Amazon Route 53
开发人员指南 (API 版本 2013-04-01)

选择路由策略

要创建记录,需要先选择一个路由策略,它决定了 Amazon Route 53 响应查询的方式:

  • 简单路由策略 – 对于为您的域执行给定功能的单一资源(例如为 example.com 网站提供内容的 Web 服务器),可以使用该策略。

  • 故障转移路由策略 – 如果您想要配置主动-被动故障转移,则可以使用该策略。

  • 地理位置路由策略 – 如果您想要根据用户的位置来路由流量,则可以使用该策略。

  • 地理位置临近度路由策略 – 用于根据资源的位置来路由流量,以及(可选)将流量从一个位置中的资源转移到另一个位置中的资源。

  • 延迟路由策略 – 如果您的资源位于多个 AWS 区域,并且您想要将流量路由到提供最佳延迟的区域,则可以使用该策略。

  • 多值应答路由策略 – 如果您想要让 Route 53 用随机选择的正常记录(最多八条)响应 DNS 查询,则可以使用该策略。

  • 加权路由策略 – 用于按照您指定的比例将流量路由到多个资源。

简单路由

简单路由让您可以配置标准 DNS 记录,无需特殊 Route 53 路由,例如加权或延迟。使用简单路由,您通常将流量路由到单个资源,例如,路由到您网站的 Web 服务器。

如果您在 Route 53 控制台中选择简单路由策略,就无法创建具有相同名称和类型的多个记录,但您可在相同记录中指定多个值,例如多个 IP 地址。(如果您为别名记录选择简单路由策略,则只可以指定一个 AWS 资源或指定当前托管区域中的一个记录。) 如果您在记录中指定多个值,则 Route 53 将所有值以随机顺序返回到递归解析程序,解析程序将值返回到提交 DNS 查询的客户端(例如,Web 浏览器)。然后,客户端选择值并重新提交查询。

有关您在使用简单路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅以下主题:

故障转移路由

故障转移路由允许您将流量路由到某个资源 (如果该资源正常) 或路由到其他资源 (如果第一个资源不正常)。主和辅助记录可以将流量路由到从配置为网站的 Amazon S3 存储桶到复杂记录树的任何目的地。有关更多信息,请参阅 主动/被动故障转移

有关您在使用故障转移路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅以下主题:

地理位置路由

地理位置路由允许您根据用户的地理位置 (即 DNS 查询的来源位置) 选择提供流量的资源。例如,您可能想要将来自欧洲的所有查询全部路由到位于法兰克福区域的 ELB 负载均衡器。

使用地理位置路由时,您可以对您的内容进行本地化,以用户使用的语言显示您网站的部分或全部。您还可以使用地理位置路由,以便仅向您拥有分配权限的位置分配内容。另一种可能的用途是以可预测、易于管理的方式在终端节点间进行负载均衡,以便每个用户位置一致地路由到同一终端节点。

您可以按大陆、按国家/地区或者按美国各州指定地理位置。如果您为重叠的地理区域创建了单独的记录(例如,北美一个记录,加拿大一个记录),则最小的地理区域具有更高的优先级。这允许您将某个大陆的部分查询路由到一个资源,并将该大陆上选定国家/地区的查询路由到另一个资源。(有关每个大陆上的国家/地区的列表,请参阅位置。)

地理位置路由的工作原理是将 IP 地址映射到位置。但是,有些 IP 地址无法映射到地理位置,因此即使您创建了覆盖全部七大洲的地理位置记录,Amazon Route 53 仍会收到一些来自其无法识别的位置的 DNS 查询。您可以创建一条默认记录,用以处理来自未映射到任何位置的 IP 地址的查询,以及来自您未创建地理位置记录的位置的查询。如果您不创建默认记录,则对于来自上述位置的查询,Route 53 将返回“无应答”响应。

有关更多信息,请参阅 用户如何 Amazon Route 53 使用 EDNS0 估计用户的位置

有关您在使用地理定位路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅以下主题:

地理位置临近度路由 (仅流量)

地理位置临近度路由能让 Amazon Route 53 根据您的用户和资源的地理位置将流量路由到您的资源。(可选)您也可以通过指定一个值来增加或减少路由到指定资源的流量,该值称为偏差。偏差可以增加或减少路由到某个资源的流量所来自的地理区域的大小。

要使用地理位置临近度路由,您必须使用 Route 53 流量。为您的资源创建地理位置临近度规则并为每个规则指定以下值之一:

  • 如果您使用的是 AWS 资源,则是您在其中创建资源的 AWS 区域

  • 如果您使用的是非 AWS 资源,则是资源的纬度和经度

(可选) 要更改 Route 53 路由到某个资源的流量所来自的地理区域的大小,请为该偏差指定一个适用值:

  • 要扩大 Route 53 路由到某个资源的流量所来自的地理区域的大小,请为该偏差指定一个介于 1 和 99 之间的正整数。Route 53 缩小相邻区域的大小。

  • 要缩小 Route 53 路由到某个资源的流量所来自的地理区域的大小,请指定一个介于 -1 和 -99 之间的负偏差。Route 53 将扩大相邻区域的大小。

以下地图显示了四个 AWS 区域(编号 1 到 4),以及使用纬度和经度指定的南非约翰内斯堡的一个位置 (5)。


					此世界地图显示当您有地理位置临近度记录针对位于美国西部(俄勒冈)、美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)、欧洲西部(巴黎)和亚太区域(东京)的资源,并且您有一条记录针对南非约翰内斯堡的非 AWS 资源时,如何路由流量。

以下地图显示如果您为美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域(地图上的编号为 2)添加了偏差值 +25 时,将发生的情况。相比从前,来自更大面积的北美区域以及所有南美区域的流量将路由到该区域中的资源。


					此世界地图显示当您在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域中添加了偏差值 +25 时,如何路由流量。

以下地图显示如果您将美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域的偏差值改为 -25 时,将发生的情况。相比从前,来自较小面积的北美和南美区域的流量路由到该区域中的资源,更多流量路由到临近区域 135 中的资源。


					此世界地图显示当您在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域中添加了偏差值 -25 时,如何路由流量。

更改资源的偏移会造成的影响取决于多种因素,包括:

  • 您具有的资源的数量。

  • 资源彼此之间的距离。

  • 您在地理区域之间的边界区域附近拥有的用户数。例如,假设您在 AWS 区域美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)和美国西部(俄勒冈)有资源,而您在美国得克萨斯州的达拉斯、奥斯汀、圣安东尼奥有许多用户。这些城市与您资源的距离大致相等,因此较小的偏差值更改也会导致从一个 AWS 区域中的资源到另一个区域中的资源流量发生大幅摆动。

我们建议您以较小的增量来更改偏差,以防止由于流量的意外摆动而导致您的资源被耗尽。

有关更多信息,请参阅 用户如何 Amazon Route 53 使用 EDNS0 估计用户的位置

Amazon Route 53 如何使用偏差来路由流量

以下是 Amazon Route 53 用于确定如何流量路由的公式:

正偏差

Biased distance = actual distance * [1 - (bias/100)]

负偏差

Biased distance = actual distance / [1 + (bias/100)]

当偏差的值为正时,Route 53 将认为 DNS 查询的源和您在地理位置临近度记录中指定的资源 (如 AWS 区域中的 EC2 实例) 比实际更接近。例如,假设您具有以下地理位置临近度记录:

  • Web 服务器 A 的记录,它具有正偏差 50

  • Web 服务器 B 的记录,它没有偏差

当某个地理位置临近度记录具有正偏差 50 时,Route 53 会将查询的源与该记录的资源之间的距离减半。之后,Route 53 将计算哪一资源更接近查询的源。假设 Web 服务器 A 与查询的源相距 150 千米,而 Web 服务器 B 与查询的源相距 100 千米。如果这两个记录都没有偏差,Route 53 会将查询路由到 Web 服务器 B,因为它更近。但是,由于 Web 服务器 A 的记录具有正偏差 50,Route 53 将认为 Web 服务器 A 与查询的源相距 75 千米。因此,Route 53 会将查询路由到 Web 服务器 A。

下面是针对正偏差 50 的计算:

Bias = 50 Biased distance = actual distance * [1 - (bias/100)] Biased distance = 150 kilometers * [1 - (50/100)] Biased distance = 150 kilometers * (1 - .50) Biased distance = 150 kilometers * (.50) Biased distance = 75 kilometers

基于延迟的路由

如果您的应用程序托管在多个 AWS 区域中,您可以通过从延迟最低的 AWS 区域处理用户的请求来帮助用户提高性能。

要使用基于延迟的路由,您可以为多个 AWS 区域中的资源创建延迟记录。当 Route 53 收到您的域或子域(example.com 或 acme.example.com)的 DNS 查询时,它确定您为哪些 AWS 区域创建了延迟记录、哪个区域能够为用户提供最低的延迟,然后选择该区域的延迟记录。Route 53 使用所选记录的值(例如 Web 服务器的 IP 地址)进行响应。

例如,假设您在美国西部(俄勒冈)区域和亚太区域(新加坡)区域都有 ELB 负载均衡器。您为每个负载均衡器创建了延迟记录。当位于伦敦的用户在浏览器中输入您的域名时,将出现以下情况:

  1. DNS 将查询路由到 Route 53 名称服务器。

  2. Route 53 查询其有关伦敦与新加坡区域以及伦敦与俄勒冈州区域之间延迟的数据。

  3. 如果伦敦与俄勒冈州区域之间的延迟较低,则 Route 53 使用位于俄勒冈州的负载均衡器的 IP 地址响应查询。如果伦敦与新加坡区域之间的延迟较低,则 Route 53 使用位于新加坡的负载均衡器的 IP 地址响应查询。

由于网络连接和路由的变化,Internet 上主机之间的延迟不会一成不变。基于延迟的路由所依据的是在一段时间内执行的延迟测量,这些测量会反映上述变化。这周路由到俄勒冈区域的请求下周可能会被路由到新加坡区域。

注意

如果浏览器或其他查看器使用的是支持 EDNS0 的 edns-client-subnet 扩展的 DNS 解析程序,DNS 解析程序会向 Route 53 发送用户 IP 地址的截断版本。如果您配置了基于延迟的路由,Route 53 在将流量路由到您的资源时会考虑该值。有关更多信息,请参阅 用户如何 Amazon Route 53 使用 EDNS0 估计用户的位置

有关您在使用延迟路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅以下主题:

多值应答路由

多值应答路由允许您将 Amazon Route 53 配置为返回多个值 (如您的 Web 服务器的 IP 地址) 来响应 DNS 查询。您可以为几乎任意记录指定多个值,但多值应答路由也允许您检查每个资源的运行状况,以便 Route 53 只返回正常资源的值。虽然它不能替代负载均衡器,但由于其具备返回多个可进行运行状况检查的 IP 地址的能力,您可以将它与 DNS 配合使用,以提高可用性和负载均衡性。

要将流量以近乎随机的方式路由到多个资源(例如 Web 服务器),可以为每个资源创建一条多值应答记录,并(可选)将 Route 53 运行状况检查关联至每条记录。Route 53 通过最多八条正常记录响应 DNS 查询,并向不同的 DNS 解析程序提供不同的应答。如果 Web 服务器在解析程序缓存响应后变得不可用,则客户端软件可以尝试响应中提供的其他 IP 地址。

请注意以下几点:

  • 如果为多值应答记录关联了运行状况检查,则 Route 53 仅当运行状况检查通过时才向 DNS 查询返回 IP 地址。

  • 如果您没有为多值应答记录关联运行状况检查,则 Route 53 始终认为记录正常。

  • 如果您有不超过八条正常的记录,Route 53 会向所有 DNS 查询提供所有正常记录。

  • 如果所有记录都不正常,Route 53 会向 DNS 查询提供最多八条不正常的记录。

有关您在使用多值应答路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅多值应答记录的值

加权路由

加权路由允许您将多个资源关联至单个域名 (example.com) 或子域名 (acme.example.com),并选择向每个资源路由多少流量。这可用于多种用途,例如负载均衡、测试软件新版本等。

要配置加权路由,您可以创建与每个资源同名、同类型的记录,然后根据要发送到每个资源的流量的规模为每条记录分配相对权重。Amazon Route 53 根据您分配给记录的权重(占该组中所有记录总权重的比例)向资源发送流量:


					用于计算向给定资源路由多少流量的公式:指定记录的权重/所有记录的权重之和。

例如,如果您想要将极少的一部分流量发送到一个资源,并将其余流量发送到另一个资源,则可以指定权重 1 和 255。权重为 1 的资源将获得 1/256 (1/1+255) 的流量,另一个资源将获得 255/256 (255/1+255) 的流量。您可以通过更改权重来逐渐改变平衡。如果要停止向某个资源发送流量,您可以将该记录的权重更改为 0。

有关您在使加权路由策略创建记录时所指定值的信息,请参阅以下主题:

用户如何 Amazon Route 53 使用 EDNS0 估计用户的位置

为了提高地理位置、临近度和延迟路由的准确性,Amazon Route 53 支持 EDNS0 的 edns-client-subnet 扩展。(EDNS0 向 DNS 协议添加了几个可选扩展。)仅当 DNS 解析程序支持 edns-client-subnet 时,Route 53 才能使用它:

  • 如果浏览器或其他查看器使用的是不支持 edns-client-subnet 的 DNS 解析程序,Route 53 使用 DNS 解析程序的源 IP 地址来粗略估计用户的位置,并使用解析程序位置的 DNS 记录响应地理位置查询。

  • 如果浏览器或其他查看器使用的是支持 edns-client-subnet 的 DNS 解析程序,DNS 解析程序会向 Route 53 发送用户 IP 地址的截断版本。Route 53 根据该截断的 IP 地址而不是 DNS 解析程序的源 IP 地址来确定用户的位置;这通常能够更准确地估计用户的位置。然后,Route 53 使用用户位置的 DNS 记录响应地理位置查询。

有关 edns-client-subnet 的更多信息,请参阅 IETF 草案 Client Subnet in DNS Requests

Menu
Amazon Route 53
Developer Guide (API Version 2013-04-01)

Choosing a Routing Policy

When you create a record, you choose a routing policy, which determines how Amazon Route 53 responds to queries:

  • Simple routing policy – Use for a single resource that performs a given function for your domain, for example, a web server that serves content for the example.com website.

  • Failover routing policy – Use when you want to configure active-passive failover.

  • Geolocation routing policy – Use when you want to route traffic based on the location of your users.

  • Geoproximity routing policy – Use when you want to route traffic based on the location of your resources and, optionally, shift traffic from resources in one location to resources in another.

  • Latency routing policy – Use when you have resources in multiple AWS Regions and you want to route traffic to the region that provides the best latency.

  • Multivalue answer routing policy – Use when you want Route 53 to respond to DNS queries with up to eight healthy records selected at random.

  • Weighted routing policy – Use to route traffic to multiple resources in proportions that you specify.

Simple Routing

Simple routing lets you configure standard DNS records, with no special Route 53 routing such as weighted or latency. With simple routing, you typically route traffic to a single resource, for example, to a web server for your website.

If you choose the simple routing policy in the Route 53 console, you can't create multiple records that have the same name and type, but you can specify multiple values in the same record, such as multiple IP addresses. (If you choose the simple routing policy for an alias record, you can specify only one AWS resource or one record in the current hosted zone.) If you specify multiple values in a record, Route 53 returns all values to the recursive resolver in random order, and the resolver returns the values to the client (such as a web browser) that submitted the DNS query. The client then chooses a value and resubmits the query.

For information about values that you specify when you use the simple routing policy to create records, see the following topics:

Failover Routing

Failover routing lets you route traffic to a resource when the resource is healthy or to a different resource when the first resource is unhealthy. The primary and secondary records can route traffic to anything from an Amazon S3 bucket that is configured as a website to a complex tree of records. For more information, see Active-Passive Failover.

For information about values that you specify when you use the failover routing policy to create records, see the following topics:

Geolocation Routing

Geolocation routing lets you choose the resources that serve your traffic based on the geographic location of your users, meaning the location that DNS queries originate from. For example, you might want all queries from Europe to be routed to an ELB load balancer in the Frankfurt region.

When you use geolocation routing, you can localize your content and present some or all of your website in the language of your users. You can also use geolocation routing to restrict distribution of content to only the locations in which you have distribution rights. Another possible use is for balancing load across endpoints in a predictable, easy-to-manage way, so that each user location is consistently routed to the same endpoint.

You can specify geographic locations by continent, by country, or by state in the United States. If you create separate records for overlapping geographic regions—for example, one record for North America and one for Canada—priority goes to the smallest geographic region. This allows you to route some queries for a continent to one resource and to route queries for selected countries on that continent to a different resource. (For a list of the countries on each continent, see Location.)

Geolocation works by mapping IP addresses to locations. However, some IP addresses aren't mapped to geographic locations, so even if you create geolocation records that cover all seven continents, Amazon Route 53 will receive some DNS queries from locations that it can't identify. You can create a default record that handles both queries from IP addresses that aren't mapped to any location and queries that come from locations that you haven't created geolocation records for. If you don't create a default record, Route 53 returns a "no answer" response for queries from those locations.

For more information, see How Amazon Route 53 Estimates the Location of a User (Geolocation and Geoproximity Routing).

For information about values that you specify when you use the geolocation routing policy to create records, see the following topics:

Geoproximity Routing (Traffic Flow Only)

Geoproximity routing lets Amazon Route 53 route traffic to your resources based on the geographic location of your users and your resources. You can also optionally choose to route more traffic or less to a given resource by specifying a value, known as a bias, that expands or shrinks the size of the geographic region from which traffic is routed to a resource.

To use geoproximity routing, you must use Route 53 traffic flow. You create geoproximity rules for your resources and specify one of the following values for each rule:

  • If you're using AWS resources, the AWS Region that you created the resource in

  • If you're using non-AWS resources, the latitude and longitude of the resource

To optionally change the size of the geographic region from which Route 53 routes traffic to a resource, specify the applicable value for the bias:

  • To expand the size of the geographic region from which Route 53 routes traffic to a resource, specify a positive integer from 1 to 99 for the bias. Route 53 shrinks the size of adjacent regions.

  • To shrink the size of the geographic region from which Route 53 routes traffic to a resource, specify a negative bias of -1 to -99. Route 53 expands the size of adjacent regions.

In the following illustration, suppose you increase the bias for the record for the endpoint in Boston and decrease the bias for the record for the endpoint in Washington, D.C. (You can change one value or both.)

  • Increasing the bias for the endpoint in Boston has the effect of increasing the geographic area that the endpoint serves. A user in Philadelphia who was originally routed to an endpoint in Washington, D.C. is now routed to the endpoint in Boston.

  • Decreasing the bias for the endpoint in Washington, D.C. has the effect of decreasing the geographic area that the endpoint serves.


					Adding a bias, either positive or negative, can shift a user from one endpoint to another.

The effect of changing the bias for your resources depends on a number of factors, including the following:

  • The number of resources that you have.

  • How close the resources are to one another.

  • The number of users that you have near the border area between geographic regions. For example, if you have resources in Boston and Washington, D.C. and you have a lot of users in New York City, which is roughly equidistant between your resources, a small change in bias could result in a large swing in traffic from resources in Boston to resources in D.C. or vice versa.

We recommend that you change the bias in small increments to prevent overwhelming your resources due to an unanticipated swing in traffic.

For more information, see How Amazon Route 53 Estimates the Location of a User (Geolocation and Geoproximity Routing).

How Amazon Route 53 Uses Bias to Route Traffic

Here's the formula that Amazon Route 53 uses to determine how to route traffic:

Positive bias

Biased distance = actual distance * [1 - (bias/100)]

Negative bias

Biased distance = actual distance / [1 + (bias/100)]

When the value of the bias is positive, Route 53 treats the source of a DNS query and the resource that you specify in a geoproximity record (such as an EC2 instance in an AWS Region) as if they were closer together than they really are. For example, suppose you have the following geoproximity records:

  • A record for web server A, which has a positive bias of 50

  • A record for web server B, which has no bias

When a geoproximity record has a positive bias of 50, Route 53 halves the distance between the source of a query and the resource for that record. Then Route 53 calculates which resource is closer to the source of the query. Suppose web server A is 150 kilometers from the source of a query and web server B is 100 kilometers from the source of the query. If neither record had a bias, Route 53 would route the query to web server B because it's closer. However, because the record for web server A has a positive bias of 50, Route 53 treats web server A as if it's 75 kilometers from the source of the query. As a result, Route 53 routes the query to web server A.

Here's the calculation for a positive bias of 50:

Bias = 50 Biased distance = actual distance * [1 - (bias/100)] Biased distance = 150 kilometers * [1 - (50/100)] Biased distance = 150 kilometers * (1 - .50) Biased distance = 150 kilometers * (.50) Biased distance = 75 kilometers

Latency-based Routing

If your application is hosted in multiple AWS Regions, you can improve performance for your users by serving their requests from the AWS Region that provides the lowest latency.

To use latency-based routing, you create latency records for your resources in multiple AWS Regions. When Route 53 receives a DNS query for your domain or subdomain (example.com or apex.example.com), it determines which AWS Regions you've created latency records for, determines which region gives the user the lowest latency, and then selects a latency record for that region. Route 53 responds with the value from the selected record, such as the IP address for a web server.

For example, suppose you have ELB load balancers in the US West (Oregon) Region and in the Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region. You created a latency record for each load balancer. Here's what happens when a user in London enters the name of your domain in a browser:

  1. DNS routes the query to a Route 53 name server.

  2. Route 53 refers to its data on latency between London and the Singapore region and between London and the Oregon region.

  3. If latency is lower between the London and Oregon regions, Route 53 responds to the query with the IP address for the Oregon load balancer. If latency is lower between London and the Singapore region, Route 53 responds with the IP address for the Singapore load balancer.

Latency between hosts on the internet can change over time as a result of changes in network connectivity and routing. Latency-based routing is based on latency measurements performed over a period of time, and the measurements reflect these changes. A request that is routed to the Oregon region this week might be routed to the Singapore region next week.

Note

When a browser or other viewer uses a DNS resolver that supports the edns-client-subnet extension of EDNS0, the DNS resolver sends Route 53 a truncated version of the user's IP address. If you configure latency-based routing, Route 53 considers this value when routing traffic to your resources.

For information about values that you specify when you use the latency routing policy to create records, see the following topics:

Multivalue Answer Routing

Multivalue answer routing lets you configure Amazon Route 53 to return multiple values, such as IP addresses for your web servers, in response to DNS queries. You can specify multiple values for almost any record, but multivalue answer routing also lets you check the health of each resource, so Route 53 returns only values for healthy resources. It's not a substitute for a load balancer, but the ability to return multiple health-checkable IP addresses is a way to use DNS to improve availability and load balancing.

To route traffic approximately randomly to multiple resources, such as web servers, you create one multivalue answer record for each resource and, optionally, associate a Route 53 health check with each record. Route 53 responds to DNS queries with up to eight healthy records and gives different answers to different DNS resolvers. If a web server becomes unavailable after a resolver caches a response, client software can try another IP address in the response.

Note the following:

  • If you associate a health check with a multivalue answer record, Route 53 responds to DNS queries with the corresponding IP address only when the health check is healthy.

  • If you don't associate a health check with a multivalue answer record, Route 53 always considers the record to be healthy.

  • If you have eight or fewer healthy records, Route 53 responds to all DNS queries with all the healthy records.

  • When all records are unhealthy, Route 53 responds to DNS queries with up to eight unhealthy records.

For information about values that you specify when you use the multivalue answer routing policy to create records, see Values for Multivalue Answer Records.

Weighted Routing

Weighted routing lets you associate multiple resources with a single domain name (example.com) or subdomain name (acme.example.com) and choose how much traffic is routed to each resource. This can be useful for a variety of purposes, including load balancing and testing new versions of software.

To configure weighted routing, you create records that have the same name and type for each of your resources. You assign each record a relative weight that corresponds with how much traffic you want to send to each resource. Amazon Route 53 sends traffic to a resource based on the weight that you assign to the record as a proportion of the total weight for all records in the group:


					Formula for how much traffic is routed to a given resource: 
						weight for a specified record / sum of the weights for all records.

For example, if you want to send a tiny portion of your traffic to one resource and the rest to another resource, you might specify weights of 1 and 255. The resource with a weight of 1 gets 1/256th of the traffic (1/1+255), and the other resource gets 255/256ths (255/1+255). You can gradually change the balance by changing the weights. If you want to stop sending traffic to a resource, you can change the weight for that record to 0.

For information about values that you specify when you use the weighted routing policy to create records, see the following topics:

How Amazon Route 53 Estimates the Location of a User (Geolocation and Geoproximity Routing)

To improve the accuracy of geolocation and geoproximity routing, Amazon Route 53 supports the edns-client-subnet extension of EDNS0. (EDNS0 adds several optional extensions to the DNS protocol.) Route 53 can use edns-client-subnet only when DNS resolvers support it:

  • When a browser or other viewer uses a DNS resolver that does not support edns-client-subnet, Route 53 uses the source IP address of the DNS resolver to approximate the location of the user and responds to geolocation queries with the DNS record for the resolver's location.

  • When a browser or other viewer uses a DNS resolver that does support edns-client-subnet, the DNS resolver sends Route 53 a truncated version of the user's IP address. Route 53 determines the location of the user based on the truncated IP address rather than the source IP address of the DNS resolver; this typically provides a more accurate estimate of the user's location. Route 53 then responds to geolocation queries with the DNS record for the user's location.

For more information about edns-client-subnet, see the IETF draft Client Subnet in DNS Requests.