将数据导入 Amazon RDS 上的 PostgreSQL - Amazon Relational Database Service

将数据导入 Amazon RDS 上的 PostgreSQL

假设您要将现有的 PostgreSQL 部署移动到 Amazon RDS 中。任务的复杂性取决于数据库大小以及要传输的数据库对象类型。例如,考虑包含 GB 级别数据集以及存储过程和触发器的数据库。相比只有几个 MB 测试数据并且没有触发器或存储过程的简单数据库,此类数据库要复杂得多。

我们建议您在以下条件下使用本机 PostgreSQL 数据库迁移工具:

  • 您具有一个同类迁移,其中,您正在从一个具有与目标数据库相同的数据库引擎的数据库中迁移。

  • 您正在迁移整个数据库。

  • 利用这些本机工具,您可以在最少的停机时间下迁移您的系统。

在其他大多数情况下,使用 AWS Database Migration Service(AWS DMS)是最佳方法。AWSDMS 可以在不停机的情况下迁移数据库,对于许多数据库引擎,将继续进行持续复制,直到您已准备好切换到目标数据库。您可以使用 AWS DMS 迁移到相同的数据库引擎或其他数据库引擎。如果要迁移到与源数据库不同的数据库引擎,您可以使用 AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT)。您可以使用 AWS SCT 迁移 AWS DMS 未迁移的架构对象。有关 AWS DMS 的更多信息,请参阅什么是 AWS Database Migration Service?

修改数据库参数组以包括以下仅供您导入 的设置。您应测试参数设置以查找对数据库实例最有效的设置:在导入完成后,您需要将这些参数还原为生产值。

对数据库实例设置进行以下修改:

  • 禁用数据库实例备份 (将 backup_retention 设置为 0)。

  • 禁用多可用区.

修改数据库参数组以包括以下设置。您只应在导入数据时使用这些设置。您应测试参数设置以查找对数据库实例最有效的设置:在导入完成后,您需要将这些参数还原为生产值。

参数 导入时的建议值 描述

maintenance_work_mem

524288、1048576、2097152 或 4194304 (KB)。这些设置相当于 512 MB、1 GB、2 GB 和 4 GB。

此设置的只取决于您主机的大小。该参数在 CREATE INDEX 语句中使用,每个并行命令可以使用这个数量的内存。计算最佳值,这样就不会将该值设置得过高而出现内存不足的情况。

max_wal_size

256(适用于 9.6 版本)、4096(适用于 10 及更高版本)

允许 WAL 在自动检查点期间增长的最大大小。增大此参数会增加崩溃恢复所需的时间。对于 PostgreSQL 9.6 及更高版本,此参数替代 checkpoint_segments

对于 PostgreSQL 9.6,此值的单位为 16 MB。对于更高版本,此值单位为 1 MB。例如,在 9.6 版本中,128 表示 128 个块,每个块大小为 16 MB。在 12.4 版本中,2048 代表 2048 个块,每个块大小为 1 MB。

checkpoint_timeout

1800

此设置的值可以减少 WAL 轮换的频率。

synchronous_commit

Off

禁用此设置可加快写入。禁用此参数会在服务器崩溃时增加数据丢失的风险(不禁用 FSYNC)。

wal_buffers

8192

该值以 8 KB 为单位。这也有助于您的 WAL 生成速度

autovacuum

Off

在您加载数据时禁用 PostgreSQL auto vacuum 参数,这样它就不使用资源

pg_dump -Fc (压缩) 或 pg_restore -j (并行) 命令与这些设置结合使用。

注意

PostgreSQL 命令 pg_dumpall 所需要的 super_user 权限在创建数据库实例时并不授予,因此,无法使用该命令导入数据。

Importing data into PostgreSQL on Amazon RDS - Amazon Relational Database Service

Importing data into PostgreSQL on Amazon RDS

Suppose that you have an existing PostgreSQL deployment that you want to move to Amazon RDS. The complexity of your task depends on the size of your database and the types of database objects that you're transferring. For example, consider a database that contains datasets on the order of gigabytes, along with stored procedures and triggers. Such a database is going to be more complicated than a simple database with only a few megabytes of test data and no triggers or stored procedures.

We recommend that you use native PostgreSQL database migration tools under the following conditions:

  • You have a homogeneous migration, where you are migrating from a database with the same database engine as the target database.

  • You are migrating an entire database.

  • The native tools allow you to migrate your system with minimal downtime.

In most other cases, performing a database migration using AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) is the best approach. AWS DMS can migrate databases without downtime and, for many database engines, continue ongoing replication until you are ready to switch over to the target database. You can migrate to either the same database engine or a different database engine using AWS DMS. If you are migrating to a different database engine than your source database, you can use the AWS Schema Conversion Tool (AWS SCT). You use AWS SCT to migrate schema objects that are not migrated by AWS DMS. For more information about AWS DMS, see What is AWS Database Migration Service?

Modify your DB parameter group to include the following settings for your import only. You should test the parameter settings to find the most efficient settings for your DB instance size. You also need to revert back to production values for these parameters after your import completes.

Modify your DB instance settings to the following:

  • Disable DB instance backups (set backup_retention to 0).

  • Disable Multi-AZ.

Modify your DB parameter group to include the following settings. You should only use these settings when importing data. You should test the parameter settings to find the most efficient settings for your DB instance size. You also need to revert back to production values for these parameters after your import completes.

Parameter Recommended value when importing Description

maintenance_work_mem

524288, 1048576, 2097152, or 4194304 (in KB). These settings are comparable to 512 MB, 1 GB, 2 GB, and 4 GB.

The value for this setting depends on the size of your host. This parameter is used during CREATE INDEX statements and each parallel command can use this much memory. Calculate the best value so that you don't set this value so high that you run out of memory.

max_wal_size

256 (for version 9.6), 4096 (for versions 10 and higher)

Maximum size to let the WAL grow during automatic checkpoints. Increasing this parameter can increase the amount of time needed for crash recovery. This parameter replaces checkpoint_segments for PostgreSQL 9.6 and later.

For PostgreSQL version 9.6, this value is in 16 MB units. For later versions, the value is in 1 MB units. For example, in version 9.6, 128 means 128 chunks that are each 16 MB in size. In version 12.4, 2048 means 2048 chunks that are each 1 MB in size.

checkpoint_timeout

1800

The value for this setting allows for less frequent WAL rotation.

synchronous_commit

Off

Disable this setting to speed up writes. Turning this parameter off can increase the risk of data loss in the event of a server crash (do not turn off FSYNC).

wal_buffers

8192

This is value is in 8 KB units. This again helps your WAL generation speed

autovacuum

Off

Disable the PostgreSQL auto vacuum parameter while you are loading data so that it doesn't use resources

Use the pg_dump -Fc (compressed) or pg_restore -j (parallel) commands with these settings.

Note

The PostgreSQL command pg_dumpall requires super_user permissions that are not granted when you create a DB instance, so it cannot be used for importing data.