Amazon Simple Email Service
开发人员指南

Amazon SES 电子邮件发送指标常见问题

Amazon SES 将收集与您发送的电子邮件相关的几个指标。这些指标可让您分析您的电子邮件程序的有效性并监控重要的统计数据 (如退回邮件率和投诉率)。

本节包含与电子邮件发送指标相关的以下主题的常见问题:

一般性问题

问题 1:在传送电子邮件后,Amazon SES 将继续收集多长时间的打开和单击指标?

在每封电子邮件发送后,Amazon SES 将会在 60 天内收集打开情况和单击情况指标。

问题 2如果用户打开了某封电子邮件多次,或者单击了某封电子邮件中的某个链接多次,这些事件是否都会被单独跟踪?

如果收件人打开了某封电子邮件多次,那么每个实例都会计为一个唯一的打开事件。同样,如果收件人单击了同一链接多次,那么每次单击都会计为一个唯一的单击事件。

问题 3是否会聚合打开情况和单击情况指标,或者是否能将它们向下度量到收件人级别?

将在收件人级别跟踪打开情况和点击情况。利用打开情况和单击情况跟踪,您可以确定哪些收件人打开了电子邮件或单击了电子邮件中的链接。

问题 4:我是否能使用 Amazon SES API 检索打开情况和单击情况指标?

Amazon SES API 未提供用于检索打开情况和单击情况指标的方法。但是,您可以使用 CloudWatch API 检索 Amazon SES 的打开情况和单击情况指标。例如,您可以借助 AWS CLI 使用 CloudWatch API 检索单击情况指标,方法是发出以下命令:

aws cloudwatch get-metric-statistics --namespace AWS/SES --metric-name Click \ --statistics Sum --period 86400 --start-time 2017-01-01T00:00:00Z \ --end-time 2017-12-31T23:59:59Z

上面显示的命令将检索 2017 年每天的单击事件的总数。要检索打开情况指标,请将 metric-name 参数的值更改为 Open。您还可以修改 start-timeend-time 参数以更改分析期,或更改 period 参数以实现更精细的分析。

打开情况跟踪

问题 1:打开情况跟踪如何工作?

在通过 Amazon SES 发送的每封电子邮件的底部,我们插入了一个 1 像素 x 1 像素的透明 GIF 图像。每封电子邮件都包含一个对此图像文件的唯一引用;当此图像被打开时,Amazon SES 可以准确地分辨出哪封邮件被谁打开过。

添加此跟踪像素不会改变您的电子邮件的外观。

问题 2打开情况跟踪是否是默认启用的?

默认情况下,打开情况跟踪对所有 Amazon SES 用户可用。要使用打开情况跟踪,您必须执行以下操作:

  1. 创建一个配置集。

  2. 在该配置集中,创建一个事件目标。

  3. 配置该事件目标以将打开事件通知发布到某个目标。

  4. 在要跟踪打开情况的每封电子邮件中,指定您在步骤 1 中创建的配置集。

有关此过程的更详细的说明,请参阅使用 Amazon SES 事件发布进行监控

问题 3我能否省略某些电子邮件中的打开情况跟踪像素?

有两种方法可以从您的电子邮件中省略打开情况跟踪像素。第一种方法是在不指定配置集的情况下发送电子邮件。或者,您也可以指定未配置为发布有关打开事件的数据的配置集。

问题 4您是否跟踪纯文本电子邮件的打开情况?

打开情况跟踪仅适用于 HTML 电子邮件。由于打开情况跟踪依赖于包含一个图像,因此无法为使用纯文本 (非 HTML) 电子邮件客户端打开电子邮件的用户收集打开情况指标。

单击情况跟踪

问题 1:单击情况跟踪如何工作?

为了跟踪单击情况,Amazon SES 将修改电子邮件正文中的每个链接。当收件人单击某个链接时,链接请求将被发送到 Amazon SES 服务器,然后立即被转发到目标地址。与打开情况跟踪一样,每个重定向链接都是唯一的。这使 Amazon SES 能够确定哪些收件人单击了链接,他们何时单击了链接,以及用来访问链接的电子邮件。

重要

如果您将一封邮件发送给多个收件人,每个收件人都将保存相同的单击情况跟踪链接。要跟踪各个收件人的单击活动,请在每次发送操作中将电子邮件发送给一个收件人。

问题 2我能否禁用单击情况跟踪?

您可以通过将一个属性 ses:no-track 添加到电子邮件的 HTML 正文中的锚点标签来禁用单击情况跟踪。例如,如果您链到 AWS 主页,那么正常的锚点链接将类似于以下这样:

<a href="https://aws.amazon.com">Amazon Web Services</a>

若要对该链接禁用单击情况跟踪,请对该链接做如下类似的修改:

<a ses:no-track href="aws.amazon.com">Amazon Web Services</a>

由于 ses:no-track 不是标准的 HTML 属性,我们会从到达您的收件人的收件箱的电子邮件版本中自动删除它。

问题 3可在每封电子邮件中跟踪的链接的数量是否有限制?

可在一封电子邮件中跟踪的链接的数量存在限制,但在实际操作中,您几乎不可能达到此限制。目前,单击跟踪系统最多能跟踪 250 个链接。

问题 4是否为纯文本电子邮件中的链接收集单击情况指标?

要使用单击情况跟踪,您必须发送 HTML 电子邮件。Amazon SES 不会跟踪纯文本电子邮件中的链接。

问题 5:我能否用唯一标识符来标记链接?

您可以使用 ses:tags 属性将任意数量的标签 (键-值对形式) 添加到电子邮件中的链接。当您使用此属性时,请使用将用于传递内联 CSS 属性的相同格式指定键和值:输入键,后跟冒号 (:),再后跟值。如果您需要传递多个键-值对,请用分号 (;) 分隔每个对。

例如,假设您要将标签 product:book, genre:fiction, subgenre:scifi, type:newrelease 添加到某个链接。生成的链接将类似于下面这样:

<a ses:tags="product:book;genre:fiction;subgenre:scifi;type:newrelease;" href="http://www.amazon.com/…/">New Releases in Science Fiction</a>

这些标签将传递到您的事件发布目标,这样您便可以对用户单击过的特定链接执行更多的分析。

注意

链接标签可以包含数字 0–9、字母 A–Z(大写和小写字母)、连字符 (-) 和下划线 (_)。

问题 6被跟踪的链接使用 HTTP 协议还是 HTTPS 协议?

跟踪链接与您电子邮件中的原始链接使用相同的协议。

例如,如果您的电子邮件包含一个指向 https://www.amazon.com 的链接,则该链接将替换为使用 HTTPS 协议的跟踪链接。如果您的电子邮件包含一个指向 http://www.example.com 的链接,则该链接将替换为使用 HTTP 协议的跟踪链接。如果您的电子邮件包含前面提到的两种链接,那么 HTTPS 链接将替换为使用 HTTPS 协议的跟踪链接,HTTP 链接将替换为使用 HTTP 协议的跟踪链接。

问题 7:不跟踪我的电子邮件中的链接。为什么不跟踪?

Amazon SES 需要电子邮件中的链接包含正确编码的 URL。具体来说,链接中的 URL 必须符合 RFC 3986 的要求。如果电子邮件中的链接编码不正确,收件人仍会在电子邮件中看到链接,但 Amazon SES 不会跟踪链接的单击事件。

与不正确编码相关的问题通常出现在包含查询字符串的 URL 中。例如,如果电子邮件中的链接 URL 在查询字符串中包含非编码空格字符(如以下示例中“John”和“Doe”之间的空格:http://www.example.com/path/to/page?name=John Doe),则 Amazon SES 不会跟踪此链接。但是,如果此 URL 改用编码空格字符(如以下示例中的“%20”:http://www.example.com/path/to/page?name=John%20Doe),则 Amazon SES 将按预期跟踪它。

Menu
Amazon Simple Email Service
Developer Guide

Amazon SES Email Sending Metrics FAQs

Amazon SES collects several metrics about the emails you send. These metrics enable you to analyze the effectiveness of your email program and monitor important statistics, such as your bounce and complaint rates.

This section contains FAQs on the following topics related to email sending metrics:

General Questions

Q1. After an email is delivered, how long will Amazon SES continue to collect open and click metrics?

Amazon SES collects open and click metrics for 60 days after each email is sent.

Q2. If a user opens an email multiple times, or clicks a link in an email multiple times, is each of those events tracked separately?

If a recipient opens an email multiple times, each instance is counted as a unique open event. Similarly, if a recipient clicks the same link multiple times, each click is counted as a unique click event.

Q3. Are open and click metrics aggregated, or can they be measured down to the recipient level?

Opens and clicks are tracked at the recipient level. With open and click tracking, you can determine which recipients opened an email or clicked a link in an email.

Q4. Can I retrieve open and click metrics using the Amazon SES API?

The Amazon SES API does not provide a method for retrieving open and click metrics. However, you can retrieve open and click metrics for Amazon SES using the CloudWatch API. For example, you can use the AWS CLI to retrieve click metrics using the CloudWatch API by issuing the following command:

Copy
aws cloudwatch get-metric-statistics --namespace AWS/SES --metric-name Click \ --statistics Sum --period 86400 --start-time 2017-01-01T00:00:00Z \ --end-time 2017-12-31T23:59:59Z

The command shown above retrieves the total number of click events for each day in 2017. To retrieve open metrics change the value of the metric-name parameter to Open. You can also modify the start-time and end-time parameters to change the analysis period, or change the period parameter for more fine-grained analysis.

Open Tracking

Q1. How does open tracking work?

At the bottom of each email sent through Amazon SES, we insert a 1 pixel by 1 pixel transparent GIF image. Each email includes a unique reference to this image file; when the image is opened, Amazon SES can tell exactly which message was opened and by whom.

The addition of this tracking pixel does not change the appearance of your email.

Q2. Is open tracking enabled by default?

Open tracking is available to all Amazon SES users by default. To use open tracking, you must do the following:

  1. Create a configuration set.

  2. In the configuration set, create an event destination.

  3. Configure the event destination to publish open event notifications to a destination.

  4. In every email for which you want to track opens, specify the configuration set that you created in step 1.

For a more detailed explanation of this process, see Monitoring Using Amazon SES Event Publishing.

Q3. Can I omit the open tracking pixel from certain emails?

There are two ways to omit the open tracking pixel from your emails. The first method is to send the email without specifying a configuration set. Alternatively, you can specify a configuration set that is not configured to publish data about open events.

Q4. Do you track opens for plaintext emails?

Open tracking only works with HTML emails. Because open tracking relies on the inclusion of an image, it is not possible to collect open metrics for users who open emails using a text-only (non-HTML) email client.

Click Tracking

Q1. How does click tracking work?

To track clicks, Amazon SES modifies each link in the body of the email. When recipients click a link, they are sent to an Amazon SES server, and are immediately forwarded to the destination address. As with open tracking, each redirect link is unique. This enables Amazon SES to determine which recipient clicked the link, when they clicked it, and the email from which they arrived at the link.

Important

If you send a single message to multiple recipients, each recipient will save the same click tracking link. To track individual recipients' click activity, send email to one recipient per send operation.

Q2. Can I disable click tracking?

You can disable click tracking by adding an attribute, ses:no-track, to the anchor tags in the HTML body of your email. For example, if you link to the AWS home page, a normal anchor link resembles the following:

<a href="https://aws.amazon.com">Amazon Web Services</a>

To disable click tracking for that same link, modify the link to resemble the following:

<a ses:no-track href="aws.amazon.com">Amazon Web Services</a>

Because ses:no-track is not a standard HTML attribute, we automatically remove it from the version of the email that arrives in your recipients' inboxes.

Q3. Is there a limit to the number of links that can be tracked in each email?

There is a limit to the number of links that can be tracked in a single email, although you are highly unlikely to encounter this limit in practice. Currently, the click tracking system will track a maximum of 250 links.

Q4. Are click metrics collected for links in plaintext emails?

In order to use click tracking, you must send HTML emails. Links in plaintext emails are not tracked by Amazon SES.

Q5. Can I tag links with unique identifiers?

You can add an unlimited number of tags, as key-value pairs, to links in your email by using the ses:tags attribute. When you use this attribute, specify the keys and values using the same format that you would use to pass inline CSS properties: type the key, followed by a colon (:), followed by the value. If you need to pass several key-value pairs, separate each pair with a semicolon (;).

For example, assume you want to add the tags product:book, genre:fiction, subgenre:scifi, type:newrelease to a link. The resulting link resembles the following:

<a ses:tags="product:book;genre:fiction;subgenre:scifi;type:newrelease;" 
    href="http://www.amazon.com/…/">New Releases in Science Fiction</a>

These tags are passed through to your event publishing destination so that you can perform additional analysis on the specific links that your users clicked.

Q6. Do tracked links use the HTTP or HTTPS protocol?

Tracking links use the same protocol as the original links in your email.

For example, if your email includes a link to https://www.amazon.com, the link is replaced with a tracking link that uses the HTTPS protocol. If your email includes a link to http://www.example.com, the link is replaced with a tracking link that uses HTTP. If your email includes both of the previously mentioned links, the HTTPS link is replaced with a tracking link that uses the HTTPS protocol, and the HTTP link is replaced with a tracking link that uses the HTTP protocol.