以不同方式建置的功能 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

以不同方式建置的功能

許多 Amazon Redshift SQL 語言元素具有不同的效能特性,並使用語法和語法,與等效 PostgreSQL 實作非常不同。

重要

請勿假設 Amazon Redshift 和 PostgreSQL 共通的元素具有相同的語意。務必參考Amazon Redshift 開發人員指南 SQL 命令來理解細微的差異。

一個特別的例子是 VACUUM 命令,這是用來清理和重整資料表。VACUUM 具有不同的功能,而且使用與 PostgreSQL 版本不同的一組參數。請參閱清空資料表,獲取如何在 Amazon Redshift 中使用 VACUUM 的詳細資訊。

資料庫管理的功能和工具也經常有所不同。例如,Amazon Redshift 會維持一組系統資料表和視圖,這些資料表和視圖提供關於系統運作狀況的資訊。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 系統資料表和檢視

下列清單包含了一些 SQL 功能的示例,這些功能在 Amazon Redshift 中以不同的方式建置。

  • CREATE TABLE

    Amazon Redshift 不支援資料表空間、資料表分割、繼承和某些限制。CREATE TABLE 的 Amazon Redshift 實作可讓您定義資料表的排序和分配算法,以實現最佳化的平行處理。

    Amazon Redshift Spectrum 支援使用CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE命令。

  • ALTER TABLE

    僅支援 ALTER COLUMN 動作的子集。

    ADD COLUMN 支援在每個 ALTER TABLE 陳述式中只新增一欄。

  • COPY

    Amazon Redshift COPY 命令是高度專門的命令,可用來從 Amazon S3 存儲桶和 Amazon DynamoDB 資料表載入資料,以便於自動壓縮作業的進行。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 載入資料 區段和 COPY 指令參考。

  • INSERTUPDATEDELETE

    不支援 WITH。

  • VACUUM

    VACUUM 所使用的參數完全不同。例如,PostgreSQL 中的預設 VACUUM 操作,只會回收空間,以供重複使用;但是,Amazon Redshift 中預設的 VACUUM 操作為 VACUUM FULL,這項操作會回收磁碟空間,並將所有資料列重新排序。

  • 在比較字串值時,會忽略 VARCHAR 值中多餘的空格。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 多餘空格的意義

Menu
Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Features That Are Implemented Differently

Many Amazon Redshift SQL language elements have different performance characteristics and use syntax and semantics and that are quite different from the equivalent PostgreSQL implementation.

Important

Do not assume that the semantics of elements that Amazon Redshift and PostgreSQL have in common are identical. Make sure to consult the Amazon Redshift Developer Guide SQL Commands to understand the often subtle differences.

One example in particular is the VACUUM command, which is used to clean up and reorganize tables. VACUUM functions differently and uses a different set of parameters than the PostgreSQL version. See Vacuuming Tables for more about information about using VACUUM in Amazon Redshift.

Often, database management and administration features and tools are different as well. For example, Amazon Redshift maintains a set of system tables and views that provide information about how the system is functioning. See System Tables and Views for more information.

The following list includes some examples of SQL features that are implemented differently in Amazon Redshift.

  • CREATE TABLE

    Amazon Redshift does not support tablespaces, table partitioning, inheritance, and certain constraints. The Amazon Redshift implementation of CREATE TABLE enables you to define the sort and distribution algorithms for tables to optimize parallel processing.

  • ALTER TABLE

    ALTER COLUMN actions are not supported.

    ADD COLUMN supports adding only one column in each ALTER TABLE statement.

  • COPY

    The Amazon Redshift COPY command is highly specialized to enable the loading of data from Amazon S3 buckets and Amazon DynamoDB tables and to facilitate automatic compression. See the Loading Data section and the COPY command reference for details.

  • INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE

    WITH is not supported.

  • VACUUM

    The parameters for VACUUM are entirely different. For example, the default VACUUM operation in PostgreSQL simply reclaims space and makes it available for re-use; however, the default VACUUM operation in Amazon Redshift is VACUUM FULL, which reclaims disk space and resorts all rows.

  • Trailing spaces in VARCHAR values are ignored when string values are compared. For more information, see Significance of Trailing Blanks.