Amazon ElastiCache
ElastiCache for Memcached User Guide (API Version 2015-02-02)

The AWS Documentation website is getting a new look!
Try it now and let us know what you think. Switch to the new look >>

You can return to the original look by selecting English in the language selector above.

Managing Your ElastiCache Clusters

A cluster is a collection of one or more cache nodes, all of which run an instance of the Memcached cache engine software. When you create a cluster, you specify the engine and version that all of the nodes will use.

The following diagram illustrates a typical Memcached cluster. Memcached clusters contain from 1 to 20 nodes across which you horizontally partition your data.

			Image: Typical Memcached Cluster

Typical Memcached Cluster

Most ElastiCache operations are performed at the cluster level. You can set up a cluster with a specific number of nodes and a parameter group that controls the properties for each node. All nodes within a cluster are designed to be of the same node type and have the same parameter and security group settings.

Every cluster must have a cluster identifier. The cluster identifier is a customer-supplied name for the cluster. This identifier specifies a particular cluster when interacting with the ElastiCache API and AWS CLI commands. The cluster identifier must be unique for that customer in an AWS Region.

ElastiCache supports multiple engine versions. Unless you have specific reasons, we recommend always using the your engine's latest version.

ElastiCache clusters are designed to be accessed by using an Amazon EC2 instance. If you launch your cluster in a VPC based on the Amazon VPC service, you can access it from outside AWS. For more information, see the following:

Supported Memcached Versions

Other ElastiCache Cluster Operations

Additional operations involving clusters: