容量再平衡 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

容量再平衡

您可以配置竞价型实例集以在 Amazon EC2 发出再平衡建议以通知您竞价型实例处于较高的中断风险时启动替换竞价型实例。容量再平衡功能可在运行中的实例被 Amazon EC2 中断之前,主动使用新竞价型实例扩展您的队列,从而帮助您维护工作负载的可用性。有关更多信息,请参阅EC2 实例再平衡建议

要配置竞价型实例集以启动替换竞价型实例,您可以使用 Amazon EC2 控制台或 AWS CLI。

限制

  • 容量再平衡仅适用于类型为 maintain 的机群。

  • 队列运行时,您无法修改容量再平衡设置。要更改容量再平衡设置,您必须删除此队列并创建新队列。

配置选项

竞价型实例集的 ReplacementStrategy 支持以下两个值:

launch-before-terminate

竞价型实例集会在新的替换竞价型实例启动后终止接收再平衡通知的竞价型实例。如果指定 launch-before-terminate,还必须为 termination-delay 指定值。启动新的替换实例后,竞价型实例集将等待 termination-delay 指定的持续时间,然后终止旧实例。对于 termination-delay,最短为 120 秒(2 分钟),最长为 7200 秒(2 小时)。

建议仅当您可以预测实例关闭过程完成所需的时长时才使用 launch-before-terminate。这将确保只有在关闭过程完成后才终止旧实例。请注意,Amazon EC2 可能会在 termination-delay 之前中断旧实例,并发出两分钟警告。

我们强烈建议不要将 lowestPrice 分配策略与 launch-before-terminate 结合使用,以避免替换竞价型实例也处于中断风险升高的状态。

launch

当针对现有竞价型实例发出再平衡通知时,竞价型实例集将启动替换竞价型实例。竞价型实例集不会终止接收再平衡通知的实例。您可以终止旧实例,也可以使其保持运行状态。在实例运行期间,您需要为它们付费。

注意事项

如果为容量再平衡配置 Spot 队列,请考虑以下事项:

竞价型实例集可以启动新替换竞价型实例,直到已执行容量达到目标容量的两倍

为容量再平衡配置竞价型实例集时,队列会尝试为接收再平衡建议的每个竞价型实例启动新的替换竞价型实例。在竞价型实例收到再平衡建议后,它不再统计为已执行容量的一部分。根据替换策略,竞价型实例集在预配置的终止延迟后终止实例,或使其保持运行状态。这使您有机会对实例执行再平衡操作

如果您的队列达到目标容量的两倍,即使替换实例本身收到再平衡建议,它也会停止启动新的替换实例。

例如,您创建的竞价型实例集目标容量为 100 个竞价型实例。所有竞价型实例都会收到再平衡建议,这将导致竞价型实例集启动 100 个替换竞价型实例。这使已执行的竞价型实例的数量增加到 200 个,是目标容量的两倍。一些替换实例会收到再平衡建议,但由于队列不能超过目标容量的两倍,因此不会再启动更多替换实例。

请注意,在实例运行期间,您需要为所有实例付费。

我们建议您将竞价型实例集配置为终止接收再平衡建议的竞价型实例

如果您将竞价型实例集配置为实现容量再平衡,我们建议仅当您可以预测实例关闭过程完成所需的时长时才选择 launch-before-terminate 和适当的终止延迟。这将确保只有在关闭过程完成后才终止旧实例。

如果您选择自行终止建议再平衡的实例,我们建议您监控机群中的竞价型实例接收的再平衡建议信号。通过监控信号,您可以在 Amazon EC2 中断受影响的实例之前快速对其执行再平衡操作,然后您可以手动终止它们。如果您不终止实例,则需要在实例运行期间继续为其付费。Spot 队列不会自动终止接收再平衡建议的实例。

您可以使用 Amazon EventBridge 或实例元数据设置通知。有关更多信息,请参阅监控再平衡建议信号

在计算横向缩减或扩展期间的已执行容量时,竞价型实例集不计入收到再平衡建议的实例

如果您的 Spot 队列针对容量再平衡进行了配置,并且您将目标容量更改为向内或向外扩展,则队列不会将标记为再平衡的实例计算为已执行容量的一部分,如下所示:

  • 向内扩展 – 如果您降低所需的目标容量,队列将终止未标记为再平衡的实例,直到达到所需容量。标记为再平衡的实例不计入已执行容量。

    例如,您创建的竞价型实例集目标容量为 100 个竞价型实例。10 个实例会收到再平衡建议,因此队列启动 10 个新的替换实例,从而获得 110 个实例的执行容量。然后,您将目标容量减少到 50(缩减),但已执行的容量实际上为 60 个实例,因为队列不会终止标记为再平衡的 10 个实例。您需要手动终止这些实例,也可以让它们保持运行状态。

  • 向外扩展 – 如果您升高所需的目标容量,队列将启动新实例,直到达到所需容量。标记为再平衡的实例不计入已执行容量。

    例如,您创建的竞价型实例集目标容量为 100 个竞价型实例。10 个实例会收到再平衡建议,因此队列启动 10 个新的替换实例,从而获得 110 个实例的执行容量。然后,您将目标容量增加到 200(扩展),但已执行的容量实际上为 210 个实例,因为标记为再平衡的 10 个实例不被队列计入目标容量的一部分。您需要手动终止这些实例,也可以让它们保持运行状态。

在请求中提供尽可能多的 Spot 容量池

将您的 Spot 队列配置为使用多种实例类型和多个可用区。这提供了在各种 Spot 容量池中启动竞价型实例的灵活性。有关更多信息,请参阅灵活地选择实例类型和可用区

避免替换竞价型实例中断的风险升高

如果您使用 lowest-price 分配策略,替换竞价型实例可能会面临中断升高的风险。这是因为,即使替换竞价型实例可能在启动后不久中断,Amazon EC2 始终会在当时具有可用容量的价格最低池中启动实例。为避免中断风险升高,我们强烈建议不要使用 lowest-price 分配策略,而建议使用 capacity-optimizedcapacity-optimized-prioritized 分配策略。这些策略确保替换竞价型实例在最佳的竞价型容量池中启动,因此在不久的将来不太可能被中断。有关更多信息,请参阅使用容量优化的分配策略

Capacity Rebalancing - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Capacity Rebalancing

You can configure Spot Fleet to launch a replacement Spot Instance when Amazon EC2 emits a rebalance recommendation to notify you that a Spot Instance is at an elevated risk of interruption. Capacity Rebalancing helps you maintain workload availability by proactively augmenting your fleet with a new Spot Instance before a running instance is interrupted by Amazon EC2. For more information, see EC2 instance rebalance recommendations.

To configure Spot Fleet to launch a replacement Spot Instance, you can use the Amazon EC2 console or the AWS CLI.

Limitations

  • Capacity Rebalancing is available only for fleets of type maintain.

  • When the fleet is running, you can't modify the Capacity Rebalancing setting. To change the Capacity Rebalancing setting, you must delete the fleet and create a new fleet.

Configuration options

The ReplacementStrategy for Spot Fleet supports the following two values:

launch-before-terminate

Spot Fleet terminates the Spot Instances that receive a rebalance notification after new replacement Spot Instances are launched. When you specify launch-before-terminate, you must also specify a value for termination-delay. After the new replacement instances are launched, Spot Fleet waits for the duration of the termination-delay, and then terminates the old instances. For termination-delay, the minimum is 120 seconds (2 minutes), and the maximum is 7200 seconds (2 hours).

We recommend that you use launch-before-terminate only if you can predict how long your instance shutdown procedures will take to complete. This will ensure that the old instances are terminated only after the shutdown procedures are completed. Note that Amazon EC2 can interrupt the old instances with a two-minute warning before the termination-delay.

We strongly recommend against using the lowestPrice allocation strategy in combination with launch-before-terminate to avoid having replacement Spot Instances that are also at an elevated risk of interruption.

launch

Spot Fleet launches replacement Spot Instances when a rebalance notification is emitted for existing Spot Instances. Spot Fleet does not terminate the instances that receive a rebalance notification. You can terminate the old instances, or you can leave them running. You are charged for all instances while they are running.

Considerations

If you configure a Spot Fleet for Capacity Rebalancing, consider the following:

Spot Fleet can launch new replacement Spot Instances until fulfilled capacity is double target capacity

When a Spot Fleet is configured for Capacity Rebalancing, the fleet attempts to launch a new replacement Spot Instance for every Spot Instance that receives a rebalance recommendation. After a Spot Instance receives a rebalance recommendation, it is no longer counted as part of the fulfilled capacity. Depending on the replacement strategy, Spot Fleet either terminates the instance after a preconfigured termination delay, or leaves it running. This gives you the opportunity to perform rebalancing actions on the instance.

If your fleet reaches double its target capacity, it stops launching new replacement instances even if the replacement instances themselves receive a rebalance recommendation.

For example, you create a Spot Fleet with a target capacity of 100 Spot Instances. All of the Spot Instances receive a rebalance recommendation, which causes Spot Fleet to launch 100 replacement Spot Instances. This raises the number of fulfilled Spot Instances to 200, which is double the target capacity. Some of the replacement instances receive a rebalance recommendation, but no more replacement instances are launched because the fleet cannot exceed double its target capacity.

Note that you are charged for all of the instances while they are running.

We recommend that you configure Spot Fleet to terminate Spot Instances that receive a rebalance recommendation

If you configure your Spot Fleet for Capacity Rebalancing, we recommend that you choose launch-before-terminate with an appropriate termination delay only if you can predict how long your instance shutdown procedures will take to complete. This will ensure that the old instances are terminated only after the shutdown procedures are completed.

If you choose to terminate the instances that are recommended for rebalance yourself, we recommend that you monitor the rebalance recommendation signal that is received by the Spot Instances in the fleet. By monitoring the signal, you can quickly perform rebalancing actions on the affected instances before Amazon EC2 interrupts them, and then you can manually terminate them. If you do not terminate the instances, you continue paying for them while they are running. Spot Fleet does not automatically terminate the instances that receive a rebalance recommendation.

You can set up notifications using Amazon EventBridge or instance metadata. For more information, see Monitor rebalance recommendation signals.

Spot Fleet does not count instances that receive a rebalance recommendation when calculating fulfilled capacity during scale in or out

If your Spot Fleet is configured for Capacity Rebalancing, and you change the target capacity to either scale in or scale out, the fleet does not count the instances that are marked for rebalance as part of the fulfilled capacity, as follows:

  • Scale in – If you decrease your desired target capacity, the fleet terminates instances that are not marked for rebalance until the desired capacity is reached. The instances that are marked for rebalance are not counted towards the fulfilled capacity.

    For example, you create a Spot Fleet with a target capacity of 100 Spot Instances. 10 instances receive a rebalance recommendation, so the fleet launches 10 new replacement instances, resulting in a fulfilled capacity of 110 instances. You then reduce the target capacity to 50 (scale in), but the fulfilled capacity is actually 60 instances because the 10 instances that are marked for rebalance are not terminated by the fleet. You need to manually terminate these instances, or you can leave them running.

  • Scale out – If you increase your desired target capacity, the fleet launches new instances until the desired capacity is reached. The instances that are marked for rebalance are not counted towards the fulfilled capacity.

    For example, you create a Spot Fleet with a target capacity of 100 Spot Instances. 10 instances receive a rebalance recommendation, so the fleet launches 10 new replacement instances, resulting in a fulfilled capacity of 110 instances. You then increase the target capacity to 200 (scale out), but the fulfilled capacity is actually 210 instances because the 10 instances that are marked for rebalance are not counted by the fleet as part of the target capacity. You need to manually terminate these instances, or you can leave them running.

Provide as many Spot capacity pools in the request as possible

Configure your Spot Fleet to use multiple instance types and Availability Zones. This provides the flexibility to launch Spot Instances in various Spot capacity pools. For more information, see Be flexible about instance types and Availability Zones.

Avoid an elevated risk of interruption of replacement Spot Instances

Your replacement Spot Instances may be at an elevated risk of interruption if you use the lowest-price allocation strategy. This is because Amazon EC2 will always launch instances in the lowest-priced pool that has available capacity at that moment, even if your replacement Spot Instances are likely to be interrupted soon after being launched. To avoid an elevated risk of interruption, we strongly recommend against using the lowest-price allocation strategy, and instead recommend the capacity-optimized or capacity-optimized-prioritized allocation strategy. These strategies ensure that replacement Spot Instances are launched in the most optimal Spot capacity pools, and are therefore less likely to be interrupted in the near future. For more information, see Use the capacity optimized allocation strategy.