使用 PostgreSQL 管理临时文件 - Amazon Relational Database Service

使用 PostgreSQL 管理临时文件

在 PostgreSQL 中,执行排序和哈希操作的查询使用实例内存,来存储不超过在 work_mem 参数中指定的值的结果。当实例内存不足时,会创建临时文件来存储结果。这些文件写入磁盘以完成查询执行。稍后,将在查询完成后自动删除这些文件。在 RDS for PostgreSQL 中,这些文件存储在数据卷上的 Amazon EBS 中。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 数据库实例存储。您可以监控 CloudWatch 内发布的 FreeStorageSpace 指标,以确保数据库实例具有足够的可用存储空间。有关更多信息,请参阅 FreeStorageSpace

对于涉及多个并发查询的工作负载(这会增加临时文件的使用量),我们建议使用 Amazon RDS 优化型读取功能。这些实例使用基于本地非易失性存储规范(NVMe)的固态硬盘(SSD)块级存储来存放临时文件。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 优化型读取功能

您可以使用下面的参数和函数来管理实例中的临时文件。

  • temp_file_limit – 此参数取消任何超过 temp_files 大小(以 KB 为单位)的查询。此限制可防止任何查询无休止地运行并使用临时文件消耗磁盘空间。您可以使用来自 log_temp_files 参数的结果来估计该值。作为最佳实践,请检查工作负载行为并根据估计值设置限制。以下示例显示了当查询超过限制时如何取消查询。

    postgres=> select * from pgbench_accounts, pg_class, big_table;
    ERROR: temporary file size exceeds temp_file_limit (64kB)
  • log_temp_files – 当删除会话的临时文件时,此参数会向 postgresql.log 发送消息。此参数在查询成功完成后生成日志。因此,它可能无助于对长时间运行的活跃查询进行故障排除。

    以下示例显示,当查询成功完成后,条目将记录在 postgresql.log 文件中,同时清理临时文件。

    2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:LOG: temporary file: path "base/pgsql_tmp/pgsql_tmp31236.5", size 140353536 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:STATEMENT: select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid limit 10; 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:LOG: temporary file: path "base/pgsql_tmp/pgsql_tmp31236.4", size 180428800 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:STATEMENT: select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid limit 10;
  • pg_ls_tmpdir – 此函数在 RDS for PostgreSQL 13 及更高版本中提供,可让用户了解当前临时文件使用情况。完成的查询不会出现在该函数的结果中。在以下示例中,您可以查看此函数的结果。

    postgres=> select * from pg_ls_tmpdir();
    name | size | modification -----------------+------------+------------------------ pgsql_tmp8355.1 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8351.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:43+00 pgsql_tmp8327.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8351.1 | 703168512 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8355.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:00+00 pgsql_tmp8328.1 | 835031040 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8328.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:40+00 (7 rows)
    postgres=> select query from pg_stat_activity where pid = 8355; query ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid (1 row)

    文件名包括生成了临时文件的会话的处理 ID(PID)。更高级的查询(如以下示例所示)对每个 PID 的临时文件执行总和。

    postgres=> select replace(left(name, strpos(name, '.')-1),'pgsql_tmp','') as pid, count(*), sum(size) from pg_ls_tmpdir() group by pid;
    pid | count | sum ------+------------------- 8355 | 2 | 2144501760 8351 | 2 | 2090770432 8327 | 1 | 1072250880 8328 | 2 | 2144501760 (4 rows)
  • pg_stat_statements – 如果您激活 pg_stat_sat_statements 参数,则可以查看每个调用的平均临时文件使用量。您可以识别查询的 query_id 并使用它来检查临时文件使用情况,如以下示例所示。

    postgres=> select queryid from pg_stat_statements where query like 'select a.aid from pgbench%';
    queryid ---------------------- -7170349228837045701 (1 row)
    postgres=> select queryid, substr(query,1,25), calls, temp_blks_read/calls temp_blks_read_per_call, temp_blks_written/calls temp_blks_written_per_call from pg_stat_statements where queryid = -7170349228837045701;
    queryid | substr | calls | temp_blks_read_per_call | temp_blks_written_per_call ----------------------+---------------------------+-------+-------------------------+---------------------------- -7170349228837045701 | select a.aid from pgbench | 50 | 239226 | 388678 (1 row)
  • Performance Insights – 在性能详情控制面板中,可以通过开启指标 temp_bytestemp_files 来查看临时文件使用情况。然后,您可以看到这两个指标的平均值,并查看它们与查询工作负载的对应关系。性能详情中的视图并未专门显示正在生成临时文件的查询。但是,当您将性能详情与针对 pg_ls_tmpdir 显示的查询相结合时,您可以排查、分析并确定查询工作负载的变化。

    有关如何使用性能详情分析指标和查询的更多信息,请参阅使用性能详情控制面板分析指标

    使用性能详情查看临时文件使用情况
    1. 在性能详情控制面板中,选择管理指标

    2. 选择数据库指标,然后选择 temp_bytestemp_files 指标,如下图所示。

      图表中显示的指标。
    3. Top SQL 选项卡中,选择首选项图标。

    4. 首选项窗口中,打开 Top SQL 选项卡中显示的以下统计数据,然后选择继续

      • 临时写入次数/秒

      • 临时读取次数/秒

      • 临时批量写入/调用

      • 临时批量读取/调用

    5. 当临时文件与针对 pg_ls_tmpdir 显示的查询相组合时,临时文件将被分解,如以下示例所示。

      显示临时文件使用情况的查询。

当您的工作负载中排名靠前的查询经常创建临时文件时,就会发生 IO:BufFileReadIO:BufFileWrite 事件。通过查看“数据库负载”和“热门 SQL”部分中的平均活动会话(AAS),您可以使用性能详情来确定在 IO:BufFileReadIO:BufFileWrite 上等待的热门 SQL。

图中的 IO:BufFileRead 和 IO:BufFileWrite。

有关如何使用性能详情按等待事件分析热门查询和负载的更多信息,请参阅“Top SQL”(主要 SQL)选项卡概览。您应该识别和调整导致临时文件使用量和相关等待事件增加的查询。有关这些等待事件和补救措施的更多信息,请参阅 IO:BufFileRead 和 IO:BufFileWrite

注意

work_mem 参数控制排序操作何时耗尽内存以及结果何时写入临时文件中。我们建议您不要将此参数的设置更改为高于原定设置值,因为这将允许每个数据库会话消耗更多内存。此外,执行复杂联接和排序的单个会话可以执行并行操作,其中每个操作都会消耗内存。

作为最佳实践,当您有一个包含多个联接和排序的大型报告时,请使用 SET work_mem 命令在会话级别设置此参数。然后,更改仅应用于当前会话,而不会全局更改该值。

Managing temporary files with PostgreSQL - Amazon Relational Database Service

Managing temporary files with PostgreSQL

In PostgreSQL, a query performing sort and hash operations uses the instance memory to store results up to the value specified in the work_mem parameter. When the instance memory is not sufficient, temporary files are created to store the results. These are written to disk to complete the query execution. Later, these files are automatically removed after the query completes. In RDS for PostgreSQL, these files are stored in Amazon EBS on the data volume. For more information, see Amazon RDS DB instance storage. You can monitor the FreeStorageSpace metric published in CloudWatch to make sure that your DB instance has enough free storage space. For more information, see FreeStorageSpace .

We recommend using Amazon RDS Optimized Read instances for the workloads involving multiple concurrent queries that increase the usage of temporary files. These instances use local Non-Volatile Memory Express (NVMe) based solid state drive (SSD) block-level storage to place the temporary files. For more information, see Amazon RDS Optimized Reads.

You can use the following parameters and functions to manage the temporary files in your instance.

  • temp_file_limit – This parameter cancels any query exceeding the size of temp_files in KB. This limit prevents any query from running endlessly and consuming disk space with temporary files. You can estimate the value using the results from the log_temp_files parameter. As a best practice, examine the workload behavior and set the limit according to the estimation. The following example shows how a query is canceled when it exceeds the limit.

    postgres=> select * from pgbench_accounts, pg_class, big_table;
    ERROR: temporary file size exceeds temp_file_limit (64kB)
  • log_temp_files – This parameter sends messages to the postgresql.log when the temporary files of a session are removed. This parameter produces logs after a query successfully completes. Therefore, it might not help in troubleshooting active, long-running queries.

    The following example shows that when the query successfully completes, the entries are logged in the postgresql.log file while the temporary files are cleaned up.

    2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:LOG: temporary file: path "base/pgsql_tmp/pgsql_tmp31236.5", size 140353536 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:STATEMENT: select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid limit 10; 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:LOG: temporary file: path "base/pgsql_tmp/pgsql_tmp31236.4", size 180428800 2023-02-06 23:48:35 UTC:205.251.233.182(12456):adminuser@postgres:[31236]:STATEMENT: select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid limit 10;
  • pg_ls_tmpdir – This function that is available from RDS for PostgreSQL 13 and above provides visibility into the current temporary file usage. The completed query doesn't appear in the results of the function. In the following example, you can view the results of this function.

    postgres=> select * from pg_ls_tmpdir();
    name | size | modification -----------------+------------+------------------------ pgsql_tmp8355.1 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8351.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:43+00 pgsql_tmp8327.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8351.1 | 703168512 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8355.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:00+00 pgsql_tmp8328.1 | 835031040 | 2023-02-06 22:54:56+00 pgsql_tmp8328.0 | 1072250880 | 2023-02-06 22:54:40+00 (7 rows)
    postgres=> select query from pg_stat_activity where pid = 8355; query ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- select a.aid from pgbench_accounts a, pgbench_accounts b where a.bid=b.bid order by a.bid (1 row)

    The file name includes the processing ID (PID) of the session that generated the temporary file. A more advanced query, such as in the following example, performs a sum of the temporary files for each PID.

    postgres=> select replace(left(name, strpos(name, '.')-1),'pgsql_tmp','') as pid, count(*), sum(size) from pg_ls_tmpdir() group by pid;
    pid | count | sum ------+------------------- 8355 | 2 | 2144501760 8351 | 2 | 2090770432 8327 | 1 | 1072250880 8328 | 2 | 2144501760 (4 rows)
  • pg_stat_statements – If you activate the pg_stat_statements parameter, then you can view the average temporary file usage per call. You can identify the query_id of the query and use it to examine the temporary file usage as shown in the following example.

    postgres=> select queryid from pg_stat_statements where query like 'select a.aid from pgbench%';
    queryid ---------------------- -7170349228837045701 (1 row)
    postgres=> select queryid, substr(query,1,25), calls, temp_blks_read/calls temp_blks_read_per_call, temp_blks_written/calls temp_blks_written_per_call from pg_stat_statements where queryid = -7170349228837045701;
    queryid | substr | calls | temp_blks_read_per_call | temp_blks_written_per_call ----------------------+---------------------------+-------+-------------------------+---------------------------- -7170349228837045701 | select a.aid from pgbench | 50 | 239226 | 388678 (1 row)
  • Performance Insights – In the Performance Insights dashboard, you can view temporary file usage by turning on the metrics temp_bytes and temp_files. Then, you can see the average of both of these metrics and see how they correspond to the query workload. The view within Performance Insights doesn't show specifically the queries that are generating the temporary files. However, when you combine Performance Insights with the query shown for pg_ls_tmpdir, you can troubleshoot, analyze, and determine the changes in your query workload.

    For more information about how to analyze metrics and queries with Performance Insights, see Analyzing metrics with the Performance Insights dashboard

    To view the temporary file usage with Performance Insights
    1. In the Performance Insights dashboard, choose Manage Metrics.

    2. Choose Database metrics, and select the temp_bytes and temp_files metrics as shown in the following image.

      Metrics displayed in the graph.
    3. In the Top SQL tab, choose the Preferences icon.

    4. In the Preferences window, turn on the following statistics to appear in the Top SQLtab and choose Continue.

      • Temp writes/sec

      • Temp reads/sec

      • Tmp blk write/call

      • Tmp blk read/call

    5. The temporary file is broken out when combined with the query shown for pg_ls_tmpdir, as shown in the following example.

      Query that displays the temporary file usage.

The IO:BufFileRead and IO:BufFileWrite events occur when the top queries in your workload often create temporary files. You can use Performance Insights to identify top queries waiting on IO:BufFileRead and IO:BufFileWrite by reviewing Average Active Session (AAS) in Database Load and Top SQL sections.

IO:BufFileRead and IO:BufFileWrite in the graph.

For more information on how to analyze top queries and load by wait event with Performance Insights, see Overview of the Top SQL tab. You should identify and tune the queries that cause increase in temporary file usage and related wait events. For more information on these wait events and remediation, see IO:BufFileRead and IO:BufFileWrite.

Note

The work_mem parameter controls when the sort operation runs out of memory and results are written into temporary files. We recommend that you don't change the setting of this parameter higher than the default value because it would permit every database session to consume more memory. Also, a single session that performs complex joins and sorts can perform parallel operations in which each operation consumes memory.

As a best practice, when you have a large report with multiple joins and sorts, set this parameter at the session level by using the SET work_mem command. Then the change is only applied to the current session and doesn't change the value globally.