在 DynamoDB 中使用扫描 - Amazon DynamoDB

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

在 DynamoDB 中使用扫描

AScan操作 Amazon DynamoDB 表或二级索引中的每个项目。默认情况下,Scan 操作返回表或索引中每个项目的全部数据属性。您可以使用 ProjectionExpression 参数,以便 Scan 仅返回部分属性而不是全部属性。

Scan 始终返回结果集。如果未找到匹配的项目,结果集将为空。

单个Scan请求最多可检索 1 MB 的数据。(可选)DynamoDB 可以向此数据应用筛选表达式,从而在将数据返回给用户之前缩小结果范围。

Scan 的筛选表达式

如果您需要进一步细化 Scan 结果,则可以选择性地提供筛选表达式。筛选表达式 可确定 Scan 结果中应返回给您的项目。所有其他结果将会丢弃。

筛选表达式在 Scan 已完成但结果尚未返回时应用。因此,无论是否存在筛选表达式,Scan 都将占用同等数量的读取容量。

AScan操作最多可检索 1 MB 的数据。此限制在计算筛选表达式之前应用。

Scan中,您可以在筛选表达式中指定任何属性 — 包括分区键和排序键属性。

筛选表达式的语法与条件表达式的相同。筛选表达式可使用的比较运算符、函数和逻辑运算符与条件表达式可使用的相同。有关更多信息,请参阅 条件表达式

以下 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 示例将扫描 Thread 表,此时仅返回此表中由特定用户最新发布到的项目。

aws dynamodb scan \ --table-name Thread \ --filter-expression "LastPostedBy = :name" \ --expression-attribute-values '{":name":{"S":"User A"}}'

限制结果集中的项目数

Scan 操作可让您限制结果中返回的项目数。为此,将 Limit 参数设置为您在筛选条件表达式求值前希望 Scan 操作返回的最大项目数。

例如,假设您对某个表进行 ScanLimit 值为 6,并且没有筛选表达式。这些区域有:Scan结果将包含表中的前 6 个项目。

现在假设您向 Scan 添加了一个筛选表达式。在这种情况下,DynamoDB 将向返回的前 6 个项目应用筛选表达式,并放弃不匹配的项目。最终的 Scan 结果将包含 6 个或更少的项目,具体取决于筛选出的项目数。

为结果分页

DynamoDB分页结果来自Scan运算。通过分页,Scan结果将分成若干 “页” 大小为 1 MB(或更小)的数据。应用程序可以先处理第一页结果,然后处理第二页结果,依此类推。

单个Scan只会返回符合 1 MB 大小限制的结果集。要确定是否存在更多结果,并一次检索一页结果,应用程序应执行以下操作:

  1. 检查低级别 Scan 结果:

    • 如果结果包含 LastEvaluatedKey 元素,请继续步骤 2。

    • 如果结果中没有 LastEvaluatedKey,则表示没有其他要检索的项目。

  2. 构造新的 Scan 请求,使用与前一个请求相同的参数。但是,此次获取来自步骤 1 的 LastEvaluatedKey 值,并将其用作新 Scan 请求中的 ExclusiveStartKey 参数。

  3. 运行新的 Scan 请求。

  4. 前往步骤 1。

换言之,LastEvaluatedKey 响应中的 Scan 应该用作下一 ExclusiveStartKey 请求的 Scan。如果 Scan 响应中没有 LastEvaluatedKey 元素,则表示您已检索最后一页结果。(检查是否没有 LastEvaluatedKey 是确定您是否已到达结果集末尾的唯一方式。)

您可以使用 AWS CLI 查看此行为。这些区域有:AWS CLI发送低级别Scan请求,重复,直到LastEvaluatedKey不再出现在结果中。请考虑以下 AWS CLI 示例,它扫描整个 Movies 表,但仅返回特定流派的电影。

aws dynamodb scan \ --table-name Movies \ --projection-expression "title" \ --filter-expression 'contains(info.genres,:gen)' \ --expression-attribute-values '{":gen":{"S":"Sci-Fi"}}' \ --page-size 100 \ --debug

通常,AWS CLI 自动处理分页。但是,在此例中,AWS CLI --page-size 参数限制了每页项目数。--debug 参数输出有关请求和响应的低级别信息。

如果您运行该示例,DynamoDB 的首次响应类似如下内容。

2017-07-07 12:19:14,389 - MainThread - botocore.parsers - DEBUG - Response body: b'{"Count":7,"Items":[{"title":{"S":"Monster on the Campus"}},{"title":{"S":"+1"}}, {"title":{"S":"100 Degrees Below Zero"}},{"title":{"S":"About Time"}},{"title":{"S":"After Earth"}}, {"title":{"S":"Age of Dinosaurs"}},{"title":{"S":"Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2"}}], "LastEvaluatedKey":{"year":{"N":"2013"},"title":{"S":"Curse of Chucky"}},"ScannedCount":100}'

响应中的 LastEvaluatedKey 指示并未检索所有项目。这些区域有:AWS CLI然后发出其他Scan请求到 DynamoDB。此请求和响应模式继续,直到收到最终响应。

2017-07-07 12:19:17,830 - MainThread - botocore.parsers - DEBUG - Response body: b'{"Count":1,"Items":[{"title":{"S":"WarGames"}}],"ScannedCount":6}'

如果不存在 LastEvaluatedKey,则表示没有其他要检索的项目。

注意

这些区域有:AWS开发工具包处理低级别的 DynamoDB 响应(包括是否存在LastEvaluatedKey),并为分页提供各种抽象Scan结果。例如,SDK for Java 发工具包文档界面提供java.util.Iterator支持,以便您能够一次处理一个结果。

有关各种编程语言的代码示例,请参阅Amazon DynamoDB 入门指南和AWS适用于您的语言的 SDK 文档。

对结果中的项目进行计数

除了与您的条件匹配的项目之外,Scan 响应还包含以下元素:

  • ScannedCount— 评估的项目数,在任何之前ScanFilter已应用。ScannedCount 值很高但 Count 结果很少或为零,指 Scan 操作效率低下。如果您没有在请求中使用筛选器,则 ScannedCountCount 相同。

  • Count— 剩余的项目数晚于将应用筛选表达式(如果有)。

注意

如果您不使用筛选表达式,那么 ScannedCountCount 将具有相同的值。

如果使用Scan结果集大于 1 MB,ScannedCountCount仅表示项目总数的部分计数。您需要执行多次 Scan 操作才能检索所有结果(请参阅为结果分页)。

所有 Scan 响应都将包含由该特定 Scan 请求处理的项目的 ScannedCountCount。要获取所有 Scan 请求的总和,您可以对 ScannedCountCount 记录流水账。

Scan 占用的容量单位

您可以Scan任何表或二级索引。Scan操作将占用读取容量单位,如下所示。

如果对...进行 Scan DynamoDB 将占用... 的读取容量单位
表的预置读取容量。
全局二级索引 索引的预置读取容量。
本地二级索引 基表的预置读取容量。

默认情况下,Scan 操作不会返回任何有关它占用的读取容量大小的数据。但是,您可在 ReturnConsumedCapacity 请求中指定 Scan 参数以获取此信息。下面是 ReturnConsumedCapacity 的有效设置:

  • NONE— 不返回任何已占用容量数据。(这是默认值。)

  • TOTAL— 响应包含占用的读取容量单位的总数。

  • INDEXES— 响应显示占用的读取容量单位的总数,以及访问的每个表和索引的占用容量。

DynamoDB 基于项目大小而不是返回到应用程序的数据量来确定占用的读取容量单位数。因此,无论您是请求所有属性(默认行为)还是只请求部分属性(使用投影表达式),占用的容量单位数都是相同的。无论您是否使用筛选表达式,该数量也是相同的。

Scan 的读取一致性

默认情况下,Scan 操作将执行最终一致性读取。这意味着 Scan 结果可能无法反映由最近完成的 PutItemUpdateItem 操作导致的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅读取一致性

如果您需要强一致性读取,请在 Scan 开始时在 ConsistentRead 请求中将 true 参数设置为 Scan。这可确保在 Scan 开始前完成的所有写入操作都会包括在 Scan 响应中。

设置ConsistentReadtrue可用于表备份或复制方案,与DynamoDB Streams。首先,您使用 Scan 并将 ConsistentRead 设置为 true 来获取表中数据的一致性副本。在Scan中,DynamoDB Streams 将记录表上发生的任何其他写入活动。在 Scan 完成后,您可以将流中的写入活动应用于该表。

注意

与保留 ConsistentRead 的默认值 (false) 相比,ConsistentRead 设置为 trueScan 操作将占用两倍的读取容量单位。

并行扫描

默认情况下,Scan操作按顺序处理数据。Amazon DynamoDB 以 1 MB 的增量向应用程序返回数据,并且应用程序执行其他Scan操作以检索下一个 1 MB 的数据。

扫描的表或索引越大,Scan需要完成。此外,一个顺序Scan可能并不总是能够充分使用预配置的读取吞吐量容量:即使 DynamoDB 跨多个物理分区分发大表的数据,Scan操作一次只能读取一个分区。出于这个原因,Scan会受到单个分区的最大吞吐量限制。

为了解决这些问题,Scan操作可以逻辑上将表或二级索引分成多个分段,多个应用程序工作人员并行扫描这些段。每个工作线程可以是一个线程(在支持多线程的编程语言中),也可以是一个操作系统进程。要执行并行扫描,每个工作程序都会发出自己的Scan使用以下参数:

  • Segment— 要由特定工作人员扫描的段。每个工作人员应使用不同的值Segment

  • TotalSegments— 并行扫描的片段总数。该值必须与您的应用程序将使用的工作线程数相同。

下图显示了多线程应用程序如何执行并行Scan具有三个并行度。

在此图中,应用程序生成三个线程,并为每个线程分配一个数字。段从零开始,因此,第一个数字始终为 0。) 每个线程都会发出Scan请求,设置Segment设置为其指定的编号并将TotalSegments设置为 3。每个线程扫描其指定的段,每次检索 1 MB 的数据,并将数据返回到应用程序的主线程。

使用的值SegmentTotalSegments适用于单个Scan请求,并且您可以随时使用不同的值。您可能需要对这些值以及您使用的工作线程数进行试验,直到您的应用程序达到最佳性能。

注意

具有大量工作程序的并行扫描可以轻松占用正在扫描的表或索引的所有预配置吞吐量。如果表或索引也引起来自其他应用程序的大量读取或写入活动,最好避免进行此类扫描。

要控制每个请求返回的数据量,请使用Limit参数。这有助于防止出现一个工作程序占用所有预配置吞吐量而牺牲所有其他工作程序的情况。

Menu
Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Working with Scans

A Scan operation reads every item in a table or a secondary index. By default, a Scan operation returns all of the data attributes for every item in the table or index. You can use the ProjectionExpression parameter so that Scan only returns some of the attributes, rather than all of them.

Scan always returns a result set. If no matching items are found, the result set will be empty.

A single Scan request can retrieve a maximum of 1 MB of data; DynamoDB can optionally apply a filter expression to this data, narrowing the results before they are returned to the user.

Filter Expressions for Scan

If you need to further refine the Scan results, you can optionally provide a filter expression. A filter expression determines which items within the Scan results should be returned to you. All of the other results are discarded.

A filter expression is applied after a Scan finishes, but before the results are returned. Therefore, a Scan will consume the same amount of read capacity, regardless of whether a filter expression is present.

A Scan operation can retrieve a maximum of 1 MB of data. This limit applies before the filter expression is evaluated.

With Scan, you can specify any attributes in a filter expression—including partition key and sort key attributes.

The syntax for a filter expression is identical to that of a condition expression. Filter expressions can use the same comparators, functions, and logical operators as a condition expression. For more information, Condition Expressions.

Example

The following AWS CLI example scans the Thread table and returns only the items that were last posted to by a particular user.

Copy
aws dynamodb scan \ --table-name Thread \ --filter-expression "LastPostedBy = :name" \ --expression-attribute-values '{":name":{"S":"User A"}}'

Limiting the Number of Items in the Result Set

The Scan operation allows you to limit the number of items that it returns in the result. To do this, set the Limit parameter to the maximum number of items that you want.

For example, suppose you Scan a table, with a Limit value of 6, and without a filter expression. The Scan result will contain the first six items from the table that match the key condition expression from the request.

Now suppose you add a filter expression to the Scan. In this case, DynamoDB will apply the filter expression to the six items that were returned, discarding those that do not match. The final Scan result will contain 6 items or fewer, depending on the number of items that were filtered.

Paginating the Results

DynamoDB paginates the results from Scan operations. With pagination, the Scan results are divided into "pages" of data that are 1 MB in size (or less). An application can process the first page of results, then the second page, and so on.

A single Scan will only return a result set that fits within the 1 MB size limit. To determine whether there are more results, and to retrieve them one page at a time, applications should do the following:

  1. Examine the low-level Scan result:

    • If the result contains a LastEvaluatedKey element, proceed to step 2.

    • If there is not a LastEvaluatedKey in the result, then there are no more items to be retrieved.

  2. Construct a new Scan request, with the same parameters as the previous one—but this time, take the LastEvaluatedKey value from step 1 and use it as the ExclusiveStartKey parameter in the new Scan request.

  3. Run the new Scan request.

  4. Go to step 1.

In other words, the LastEvaluatedKey from a Scan response should be used as the ExclusiveStartKey for the next Scan request. If there is not a LastEvaluatedKey element in a Scan response, then you have retrieved the final page of results. (The absence of LastEvaluatedKey is the only way to know that you have reached the end of the result set.)

You can use the AWS CLI to view this behavior. The CLI sends low-level Scan requests to DynamoDB, repeatedly, until LastEvaluatedKey is no longer present in the results. Consider the following AWS CLI example that scans the entire Movies table but returns only the movies from a particular genre:

Copy
aws dynamodb scan \ --table-name Movies \ --projection-expression "title" \ --filter-expression 'contains(info.genres,:gen)' \ --expression-attribute-values '{":gen":{"S":"Sci-Fi"}}' \ --page-size 100 \ --debug

Ordinarily, the AWS CLI handles pagination automatically; however, in this example, the CLI's --page-size parameter limits the number of items per page. The --debug parameter prints low-level information about requests and responses.

If you run the example, the first response from DynamoDB looks similar to this:

Copy
2017-07-07 12:19:14,389 - MainThread - botocore.parsers - DEBUG - Response body: b'{"Count":7,"Items":[{"title":{"S":"Monster on the Campus"}},{"title":{"S":"+1"}}, {"title":{"S":"100 Degrees Below Zero"}},{"title":{"S":"About Time"}},{"title":{"S":"After Earth"}}, {"title":{"S":"Age of Dinosaurs"}},{"title":{"S":"Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2"}}], "LastEvaluatedKey":{"year":{"N":"2013"},"title":{"S":"Curse of Chucky"}},"ScannedCount":100}'

The LastEvaluatedKey in the response indicates that not all of the items have been retrieved. The AWS CLI will then issue another Scan request to DynamoDB. This request and response pattern continues, until the final response:

Copy
2017-07-07 12:19:17,830 - MainThread - botocore.parsers - DEBUG - Response body: b'{"Count":1,"Items":[{"title":{"S":"WarGames"}}],"ScannedCount":6}'

The absence of LastEvaluatedKey indicates that there are no more items to retrieve.

Note

The AWS SDKs handle the low-level DynamoDB responses (including the presence or absence of LastEvaluatedKey), and provide various abstractions for paginating Scan results. For example, the SDK for Java document interface provides java.util.Iterator support, so that you can walk through the results one at a time.

For code samples in various programming languages, see the Amazon DynamoDB Getting Started Guide and the AWS SDK documentation for your language.

Counting the Items in the Results

In addition to the items that match your criteria, the Scan response contains the following elements:

  • ScannedCount — the number of items that matched the key condition expression, before a filter expression (if present) was applied.

  • Count — the number of items that remain, after a filter expression (if present) was applied.

Note

If you do not use a filter expression, then ScannedCount and Count will have the same value.

If the size of the Scan result set is larger than 1 MB, then ScannedCount and Count will represent only a partial count of the total items. You will need to perform multiple Scan operations in order to retrieve all of the results (see Paginating the Results).

Each Scan response will contain the ScannedCount and Count for the items that were processed by that particular Scan request. To obtain grand totals for all of the Scan requests, you could keep a running tally of both ScannedCount and Count.

Capacity Units Consumed by Scan

You can Scan any table or secondary index. Scan operations consume read capacity units, as follows:

If you Scan a... DynamoDB consumes read capacity units from...
Table The table's provisioned read capacity.
Global secondary index The index's provisioned read capacity.
Local secondary index The base table's provisioned read capacity.

By default, a Scan operation does not return any data on how much read capacity it consumes. However, you can specify the ReturnConsumedCapacity parameter in a Scan request to obtain this information. The following are the valid settings for ReturnConsumedCapacity:

  • NONE—no consumed capacity data is returned. (This is the default.)

  • TOTAL—the response includes the aggregate number of read capacity units consumed.

  • INDEXES—the response shows the aggregate number of read capacity units consumed, together with the consumed capacity for each table and index that was accessed.

DynamoDB calculates the number of read capacity units consumed based on item size, not on the amount of data that is returned to an application. For this reason, the number of capacity units consumed will be the same whether you request all of the attributes (the default behavior) or just some of them (using a projection expression). The number will also be the same whether or not you use a filter expression.

Read Consistency for Scan

A Scan operation performs eventually consistent reads, by default. This means that the Scan results might not reflect changes due to recently completed PutItem or UpdateItem operations. For more information, see Read Consistency.

If you require strongly consistent reads, as of the time that the Scan begins, set the ConsistentRead parameter to true in the Scan request. This will ensure that all of the write operations that completed before the Scan began will be included in the Scan response.

Setting ConsistentRead to true can be useful in table backup or replication scenarios, in conjunction with DynamoDB Streams: You first use Scan with ConsistentRead set to true, in order to obtain a consistent copy of the data in the table. During the Scan, DynamoDB Streams records any additional write activity that occurs on the table. After the Scan completes, you can apply the write activity from the stream to the table.

Note

Note that a Scan operation with ConsistentRead set to true will consume twice as many read capacity units, as compared to leaving ConsistentRead at its default value (false).

Parallel Scan

By default, the Scan operation processes data sequentially. DynamoDB returns data to the application in 1 MB increments, and an application performs additional Scan operations to retrieve the next 1 MB of data.

The larger the table or index being scanned, the more time the Scan will take to complete. In addition, a sequential Scan might not always be able to fully utilize the provisioned read throughput capacity: Even though DynamoDB distributes a large table's data across multiple physical partitions, a Scan operation can only read one partition at a time. For this reason, the throughput of a Scan is constrained by the maximum throughput of a single partition.

To address these issues, the Scan operation can logically divide a table or secondary index into multiple segments, with multiple application workers scanning the segments in parallel. Each worker can be a thread (in programming languages that support multithreading) or an operating system process. To perform a parallel scan, each worker issues its own Scan request with the following parameters:

  • Segment — A segment to be scanned by a particular worker. Each worker should use a different value for Segment.

  • TotalSegments — The total number of segments for the parallel scan. This value must be the same as the number of workers that your application will use.

The following diagram shows how a multithreaded application performs a parallel Scan with three degrees of parallelism:

In this diagram, the application spawns three threads and assigns each thread a number. (Segments are zero-based, so the first number is always 0.) Each thread issues a Scan request, setting Segment to its designated number and setting TotalSegments to 3. Each thread scans its designated segment, retrieving data 1 MB at a time, and returns the data to the application's main thread.

The values for Segment and TotalSegments apply to individual Scan requests, and you can use different values at any time. You might need to experiment with these values, and the number of workers you use, until your application achieves its best performance.

Note

A parallel scan with a large number of workers can easily consume all of the provisioned throughput for the table or index being scanned. It is best to avoid such scans if the table or index is also incurring heavy read or write activity from other applications.

To control the amount of data returned per request, use the Limit parameter. This can help prevent situations where one worker consumes all of the provisioned throughput, at the expense of all other workers.