什么是 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)? - Amazon Relational Database Service

什么是 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)?

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 是一项 Web 服务,让用户能够在 AWS 云中更轻松地设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。它可以经济有效的为用户提供一个容量可调的行业标准的关系数据库,并承担常见的数据库管理任务。

注意

本用户指南涵盖非 Amazon Aurora Amazon RDS 数据库引擎。有关使用 Amazon Aurora 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Aurora 用户指南

本指南介绍了如何在 AWS 云中使用 Amazon RDS。有关在本地 VMware 环境中使用 Amazon RDS 的信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS on VMware 用户指南

Amazon RDS 概述

您为何需要托管关系数据库服务? 因为 Amazon RDS 会接管关系数据库的很多困难或繁琐的管理任务:

  • 购买服务器时,您会一并获得 CPU、内存、存储和 IOPS。利用 Amazon RDS,您可以将这些部分进行拆分,以便单独对其进行扩展。如果您需要更多 CPU、更少 IOPS 或更多存储,可以轻松地对它们进行分配。

  • Amazon RDS 可以管理备份、软件修补、自动故障检测和恢复。

  • 为了提供托管服务体验,Amazon RDS 未提供数据库实例的 Shell 访问权限。并且它还限制了对需要高级权限的某些系统程序和表的访问。

  • 您可以在需要时执行自动备份,也可以手动创建您自己的备份快照。您可以使用这些备份还原数据库。Amazon RDS 还原过程将可靠且高效地工作。

  • 您可以使用您已熟悉的数据库产品:MySQL、MariaDB、PostgreSQL、Oracle 和 Microsoft SQL Server。

  • 您可以通过主实例和在发生问题时可向其执行故障转移操作的同步辅助实例实现高可用性。您还可以使用 MariaDB、Microsoft SQL Server、MySQL、Oracle 和 PostgreSQL 只读副本扩展读取。

  • 除了保证数据库包的安全外,还可以使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 定义用户和权限来帮助控制可以访问 RDS 数据库的人员。您还可以将数据库置于虚拟私有云中,这样有助于保护数据库。

如果不熟悉 AWS 产品和服务,请使用以下资源了解更多信息:

数据库实例

Amazon RDS 的基本构建基块是数据库实例。数据库实例是在 AWS 云中运行的独立数据库环境。数据库实例可以包含多个由用户创建的数据库。您可以使用与处理独立数据库实例时所用的相同工具和应用程序来访问您的数据库实例。您可以使用 AWS Command Line Interface、Amazon RDS、API 或 AWS 管理控制台 创建和修改数据库实例。

每个数据库实例均运行一个数据库引擎。Amazon RDS 当前支持 MySQL、MariaDB、PostgreSQL、Oracle 和 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库引擎。每个数据库引擎有其自己支持的功能,并且每个版本的数据库引擎可能包括一些特定的功能。此外,每个数据库引擎在数据库参数组中均有一组参数,用于控制其管理的数据库的行为。

数据库实例的计算和内存容量由数据库实例类决定。您可以选择最能满足您需求的数据库实例。如果一段时间后您的需求出现了变化,可以更改数据库实例。有关信息,请参阅数据库实例类

注意

有关数据库实例类的定价信息,请查看 Amazon RDS 产品页的定价部分。

数据库实例存储有三种类型:磁性、通用型 (SSD) 和配置的 IOPS (PIOPS)。它们的性能特点和价格不同,您可根据数据库要求定制您所需的存储性能和相应费用。每个数据库实例都具有最小和最大存储要求,具体取决于存储类型和其支持的数据库引擎。重要的是要有足够的存储空间,这样数据库才有增长的空间。此外,足够的存储空间可确保数据库引擎的功能有空间写入内容或日志条目。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 数据库实例存储

您可以使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 服务,在虚拟私有云 (VPC) 上运行数据库实例。使用 VPC 时,您的虚拟联网环境完全由您控制。您可以选择自己的 IP 地址范围、创建子网以及配置路由和访问控制列表。无论是否在 VPC 中运行,Amazon RDS 的基本功能都是相同的;Amazon RDS 管理备份、软件修补、自动故障检测和恢复。在 VPC 中运行数据库实例没有额外费用。有关将 Amazon VPC 与 RDS 结合使用的更多信息,请参阅Amazon Virtual Private Cloud VPC 和 Amazon RDS

Amazon RDS 使用网络时间协议 (NTP) 来同步数据库实例上的时间。

AWS 区域和可用区

Amazon 云计算资源安置在世界不同地区 (例如:北美、欧洲或亚洲) 的高度可用的数据中心设施内。每个数据中心地点称为一个 AWS 区域。

每个 AWS 区域包含多个称为可用区或 AZ 的不同地点。每个可用区设计为可隔离其他可用区的故障。每个可用区都设计为向同一 AWS 区域中的其他可用区提供低成本、低延迟的网络连接。通过启动独立可用区内的实例,您可以保护您的应用程序不受单一位置故障的影响。有关更多信息,请参阅 区域、可用区和本地扩展区

您可以在多个可用区运行数据库实例,此选项称为多可用区部署。当您选择此选项时,Amazon 会自动在不同的可用区预配置和维护辅助备用数据库实例。主数据库实例可以跨可用区同步复制到辅助实例。此方法帮助提供数据冗余和故障转移支持,消除 I/O 冻结,并在系统备份期间将延迟峰值降至最小。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 的高可用性(多可用区)

安全性

安全组控制对数据库实例的访问。通过允许访问 IP 地址范围或您指定的 Amazon EC2 实例,可实现此控制。

有关安全组的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 中的安全性

监控 Amazon RDS 数据库实例

您可使用多种方法对数据库实例性能和运行状况进行跟踪。您可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 服务对数据库实例的性能和运行状况进行监控。在 Amazon RDS 控制台中会显示 CloudWatch 性能图表。您还可以订阅 Amazon RDS 事件,以便在数据库实例、数据库快照、数据库参数组或者数据库安全组发生更改时收取通知。有关更多信息,请参阅监控 Amazon RDS 数据库实例

如何使用 Amazon RDS

您可使用多种方法与 Amazon RDS 进行交互。

AWS 管理控制台

AWS 管理控制台是一个基于 Web 的简单用户界面。您可以从控制台中管理数据库实例,而无需进行任何编程。要访问 Amazon RDS 控制台,请登录 AWS 管理控制台 并打开位于以下位置的 Amazon RDS 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/rds/

命令行界面

您可以使用 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 以交互方式访问 Amazon RDS API。要安装 AWS CLI,请参阅安装 AWS 命令行界面。要开始使用适用于 RDS 的 AWS CLI,请参阅适用于 Amazon RDS 的 AWS Command Line Interface 参考

使用 Amazon RDS 进行编程

如果您是一名开发人员,则可以采用编程方式访问 Amazon RDS。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon RDS 应用程序编程接口 (API) 参考

对于应用程序开发,我们建议使用 AWS 软件开发工具包 (SDK) 之一。AWS 开发工具包可处理低级详细信息 (如身份验证、重试逻辑和错误处理),让您可以将注意力放在应用程序逻辑上。AWS 开发工具包适用于各种语言。有关更多信息,请参阅用于 Amazon Web Services 的工具

AWS 还提供了库、示例代码、教程和其他资源来帮助您更轻松地入门。有关更多信息,请参阅示例代码和库

Amazon RDS 如何收费

在使用 Amazon RDS 时,可以选择使用按需数据库实例或预留数据库实例。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 的数据库实例计费

有关 Amazon RDS 定价信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 产品页

接下来做什么?

上一节为您介绍了 RDS 提供的基本基础设施组件。您下一步该做什么?

开始使用

根据 开始使用 Amazon RDS 中的说明创建数据库实例。

特定于数据库引擎的主题

您可以在以下部分中查看特定数据库引擎的特定信息:

Amazon Relational Database Service
User Guide (API Version 2014-10-31)

What Is Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)?

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) is a web service that makes it easier to set up, operate, and scale a relational database in the cloud. It provides cost-efficient, resizable capacity for an industry-standard relational database and manages common database administration tasks.

Note

This guide covers non-Aurora Amazon RDS database engines. For information about using Amazon Aurora, see the Amazon Aurora User Guide.

Overview of Amazon RDS

Why do you want a managed relational database service? Because Amazon RDS takes over many of the difficult or tedious management tasks of a relational database:

  • When you buy a server, you get CPU, memory, storage, and IOPS, all bundled together. With Amazon RDS, these are split apart so that you can scale them independently. If you need more CPU, less IOPS, or more storage, you can easily allocate them.

  • Amazon RDS manages backups, software patching, automatic failure detection, and recovery.

  • To deliver a managed service experience, Amazon RDS doesn't provide shell access to DB instances, and it restricts access to certain system procedures and tables that require advanced privileges.

  • You can have automated backups performed when you need them, or manually create your own backup snapshot. You can use these backups to restore a database. The Amazon RDS restore process works reliably and efficiently.

  • You can get high availability with a primary instance and a synchronous secondary instance that you can fail over to when problems occur. You can also use MySQL, MariaDB, or PostgreSQL Read Replicas to increase read scaling.

  • You can use the database products you are already familiar with: MySQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL, Oracle, Microsoft SQL Server.

  • In addition to the security in your database package, you can help control who can access your RDS databases by using AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to define users and permissions. You can also help protect your databases by putting them in a virtual private cloud.

If you are new to AWS products and services, begin learning more with the following resources:

DB Instances

The basic building block of Amazon RDS is the DB instance. A DB instance is an isolated database environment in the cloud.  A DB instance can contain multiple user-created databases, and you can access it by using the same tools and applications that you use with a stand-alone database instance. You can create and modify a DB instance by using the AWS Command Line Interface, the Amazon RDS API, or the AWS Management Console.

Each DB instance runs a DB engine. Amazon RDS currently supports the MySQL, MariaDB, PostgreSQL, Oracle, and Microsoft SQL Server DB engines. Each DB engine has its own supported features, and each version of a DB engine may include specific features. Additionally, each DB engine has a set of parameters in a DB parameter group that control the behavior of the databases that it manages.

The computation and memory capacity of a DB instance is determined by its DB instance class. You can select the DB instance that best meets your needs. If your needs change over time, you can change DB instances. For information, see DB Instance Class.

Note

For pricing information on DB instance classes, go to the Pricing section of the Amazon RDS product page.

DB instance storage comes in three types: Magnetic, General Purpose (SSD), and Provisioned IOPS (PIOPS). They differ in performance characteristics and price, allowing you to tailor your storage performance and cost to the needs of your database. Each DB instance has minimum and maximum storage requirements depending on the storage type and the database engine it supports. It’s important to have sufficient storage so that your databases have room to grow and that features for the DB engine have room to write content or log entries. For more information, see DB instance storage.

You can run a DB instance on a virtual private cloud using the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) service. When you use a virtual private cloud, you have control over your virtual networking environment: you can select your own IP address range, create subnets, and configure routing and access control lists. The basic functionality of Amazon RDS is the same whether it is running in a VPC or not; Amazon RDS manages backups, software patching, automatic failure detection, and recovery. There is no additional cost to run your DB instance in a VPC. For more information on VPC and RDS, see Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPCs) and Amazon RDS.

Amazon RDS uses Network Time Protocol (NTP) to synchronize the time on DB Instances.

Regions and Availability Zones

Amazon cloud computing resources are housed in highly available data center facilities in different areas of the world (for example, North America, Europe, or Asia). Each data center location is called a region.

Each region contains multiple distinct locations called Availability Zones, or AZs. Each Availability Zone is engineered to be isolated from failures in other Availability Zones, and to provide inexpensive, low-latency network connectivity to other Availability Zones in the same region. By launching instances in separate Availability Zones, you can protect your applications from the failure of a single location. For more information, see Regions and Availability Zones.

You can run your DB instance in several Availability Zones, an option called a Multi-AZ deployment. When you select this option, Amazon automatically provisions and maintains a secondary standby DB instance in a different Availability Zone. Your primary DB instance is synchronously replicated across Availability Zones to the secondary instance to provide data redundancy, failover support, eliminate I/O freezes, and minimize latency spikes during system backups. For more information, see High Availability (Multi-AZ).

Security

A security group controls the access to a DB instance. It does so by allowing access to IP address ranges or Amazon EC2 instances that you specify.

Amazon RDS uses DB security groups, VPC security groups, and EC2 security groups. In simple terms, a DB security group controls access to a DB instance that is not in a VPC, a VPC security group controls access to a DB instance inside a VPC, and an Amazon EC2 security group controls access to an EC2 instance and can be used with a DB instance. For more information about security groups, see Configuring Security in Amazon RDS.

Monitoring an Amazon RDS DB Instance

There are several ways that you can track the performance and health of a DB instance. You can use the free Amazon CloudWatch service to monitor the performance and health of a DB instance; performance charts are shown in the Amazon RDS console. You can subscribe to Amazon RDS events to be notified when changes occur with a DB instance, DB Snapshot, DB parameter group, or DB security group. For more information, see Monitoring Amazon RDS.

Amazon RDS Interfaces

There are several ways that you can interact with Amazon RDS.

AWS Management Console

The AWS Management Console is a simple web-based user interface. You can manage your DB instances from the console with no programming required. To access the Amazon RDS console, sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Amazon RDS console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/rds/.

Command Line Interface

You can use the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) to access the Amazon RDS API interactively. To install the AWS CLI, see Installing the AWS Command Line Interface. To begin using the AWS CLI for RDS, see AWS Command Line Interface Reference for Amazon RDS.

Programming with Amazon RDS

If you are a developer, you can access the Amazon RDS programmatically. For more information, see Amazon RDS Application Programming Interface (API) Reference.

For application development, we recommend that you use one of the AWS Software Development Kits (SDKs). The AWS SDKs handle low-level details such as authentication, retry logic, and error handling, so that you can focus on your application logic. AWS SDKs are available for a wide variety of languages. For more information, see Tools for Amazon Web Services .

AWS also provides libraries, sample code, tutorials, and other resources to help you get started more easily. For more information, see Sample Code & Libraries.

How You Are Charged for Amazon RDS

When you use Amazon RDS, you can choose to use on-demand DB instances or reserved DB instances. For more information, see DB Instance Billing for Amazon RDS .

For Amazon RDS pricing information, see the Amazon RDS product page.

What's Next?

The preceding section introduced you to the basic infrastructure components that RDS offers. What should you do next?

Getting Started

Create a DB instance using instructions in the Getting Started with Amazon RDS section.

Database Engine–Specific Topics

You can review information specific to a particular DB engine in the following sections: