Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Windows 实例用户指南

Spot 实例中断

对 Spot 实例 的需求可能因时间不同而有显著的差异,Spot 实例 的可用性也会因为有多少未使用 EC2 实例可用而差别巨大。始终可能会中断您的 Spot 实例。因此,必须确保应用程序针对Spot 实例中断做好准备。

下面列出了 Amazon EC2 中断您的 Spot 实例 的可能原因:

  • 价格 – Spot 价格高于您的最高价。

  • 容量 – 如果没有足够的未使用 EC2 实例,无法满足 Spot 实例 的需求,则 Amazon EC2 会中断 Spot 实例。实例的中断顺序是由 Amazon EC2 确定的。

  • 约束 – 如果您的请求包含约束(如启动组或可用区组),则当不再满足约束时,这些 Spot 实例 将成组终止。

无法中断 Spot 队列 中指定的 个按需实例。

中断行为

您可以指定在 Spot 实例 中断时 Amazon EC2 应将其休眠、停止还是终止。您可以选择满足您的需求的中断行为。默认方式是在 Spot 实例中断时将其终止。要更改中断行为,请从控制台的中断行为中选择一个选项,或者在启动配置或启动模板中选择 InstanceInterruptionBehavior

停止中断的 Spot 实例

您可以更改中断行为,以便在满足以下要求时,Amazon EC2 停止中断的 Spot 实例。

要求

  • 对于 Spot 实例 请求,类型必须是 persistent,而不是 one-time。您不能在Spot 实例请求中指定启动组。

  • 对于 Spot 队列 请求,类型必须是 maintain,而不是 request

  • 根卷必须是 EBS 卷,而不是实例存储卷。

在 Spot 服务停止一个 Spot 实例后,只有 Spot 服务才能重新启动 Spot 实例,而且必须使用同一启动规范。

对于由 persistent Spot 实例请求启动的 Spot 实例,Spot 服务会在容量在同一可用区中可用且适用于已停止的实例的同一实例类型时重新启动已停止的实例。

如果 Spot 队列中的实例已停止并且 Spot 队列属于 maintain 类型,则 Spot 服务会启动替代实例以保持目标容量。Spot 服务基于指定的分配策略(lowestPricediversifiedInstancePoolsToUseCount)查找最优池;它不会使用早期已停止的实例确定池的优先级。稍后,如果分配策略产生了包含早期已停止的实例的池,则 Spot 实例会重新启动已停止的实例以满足目标容量。

例如,考虑使用 lowestPrice 分配策略的 Spot 队列。初始启动时,c3.large 池满足启动规范的 lowestPrice 条件。稍后,当中断 c3.large 实例时,Spot 服务会停止实例并从符合 lowestPrice 策略的其他池中补充容量。此时,该池正好是一个 c4.large 池,并且 Spot 服务会启动 c4.large 实例以满足目标容量。同样,Spot 队列下次可以移动到 c5.large 池。在这些转换的每个转换中,Spot 服务不会使用早期已停止的实例确定池的优先级,但会仅在指定的分配策略上确定优先级。lowestPrice 策略可以返回到包含早期已停止的实例的池。例如,如果实例在 c5.large 池中被中断且 lowestPrice 策略将其返回到 c3.largec4.large 池,则早期已停止的实例会重新启动以满足目标容量。

在Spot 实例停止后,您可以修改其部分实例属性,但不能修改实例类型。如果您分离或删除一个 EBS 卷,则在Spot 实例启动时不会挂载该卷。如果您分离根卷,并且 Spot 服务尝试启动Spot 实例,则该实例将启动失败,并且 Spot 服务将终止已停止的实例。

当Spot 实例停止时,您可以将其终止。如果取消某个 Spot 请求或 Spot 队列,则 Spot 服务将终止所有已停止的关联 Spot 实例。

在Spot 实例停止后,您只需为保留的 EBS 卷付费。对于Spot 队列,如果您有许多已停止的实例,则可以超出您的账户的 EBS 卷数限制。

休眠中断的 Spot 实例

您可以更改中断行为,以便在满足以下要求时,Amazon EC2 在 Spot 实例 中断时将其休眠。

要求

  • 对于 Spot 实例 请求,类型必须是 persistent,而不是 one-time。您不能在Spot 实例请求中指定启动组。

  • 对于 Spot 队列 请求,类型必须是 maintain,而不是 request

  • 根卷必须是 EBS 卷,而不是实例存储卷,并且它必须足够大以在休眠期间存储实例内存 (RAM)。

  • 支持以下实例:C3、C4、C5、M4、M5、R3 和 R4,并且内存少于 100 GB。

  • 支持以下操作系统:Amazon Linux 2、Amazon Linux AMI、AWS 优化的 Ubuntu 内核 (linux-aws) 高于 4.4.0-1041 的 Ubuntu 以及 Windows Server 2008 R2 和更高版本。

  • 在支持的操作系统上安装休眠代理,或者使用已包含该代理的以下 AMI 之一:

    • Amazon Linux 2

    • Amazon Linux AMI 2017.09.1 或更高版本

    • Ubuntu Xenial 16.04 20171121 或更高版本

    • Windows Server 2008 R2 AMI 2017.11.19 或更高版本

    • Windows Server 2012 或 Windows Server 2012 R2 AMI 2017.11.19 或更高版本

    • Windows Server 2016 AMI 2017.11.19 或更高版本

    • Windows Server 2019

  • 启动该代理。我们建议您使用用户数据在实例启动时启动该代理。或者,您也可以手动启动该代理。

建议

  • 我们强烈建议您将加密的 EBS 卷作为根卷,因为在休眠期间实例内存存储在根卷上。这确保在卷上静态存储数据以及在实例和卷之间移动数据时,将加密内存 (RAM) 内容。如果您的 AMI 没有加密的根卷,您可以将其复制到新的 AMI 并请求加密。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS Encryption复制 AMI

在 Spot 服务将Spot 实例休眠时,将保留 EBS 卷并在根卷上保留实例内存 (RAM)。还会保留实例的私有 IP 地址。不会保留实例存储卷和公有 IP 地址 (非弹性 IP 地址)。在实例休眠时,仅向您收取 EBS 卷费用。对于Spot 队列,如果具有很多休眠的实例,则可能会超过您的账户的 EBS 卷数限制。

在实例从 Spot 服务收到指令时,该代理将提示操作系统休眠。如果未安装该代理,则底层操作系统不支持休眠,或者没有足够的卷空间以保存实例内存,休眠将失败并且 Spot 服务停止该实例。

在 Spot 服务将 Spot 实例 休眠时,将收到一条中断通知,但不会在 Spot 实例 中断之前留出两分钟的时间。将立即开始休眠。在实例进行休眠过程中,实例运行状况检查可能会失败。在休眠过程完成时,实例状态为 stopped

在 Spot 服务将Spot 实例休眠后,只能由 Spot 服务恢复该实例。如果 Spot 价格低于您指定的最高价,并且具有可用的容量,Spot 服务将恢复该实例。

有关更多信息,请参阅 准备将实例休眠

准备中断

下面是在使用 Spot 实例时可以遵循的一些最佳实践:

  • 使用默认最高价 (这是按需价格)。

  • 使用包含所需软件配置的 Amazon 系统映像 (AMI),确保您的实例在请求完成时随时可以启动。您还可以使用用户数据在启动时运行命令。

  • 在不会受 Spot 实例 终止影响的位置例行存储重要数据。例如,您可以使用 Amazon S3、Amazon EBS 或 DynamoDB。

  • 将工作拆分为小的任务 (使用网格、Hadoop 或基于队列的架构) 或者使用检查点,以便您经常保存工作。

  • 使用Spot 实例中断通知监控您的 Spot 实例的状态。

  • 虽然我们尽一切努力尽快提供此警告,但您的 Spot 实例 可能会在我们提供此警告之前被终止。测试您的应用程序,确保它很好地处理了意外的实例终止,即使您正在针对中断通知进行测试。您可以使用 个按需实例 来运行应用程序,然后自行终止该 个按需实例,以便确认这一点。

准备将实例休眠

您必须在您的实例上安装休眠代理,除非您使用已包含该代理的 AMI。您必须在实例启动时运行该代理,无论该代理是包含在您的 AMI 中,还是您自行安装的。

以下步骤帮助您准备 Windows 实例。有关准备 Linux 实例的说明,请参阅Amazon EC2 用户指南(适用于 Linux 实例)中的准备将实例休眠

准备 Windows 实例

  1. 如果您的 AMI 不包含该代理,请将以下文件下载到 Windows 实例上的 C:\Program Files\Amazon\Hibernate 文件夹中:

  2. 将以下命令添加到用户数据中:

    <powershell>."C:\Program Files\Amazon\Hibernate\EC2HibernateAgent.exe"</powershell>

Spot 实例中断通知

防范 Spot 实例 中断的最佳方法是为应用程序设计容错能力。此外,您还可以利用 Spot 实例 中断通知,该通知可在 Amazon EC2 必须停止或终止您的 Spot 实例 时,提前两分钟发出警告。建议您每 5 秒检查一次这些警告。

此警告作为 CloudWatch 事件以及 Spot 实例 上实例元数据中的项目提供。

如果您将休眠指定为中断行为,则会收到中断通知,但由于休眠过程立即开始,因此您不会提前两分钟收到警告。

EC2 Spot 实例 Interruption Warning

Amazon EC2 中断您的 Spot 实例 时,它会发出可由 Amazon CloudWatch Events 检测到的事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon CloudWatch Events 用户指南

以下是Spot 实例中断事件的示例。instance-action 的可能值为 hibernatestopterminate

{ "version": "0", "id": "12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789012", "detail-type": "EC2 Spot Instance Interruption Warning", "source": "aws.ec2", "account": "123456789012", "time": "yyyy-mm-ddThh:mm:ssZ", "region": "us-east-2", "resources": ["arn:aws:ec2:us-east-2:123456789012:instance/i-1234567890abcdef0"], "detail": { "instance-id": "i-1234567890abcdef0", "instance-action": "action" } }

instance-action

如果 Spot 实例 标记为由 Spot 服务停止或终止,将在您的实例元数据中包含 instance-action 项。如果没有,则不显示。您可以按如下方式检索 instance-action

PS C:\> Invoke-RestMethod -uri http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/spot/instance-action

instance-action 项目指定操作及其大致执行时间 (采用 UTC 格式)。

以下示例指示将停止此实例的时间:

{"action": "stop", "time": "2017-09-18T08:22:00Z"}

以下示例指示将终止此实例的时间:

{"action": "terminate", "time": "2017-09-18T08:22:00Z"}

如果 Amazon EC2 未准备停止或终止实例,或者您自己终止了实例,则 instance-action 不存在且您会收到 HTTP 404 错误。

termination-time

为向后兼容而保留此项目;您应改为使用 instance-action

如果 Spot 实例 标记为由 Spot 服务终止,则您的实例元数据中将显示 termination-time 项目。如果没有,则不显示。您可以按如下方式检索 termination-time

PS C:\> Invoke-RestMethod -uri http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/spot/termination-time

termination-time 项目指定实例将收到关闭信号的大致时间(用 UTC 表示)。例如:

2015-01-05T18:02:00Z

如果 Amazon EC2 未准备终止实例,或者如果您自己终止了 Spot 实例,则 termination-time 项目或者不存在(这样您会收到 HTTP 404 错误),或者包含并非时间值的值。

如果 Amazon EC2 无法终止实例,请求状态将设置为 fulfilledtermination-time 值会将实例元数据保持原始大致时间(现已成为过去时间)。

Menu
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Windows Instances

Spot Instance Interruptions

Demand for Spot Instances can vary significantly from moment to moment, and the availability of Spot Instances can also vary significantly depending on how many unused EC2 instances are available. It is always possible that your Spot Instance will be interrupted. Therefore, you must ensure that your application is prepared for a Spot Instance interruption.

The following are the possible reasons that Amazon EC2 will interrupt your Spot Instances:

  • Price—The Spot price is greater than your maximum price.

  • Capacity—If there are not enough unused EC2 instances to meet the demand for Spot Instances, Amazon EC2 interrupts Spot Instances. The order in which the instances are interrupted is determined by Amazon EC2.

  • Constraints—If your request includes a constraint such as a launch group or an Availability Zone group, these Spot Instances are terminated as a group when the constraint can no longer be met.

Interruption Behavior

You can specify whether Amazon EC2 should hibernate, stop, or terminate Spot Instances when they are interrupted. You can choose the interruption behavior that meets your needs. The default is to terminate Spot Instances when they are interrupted. To change the interruption behavior, choose an option from Interruption behavior in the console or InstanceInterruptionBehavior in the launch configuration or the launch template.

Stopping Interrupted Spot Instances

You can change the behavior so that Amazon EC2 stops Spot Instances when they are interrupted if the following requirements are met.

Requirements

  • For a Spot Instance request, the type must be persistent, not one-time. You cannot specify a launch group in the Spot Instance request.

  • For a Spot Fleet request, the type must be maintain, not request.

  • The root volume must be an EBS volume, not an instance store volume.

After a Spot Instance is stopped by the Spot service, it can only be restarted by the Spot service, and only using the same launch configuration. When capacity is available that matches the Availability Zone and instance type of a Spot Instance that is stopped, the Spot Instance is started. With Spot Fleet, if capacity is available only with a different Availability Zone or instance type, Spot Fleet launches a new Spot Instance using the launch configuration with available capacity.

While a Spot Instance is stopped, you can modify some of its instance attributes, but not the instance type. If you detach or delete an EBS volume, it is not attached when the Spot Instance is started. If you detach the root volume and the Spot service attempts to start the Spot Instance, instance start fails and the Spot service terminates the stopped instance.

You can terminate a Spot Instance while it is stopped. If you cancel a Spot request or a Spot Fleet, the Spot service terminates any associated Spot Instances that are stopped.

While a Spot Instance is stopped, you are charged only for the EBS volumes, which are preserved. With Spot Fleet, if you have many stopped instances, you can exceed the limit on the number of EBS volumes for your account.

Hibernating Interrupted Spot Instances

You can change the behavior so that Amazon EC2 hibernates Spot Instances when they are interrupted if the following requirements are met.

Requirements

  • For a Spot Instance request, the type must be persistent, not one-time. You cannot specify a launch group in the Spot Instance request.

  • For a Spot Fleet request, the type must be maintain, not request.

  • The root volume must be an EBS volume, not an instance store volume, and it must be large enough to store the instance memory (RAM) during hibernation.

  • The following instances are supported: C3, C4, M4, R3, and R4, with less than 100 GB of memory.

  • The following operating systems are supported: Amazon Linux AMI, Ubuntu with an AWS-tuned Ubuntu kernel (linux-aws) greater than 4.4.0-1041, and Windows Server 2008 R2 and later.

  • Install the hibernation agent on a supported operating system, or use one of the following AMIs, which already include the agent:

    • Amazon Linux AMI 2017.09.1 or later

    • Ubuntu Xenial 16.04 20171121 or later

    • Windows Server 2008 R2 AMI 2017.11.19 or later

    • Windows Server 2012 or Windows Server 2012 R2 AMI 2017.11.19 or later

    • Windows Server 2016 AMI 2017.11.19 or later

  • Start the agent. We recommend that you use user data to start the agent on instance startup. Alternatively, you could start the agent manually.

Recommendation

  • We strongly recommend that you use an encrypted EBS volume as the root volume, because instance memory is stored on the root volume during hibernation. This ensures that the contents of memory (RAM) are encrypted when the data is at rest on the volume and when data is moving between the instance and volume. If your AMI does not have an encrypted root volume, you can copy it to a new AMI and request encryption. For more information, see Amazon EBS Encryption and Copying an AMI.

When a Spot Instance is hibernated by the Spot service, the EBS volumes are preserved and instance memory (RAM) is preserved on the root volume. The private IP addresses of the instance are also preserved. Instance storage volumes and public IP addresses, other than Elastic IP addresses, are not preserved. While the instance is hibernating, you are charged only for the EBS volumes. With Spot Fleet, if you have many hibernated instances, you can exceed the limit on the number of EBS volumes for your account.

The agent prompts the operating system to hibernate when the instance receive a signal from the Spot service. If the agent is not installed, the underlying operating system doesn't support hibernation, or there isn't enough volume space to save the instance memory, hibernation fails and the Spot service stops the instance instead.

When the Spot service hibernates a Spot Instance, you receive an interruption notice, but you do not have two minutes before the Spot Instance is interrupted. Hibernation begins immediately. While the instance is in the process of hibernating, instance health checks might fail. When the hibernation process completes, the state of the instance is stopped.

After a Spot Instance is hibernated by the Spot service, it can only be resumed by the Spot service. The Spot service resumes the instance when capacity becomes available with a Spot price that is less than your specified maximum price.

For more information, see Preparing for Instance Hibernation.

Preparing for Interruptions

Here are some best practices to follow when you use Spot Instances:

  • Use the default maximum price, which is the On-Demand price.

  • Ensure that your instance is ready to go as soon as the request is fulfilled by using an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) that contains the required software configuration. You can also use user data to run commands at start-up.

  • Store important data regularly in a place that won't be affected when the Spot Instance terminates. For example, you can use Amazon S3, Amazon EBS, or DynamoDB.

  • Divide the work into small tasks (using a Grid, Hadoop, or queue-based architecture) or use checkpoints so that you can save your work frequently.

  • Use Spot Instance interruption notices to monitor the status of your Spot Instances.

  • While we make every effort to provide this warning as soon as possible, it is possible that your Spot Instance will be terminated before the warning can be made available. Test your application to ensure that it handles an unexpected instance termination gracefully, even if you are testing for interruption notices. You can do so by running the application using an On-Demand Instance and then terminating the On-Demand Instance yourself.

Preparing for Instance Hibernation

You must install a hibernation agent on your instance, unless you used an AMI that already includes the agent. You must run the agent on instance startup, whether the agent was included in your AMI or you installed it yourself. We suggest starting the agent using user data.

The following procedure helps you prepare a Windows instance. For directions to prepare a Linux instance, see Preparing for Instance Hibernation in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

To prepare a Windows instance

  1. If your AMI doesn't include the agent, download the following files to the C:\Program Files\Amazon\Hibernate folder on your Windows instance:

  2. Add the following command to user data:

    Copy
    <powershell>."C:\Program Files\Amazon\Hibernate\EC2HibernateAgent.exe"</powershell>

Spot Instance Interruption Notices

The best way to protect against Spot Instance interruption is to architect your application to be fault tolerant. In addition, you can take advantage of Spot Instance interruption notices, which provide a two-minute warning before Amazon EC2 must interrupt your Spot Instance. We recommend that you check for these warnings every 5 seconds.

This warning is made available to the applications on your Spot Instance using an item in the instance metadata. You should use the instance-action item. The termination-time item is maintained for backward compatibility.

instance-action

If your Spot Instance is marked to be hibernated, stopped, or terminated by the Spot service, the instance-action item is present in your instance metadata. You can retrieve it as follows.

Copy
PS C:\> Invoke-RestMethod -uri http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/spot/instance-action

The instance-action item specifies the action and the approximate time, in UTC, when the action will occur. The following example indicates the time that this instance will be stopped:

{"action": "stop", "time": "2017-09-18T08:22:00Z"}

The following example indicates the time that this instance will be terminated:

{"action": "terminate", "time": "2017-09-18T08:22:00Z"}

The following example indicates that hibernation has started immediately:

{"action": "hibernate", "time": "2017-11-28T08:22:00Z"}

termination-time

If your Spot Instance is marked for termination by the Spot service, the termination-time item is present in your instance metadata. This item is maintained for backward compatibility. You can retrieve it as follows.

Copy
PS C:\> Invoke-RestMethod -uri http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/spot/termination-time

The termination-time item specifies the approximate time in UTC when the instance will receive the shutdown signal. For example:

2015-01-05T18:02:00Z

If Amazon EC2 is not preparing to terminate the instance, or if you terminated the Spot Instance yourself, the termination-time item is either not present (so you receive an HTTP 404 error) or contains a value that is not a time value.

If Amazon EC2 fails to terminate the instance, the request status is set to fulfilled. Note that termination-time remains in the instance metadata with the original approximate time, which is now in the past.