Amazon Route 53
开发人员指南 (API 版本 2013-04-01)

复杂 Amazon Route 53 配置中运行状况检查的工作原理

在复杂配置中检查资源运行状况的工作原理与简单配置中大致相同。但在复杂配置中,可以使用别名记录 (如加权别名和故障转移别名) 和非别名记录的组合来构建决策树,以使您能够更好地控制 Route 53 响应请求的方式。

例如,您可以使用延迟别名记录选择一个靠近用户的区域,并对每个区域内的两个或多个资源使用加权记录,以针对单个终端节点或可用区域的故障提供保护。下图演示了此配置。


				包含延迟别名记录和加权别名记录的 DNS 配置。

下面介绍如何配置 Amazon EC2 和 Route 53。让我们从树底部开始,因为这是您即将创建记录的顺序:

  • 您在 us-east-1 和 ap-southeast-2 这两个区域中分别有两个 EC2 实例。您希望 Route 53 根据 EC2 实例的运行状况决定是否将流量路由到其中,所以为每个实例创建运行状况检查。您可以配置为每个运行状况检查都会向对应实例的弹性 IP 地址发送运行状况检查请求。

    Route 53 是一项全球服务,您无需指定要为其创建运行状况检查的区域。

  • 您希望根据实例类型将流量路由到每个区域中的两个实例,所以可为每个实例创建加权记录,并为每个记录指定权重。(您可以稍后更改权重,来更改路由到某个实例的流量。) 然后,将适用的运行状况检查与每个实例关联。

    在创建记录时,可以使用 us-east-1-www.example.com 和 ap-southeast-2-www.example.com 这样的名称。只有等到了树顶端,您才可以为记录指定用户将用于访问网站或 Web 应用程序的名称 (例如 example.com)。

  • 您希望将流量路由到可为用户提供最低延迟的区域,因此为树顶端的记录选择延迟路由策略

    您希望将流量路由到每个区域中的记录,而不是直接路由到每个区域中的资源 (加权记录已执行该功能)。因此,创建延迟别名记录

    在创建别名记录时,为它们指定用户将用于访问网站或 Web 应用程序的名称 (例如 example.com)。别名记录将 example.com 的流量路由到 us-east-1-www.example.com 和 ap-southeast-2-www.example.com 记录。

    对于两个延迟别名记录,将 Evaluate Target Health 的值设置为 Yes。这会让 Route 53 去确定一个区域中是否存在任何运行状况良好的资源,然后再尝试将流量路由到对应区域。如果没有,Route 53 会选择其他区域中正常运行的资源。


				包含延迟别名记录和加权别名记录的 DNS 配置。

前面的图表说明了以下事件序列:

  1. Route 53 收到针对 example.com 的查询。根据用户提出请求的延迟,Route 53 为 us-east-1 区域选择延迟别名记录。

  2. Route 53 根据权重选择加权记录。延迟别名记录的评估目标运行状况,因此 Route 53 将检查选定的加权记录的运行状况。

  3. 运行状况检查失败,因此 Route 53 根据权重选择其他加权记录并检查其运行状况。该记录的运行状况也不佳。

  4. Route 53 退出该树的分支,查找其延迟仅次于最佳的延迟别名记录,并为 ap-southeast-2 选择该记录。

  5. Route 53 根据权重再次选择记录,然后检查所选资源的运行状况。假定该资源运行状况良好,则 Route 53 在对查询的响应中返回适用的值。

在将运行状况检查与别名记录关联时会发生什么?

您可以将运行状况检查与别名记录相关联,以作为将 Evaluate Target Health 的值设置为 Yes 的替代或补充。但是,如果 Route 53 根据基础资源(HTTP 服务器、数据库服务器和您的别名记录引用的其他资源)的运行状况来响应查询,这样关联通常更有用。例如,假设以下配置:

  • 将运行状况检查分配给其别名目标为一组加权记录的延迟别名记录。

  • 将延迟别名记录的 Evaluate Target Health 值设置为 Yes

在此配置中,必须同时满足以下两个条件,Route 53 才会为加权记录返回适用值:

  • 必须通过与延迟别名记录关联的运行状况检查。

  • 必须至少有一个加权记录因为与已通过的运行状况检查关联或因为不与运行状况检查相关联而被视为运行状况良好。在后一种情况下,Route 53 始终认为加权记录运行状况良好。

在下图中,左上角的延迟别名记录的运行状况检查失败。因此,Route 53 停止使用该延迟别名记录所引用的任何加权记录响应查询,即使这些记录的运行状况都良好也同样如此。仅在该延迟别名记录恢复良好的运行状况时,Route 53 才会再次开始考虑这些加权记录。(有关例外情况,请参阅Amazon Route 53 在已配置运行状况检查时如何选择记录。)


					包含“评估目标运行状况”设置为“是”且具有运行状况检查的别名记录的 DNS 配置。

忽略运行状况检查时,会出现什么情况?

在复杂配置中,应将运行状况检查与所有非别名记录关联,这一点非常重要。在下面的示例中,us-east-1 区域的一个加权记录中缺少运行状况检查。


					包含一个失败运行状况检查和一个没有运行状况检查的记录的 DNS 配置。

在此配置中,当您忽略对非别名记录的运行状况检查时,将发生以下情况:

  1. Route 53 收到针对 example.com 的查询。根据用户提出请求的延迟,Route 53 为 us-east-1 区域选择延迟别名记录。

  2. Route 53 为延迟别名记录查找别名目标,并检查相应运行状况检查的状态。一个加权记录的运行状况检查失败,因此不考虑该记录。

  3. 用于 us-east-1 区域的别名目标中的其他加权记录没有运行状况检查。相应的资源可能运行状况良好或运行状况不佳,但没有运行状况检查,Route 53 无法了解真实情况。Route 53 假定该资源运行状况良好,并在对查询的响应中返回相应的值。

当您将“Evaluate Target Health”设置为“No”时,会出现什么情况?

通常,应该为树中所有别名记录将 Evaluate Target Health (评估目标运行状况) 设置为 Yes (是)。如果将评估目标运行状况设置为,Route 53 会继续将流量路由到别名记录引用的记录,即使这些记录未通过运行状况检查。

在以下示例中,所有加权记录都有关联的运行状况检查,但对于 us-east-1 区域的延迟别名记录,则将 Evaluate Target Health (评估目标运行状况) 设置为 No (否):


					包含“评估目标运行状况”设置为“否”的别名记录的 DNS 配置。

在此配置中,当您将别名记录的 Evaluate Target Health 设置为 No 时,将出现以下情况:

  1. Route 53 收到针对 example.com 的查询。根据用户提出请求的延迟,Route 53 为 us-east-1 区域选择延迟别名记录。

  2. Route 53 确定用于延迟别名记录的别名目标,并检查相应运行状况检查。两项检查都失败。

  3. 由于用于 us-east-1 区域中的延迟别名记录的评估目标运行状况值为,Route 53 必须在此分支中选择一个记录,而不是忽略该分支并在 ap-southeast-2 区域中查找运行状况良好的记录。

Menu
Amazon Route 53
Developer Guide (API Version 2013-04-01)

How Health Checks Work in Complex Amazon Route 53 Configurations

Checking the health of resources in complex configurations works much the same way as in simple configurations. However, in complex configurations, you use a combination of alias resource record sets (including weighted alias, latency alias, and failover alias) and nonalias resource record sets to build a decision tree that gives you greater control over how Amazon Route 53 responds to requests. For more information, see How Health Checks Work in Simple Amazon Route 53 Configurations.

For example, you might use latency alias resource record sets to select a region close to a user and use weighted resource record sets for two or more resources within each region to protect against the failure of a single endpoint or an Availability Zone. The following diagram shows this configuration.


					Three weighted resource record sets, only two of which have health checks.

Here's how Amazon EC2 and Amazon Route 53 are configured:

  • You have Amazon EC2 instances in two regions, us-east-1 and ap-southeast-2. You want Amazon Route 53 to respond to queries by using the resource record sets in the region that provides the lowest latency for your customers, so you create a latency alias resource record set for each region. (You create the latency alias resource record sets after you create resource record sets for the individual Amazon EC2 instances.)

  • Within each region, you have two Amazon EC2 instances. You create a weighted resource record set for each instance. The name and the type are the same for both of the weighted resource record sets in each region.

    When you have multiple resources in a region, you can create weighted or failover resource record sets for your resources. You can also create even more complex configurations by creating weighted alias or failover alias resource record sets that, in turn, refer to multiple resources.

  • Each weighted resource record set has an associated health check. The IP address for each health check matches the IP address for the corresponding resource record set. This isn't required, but it's the most common configuration.

  • For both latency alias resource record sets, you set the value of Evaluate Target Health to Yes.

    You use the Evaluate Target Health setting for each latency alias resource record set to make Amazon Route 53 evaluate the health of the alias targets—the weighted resource record sets—and respond accordingly.


					Three weighted resource record sets, only two of which have health checks.

The preceding diagram illustrates the following sequence of events:

  1. Amazon Route 53 receives a query for example.com. Based on the latency for the user making the request, Amazon Route 53 selects the latency alias resource record set for the us-east-1 region.

  2. Amazon Route 53 selects a weighted resource record set based on weight. Evaluate Target Health is Yes for the latency alias resource record set, so Amazon Route 53 checks the health of the selected weighted resource record set.

  3. The health check failed, so Amazon Route 53 chooses another weighted resource record set based on weight and checks its health. That resource record set also is unhealthy.

  4. Amazon Route 53 backs out of that branch of the tree, looks for the latency alias resource record set with the next-best latency, and chooses the resource record set for ap-southeast-2.

  5. Amazon Route 53 again selects a resource record set based on weight, and then checks the health of the selected resource record set. The health check passed, so Amazon Route 53 returns the applicable value in response to the query.

What Happens When You Associate a Health Check with an Alias Resource Record Set?

You can associate a health check with an alias resource record set instead of or in addition to setting the value of Evaluate Target Health to Yes. However, it's generally more useful if Amazon Route 53 responds to queries based on the health of the underlying resources—the HTTP servers, database servers, and other resources that your alias resource record sets refer to. For example, suppose the following configuration:

  • You assign a health check to a latency alias resource record set for which the alias target is a group of weighted resource record sets.

  • You set the value of Evaluate Target Health to Yes for the latency alias resource record set.

In this configuration, both of the following must be true before Amazon Route 53 will return the applicable value for a weighted resource record set:

  • The health check associated with the latency alias resource record set must pass.

  • At least one weighted resource record set must be considered healthy, either because it's associated with a health check that passes or because it's not associated with a health check. In the latter case, Amazon Route 53 always considers the weighted resource record set healthy.


						Three weighted resource record sets, only two of which have health checks.

If the health check for the latency alias resource record set fails, Amazon Route 53 stops responding to queries using any of the weighted resource record sets in the alias target, even if they're all healthy. Amazon Route 53 doesn't know the status of the weighted resource record sets because it never looks past the failed health check on the alias resource record set.

What Happens When You Omit Health Checks?

In a complex configuration, it's important to associate health checks with all of the non-alias resource record sets. Let's return to the preceding example, but assume that a health check is missing on one of the weighted resource record sets in the us-east-1 region:


						One failed health check, one resource record set that has no health check.

Here's what happens when you omit a health check on a non-alias resource record set in this configuration:

  1. Amazon Route 53 receives a query for example.com. Based on the latency for the user making the request, Amazon Route 53 selects the latency alias resource record set for the us-east-1 region.

  2. Amazon Route 53 looks up the alias target for the latency alias resource record set, and checks the status of the corresponding health checks. The health check for one weighted resource record set failed, so that resource record set is omitted from consideration.

  3. The other weighted resource record set in the alias target for the us-east-1 region has no health check. The corresponding resource might or might not be healthy, but without a health check, Amazon Route 53 has no way to know. Amazon Route 53 assumes that the resource is healthy and returns the applicable value in response to the query.

What Happens When You Set Evaluate Target Health to No?

In general, you also want to set Evaluate Target Health to Yes for all of the alias resource record sets. In the following example, all of the weighted resource record sets have associated health checks, but Evaluate Target Health is set to No for the latency alias resource record set for the us-east-1 region:


						Two failed health checks, Evaluate Target Health is No.

Here's what happens when you set Evaluate Target Health to No for an alias resource record set in this configuration:

  1. Amazon Route 53 receives a query for example.com. Based on the latency for the user making the request, Amazon Route 53 selects the latency alias resource record set for the us-east-1 region.

  2. Amazon Route 53 determines what the alias target is for the latency alias resource record set, and checks the corresponding health checks. They're both failing.

  3. Because the value of Evaluate Target Health is No for the latency alias resource record set for the us-east-1 region, Amazon Route 53 must choose one resource record set in this branch instead of backing out of the branch and looking for a healthy resource record set in the ap-southeast-2 region.