收集网络性能指标 - Amazon CloudWatch

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

收集网络性能指标

使用 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 的 Linux 上运行的 EC2 实例发布网络性能指标。利用 1.246396.0 版及更高版本的 CloudWatch 代理,您可以将这些网络性能指标导入 CloudWatch。当您将这些网络性能指标导入 时CloudWatch,它们将作为CloudWatch自定义指标收费。

有关 ENA 驱动程序的更多信息,请参阅在 Linux 实例启用 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 增强联网和在 Windows 实例启用 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 增强联网。

对于 Linux 服务器和 Windows 服务器,您设置网络性能指标集合的方式有所不同。

下表列出了 ENA 适配器启用的这些网络性能指标。当 CloudWatch 代理CloudWatch从 Linux 实例将这些指标导入 时,它会ethtool_在每个指标名称的开头加上 。

指标 描述

Linux 服务器上的名称: bw_in_allowance_exceeded

Windows 服务器上的名称: Aggregate inbound BW allowance exceeded

由于入站聚合带宽超过实例的最大带宽,排队和/或丢弃的数据包数。

仅当您已在ethtool代理配置文件的 metrics_collected 部分的 CloudWatch 子部分中列出此指标时,才会收集此指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 收集网络性能指标

单位:无

Linux 服务器上的名称: bw_out_allowance_exceeded

Windows 服务器上的名称: Aggregate outbound BW allowance exceeded

由于出站聚合带宽超过实例的最大带宽,排队和/或丢弃的数据包数。

仅当您已在ethtool代理配置文件的 metrics_collected 部分的 CloudWatch 子部分中列出此指标时,才会收集此指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 收集网络性能指标

单位:无

Linux 服务器上的名称:conntrack_allowance_exceeded

Windows 服务器上的名称: Connection tracking allowance exceeded

由于连接跟踪超出实例的最大值而丢弃的数据包数,并且无法建立新连接。这可能会导致进出实例的流量丢失数据包。

仅当您已在ethtool代理配置文件的 metrics_collected 部分的 CloudWatch 子部分中列出此指标时,才会收集此指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 收集网络性能指标

单位:无

Linux 服务器上的名称: linklocal_allowance_exceeded

Windows 服务器上的名称: Link local packet rate allowance exceeded

由于流向本地代理服务的流量的 PPS 超过网络接口的最大流量,因此丢弃的数据包数。这会影响流向 DNS 服务、实例元数据服务和 Amazon Time Sync Service 的流量。

仅当您已在ethtool代理配置文件的 metrics_collected 部分的 CloudWatch 子部分中列出此指标时,才会收集此指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 收集网络性能指标

单位:无

Linux 服务器上的名称: pps_allowance_exceeded

Windows 服务器上的名称: PPS allowance exceeded

由于双向 PPS 超出实例的最大值,排队和/或丢弃的数据包数。

仅当您已在ethtool代理配置文件的 metrics_collected 部分的 CloudWatch 子部分中列出此指标时,才会收集此指标。有关更多信息,请参阅 收集网络性能指标

单位:无

Linux 设置

在 Linux 服务器上,ethtool 插件使您能够将网络性能指标导入 CloudWatch。

ethtool 是一个标准 Linux 实用工具,可以收集有关 Linux 服务器上以太网设备的统计数据。它收集的统计数据取决于网络设备和驱动程序。这些统计数据的示例包括 tx_packetsrx_bytestx_errorsalign_errors。当您将 ethtool 插件与 CloudWatch 代理一起使用时,还可以将这些统计数据CloudWatch以及本节前面列出的 EC2 网络性能指标导入到 中。

当 CloudWatch 代理将指标导入到 时CloudWatch,它会在所有导入的指标的名称中添加一个 ethtool_ 前缀。因此,标准 ethtool 统计数据rx_bytesethtool_rx_bytes 中称为 CloudWatch,EC2 网络性能指标bw_in_allowance_exceeded在 中ethtool_bw_in_allowance_exceeded称为 CloudWatch。

在 Linux 服务器上,要导入 ethtool 指标,请将 ethtool 部分添加到 metrics_collected 代理配置文件的 CloudWatch 部分。部分ethtool可以包含以下子部分:

  • interface_include— 包含 此部分将导致代理仅从本节中列出的名称的接口中收集指标。如果省略此部分,则会从未在 中列出的所有以太网接口中收集指标interface_exclude

    默认以太网接口为 eth0

  • interface_exclude— 如果包括此部分,请列出您不想从中收集指标的以太网接口。

    ethtool 插件始终忽略环回接口。

  • metrics_include— 此部分列出了要导入的指标CloudWatch。它可以包括由 ethtool 收集的标准统计数据和Amazon EC2高分辨率网络指标。

以下示例显示 CloudWatch 代理配置文件的一部分。此配置仅从 rx_packets 接口收集标准 ethtool 指标tx_packets和 Amazon EC2以及eth1网络性能指标。

有关 CloudWatch 代理配置文件的更多信息,请参阅 手动创建或编辑 CloudWatch 代理配置文件

"metrics": { "append_dimensions": { "InstanceId": "${aws:InstanceId}" }, "metrics_collected": { "ethtool": { "interface_include": [ "eth1" ], "metrics_include": [ "rx_packets", "tx_packets", "bw_in_allowance_exceeded", "bw_out_allowance_exceeded", "conntrack_allowance_exceeded", "linklocal_allowance_exceeded", "pps_allowance_exceeded" ] } }

查看网络性能指标

将网络性能指标导入到 中后CloudWatch,您可以将这些指标作为时间序列图表查看,并创建警报,这些警报可监视这些指标并在它们超出您指定的阈值时通知您。以下过程演示如何以时间序列图表的形式查看 ethtool 指标。有关设置警报的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon CloudWatch 警报

由于所有这些指标都是聚合计数器,您可以使用CloudWatch指标数学函数(如 RATE(METRICS()) )在图表中计算这些指标的速率,或使用它们来设置警报。有关指标数学函数的更多信息,请参阅使用指标数学

在 CloudWatch 控制台中查看网络性能指标

  1. 通过以下网址打开 CloudWatch 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Metrics

  3. 为代理收集的指标选择命名空间。默认情况下,这是 CWAgent但您可能已在CloudWatch代理配置文件中指定了不同的命名空间。

  4. 选择指标维度(例如,Per-Instance Metrics (每个实例的指标))。

  5. All metrics 选项卡显示命名空间中该维度的所有指标。您可执行以下操作:

    1. 要为指标绘制图表,请选中该指标旁的复选框。要选择所有指标,请选中表的标题行中的复选框。

    2. 要对表进行排序,请使用列标题。

    3. 要按资源进行筛选,请选择资源 ID,然后选择添加到搜索

    4. 要按指标进行筛选,请选择指标名称,然后选择添加到搜索

  6. (可选)要将此图表添加到CloudWatch控制面板,请选择 Actions (操作),然后选择 Add to dashboard (添加到控制面板)。

Collect network performance metrics - Amazon CloudWatch

Collect network performance metrics

EC2 instances running on Linux that use the Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) publish network performance metrics. Version 1.246396.0 and later of the CloudWatch agent enable you to import these network performance metrics into CloudWatch. When you import these network performance metrics into CloudWatch, they are charged as CloudWatch custom metrics.

For more information about the ENA driver, see Enabling enhanced networking with the Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) on Linux instances and Enabling enhanced networking with the Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) on Windows instances.

How you set up the collection of network performance metrics differs on Linux servers and Windows servers.

The following table lists these network performance metrics enabled by the ENA adapter. When the CloudWatch agent imports these metrics into CloudWatch from Linux instances, it prepends ethtool_ at the beginning of each of these metric names.

Metric Description

Name on Linux servers: bw_in_allowance_exceeded

Name on Windows servers: Aggregate inbound BW allowance exceeded

The number of packets queued and/or dropped because the inbound aggregate bandwidth exceeded the maximum for the instance..

This metric is collected only if you have listed it in the ethtool subsection of the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. For more information, see Collect network performance metrics

Unit: None

Name on Linux servers: bw_out_allowance_exceeded

Name on Windows servers: Aggregate outbound BW allowance exceeded

The number of packets queued and/or dropped because the outbound aggregate bandwidth exceeded the maximum for the instance.

This metric is collected only if you have listed it in the ethtool subsection of the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. For more information, see Collect network performance metrics

Unit: None

Name on Linux servers:conntrack_allowance_exceeded

Name on Windows servers: Connection tracking allowance exceeded

The number of packets dropped because connection tracking exceeded the maximum for the instance and new connections could not be established. This can result in packet loss for traffic to or from the instance.

This metric is collected only if you have listed it in the ethtool subsection of the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. For more information, see Collect network performance metrics

Unit: None

Name on Linux servers: linklocal_allowance_exceeded

Name on Windows servers: Link local packet rate allowance exceeded

The number of packets dropped because the PPS of the traffic to local proxy services exceeded the maximum for the network interface. This impacts traffic to the DNS service, the Instance Metadata Service, and the Amazon Time Sync Service.

This metric is collected only if you have listed it in the ethtool subsection of the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. For more information, see Collect network performance metrics

Unit: None

Name on Linux servers: pps_allowance_exceeded

Name on Windows servers: PPS allowance exceeded

The number of packets queued and/or dropped because the bidirectional PPS exceeded the maximum for the instance.

This metric is collected only if you have listed it in the ethtool subsection of the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. For more information, see Collect network performance metrics

Unit: None

Linux setup

On Linux servers, the ethtool plugin enables you to import the network performance metrics into CloudWatch.

ethtool is a standard Linux utility that can collect statistics about Ethernet devices on Linux servers. The statistics it collects depend on the network device and driver. Examples of these statistics include tx_packets, rx_bytes, tx_errors, and align_errors. When you use the ethtool plugin with the CloudWatch agent, you can also import these statistics into CloudWatch, along with the EC2 network performance metrics listed earlier in this section.

When the CloudWatch agent imports metrics into CloudWatch, it adds an ethtool_ prefix to the names of all imported metrics. So the standard ethtool statistic rx_bytes is called ethtool_rx_bytes in CloudWatch, and the EC2 network performance metric bw_in_allowance_exceeded is called ethtool_bw_in_allowance_exceeded in CloudWatch.

On Linux servers, to import ethtool metrics, add an ethtool section to the metrics_collected section of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. The ethtool section can include the following subsections:

  • interface_include— Including this section causes the agent to collect metrics from only the interfaces that have names listed in this section. If you omit this section, metrics are collected from all Ethernet interfaces that aren't listed in interface_exclude.

    The default ethernet interface is eth0.

  • interface_exclude— If you include this section, list the Ethernet interfaces that you don't want to collect metrics from.

    The ethtool plugin always ignores loopback interfaces.

  • metrics_include— This section lists the metrics to import into CloudWatch. It can include both standard statistics collected by ethtool and Amazon EC2 high-resolution network metrics.

The following example displays part of the CloudWatch agent configuration file. This configuration collects the standard ethtool metrics rx_packets and tx_packets, and the Amazon EC2 network performance metrics from only the eth1 interface.

For more information about the CloudWatch agent configuration file, see Manually create or edit the CloudWatch agent configuration file.

"metrics": { "append_dimensions": { "InstanceId": "${aws:InstanceId}" }, "metrics_collected": { "ethtool": { "interface_include": [ "eth1" ], "metrics_include": [ "rx_packets", "tx_packets", "bw_in_allowance_exceeded", "bw_out_allowance_exceeded", "conntrack_allowance_exceeded", "linklocal_allowance_exceeded", "pps_allowance_exceeded" ] } }

Viewing network performance metrics

After importing network performance metrics into CloudWatch, you can view these metrics as time series graphs, and create alarms that can watch these metrics and notify you if they breach a threshold that you specify. The following procedure shows how to view ethtool metrics as a time series graph. For more information about setting alarms, see Using Amazon CloudWatch alarms.

Because all of these metrics are aggregate counters, you can use CloudWatch metric math functions such as RATE(METRICS()) to calculate the rate for these metrics in graphs or use them to set alarms. For more information about metric math functions, see Using metric math.

To view network performance metrics in the CloudWatch console

  1. Open the CloudWatch console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Metrics.

  3. Choose the namespace for the metrics collected by the agent. By default, this is CWAgent, but you may have specified a different namespace in the CloudWatch agent configuration file.

  4. Choose a metric dimension (for example, Per-Instance Metrics).

  5. The All metrics tab displays all metrics for that dimension in the namespace. You can do the following:

    1. To graph a metric, select the check box next to the metric. To select all metrics, select the check box in the heading row of the table.

    2. To sort the table, use the column heading.

    3. To filter by resource, choose the resource ID, and then choose Add to search.

    4. To filter by metric, choose the metric name, and then choose Add to search.

  6. (Optional) To add this graph to a CloudWatch dashboard, choose Actions, and then choose Add to dashboard.