在实例上添加或删除公有密钥 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

在实例上添加或删除公有密钥

启动实例时,系统会提示您输入密钥对。如果您在启动时指定密钥对,当您的实例首次启动时,公有密钥将放置在 ~/.ssh/authorized_keys 内的一个条目中的 Linux 实例中。

您可以更改用于访问实例默认系统账户的密钥对,方法是在实例上添加新的公有密钥,或者替换实例上的公有密钥(删除现有公有密钥并添加新的公有密钥)。您还可以从实例中删除所有公有密钥。您可能出于以下原因需要执行这些操作:

  • 如果组织中用户需要使用单独的密钥对访问系统用户账户,您可以向实例中添加一个公有密钥。

  • 如果某人有私有密钥的副本(.pem 文件),而您想要防止他们连接到实例(例如在他们已离开企业的情况下),您可以删除实例上的公有密钥,并将其替换为新的密钥。

  • 如果您从实例创建 Linux AMI,则公有密钥材料将从实例复制到 AMI。如果您从 AMI 启动实例,则新实例将包含来自原始实例的公有密钥。要防止拥有私有密钥的用户连接到新实例,您可以在创建 AMI 之前从原始实例中删除公有密钥。

公有密钥位于实例上的 .ssh/authorized_keys 文件中。

要添加或替换密钥对,您必须能够连接到实例。如果您丢失了现有的私有密钥,或者在没有密钥对的情况下启动了实例,则您将无法连接到实例,因此无法添加或替换密钥对。如果您丢失了私有密钥,则可以检索它。有关更多信息,请参阅 我丢失了私有密钥。我怎样才能连接到我的 Linux 实例?。如果启动实例而没有密钥对,则将无法连接到此实例,除非您选择配置为允许用户以其他方式登录的 AMI。

注意

这些程序用于修改默认用户账户的密钥对,例如 ec2-user。有关向实例添加用户账户的信息,请参阅 管理 Linux 实例的用户账户

添加或替换密钥对

  1. 使用 Amazon EC2 控制台第三方工具创建新的密钥对。

  2. 从新密钥对检索公有密钥。有关更多信息,请参阅检索公有密钥材料

  3. 使用现有私有密钥连接到实例

  4. 使用您选择的文本编辑器,在实例上打开 .ssh/authorized_keys 文件。将新密钥对的公有密钥信息粘贴到现有公有密钥信息下。保存文件。

  5. 从实例分离,并测试能否使用新的私有密钥文件连接到实例。

  6. (可选) 如果您要替换现有密钥对,请连接到实例并从 .ssh/authorized_keys 文件中删除原始密钥对的公有密钥信息。

重要

如果您使用的是 Auto Scaling 组,请确保您要替换的密钥对未在启动模板或启动配置中指定。如果 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 检测到运行不正常的实例,它将启动替代实例。但是,如果找不到密钥对,则实例启动失败。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南中的启动模板

要从实例中删除公有密钥

  1. 连接到您的实例

  2. 使用您选择的文本编辑器,在实例上打开 .ssh/authorized_keys 文件。删除公有密钥信息,然后保存该文件。

警告

从实例中删除所有公有密钥并断开与实例的连接后,您将无法再次连接到该实例,除非 AMI 提供了其他登录方式。

Add or remove a public key on your instance - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Add or remove a public key on your instance

When you launch an instance, you are prompted for a key pair. If you specify a key pair at launch, when your instance boots for the first time, the public key material is placed on your Linux instance in an entry within ~/.ssh/authorized_keys.

You can change the key pair that is used to access the default system account of your instance by adding a new public key on the instance, or by replacing the public key (deleting the existing public key and adding a new one) on the instance. You can also remove all public keys from an instance. You might take these actions for the following reasons:

  • If a user in your organization requires access to the system user account using a separate key pair, you can add the public key to your instance.

  • If someone has a copy of the private key (.pem file) and you want to prevent them from connecting to your instance (for example, if they've left your organization), you can delete the public key on the instance and replace it with a new one.

  • If you create a Linux AMI from an instance, the public key material is copied from the instance to the AMI. If you launch an instance from the AMI, the new instance includes the public key from the original instance. To prevent someone who has the private key from connecting to the new instance, you can remove the public key from the original instance before creating the AMI.

The public keys are located in the .ssh/authorized_keys file on the instance.

To add or replace a key pair, you must be able to connect to your instance. If you've lost your existing private key or you launched your instance without a key pair, you won't be able connect to your instance and therefore won't be able to add or replace a key pair. If you've lost your private key, you might be able to retrieve it. For more information, see I've lost my private key. How can I connect to my Linux instance? If you launched your instance without a key pair, you won't be able to connect to the instance unless you chose an AMI that is configured to allow users another way to log in.

Note

These procedures are for modifying the key pair for the default user account, such as ec2-user. For information about adding user accounts to your instance, see Manage user accounts on your Amazon Linux instance.

To add or replace a key pair

  1. Create a new key pair using the Amazon EC2 console or a third-party tool.

  2. Retrieve the public key from your new key pair. For more information, see Retrieve the public key material.

  3. Connect to your instance using your existing private key.

  4. Using a text editor of your choice, open the .ssh/authorized_keys file on the instance. Paste the public key information from your new key pair underneath the existing public key information. Save the file.

  5. Disconnect from your instance, and test that you can connect to your instance using the new private key file.

  6. (Optional) If you're replacing an existing key pair, connect to your instance and delete the public key information for the original key pair from the .ssh/authorized_keys file.

Important

If you're using an Auto Scaling group, ensure that the key pair you're replacing is not specified in your launch template or launch configuration. If Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling detects an unhealthy instance, it launches a replacement instance. However, the instance launch fails if the key pair cannot be found. For more information, see Launch templates in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

To remove a public key from an instance

  1. Connect to your instance.

  2. Using a text editor of your choice, open the .ssh/authorized_keys file on the instance. Delete the public key information, and then save the file.

Warning

After you remove all the public keys from an instance and disconnect from the instance, you can't connect to it again unless the AMI provides another way of logging in.