使用字段级加密帮助保护敏感数据 - Amazon CloudFront

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用字段级加密帮助保护敏感数据

借助 Amazon CloudFront,您可以使用 HTTPS 强制与源服务器 end-to-end 建立安全连接。字段级加密增加了一个额外的安全保护层,可让您在整个系统处理过程中保护特定的数据,以便只有某些应用程序才能查看它。

借助字段级加密,您可以让您的用户安全地向您的 Web 服务器上传敏感信息。用户提供的敏感信息在靠近用户的边缘进行加密,并在整个应用程序堆栈中保持加密状态。此加密确保只有需要数据的应用程序(并且具有用于解密的凭证)能够做到这一点。

要使用字段级加密,请在配置 CloudFront 分配时在 POST 请求中指定要加密的字段集以及用于加密这些字段的公钥。您最多可以在一个请求中加密 10 个数据字段。(您无法使用字段级加密在一个请求中加密所有数据;您必须指定要加密的各个字段。)

如果带有字段级加密的 HTTPS 请求转发到源,并且请求路由经过您的整个源应用程序或子系统,则敏感数据仍然进行加密,从而降低敏感数据泄露或意外丢失的风险。出于业务原因需要访问敏感数据的组件 (例如需要访问信用号码的支付处理系统) 可以使用适当的私有密钥来解密和访问数据。

注意

要使用字段级加密,您的源必须支持分块编码。


				中的字段级加密  CloudFront

CloudFront 字段级加密使用非对称加密,也称为公钥加密。您向提供公钥 CloudFront,您指定的所有敏感数据都会自动加密。您提供的密钥 CloudFront 不能用于解密加密值;只有您的私钥才能解密加密值。


				仅加密敏感数据

字段级加密概览

以下步骤概述了如何设置字段级加密。有关具体步骤,请参阅设置字段级加密

  1. 获取公有密钥/私有密钥对。您必须获取和添加公有密钥,然后再开始在 CloudFront 中设置字段级加密。

  2. 创建字段级加密配置文件。您在中 CloudFront创建的字段级加密配置文件定义了要加密的字段。

  3. 创建字段级加密配置。配置指定要用于加密特定数据字段的配置文件(根据请求的内容类型或查询参数)。您还可以为不同方案选择所需的请求转发行为选项。例如,您可以设置请求网址中查询参数指定的配置文件名称不存在时的行为 CloudFront。

  4. 链接到缓存行为。将配置链接到分配的缓存行为以指定何时 CloudFront 应加密数据。

设置字段级加密

按照以下步骤操作,开始使用字段级加密。要了解有关字段级加密的配额(以前称为限制),请参阅限额

第 1 步:创建 RSA 密钥对

要开始使用,您必须创建包含公有密钥和私有密钥的 RSA 密钥对。使用公钥可以 CloudFront 加密数据,而私钥可以让源站的组件解密已加密的字段。可以使用 OpenSSL 或其他工具创建密钥对。密钥大小必须为 2048 位。

例如,如果使用 OpenSSL,则可以使用以下命令生成一个长度为 2048 位的密钥对,并将其保存到文件 private_key.pem 中:

openssl genrsa -out private_key.pem 2048

生成的文件同时包含公有密钥和私有密钥。要从该文件中提取公有密钥,请运行以下命令:

openssl rsa -pubout -in private_key.pem -out public_key.pem

公有密钥文件 (public_key.pem) 包含您在以下步骤中粘贴的已编码密钥值。

第 2 步:将您的公钥添加到 CloudFront

获得 RSA 密钥对后,将您的公钥添加到。 CloudFront

将您的公钥添加到 CloudFront (控制台)
  1. 登录AWS Management Console并打开 CloudFront 控制台,网址为https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/v4/home

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择公有密钥

  3. 选择 Add public key (添加公有密钥)

  4. 对于密钥名称,请为密钥键入唯一的名称。该名称不能包含空格,且只能包含字母数字字符、下划线 (_) 和连字符 (-)。最大字符数为 128。

  5. 对于 Key value (密钥值),粘贴公有密钥的已编码密钥值,包括 -----BEGIN PUBLIC KEY----------END PUBLIC KEY----- 行。

  6. 对于注释,请添加一个可选的注释。例如,您可以包含公有密钥的到期日期。

  7. 选择 Add

您可以 CloudFront 通过重复该过程中的步骤来添加更多要使用的密钥。

第 3 步:为字段级加密创建配置文件

向其中添加至少一个公钥后 CloudFront,创建一个配置文件,告知要加密CloudFront 哪些字段。

为字段级加密创建配置文件 (控制台)
  1. 在导航窗格中,选择字段级加密

  2. 选择 Create profile (创建配置文件)

  3. 填写以下字段:

    配置文件名称

    为配置文件键入唯一名称。该名称不能包含空格,且只能包含字母数字字符、下划线 (_) 和连字符 (-)。最大字符数为 128。

    公有密钥名称

    在下拉列表中,选择您在步骤 2 CloudFront 中添加的公钥的名称。 CloudFront 使用密钥加密您在此配置文件中指定的字段。

    提供商名称

    键入短语以帮助识别密钥,例如从其获取密钥对的提供商。在应用程序解密数据字段时,需要该信息以及私有密钥。提供商名称不能包含空格,且只能包含字母数字字符、冒号 (:)、下划线 (_) 和连字符 (-)。最大字符数为 128。

    要匹配的字段名称模式

    键入数据字段的名称,或者键入用于识别请求中希望 CloudFront 加密的数据字段名称的模式。选择 + 选项以添加您想要使用此密钥加密的所有字段。

    对于字段名称模式,您可以键入数据字段的全名,比如 DateOfBirth,或者只键入带有通配符 (*) 的名称的第一部分,例如 CreditCard *。除了可选的通配符 (*) 外,字段名称模式必须仅包含字母数字字符、方括号 ([ 和 ])、句点 (.)、下划线 (_) 和连字符 (-)。

    请确保您未针对不同的字段名称模式使用重叠字符。例如,如果您有一个字段名称模式 ABC*,您就不能再添加另一个字段名称模式 AB*。此外,字段名称区分大小写,并且您可以使用的字符的最大数目为 128。

    评论

    (可选)键入有关该配置文件的注释。您可以使用的最大字符数为 128。

  4. 填写字段后,选择 Create profile (创建配置文件)

  5. 如果您要添加更多配置文件,请选择添加配置文件

第 4 步:创建配置

创建一个或多个字段级加密配置文件后,创建一个配置,用于指定请求的内容类型,包括要加密的数据、用于加密的配置文件以及其他指定 CloudFront 要如何处理加密的选项。

例如,当 CloudFront 无法加密数据时,您可以指定在以下情况下是 CloudFront应屏蔽请求还是应将请求转发到您的源:

  • 当请求的内容类型不在配置中时 — 如果您尚未向配置中添加内容类型,则可以指定是否 CloudFront 应在不加密数据字段的情况下将具有该内容类型的请求转发到源,还是阻止请求并返回错误。

    注意

    如果您在配置中添加了内容类型,但尚未指定要用于该类型的配置文件,请 CloudFront 始终将具有该内容类型的请求转发到源。

  • 当查询参数中提供的配置文件名称未知时 — 当您使用分配中不存在的配置文件名称来指定fle-profile查询参数时,您可以指定是在 CloudFront 不加密数据字段的情况下将请求发送到源,还是阻止请求并返回错误。

在配置中,您还可以指定在 URL 中提供配置文件作为查询参数的操作是否覆盖您已为该查询映射到内容类型的配置文件。默认情况下,如果指定了内容类型,则 CloudFront 使用已映射到内容类型的配置文件。这样一来,您便拥有一个默认使用的配置文件,但您可以决定要强制执行其他配置文件的某些请求。

因此,举例来说,您可以(在您的配置中)指定 SampleProfile 作为要使用的查询参数配置文件。然后https://d1234.cloudfront.net,你可以使用网址来https://d1234.cloudfront.net?fle-profile=SampleProfile CloudFront 代替这个请求,而不是你为请求的内容类型设置的个人资料。SampleProfile

您可以为单个账户最多创建 10 个配置,然后将其中一个配置与该账户的任何分配的缓存行为相关联。

为字段级加密创建配置 (控制台)
  1. Field-level encryption (字段级加密) 页面上,选择 Create configuration (创建配置)

    注意:如果您尚未创建至少一个配置文件,您将不会看到配置创建选项。

  2. 填写以下字段以指定要使用的配置文件。(某些字段无法更改。)

    内容类型(无法更改)

    内容类型将设置为 application/x-www-form-urlencoded 并且无法更改。

    默认配置文件 ID(可选)

    在下拉列表中,选择您要映射到 Content type (内容类型) 字段中的内容类型的配置文件。

    内容格式(无法更改)

    内容格式将设置为 URLencoded 并且无法更改。

  3. 如果要更改以下选项的 CloudFront 默认行为,请选中相应的复选框。

    当请求的内容类型未配置时,将请求转发到原始地址

    如果您要允许请求转到源,并且您尚未指定要用于请求的内容类型的配置文件,则选中该复选框。

    使用提供的查询参数覆盖内容类型的配置文件

    如果您要允许某个查询参数中提供的配置文件覆盖您为内容类型指定的配置文件,则选中该复选框。

  4. 如果您选中该复选框以允许查询参数覆盖默认配置文件,则您必须完成以下额外配置字段。您最多可以创建五个查询参数映射供查询使用。

    查询参数

    键入要包含在 fle-profile 查询参数的 URL 中的值。对于此查询的字段级加密,该值告诉 CloudFront 使用与此查询参数关联的配置文件 ID (在下一个字段中指定)。

    您可以使用的最大字符数为 128。该值不能包含空格,并且必须仅使用字母数字或以下字符:短划线 (-)、句点 (.)、下划线 (_)、星号 (*)、加号 (+)、百分号 (%)。

    配置文件 ID

    在下拉列表中,选择您要与为 Query argument (查询参数) 键入的值相关联的配置文件。

    当查询参数中指定的配置文件不存在时,将请求转发到源

    如果要允许请求转到源,并且没有在 CloudFront 中定义在查询参数中指定的配置文件,请选择该复选框。

第 5 步:将配置添加到缓存行为

要使用字段级加密,需要将配置链接到分配的缓存行为,方法为添加配置 ID 作为分配的值。

重要

要将字段级加密配置链接到缓存行为,必须将分配配置为始终使用 HTTPS,并接受来自查看器的 HTTP POSTPUT 请求。也就是说,必须满足以下条件:

  • 缓存行为的 Viewer Protocol Policy (查看器协议策略) 必须设置为 Redirect HTTP to HTTPS (将 HTTP 重定向到 HTTPS)HTTPS Only (仅 HTTPS)。(在AWS CloudFormation或 CloudFront API 中,ViewerProtocolPolicy必须设置为redirect-to-httpshttps-only。)

  • 缓存行为的 Allowed HTTP Methods(允许的 HTTP 方法)必须设置为 GET、HEAD、OPTIONS、PUT、POST、PATCH、DELETE。(在AWS CloudFormation或 CloudFront API 中,AllowedMethods必须设置为GETHEADOPTIONSPUTPOSTPATCHDELETE。 这些可以按任意顺序指定。)

  • 源设置的 Origin Protocol Policy (源协议策略) 必须设置为 Match Viewer (匹配查看器)HTTPS Only (仅 HTTPS)。(在AWS CloudFormation或 CloudFront API 中,OriginProtocolPolicy必须设置为match-viewerhttps-only。)

有关更多信息,请参阅您创建或更新分配时指定的值

在源解密数据字段

CloudFront 使用加密数据字段。AWS Encryption SDK在您的整个应用程序堆栈中,数据保持加密,并且只能由具有用于解密数据的凭证的应用程序进行访问。

加密后,密码文本采用 base64 编码。当您的应用程序解密源上的文本时,应用程序必须首先解码密码文本,然后使用 AWS 加密开发工具包解密数据。

以下代码示例说明了应用程序如何解密源上的数据。请注意以下几点:

  • 为简化示例,此示例从工作目录中的文件内加载公有密钥和私有密钥 (采用 DER 格式)。实际上,您会将私有密钥存储在安全的离线位置 (如离线硬件安全模块),并将公有密钥分配给您的开发团队。

  • CloudFront 在加密数据时使用特定的信息,并且应在源端使用相同的参数集来解密数据。初始化时 CloudFront使用的参数 MasterKey 包括以下内容:

    • PROVIDER_NAME:您在创建字段级加密配置文件时指定该值。在此处使用相同的值。

    • KEY_NAME:您在将公钥上传到时为其创建了一个名称 CloudFront,然后在配置文件中指定了密钥名称。在此处使用相同的值。

    • 算法: CloudFront RSA/ECB/OAEPWithSHA-256AndMGF1Padding用作加密算法,因此必须使用相同的算法来解密数据。

  • 如果您在运行以下示例程序时使用密码文本作为输入,则解密的数据会输出到您的控制台。有关更多信息,请参阅 加密开发工具包中的 Java 代码示例AWS。

代码示例

import java.nio.file.Files; import java.nio.file.Paths; import java.security.KeyFactory; import java.security.PrivateKey; import java.security.PublicKey; import java.security.spec.PKCS8EncodedKeySpec; import java.security.spec.X509EncodedKeySpec; import org.apache.commons.codec.binary.Base64; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.AwsCrypto; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.CryptoResult; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.jce.JceMasterKey; /** * Sample example of decrypting data that has been encrypted by CloudFront field-level encryption. */ public class DecryptExample { private static final String PRIVATE_KEY_FILENAME = "private_key.der"; private static final String PUBLIC_KEY_FILENAME = "public_key.der"; private static PublicKey publicKey; private static PrivateKey privateKey; // CloudFront uses the following values to encrypt data, and your origin must use same values to decrypt it. // In your own code, for PROVIDER_NAME, use the provider name that you specified when you created your field-level // encryption profile. This sample uses 'DEMO' for the value. private static final String PROVIDER_NAME = "DEMO"; // In your own code, use the key name that you specified when you added your public key to CloudFront. This sample // uses 'DEMOKEY' for the key name. private static final String KEY_NAME = "DEMOKEY"; // CloudFront uses this algorithm when encrypting data. private static final String ALGORITHM = "RSA/ECB/OAEPWithSHA-256AndMGF1Padding"; public static void main(final String[] args) throws Exception { final String dataToDecrypt = args[0]; // This sample uses files to get public and private keys. // In practice, you should distribute the public key and save the private key in secure storage. populateKeyPair(); System.out.println(decrypt(debase64(dataToDecrypt))); } private static String decrypt(final byte[] bytesToDecrypt) throws Exception { // You can decrypt the stream only by using the private key. // 1. Instantiate the SDK final AwsCrypto crypto = new AwsCrypto(); // 2. Instantiate a JCE master key final JceMasterKey masterKey = JceMasterKey.getInstance( publicKey, privateKey, PROVIDER_NAME, KEY_NAME, ALGORITHM); // 3. Decrypt the data final CryptoResult <byte[], ? > result = crypto.decryptData(masterKey, bytesToDecrypt); return new String(result.getResult()); } // Function to decode base64 cipher text. private static byte[] debase64(final String value) { return Base64.decodeBase64(value.getBytes()); } private static void populateKeyPair() throws Exception { final byte[] PublicKeyBytes = Files.readAllBytes(Paths.get(PUBLIC_KEY_FILENAME)); final byte[] privateKeyBytes = Files.readAllBytes(Paths.get(PRIVATE_KEY_FILENAME)); publicKey = KeyFactory.getInstance("RSA").generatePublic(new X509EncodedKeySpec(PublicKeyBytes)); privateKey = KeyFactory.getInstance("RSA").generatePrivate(new PKCS8EncodedKeySpec(privateKeyBytes)); } }

Using Field-Level Encryption to Help Protect Sensitive Data - Amazon CloudFront

Using Field-Level Encryption to Help Protect Sensitive Data

With Amazon CloudFront, you can enforce secure end-to-end connections to origin servers by using HTTPS. Field-level encryption adds an additional layer of security that lets you protect specific data throughout system processing so that only certain applications can see it.

Field-level encryption allows you to enable your users to securely upload sensitive information to your web servers. The sensitive information provided by your users is encrypted at the edge, close to the user, and remains encrypted throughout your entire application stack. This encryption ensures that only applications that need the data—and have the credentials to decrypt it—are able to do so.

To use field-level encryption, when you configure your CloudFront distribution, specify the set of fields in POST requests that you want to be encrypted, and the public key to use to encrypt them. You can encrypt up to 10 data fields in a request. (You can’t encrypt all of the data in a request with field-level encryption; you must specify individual fields to encrypt.)

When the HTTPS request with field-level encryption is forwarded to the origin, and the request is routed throughout your origin application or subsystem, the sensitive data is still encrypted, reducing the risk of a data breach or accidental data loss of the sensitive data. Components that need access to the sensitive data for business reasons, such as a payment processing system needing access to a credit number, can use the appropriate private key to decrypt and access the data.

Note

To use field-level encryption, your origin must support chunked encoding.


				Field-level encryption in CloudFront

CloudFront field-level encryption uses asymmetric encryption, also known as public key encryption. You provide a public key to CloudFront, and all sensitive data that you specify is encrypted automatically. The key you provide to CloudFront cannot be used to decrypt the encrypted values; only your private key can do that.


				Encrypt only sensitive data

Overview of Field-Level Encryption

The following steps provide an overview of setting up field-level encryption. For specific steps, see Setting Up Field-Level Encryption.

  1. Get a public key-private key pair. You must obtain and add the public key before you start setting up field-level encryption in CloudFront.

  2. Create a field-level encryption profile. Field-level encryption profiles, which you create in CloudFront, define the fields that you want to be encrypted.

  3. Create a field-level encryption configuration. A configuration specifies the profiles to use, based on the content type of the request or a query argument, for encrypting specific data fields. You can also choose the request-forwarding behavior options that you want for different scenarios. For example, you can set the behavior for when the profile name specified by the query argument in a request URL doesn’t exist in CloudFront.

  4. Link to a cache behavior. Link the configuration to a cache behavior for a distribution, to specify when CloudFront should encrypt data.

Setting Up Field-Level Encryption

Follow these steps to get started using field-level encryption. To learn about quotas (formerly known as limits) on field-level encryption, see Quotas.

Step 1: Create an RSA Key Pair

To get started, you must create an RSA key pair that includes a public key and a private key. The public key enables CloudFront to encrypt data, and the private key enables components at your origin to decrypt the fields that have been encrypted. You can use OpenSSL or another tool to create a key pair. The key size must be 2048 bits.

For example, if you’re using OpenSSL, you can use the following command to generate a key pair with a length of 2048 bits and save it in the file private_key.pem:

openssl genrsa -out private_key.pem 2048

The resulting file contains both the public and the private key. To extract the public key from that file, run the following command:

openssl rsa -pubout -in private_key.pem -out public_key.pem

The public key file (public_key.pem) contains the encoded key value that you paste in the following step.

Step 2: Add Your Public Key to CloudFront

After you get your RSA key pair, add your public key to CloudFront.

To add your public key to CloudFront (console)

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the CloudFront console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Public key.

  3. Choose Add public key.

  4. For Key name, type a unique name for the key. The name can't have spaces and can include only alphanumeric characters, underscores (_), and hyphens (-). The maximum number of characters is 128.

  5. For Key value, paste the encoded key value for your public key, including the -----BEGIN PUBLIC KEY----- and -----END PUBLIC KEY----- lines.

  6. For Comment, add an optional comment. For example, you could include the expiration date for the public key.

  7. Choose Add.

You can add more keys to use with CloudFront by repeating the steps in the procedure.

Step 3: Create a Profile for Field-Level Encryption

After you add at least one public key to CloudFront, create a profile that tells CloudFront which fields to encrypt.

To create a profile for field-level encryption (console)

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Field-level encryption.

  2. Choose Create profile.

  3. Fill in the following fields:

    Profile name

    Type a unique name for the profile. The name can't have spaces and can include only alphanumeric characters, underscores (_), and hyphens (-). The maximum number of characters is 128.

    Public key name

    In the drop-down list, choose the name of a public key that you added to CloudFront in step 2. CloudFront uses the key to encrypt the fields that you specify in this profile.

    Provider name

    Type a phrase to help identify the key, such as the provider where you got the key pair. This information, along with the private key, is needed when applications decrypt data fields. The provider name can't have spaces and can include only alphanumeric characters, colons (:), underscores (_), and hyphens (-). The maximum number of characters is 128.

    Field name pattern to match

    Type the names of the data fields, or patterns that identify data field names in the request, that you want CloudFront to encrypt. Choose the + option to add all the fields that you want to encrypt with this key.

    For the field name pattern, you can type the entire name of the data field, like DateOfBirth, or just the first part of the name with a wildcard character (*), like CreditCard*. The field name pattern must include only alphanumeric characters, square brackets ([ and ]), periods (.), underscores (_), and hyphens (-), in addition to the optional wildcard character (*).

    Make sure that you don’t use overlapping characters for different field name patterns. For example, if you have a field name pattern of ABC*, you can’t add another field name pattern that is AB*. In addition, field names are case-sensitive and the maximum number of characters that you can use is 128.

    Comment

    (Optional) Type a comment about this profile. The maximum number of characters that you can use is 128.

  4. After you fill in the fields, choose Create profile.

  5. If you want to add more profiles, choose Add profile.

Step 4: Create a Configuration

After you create one or more field-level encryption profiles, create a configuration that specifies the content type of the request that includes the data to be encrypted, the profile to use for encryption, and other options that specify how you want CloudFront to handle encryption.

For example, when CloudFront can’t encrypt the data, you can specify whether CloudFront should block or forward a request to your origin in the following scenarios:

  • When a request’s content type isn’t in a configuration – If you haven’t added a content type to a configuration, you can specify whether CloudFront should forward the request with that content type to the origin without encrypting data fields, or block the request and return an error.

    Note

    If you add a content type to a configuration but haven’t specified a profile to use with that type, CloudFront always forwards requests with that content type to the origin.

  • When the profile name provided in a query argument is unknown – When you specify the fle-profile query argument with a profile name that doesn’t exist for your distribution, you can specify whether CloudFront should send the request to the origin without encrypting data fields, or block the request and return an error.

In a configuration, you can also specify whether providing a profile as a query argument in a URL overrides a profile that you’ve mapped to the content type for that query. By default, CloudFront uses the profile that you’ve mapped to a content type, if you specify one. This lets you have a profile that’s used by default but decide for certain requests that you want to enforce a different profile.

So, for example, you might specify (in your configuration) SampleProfile as the query argument profile to use. Then you could use the URL https://d1234.cloudfront.net?fle-profile=SampleProfile instead of https://d1234.cloudfront.net, to have CloudFront use SampleProfile for this request, instead of the profile you’d set up for the content type of the request.

You can create up to 10 configurations for a single account, and then associate one of the configurations to the cache behavior of any distribution for the account.

To create a configuration for field-level encryption (console)

  1. On the Field-level encryption page, choose Create configuration.

    Note: If you haven’t created at least one profile, you won’t see the option to create a configuration.

  2. Fill in the following fields to specify the profile to use. (Some fields can’t be changed.)

    Content type (can’t be changed)

    The content type is set to application/x-www-form-urlencoded and can’t be changed.

    Default profile ID (optional)

    In the drop-down list, choose the profile that you want to map to the content type in the Content type field.

    Content format (can’t be changed)

    The content format is set to URLencoded and can’t be changed.

  3. If you want to change the CloudFront default behavior for the following options, select the appropriate check box.

    Forward request to origin when request’s content type is not configured

    Select the check box if you want to allow the request to go to your origin if you have not specified a profile to use for the content type of the request.

    Override the profile for a content type with a provided query argument

    Select the check box if you want to allow a profile provided in a query argument to override the profile that you’ve specified for a content type.

  4. If you select the check box to allow a query argument to override the default profile, you must complete the following additional fields for the configuration. You can create up to five of these query argument mappings to use with queries.

    Query argument

    Type the value that you want to include in URLs for the fle-profile query argument. This value tells CloudFront to use the profile ID (that you specify in the next field) associated with this query argument for field-level encryption for this query.

    The maximum number of characters that you can use is 128. The value can’t include spaces, and must use only alphanumeric or the following characters: dash (-), period (.), underscore (_), asterisk (*), plus-sign (+), percent (%).

    Profile ID

    In the drop-down list, choose the profile that you want to associate with the value that you typed for Query argument.

    Forward request to origin when the profile specified in a query argument does not exist

    Select the check box if you want to allow the request to go to your origin if the profile specified in a query argument isn't defined in CloudFront.

Step 5: Add a Configuration to a Cache Behavior

To use field-level encryption, link a configuration to a cache behavior for a distribution by adding the configuration ID as a value for your distribution.

Important

To link a field-level encryption configuration to a cache behavior, the distribution must be configured to always use HTTPS, and to accept HTTP POST and PUT requests from viewers. That is, the following must be true:

  • The cache behavior’s Viewer Protocol Policy must be set to Redirect HTTP to HTTPS or HTTPS Only. (In AWS CloudFormation or the CloudFront API, ViewerProtocolPolicy must be set to redirect-to-https or https-only.)

  • The cache behavior’s Allowed HTTP Methods must be set to GET, HEAD, OPTIONS, PUT, POST, PATCH, DELETE. (In AWS CloudFormation or the CloudFront API, AllowedMethods must be set to GET, HEAD, OPTIONS, PUT, POST, PATCH, DELETE. These can be specified in any order.)

  • The origin setting’s Origin Protocol Policy must be set to Match Viewer or HTTPS Only. (In AWS CloudFormation or the CloudFront API, OriginProtocolPolicy must be set to match-viewer or https-only.)

For more information, see Values That You Specify When You Create or Update a Distribution.

Decrypting Data Fields at Your Origin

CloudFront encrypts data fields by using the AWS Encryption SDK. The data remains encrypted throughout your application stack and can be accessed only by applications that have the credentials to decrypt it.

After encryption, the ciphertext is base64 encoded. When your applications decrypt the text at the origin, they must first decode the ciphertext, and then use the AWS Encryption SDK to decrypt the data.

The following code example illustrates how applications can decrypt data at your origin. Note the following:

  • To simplify the example, this sample loads public and private keys (in DER format) from files in the working directory. In practice, you would store the private key in a secure offline location, such as an offline hardware security module, and distribute the public key to your development team.

  • CloudFront uses specific information while encrypting the data, and the same set of parameters should be used at the origin to decrypt it. Parameters CloudFront uses while initializing the MasterKey include the following:

    • PROVIDER_NAME: You specified this value when you created a field-level encryption profile. Use the same value here.

    • KEY_NAME: You created a name for your public key when you uploaded it to CloudFront, and then specified the key name in the profile. Use the same value here.

    • ALGORITHM: CloudFront uses RSA/ECB/OAEPWithSHA-256AndMGF1Padding as the algorithm for encrypting, so you must use the same algorithm to decrypt the data.

  • If you run the following sample program with ciphertext as input, the decrypted data is output to your console. For more information, see the Java Example Code in the AWS Encryption SDK.

Sample Code

import java.nio.file.Files; import java.nio.file.Paths; import java.security.KeyFactory; import java.security.PrivateKey; import java.security.PublicKey; import java.security.spec.PKCS8EncodedKeySpec; import java.security.spec.X509EncodedKeySpec; import org.apache.commons.codec.binary.Base64; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.AwsCrypto; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.CryptoResult; import com.amazonaws.encryptionsdk.jce.JceMasterKey; /** * Sample example of decrypting data that has been encrypted by CloudFront Field-Level Encryption. */ public class DecryptExample { private static final String PRIVATE_KEY_FILENAME = "private_key.der"; private static final String PUBLIC_KEY_FILENAME = "public_key.der"; private static PublicKey publicKey; private static PrivateKey privateKey; // CloudFront uses the following values to encrypt data, and your origin must use same values to decrypt it. // In your own code, for PROVIDER_NAME, use the provider name that you specified when you created your Field Level // Encryption Profile. This sample uses 'DEMO' for the value. private static final String PROVIDER_NAME = "DEMO"; // In your own code, use the Key name that you specified when you added your public key to CloudFront. This sample // uses 'DEMOKEY' for the Key name. private static final String KEY_NAME = "DEMOKEY"; // CloudFront uses this algorithm when encrypting data. private static final String ALGORITHM = "RSA/ECB/OAEPWithSHA-256AndMGF1Padding"; public static void main(final String[] args) throws Exception { final String dataToDecrypt = args[0]; // This sample uses files to get public and private keys. // In practice, you should distribute the public key and save the private key in secure storage. populateKeyPair(); System.out.println(decrypt(debase64(dataToDecrypt))); } private static String decrypt(final byte[] bytesToDecrypt) throws Exception { // You can decrypt the stream only by using the private key. // 1. Instantiate the SDK final AwsCrypto crypto = new AwsCrypto(); // 2. Instantiate a JCE master key final JceMasterKey masterKey = JceMasterKey.getInstance( publicKey, privateKey, PROVIDER_NAME, KEY_NAME, ALGORITHM); // 3. Decrypt the data final CryptoResult <byte[], ? > result = crypto.decryptData(masterKey, bytesToDecrypt); return new String(result.getResult()); } // Function to decode base64 cipher text. private static byte[] debase64(final String value) { return Base64.decodeBase64(value.getBytes()); } private static void populateKeyPair() throws Exception { final byte[] PublicKeyBytes = Files.readAllBytes(Paths.get(PUBLIC_KEY_FILENAME)); final byte[] privateKeyBytes = Files.readAllBytes(Paths.get(PRIVATE_KEY_FILENAME)); publicKey = KeyFactory.getInstance("RSA").generatePublic(new X509EncodedKeySpec(PublicKeyBytes)); privateKey = KeyFactory.getInstance("RSA").generatePrivate(new PKCS8EncodedKeySpec(privateKeyBytes)); } }