教學:在 Amazon Linux 2 上安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

教學:在 Amazon Linux 2 上安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器

以下程序可幫助您在 Amazon Linux 2 執行個體 (有時稱為 LAMP Web 伺服器或 LAMP 堆疊) 上安裝 Apache Web 伺服器,包含 PHP 和 MariaDB (社群開發的 MySQL 分支) 支援。您可以使用此伺服器託管一個靜態網站或部署一個將資訊讀取和寫入資料庫的動態 PHP 應用程式。

重要

若要在 Amazon Linux AMI 上安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器,請參閱教學:使用 Amazon Linux AMI 安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器

如果您要在 Ubuntu 或 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 執行個體上設定 LAMP Web 伺服器,本教學不適用於您。如需其他分發的詳細資訊,請參閱其特定文件。如需 Ubuntu 上 LAMP Web 伺服器的資訊,請參閱 Ubuntu 社群文件的 ApacheMySQLPHP 主題。

選項:使用自動化完成此教學課程

若要使用 AWS Systems Manager Automation (而不使用進行下列工作) 完成此教學課程,請執行 AWSDocs-InstallALAMPServer-AL2 Automation 文件。

步驟 1:準備 LAMP 伺服器

先決條件

本教學假設您已使用 Amazon Linux 2 啟動一個新的執行個體,並使用可從網際網路連線的公有 DNS 名稱。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 步驟 1:啟動執行個體。您也必須先設定您的安全群組,允許 SSH (連接埠 22)、HTTP (連接埠 80) 和 HTTPS (連接埠 443) 連線。如需這些先決條件的詳細資訊,請參閱 授權 Linux 執行個體的傳入流量

注意

下列程序將安裝 Amazon Linux 2 上最新的 PHP 版本 (目前為 PHP 7.2)。若您預計不使用此教學所提及的 PHP 應用程式,改使用其他 PHP 應用程式,您應檢查其與 PHP 7.2 的相容性。

準備 LAMP 伺服器

  1. 連線到您的執行個體

  2. 為確保所有軟體套件皆為最新版本,請對您的執行個體執行快速軟體更新。本程序可能需費時幾分鐘,但確定您擁有最新的安全更新和錯誤修正至關重要。

    -y 選項不要求確認就會安裝更新。如果您要先檢查更新再安裝,則可以省略此選項。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum update -y
  3. 安裝 lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2php7.2 Amazon Linux Extras 儲存庫以取得適用於 Amazon Linux 2 的 LAMP MariaDB 和 PHP 套件之最新版本。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo amazon-linux-extras install -y lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2 php7.2
    注意

    如果出現錯誤,顯示 sudo: amazon-linux-extras: command not found,則代表執行個體不是以 Amazon Linux 2 AMI 啟動 (您可能是使用 Amazon Linux AMI)。您可以使用下列命令來檢視您的 Amazon Linux 版本。

    cat /etc/system-release

    若要在 Amazon Linux AMI 上安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器,請參閱教學:使用 Amazon Linux AMI 安裝 LAMP Web 伺服器

  4. 現在您的執行個體是最新的,您即可以安裝 Apache Web 伺服器、MariaDB 和 PHP 軟體套件。

    使用 yum install 命令可以同時安裝多個軟體套件和所有相關的依存項目。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum install -y httpd mariadb-server
    注意

    您可以使用下列命令來檢視這些套件的目前版本:

    yum info package_name
  5. 啟動 Apache Web 伺服器。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start httpd
  6. 使用 systemctl 命令來設定 Apache Web 伺服器在每次系統開機時啟動。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl enable httpd

    要確認 httpd 已啟用,您可以執行以下命令:

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl is-enabled httpd
  7. 如果您尚未這樣做,請新增安全規則以允許對內 HTTP (連接埠 80) 連線到您的執行個體。根據預設,launch-wizard-N 安全群組在初始化期間已針對您的執行個體設定完畢。該群組包含允許 SSH 連線的規則。

    1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

    2. 選擇 Instances (執行個體) 然後選取您的執行個體。

    3. Security groups (安全群組) 下,選擇 view inbound rules (檢視入站規則)

    4. 您應該會在預設安全群組中看到下列規則清單:

      Security Groups associated with i-1234567890abcdef0 Ports Protocol Source launch-wizard-N 22 tcp 0.0.0.0/0 ✔

      使用 新增規則至安全群組 中的程序,使用下列值新增入站安全規則:

      • Type (類型):HTTP

      • Protocol (通訊協定):TCP

      • Port Range (連接埠範圍):80

      • Source (來源):自訂

  8. 測試您的 Web 伺服器。在 Web 瀏覽器中,輸入執行個體的公有 DNS 地址 (或公有 IP 地址)。如果 /var/www/html 中沒有內容,您應該會看到 Apache 測試頁。您可以使用 Amazon EC2 主控台取得執行個體的公有 DNS (查看 Public DNS (公有 DNS) 欄;如果此欄為隱藏,請選擇 Show/Hide Columns (顯示/隱藏欄) (齒輪狀圖示) 並選擇 Public DNS (公有 DNS))。

    如果您未看見 Apache 測試頁面,請檢查您使用的安全群組是否包含允許 HTTP (連接埠 80) 流量的規則。如需將 HTTP 規則新增至安全群組的詳細資訊,請參閱 新增規則至安全群組

    重要

    如果您未使用 Amazon Linux,則可能也需要在您的執行個體上設定防火牆以允許這些連線。如需如何設定防火牆的詳細資訊,請參閱針對您特定散發的文件。

    
                        Apache 測試頁面

Apache httpd 提供保存在稱為 Apache 文件根目錄中的檔案。Amazon Linux Apache 文件根目錄是 /var/www/html,預設情況下由根擁有。

若要允許 ec2-user 帳戶操作此目錄中的檔案,您必須修改目錄的所有權和許可。有多種方法可以達成這件任務。在本教學中,您會將 ec2-user 新增至 apache 群組,以向 apache 群組授予 /var/www 目錄的所有權,並指派寫入許可。

設定檔案許可

  1. 將您的使用者 (在此案例中為 ec2-user) 新增至 apache 群組。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo usermod -a -G apache ec2-user
  2. 登出並重新登入,以取得新的群組並驗證您的成員資格。

    1. 登出 (使用 exit 命令或關閉終端機視窗):

      [ec2-user ~]$ exit
    2. 若要在 apache 群組中驗證您的會員資格,請重新連線至您的執行個體,然後執行下列命令:

      [ec2-user ~]$ groups ec2-user adm wheel apache systemd-journal
  3. /var/www 的群組所有權及其內容變更為 apache 群組。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo chown -R ec2-user:apache /var/www
  4. 若要新增群組寫入許可並在將來的子目錄上設定群組 ID,請變更 /var/www 及其子目錄的目錄許可。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo chmod 2775 /var/www && find /var/www -type d -exec sudo chmod 2775 {} \;
  5. 若要新增群組寫入許可,請以遞迴方式變更 /var/www 及其子目錄的檔案許可:

    [ec2-user ~]$ find /var/www -type f -exec sudo chmod 0664 {} \;

現在,ec2-user (以及 apache 群組未來的任何成員) 可以新增、刪除和編輯 Apache 文件根目錄中的檔案,所以您可以新增內容 (例如靜態網站或 PHP 應用程式)。

保護您的 Web 伺服器 (選擇性)

執行 HTTP 通訊協定的 Web 伺服器不會為其傳送或接收的資料提供傳輸安全性。當您使用 Web 瀏覽器連線到 HTTP 伺服器時,您前往的 URL、您收到的網頁內容以及您提交的任何 HTML 表單內容 (包括密碼),網路路徑的任何一處的竊聽者都可以看到。保護您的 Web 伺服器的最佳實務是安裝對 HTTPS (HTTP Secure) 的支援,HTTPS 使用 SSL/TLS 加密保護您的資料。

如需在伺服器上啟用 HTTPS 的相關資訊,請參閱教學課程:在 Amazon Linux 2 上設定 SSL/TLS

步驟 2:測試您的 LAMP 伺服器

如果伺服器已安裝且正在執行,且檔案許可設定正確,則您的 ec2-user 帳戶應該能夠在可透過網際網路使用的 /var/www/html 目錄中建立 PHP 檔案。

測試您的 LAMP 伺服器

  1. 在 Apache 文件根資料夾中建立 PHP 檔案。

    [ec2-user ~]$ echo "<?php phpinfo(); ?>" > /var/www/html/phpinfo.php

    如果您嘗試執行此命令時出現拒絕許可錯誤,請嘗試登出並重新登入,以取得您在 設定檔案許可 設定的適當群組許可。

  2. 在 Web 瀏覽器中,輸入您剛才建立的檔案 URL。此 URL 為您執行個體的公有 DNS 地址,其後跟隨斜線和檔案名稱。例如:

    http://my.public.dns.amazonaws.com/phpinfo.php

    您現在應該會看見 PHP 資訊頁面:

    注意

    如果你未看見此頁面,請確認 /var/www/html/phpinfo.php 檔案在前述步驟中正確建立。您也可以使用下列命令來確認已安裝所有必要的套件。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum list installed httpd mariadb-server php-mysqlnd

    如果您的輸出未列出所需之任何套件,請使用 sudo yum install package 命令來安裝。另請確認在 amazon-linux-extras 命令的輸出中已啟用 php7.2lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2 extras。

  3. 刪除 phpinfo.php 檔案。雖然這可能是有用的資訊,但基於安全因素,您不應將其廣播至網際網路。

    [ec2-user ~]$ rm /var/www/html/phpinfo.php

現在您應擁有功能齊全的 LAMP Web 伺服器。如果您將內容新增至 /var/www/html 的文件根目錄,則應該可以在執行個體的公有 DNS 地址檢視該內容。

步驟 3:保護資料庫伺服器

MariaDB 伺服器的預設安裝有幾項非常適合測試和開發的功能,但針對生產伺服器應將其停用或移除。mysql_secure_installation 命令將引導您完成設定根目錄密碼並從安裝中移除不安全功能的程序。即使您不打算使用 MariaDB 伺服器,我們也建議您執行此程序。

保護 MariaDB 伺服器

  1. 啟動 MariaDB 伺服器。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start mariadb
  2. 執行 mysql_secure_installation

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo mysql_secure_installation
    1. 請在系統提示時,輸入根帳戶的密碼。

      1. 輸入目前的根密碼。根據預設,根帳戶並未設定密碼。按 Enter。

      2. 輸入 Y 來設定密碼,然後輸入兩次安全密碼。如需建立安全密碼的詳細資訊,請參閱 https://identitysafe.norton.com/password-generator/。請確保此密碼存放於安全處。

        注意

        為 MariaDB 設定根密碼僅是確保資料庫安全的最基本措施。在建置或安裝資料庫驅動的應用程式時,通常會為該應用程式建立資料庫服務使用者,並避免使用根帳戶進行資料庫管理以外的任何作業。

    2. 輸入 Y 來移除匿名使用者帳戶。

    3. 輸入 Y 來停用遠端根登入。

    4. 輸入 Y 來移除測試資料庫。

    5. 輸入 Y 來載入使用者權限資料表並儲存您的變更。

  3. (選用) 如果您不打算立即使用 MariaDB 伺服器,請將其停止。再次需要時,您可以將其重啟。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl stop mariadb
  4. (選用) 如果您希望 MariaDB 伺服器在每次系統開機時啟動,請輸入下列命令。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl enable mariadb

步驟 4:(選用) 安裝 phpMyAdmin

phpMyAdmin 是一個 Web 型的資料庫管理工具,可用於檢視和編輯 EC2 執行個體上的 MySQL 資料庫。請遵循下列步驟在您的 Amazon Linux 執行個體上安裝並設定 phpMyAdmin

重要

我們不建議使用 phpMyAdmin 來存取 LAMP 伺服器,除非您在 Apache 中啟用了 SSL/TLS;否則,您的資料庫管理員密碼和其他資料將透過網際網路不安全傳輸。如需開發人員的安全性建議,請參閱保護您的 phpMyAdmin 安裝。如需有關在 EC2 執行個體上保護 Web 伺服器的一般資訊,請參閱教學課程:在 Amazon Linux 2 上設定 SSL/TLS

安裝 phpMyAdmin

  1. 安裝所需的依存項目。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum install php-mbstring -y
  2. 重新啟動 Apache。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl restart httpd
  3. 重新啟動 php-fpm

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl restart php-fpm
  4. /var/www/html 中導覽至 Apache 文件根。

    [ec2-user ~]$ cd /var/www/html
  5. https://www.phpmyadmin.net/downloads 選取最新 phpMyAdmin 版本的來源套件。若要直接將檔案下載到您的執行個體,請複製連結並將其貼入 wget 命令,如下所示:

    [ec2-user html]$ wget https://www.phpmyadmin.net/downloads/phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz
  6. 以下列命令建立 phpMyAdmin 資料夾,並將套件擷取至該資料夾中。

    [ec2-user html]$ mkdir phpMyAdmin && tar -xvzf phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz -C phpMyAdmin --strip-components 1
  7. 刪除 phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz tarball。

    [ec2-user html]$ rm phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz
  8. (選用) 如果 MySQL 伺服器未執行,請現在將其啟動。

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start mariadb
  9. 在 Web 瀏覽器中,輸入 phpMyAdmin 安裝的 URL。此 URL 為您執行個體的公有 DNS 地址 (或公有 IP 地址),其後跟隨斜線和您安裝目錄的檔案名稱。例如:

    http://my.public.dns.amazonaws.com/phpMyAdmin

    您現在應該會看見 phpMyAdmin 登入頁面:

  10. 使用您之前建立的 root 使用者名稱和 MySQL 根密碼登入至您的 phpMyAdmin 安裝。

    必須先設定您的安裝,才能將其投入使用。若要設定 phpMyAdmin,您可以參考 manually create a configuration fileuse the setup console 或結合這兩種方法。

    如需 phpMyAdmin 的資訊,請參閱 phpMyAdmin User Guide

故障診斷

本節提供解決設定新 LAMP 伺服器時可能遇到之常見問題的建議。

我無法使用 Web 瀏覽器連線至我的伺服器。

請執行下列檢查以查看您的 Apache Web 伺服器是否正在執行且可存取。

  • Web 伺服器是否正在執行?

    要確認 httpd 已啟用,您可以執行以下命令:

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl is-enabled httpd

    如果 httpd 程序未執行,請重複 準備 LAMP 伺服器 所述的步驟。

  • 防火牆是否設定正確?

    如果您未看見 Apache 測試頁面,請檢查您使用的安全群組是否包含允許 HTTP (連接埠 80) 流量的規則。如需將 HTTP 規則新增至安全群組的詳細資訊,請參閱 新增規則至安全群組

相關主題

如需將檔案傳輸到執行個體或在 Web 伺服器上安裝 WordPress 部落格的詳細資訊,請參閱下列文件:

如需本教學所使用的命令和軟體之詳細資訊,請參閱下列網頁:

如需為您的 Web 伺服器註冊網域名稱或將現有網域名稱轉移至此主機的詳細資訊,請參閱Amazon Route 53 開發人員指南中的建立和遷移網域和子網域至 Amazon Route 53

Menu
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Tutorial: Install a LAMP Web Server on Amazon Linux 2

The following procedures help you install an Apache web server with PHP and MariaDB (a community-developed fork of MySQL) support on your Amazon Linux 2 instance (sometimes called a LAMP web server or LAMP stack). You can use this server to host a static website or deploy a dynamic PHP application that reads and writes information to a database.

To set up a LAMP web server on Amazon Linux AMI, see Tutorial: Install a LAMP Web Server with the Amazon Linux AMI.

Important

If you are trying to set up a LAMP web server on an Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise Linux instance, this tutorial will not work for you. For more information about other distributions, see their specific documentation. For information about LAMP web servers on Ubuntu, see the Ubuntu community documentation ApacheMySQLPHP topic.

Step 1: Prepare the LAMP Server

Prerequisites

This tutorial assumes that you have already launched a new instance using Amazon Linux 2, with a public DNS name that is reachable from the internet. For more information, see Step 1: Launch an Instance. You must also have configured your security group to allow SSH (port 22), HTTP (port 80), and HTTPS (port 443) connections. For more information about these prerequisites, see Setting Up with Amazon EC2.

To prepare the LAMP server

  1. Connect to your instance.

  2. To ensure that all of your software packages are up to date, perform a quick software update on your instance. This process may take a few minutes, but it is important to make sure that you have the latest security updates and bug fixes.

    The -y option installs the updates without asking for confirmation. If you would like to examine the updates before installing, you can omit this option.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum update -y
  3. Install the lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2 and php7.2 Amazon Linux Extras repositories to get the latest versions of the LAMP MariaDB and PHP packages for Amazon Linux 2.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo amazon-linux-extras install lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2 php7.2

    Note

    If you receive an error stating sudo: amazon-linux-extras: command not found, then your instance was not launched with an Amazon Linux 2 AMI. You can view your version of Amazon Linux with the following command.

    cat /etc/system-release

    To set up a LAMP web server on Amazon Linux AMI , see Tutorial: Install a LAMP Web Server with the Amazon Linux AMI.

  4. Now that your instance is current, you can install the Apache web server, MariaDB, and PHP software packages.

    Use the yum install command to install multiple software packages and all related dependencies at the same time.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum install -y httpd mariadb-server

    Note

    You can view the current versions of these packages with the following command:

    yum info package_name
  5. Start the Apache web server.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start httpd
  6. Use the systemctl command to configure the Apache web server to start at each system boot.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl enable httpd

    You can verify that httpd is on by running the following command:

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl is-enabled httpd
  7. Add a security rule to allow inbound HTTP (port 80) connections to your instance if you have not already done so. By default, a launch-wizard-N security group was set up for your instance during initialization. This group contains a single rule to allow SSH connections.

    1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

    2. Choose Instances and select your instance.

    3. Under Security groups, choose view inbound rules.

    4. You should see the following list of rules in your default security group:

      Security Groups associated with i-1234567890abcdef0 Ports Protocol Source launch-wizard-N 22 tcp 0.0.0.0/0 ✔

      Using the procedures in Adding Rules to a Security Group, add a new inbound security rule with the following values:

      • Type: HTTP

      • Protocol: TCP

      • Port Range: 80

      • Source: Custom

  8. Test your web server. In a web browser, type the public DNS address (or the public IP address) of your instance. If there is no content in /var/www/html, you should see the Apache test page. You can get the public DNS for your instance using the Amazon EC2 console (check the Public DNS column; if this column is hidden, choose Show/Hide Columns (the gear-shaped icon) and choose Public DNS).

    If you are unable to see the Apache test page, check that the security group you are using contains a rule to allow HTTP (port 80) traffic. For information about adding an HTTP rule to your security group, see Adding Rules to a Security Group.

    Important

    If you are not using Amazon Linux, you may also need to configure the firewall on your instance to allow these connections. For more information about how to configure the firewall, see the documentation for your specific distribution.

    
                        Apache test page

Apache httpd serves files that are kept in a directory called the Apache document root. The Amazon Linux Apache document root is /var/www/html, which by default is owned by root.

To allow the ec2-user account to manipulate files in this directory, you must modify the ownership and permissions of the directory. There are many ways to accomplish this task. In this tutorial, you add the ec2-user user to the apache group, to give the apache group ownership of the /var/www directory and assign write permissions to the group.

To set file permissions

  1. Add your user (in this case, ec2-user) to the apache group.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo usermod -a -G apache ec2-user
  2. Log out and then log back in again to pick up the new group, and then verify your membership.

    1. Log out (use the exit command or close the terminal window):

      [ec2-user ~]$ exit
    2. To verify your membership in the apache group, reconnect to your instance, and then run the following command:

      [ec2-user ~]$ groups ec2-user adm wheel apache systemd-journal
  3. Change the group ownership of /var/www and its contents to the apache group.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo chown -R ec2-user:apache /var/www
  4. To add group write permissions and to set the group ID on future subdirectories, change the directory permissions of /var/www and its subdirectories.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo chmod 2775 /var/www && find /var/www -type d -exec sudo chmod 2775 {} \;
  5. To add group write permissions, recursively change the file permissions of /var/www and its subdirectories:

    [ec2-user ~]$ find /var/www -type f -exec sudo chmod 0664 {} \;

Now, the ec2-user user (and any future members of the apache group) can add, delete, and edit files in the Apache document root. Now you are ready to add content, such as a static website or a PHP application.

To secure your web server (Optional)

A web server running the HTTP protocol provides no transport security for the data that it sends or receives. When you connect to an HTTP server using a web browser, the URLs that you visit, the content of webpages that you receive, and the contents (including passwords) of any HTML forms that you submit are all visible to eavesdroppers anywhere along the network pathway. The best practice for securing your web server is to install support for HTTPS (HTTP Secure), which protects your data with SSL/TLS encryption.

For information about enabling HTTPS on your server, see Tutorial: Configure Apache Web Server on Amazon Linux to use SSL/TLS.

Step 2: Test Your LAMP Server

If your server is installed and running, and your file permissions are set correctly, your ec2-user account should be able to create a PHP file in the /var/www/html directory that is available from the internet.

To test your LAMP server

  1. Create a PHP file in the Apache document root.

    [ec2-user ~]$ echo "<?php phpinfo(); ?>" > /var/www/html/phpinfo.php

    If you get a "Permission denied" error when trying to run this command, try logging out and logging back in again to pick up the proper group permissions that you configured in To set file permissions.

  2. In a web browser, type the URL of the file that you just created. This URL is the public DNS address of your instance followed by a forward slash and the file name. For example:

    http://my.public.dns.amazonaws.com/phpinfo.php

    You should see the PHP information page:

    Note

    If you do not see this page, verify that the /var/www/html/phpinfo.php file was created properly in the previous step. You can also verify that all of the required packages were installed with the following command.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum list installed httpd mariadb-server php-mysqlnd

    If any of the required packages are not listed in your output, install them with the sudo yum install package command. Also verify that the php7.2 and lamp-mariadb10.2-php7.2 extras are enabled in the out put of the amazon-linux-extras command.

  3. Delete the phpinfo.php file. Although this can be useful information, it should not be broadcast to the internet for security reasons.

    [ec2-user ~]$ rm /var/www/html/phpinfo.php

You should now have a fully functional LAMP web server. If you add content to the Apache document root at /var/www/html, you should be able to view that content at the public DNS address for your instance.

Step 3: Secure the Database Server

The default installation of the MariaDB server has several features that are great for testing and development, but they should be disabled or removed for production servers. The mysql_secure_installation command walks you through the process of setting a root password and removing the insecure features from your installation. Even if you are not planning on using the MariaDB server, we recommend performing this procedure.

To secure the MariaDB server

  1. Start the MariaDB server.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start mariadb
  2. Run mysql_secure_installation.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo mysql_secure_installation
    1. When prompted, type a password for the root account.

      1. Type the current root password. By default, the root account does not have a password set. Press Enter.

      2. Type Y to set a password, and type a secure password twice. For more information about creating a secure password, see https://identitysafe.norton.com/password-generator/. Make sure to store this password in a safe place.

        Note

        Setting a root password for MariaDB is only the most basic measure for securing your database. When you build or install a database-driven application, you typically create a database service user for that application and avoid using the root account for anything but database administration.

    2. Type Y to remove the anonymous user accounts.

    3. Type Y to disable the remote root login.

    4. Type Y to remove the test database.

    5. Type Y to reload the privilege tables and save your changes.

  3. (Optional) If you do not plan to use the MariaDB server right away, stop it. You can restart it when you need it again.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl stop mariadb
  4. (Optional) If you want the MariaDB server to start at every boot, type the following command.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl enable mariadb

Step 4: (Optional) Install phpMyAdmin

phpMyAdmin is a web-based database management tool that you can use to view and edit the MySQL databases on your EC2 instance. Follow the steps below to install and configure phpMyAdmin on your Amazon Linux instance.

Important

We do not recommend using phpMyAdmin to access a LAMP server unless you have enabled SSL/TLS in Apache; otherwise, your database administrator password and other data are transmitted insecurely across the internet. For security recommendations from the developers, see Securing your phpMyAdmin installation. For general information about securing a web server on an EC2 instance, see Tutorial: Configure Apache Web Server on Amazon Linux to use SSL/TLS.

To install phpMyAdmin

  1. Install the required dependencies.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo yum install php-mbstring -y
  2. Restart Apache.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl restart httpd
  3. Navigate to the Apache document root at /var/www/html.

    [ec2-user ~]$ cd /var/www/html
  4. Select a source package for the latest phpMyAdmin release from https://www.phpmyadmin.net/downloads. To download the file directly to your instance, copy the link and paste it into a wget command, as in this example:

    [ec2-user html]$ wget https://www.phpmyadmin.net/downloads/phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz
  5. Create a phpMyAdmin folder and extract the package into it with the following command.

    [ec2-user html]$ mkdir phpMyAdmin && tar -xvzf phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz -C phpMyAdmin --strip-components 1
  6. Delete the phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz tarball.

    [ec2-user html]$ rm phpMyAdmin-latest-all-languages.tar.gz
  7. (Optional) If the MySQL server is not running, start it now.

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl start mariadb
  8. In a web browser, type the URL of your phpMyAdmin installation. This URL is the public DNS address (or the public IP address) of your instance followed by a forward slash and the name of your installation directory. For example:

    http://my.public.dns.amazonaws.com/phpMyAdmin

    You should see the phpMyAdmin login page:

  9. Log in to your phpMyAdmin installation with the root user name and the MySQL root password you created earlier.

    Your installation must still be configured before you put it into service. To configure phpMyAdmin, you can manually create a configuration file, use the setup console, or combine both approaches.

    For information about using phpMyAdmin, see the phpMyAdmin User Guide.

Troubleshooting

This section offers suggestions for resolving common problems you may encounter while setting up a new LAMP server.

I can't connect to my server using a web browser.

Perform the following checks to see if your Apache web server is running and accessible.

  • Is the web server running?

    You can verify that httpd is on by running the following command:

    [ec2-user ~]$ sudo systemctl is-enabled httpd

    If the httpd process is not running, repeat the steps described in To prepare the LAMP server.

  • Is the firewall correctly configured?

    If you are unable to see the Apache test page, check that the security group you are using contains a rule to allow HTTP (port 80) traffic. For information about adding an HTTP rule to your security group, see Adding Rules to a Security Group.

Related Topics

For more information about transferring files to your instance or installing a WordPress blog on your web server, see the following documentation:

For more information about the commands and software used in this tutorial, see the following webpages:

For more information about registering a domain name for your web server, or transferring an existing domain name to this host, see Creating and Migrating Domains and Subdomains to Amazon Route 53 in the Amazon Route 53 Developer Guide.