history, and then log back in, you will find that ~/.bash_history has been re-created and contains all of the commands executed during your previous session.

    Other programs besides bash also write histories to disk, Use caution and remove or exclude unnecessary dot-files and dot-directories.

  • Bundling a running instance requires your private key and X.509 certificate. Put these and other credentials in a location that is not bundled (such as the instance store).