I/O 特性與監控 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

I/O 特性與監控

在指定的磁碟區組態中,某些 I/O 特性會驅動 EBS 磁碟區的效能行為。SSD 支援的磁碟區 – 一般用途 SSD (gp2gp3) 和佈建 IOPS SSD (io1io2) – 無論 I/O 操作是隨機還是序列,都會提供一致效能。HDD 支援的磁碟區 – 輸送量最佳化 HDD (st1) 和冷 HDD (sc1) - 只有在 I/O 操作為大型且連續時才提供最佳效能。若要了解 SSD 和 HDD 磁碟區在您應用程式中的執行方式,必須先了解磁碟區需求、其可用 IOPS 數量、完成 I/O 操作之所需時間及磁碟區輸送量限制間的關聯性。

IOPS

IOPS 是每秒輸入/輸出操作的測量單位。操作的測量單位為 KiB,並且基礎磁碟機技術會決定磁碟區類型作為單一 I/O 時的最大資料量。SSD 磁碟區的 I/O 大小限制在 256 KiB,HDD 磁碟區則限制在 1,024 KiB,因為 SSD 磁碟區處理小型或隨機 I/O 比 HDD 磁碟區更有效率。

當小型 I/O 操作在物理上連續時,Amazon EBS 會嘗試將它們合併到單一 I/O 操作中,從而達到最大 I/O 大小。同樣,當 I/O 操作大於最大 I/O 大小時,Amazon EBS 會嘗試將其分割為較小的 I/O 操作。下表顯示一些範例。

容積類型 I/O 大小上限 您的應用程式的 I/O 操作 IOPS 數量 備註
SSD 256 KiB 1 x 1024 KiB I/O 操作 4 (1,024÷256=4) Amazon EBS 將 1,024 I/O 操作分割成四個較小的 256 KiB 操作。
8 個連續 32 KiB 輸入/輸出操作 1 (8x32=256) Amazon EBS 將八個連續的 32 KiB I/O 操作合併為一個 256 KiB 操作。
8 個隨機 32 KiB I/O 操作 8 Amazon EBS 分別計算隨機 I/O 操作。
HDD 1,024 KiB 1 x 1024 KiB I/O 操作 1 I/O 操作已經等於 I/O 大小上限。它不會被合併或分割。
8 個連續 128 KiB 輸入/輸出操作 1 (8x128=1,024) Amazon EBS 將八個連續的 128 KiB 輸入/輸出操作合併為一個 1,024 KiB 輸入/輸出操作。
8 個隨機 32 KiB I/O 操作 8 Amazon EBS 分別計算隨機 I/O 操作。

因此,當建立支援 3,000 IOPS 的 SSD 支援磁碟區時 (透過以 3,000 IOPS 佈建 Provisioned IOPS SSD 磁碟區或以 1,000 GiB 調整 一般用途 SSD 磁碟區的大小),然後將其連接至可提供足夠頻寬的 EBS 最佳化執行個體,您可以每秒傳輸多達 3,000 個 I/O 資料,其輸送量由 I/O 大小決定。

磁碟區佇列長度和延遲

磁碟區佇列長度是裝置的待處理 I/O 請求數目。延遲是 I/O 操作用戶端的端對端真正時間,換句話說,是將 I/O 傳送到 EBS 以及從 EBS 接收 I/O 讀取或寫入完成之間的認知所經過之時間。佇列長度必須使用 I/O 大小和延遲來正確地校準,以避免訪客作業系統或連結到 EBS 的網路上造成瓶頸。

最佳佇列長度因每個工作負載而異,取決於特定應用程式對 IOPS 和延遲的敏感度。如果您的工作負載未提供足夠的 I/O 請求來充分利用 EBS 磁碟區的可用效能,那麼您的磁碟區可能無法提供已佈建之 IOPS 或輸送量。

交易密集型應用程式對增加的 I/O 延遲非常敏感,非常適合 SSD 支援的磁碟區。您可以透過保持較低的佇列長度和較高磁碟區可用之 IOPS,來保持較高的 IOPS,同時保持低延遲。持續將更多 IOPS 驅動至可用的磁碟區上可能會導致 I/O 延遲增加。

輸送量密集型應用程式對增加的 I/O 延遲較不敏感,非常適合 HDD 支援的磁碟區。您可以透過在執行大型序列 I/O 時保持較高的佇列長度,來保持 HDD 支援之磁碟區的高輸送量。

I/O 大小和磁碟區輸送量限制

對於 SSD 支援的磁碟區,如果您的 I/O 大小非常大,則可能會經歷比您佈建數目更少的 IOPS,因為您正達到磁碟區的輸送量限制。例如,具有可用爆量額度的 1,000 GiB 以下的 gp2 磁碟區,其 IOPS 限制為 3,000,磁碟區的輸送量限制為 250 MiB/秒。如果您使用 256 KiB I/O 大小,則您的磁碟區將達到 1000 IOPS (1000 x 256 KiB = 250 MiB) 時的輸送量限制。對於較小的 I/O 大小 (如 16 KiB),同樣的磁碟區可以維持 3,000 IOPS,因為輸送量遠低於 250 MiB/秒。(這些範例假設您的磁碟區 I/O 未達到執行個體輸送量限制。) 如需每個 EBS 磁碟區類型之輸送量限制的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EBS 磁碟區類型

對於較小的 I/O 操作,您可能會看到從執行個體內部測量之 IOPS 值高於所佈建的值。當執行個體作業系統將小型 I/O 操作合併至更大的操作並將其傳遞給 Amazon EBS 之前,會發生此情況。

如果您的工作負載在 HDD 支援的 st1sc1 磁碟區上使用序列 I/O,則從執行個體內測得的 IOPS 數目可能會高於預期。當執行個體作業系統合併序列 I/O 並以 1,024 KiB 大小單位來計數時,會發生此情況。如果您的工作負載使用小型或隨機 I/O,則輸送量可能會低於您的預期。這是因為我們將每個隨機、非序列 I/O 計入 IOPS 總量,這可能會導致您比預期還更早達到磁碟區的 IOPS 限制。

重要

無論您的 EBS 磁碟區類型是什麼,如果在您的組態中沒有達到預期的 IOPS 或輸送量,請確認您的 EC2 執行個體頻寬並非限制因素。您應一律使用最新的 EBS 最佳化執行個體 (或包含 10 Gb/s 網路連線能力的執行個體) 以獲得最佳效能。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EBS – 最佳化執行個體。未達到預期 IOPS 的另一個可能原因是您沒有為 EBS 磁碟區驅動足夠的 I/O。

使用 CloudWatch 監控 I/O 特性

您可以使用每個磁碟區的 CloudWatch 磁碟區指標來監控這些 I/O 特性。要考慮的重要指標包含下列項目:

  • BurstBalance

  • VolumeReadBytes

  • VolumeWriteBytes

  • VolumeReadOps

  • VolumeWriteOps

  • VolumeQueueLength

BurstBalancegp2st1sc1 磁碟區的爆量儲存貯體額度顯示為剩餘額度的百分比。當爆量儲存貯體耗盡時,磁碟區 I/O (對於 gp2 磁碟區) 或磁碟區輸送量 (對於 st1sc1 磁碟區) 將限制為基準。檢查 BurstBalance 值以確定您的磁碟區是否因此受到限制。如需可用 Amazon EBS 指標的完整清單,請參閱 Amazon EBS 指標Nitro 型執行個體的 Amazon EBS 指標

HDD 支援的 st1sc1 磁碟區設計為最大限度利用 1,024 KiB 最大 I/O 大小的工作負載效能。若要確定您的磁碟區之平均 I/O 大小,請將 VolumeWriteBytes 除以 VolumeWriteOps。同樣的計算方式也可套用至讀取操作。如果平均 I/O 大小低於 64 KiB,則增加傳送到 st1sc1 磁碟區的 I/O 操作之大小應可提高效能。

注意

如果平均 I/O 大小為 44 KiB 或接近,您可能正在沒有間接描述項的支援下使用執行個體或核心。任何 Linux 核心 3.8 及更新版本都具備此支援,如同任何最新執行個體。

如果 I/O 延遲高於您的要求,請檢查 VolumeQueueLength 以確保應用程式不會嘗試驅動比您所佈建更多的 IOPS。如果應用程式需要的 IOPS 數目大於磁碟區可提供之 IOPS 數目,則應考慮使用具有更高基本效能層級之更大的 gp2 磁碟區或具有更多佈建 IOPS 的 io1io2 磁碟區,以實現更低的延遲。

相關資源

如需 Amazon EBS I/O 特性的詳細資訊,請參閱下列 re:Invent 簡報:Amazon EBS:專為效能設計

I/O characteristics and monitoring - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

I/O characteristics and monitoring

On a given volume configuration, certain I/O characteristics drive the performance behavior for your EBS volumes. SSD-backed volumes—General Purpose SSD (gp2 and gp3) and Provisioned IOPS SSD (io1 and io2)—deliver consistent performance whether an I/O operation is random or sequential. HDD-backed volumes—Throughput Optimized HDD (st1) and Cold HDD (sc1)—deliver optimal performance only when I/O operations are large and sequential. To understand how SSD and HDD volumes will perform in your application, it is important to know the connection between demand on the volume, the quantity of IOPS available to it, the time it takes for an I/O operation to complete, and the volume's throughput limits.

IOPS

IOPS are a unit of measure representing input/output operations per second. The operations are measured in KiB, and the underlying drive technology determines the maximum amount of data that a volume type counts as a single I/O. I/O size is capped at 256 KiB for SSD volumes and 1,024 KiB for HDD volumes because SSD volumes handle small or random I/O much more efficiently than HDD volumes.

When small I/O operations are physically sequential, Amazon EBS attempts to merge them into a single I/O operation up to the maximum I/O size. Similarly, when I/O operations are larger than the maximum I/O size, Amazon EBS attempts to split them into smaller I/O operations. The following table shows some examples.

Volume type I/O operations from your application Maximum I/O size Number of IOPS Notes
SSD 256 KiB 1 x 1024 KiB I/O operation 4 (1,024÷256=4) Amazon EBS splits the 1,024 I/O operation into four smaller 256 KiB operations.
8 x sequential 32 KiB I/O operations 1 (8x32=256) Amazon EBS merges the eight sequential 32 KiB I/O operations into a single 256 KiB operation.
8 random 32 KiB I/O operations 8 Amazon EBS counts random I/O operations separately.
HDD 1,024 KiB 1 x 1024 KiB I/O operation 1 The I/O operation is already equal to the maximum I/O size. It is not merged or split.
8 x sequential 128 KiB I/O operations 1 (8x128=1,024) Amazon EBS merges the eight sequential 128 KiB I/O operations into a single 1,024 KiB I/O operation.
8 random 32 KiB I/O operations 8 Amazon EBS counts random I/O operations separately.

Consequently, when you create an SSD-backed volume supporting 3,000 IOPS (either by provisioning a Provisioned IOPS SSD volume at 3,000 IOPS or by sizing a General Purpose SSD volume at 1,000 GiB), and you attach it to an EBS-optimized instance that can provide sufficient bandwidth, you can transfer up to 3,000 I/Os of data per second, with throughput determined by I/O size.

Volume queue length and latency

The volume queue length is the number of pending I/O requests for a device. Latency is the true end-to-end client time of an I/O operation, in other words, the time elapsed between sending an I/O to EBS and receiving an acknowledgement from EBS that the I/O read or write is complete. Queue length must be correctly calibrated with I/O size and latency to avoid creating bottlenecks either on the guest operating system or on the network link to EBS.

Optimal queue length varies for each workload, depending on your particular application's sensitivity to IOPS and latency. If your workload is not delivering enough I/O requests to fully use the performance available to your EBS volume, then your volume might not deliver the IOPS or throughput that you have provisioned.

Transaction-intensive applications are sensitive to increased I/O latency and are well-suited for SSD-backed volumes. You can maintain high IOPS while keeping latency down by maintaining a low queue length and a high number of IOPS available to the volume. Consistently driving more IOPS to a volume than it has available can cause increased I/O latency.

Throughput-intensive applications are less sensitive to increased I/O latency, and are well-suited for HDD-backed volumes. You can maintain high throughput to HDD-backed volumes by maintaining a high queue length when performing large, sequential I/O.

I/O size and volume throughput limits

For SSD-backed volumes, if your I/O size is very large, you may experience a smaller number of IOPS than you provisioned because you are hitting the throughput limit of the volume. For example, a gp2 volume under 1,000 GiB with burst credits available has an IOPS limit of 3,000 and a volume throughput limit of 250 MiB/s. If you are using a 256 KiB I/O size, your volume reaches its throughput limit at 1000 IOPS (1000 x 256 KiB = 250 MiB). For smaller I/O sizes (such as 16 KiB), this same volume can sustain 3,000 IOPS because the throughput is well below 250 MiB/s. (These examples assume that your volume's I/O is not hitting the throughput limits of the instance.) For more information about the throughput limits for each EBS volume type, see Amazon EBS volume types.

For smaller I/O operations, you may see a higher-than-provisioned IOPS value as measured from inside your instance. This happens when the instance operating system merges small I/O operations into a larger operation before passing them to Amazon EBS.

If your workload uses sequential I/Os on HDD-backed st1 and sc1 volumes, you may experience a higher than expected number of IOPS as measured from inside your instance. This happens when the instance operating system merges sequential I/Os and counts them in 1,024 KiB-sized units. If your workload uses small or random I/Os, you may experience a lower throughput than you expect. This is because we count each random, non-sequential I/O toward the total IOPS count, which can cause you to hit the volume's IOPS limit sooner than expected.

Whatever your EBS volume type, if you are not experiencing the IOPS or throughput you expect in your configuration, ensure that your EC2 instance bandwidth is not the limiting factor. You should always use a current-generation, EBS-optimized instance (or one that includes 10 Gb/s network connectivity) for optimal performance. For more information, see Amazon EBS–optimized instances. Another possible cause for not experiencing the expected IOPS is that you are not driving enough I/O to the EBS volumes.

Monitor I/O characteristics using CloudWatch

You can monitor these I/O characteristics with each volume's CloudWatch volume metrics. Important metrics to consider include the following:

  • BurstBalance

  • VolumeReadBytes

  • VolumeWriteBytes

  • VolumeReadOps

  • VolumeWriteOps

  • VolumeQueueLength

BurstBalance displays the burst bucket balance for gp2, st1, and sc1 volumes as a percentage of the remaining balance. When your burst bucket is depleted, volume I/O (for gp2 volumes) or volume throughput (for st1 and sc1 volumes) is throttled to the baseline. Check the BurstBalance value to determine whether your volume is being throttled for this reason. For a complete list of the available Amazon EBS metrics, see Amazon EBS metrics and Amazon EBS metrics for Nitro-based instances.

HDD-backed st1 and sc1 volumes are designed to perform best with workloads that take advantage of the 1,024 KiB maximum I/O size. To determine your volume's average I/O size, divide VolumeWriteBytes by VolumeWriteOps. The same calculation applies to read operations. If average I/O size is below 64 KiB, increasing the size of the I/O operations sent to an st1 or sc1 volume should improve performance.

Note

If average I/O size is at or near 44 KiB, you might be using an instance or kernel without support for indirect descriptors. Any Linux kernel 3.8 and above has this support, as well as any current-generation instance.

If your I/O latency is higher than you require, check VolumeQueueLength to make sure your application is not trying to drive more IOPS than you have provisioned. If your application requires a greater number of IOPS than your volume can provide, you should consider using a larger gp2 volume with a higher base performance level or an io1 or io2 volume with more provisioned IOPS to achieve faster latencies.

Related resources

For more information about Amazon EBS I/O characteristics, see the following re:Invent presentation: Amazon EBS: Designing for Performance.