在 DynamoDB 中为关系数据建模的示例 - Amazon DynamoDB

在 DynamoDB 中为关系数据建模的示例

此示例介绍如何在 Amazon DynamoDB 中为关系数据建模。DynamoDB 表设计对应 关系建模 显示的关系订单条目架构,采用 相邻列表设计模式,这是在 DynamoDB 中表示关系数据结构的常见方式。

设计模式需要定义一组通常与关系架构各个表关联的实体类型。随后,使用复合(分区和排序)主键将实体项目添加到表。这些实体项目的分区键是唯一标识项目的属性,在所有项目上通常称为 PK。排序键属性包含的属性值可以用于反向索引或全局二级索引,通常称为 SK

定义以下实体,支持关系订单条目架构。

  1. HR-Employee - PK:EmployeeID,SK:Employee Name

  2. HR-Region - PK:RegionID,SK:Region Name

  3. HR-Country - PK:CountryId,SK:Country Name

  4. HR-Location - PK:LocationID,SK:Country Name

  5. HR-Job - PK:JobID,SK:Job Title

  6. HR-Department - PK: DepartmentID, SK: DepartmentID

  7. OE-Customer - PK:CustomerID,SK:AccountRepID

  8. OE-Order - PK OrderID,SK:CustomerID

  9. OE-Product - PK: ProductID, SK: Product Name

  10. OE-Warehouse - PK: WarehouseID, SK: Region Name

将这些实体项目添加到表后,可以将边缘项目添加到实体项目分区,定义这些项目之间的关系。下表演示此步骤。


      显示实体项目之间关系的示例表。

在此示例中,表的 EmployeeOrderProduct Entity 分区都具有额外边缘项目,这些项目包含指向表上其他实体项目的指针。接下来,定义几个全局二级索引 (GSI),支持之前定义的所有访问模式。实体项目不会对主键或排序键属性使用完全相同的值类型。只需要让主键和排序键属性在表上显示为插入。

一些实体使用正确名称,其他实体使用其他实体 ID 作为排序键值,可让同一个全局二级索引支持多种查询类型。此技术称为 GSI 重载,实际消除了对包含多种项目类型的表的 20 个全局二级索引的默认限制。在下图中显示为 GSI 1


      显示支持多种查询的全局二级索引的示例表。

GSI 2 旨在支持一种十分常见的应用程序访问模式,获取表中所有具有特定状态的项目。对于项目不均匀分布可用状态的大型表,此访问模式将产生热门键,除非项目分布在多个逻辑分区,可以并行查询。此设计模式称为 write sharding

要对 GSI 2 实现此模式,应用程序将为每个 Order 项目添加 GSI 2 主键属性,其中填充一个 0–N 之间的随机数,除非有具体理由,否则通常可以采用下面的公式计算 N。

ItemsPerRCU = 4KB / AvgItemSize PartitionMaxReadRate = 3K * ItemsPerRCU N = MaxRequiredIO / PartitionMaxReadRate

例如,假设预计以下内容:

  • 系统中将有最多 200 万个订单,5 年内将增至 300 万。

  • 多达 20% 的订单将在任何给定时间处于 OPEN 状态。

  • 订单记录的平均大小约为 100 字节,订单分区的三个 OrderItem 记录每个约 50 字节,平均订单实体大小为 250 字节。

对于此表,N 系数计算如下所示。

ItemsPerRCU = 4KB / 250B = 16 PartitionMaxReadRate = 3K * 16 = 48K N = (0.2 * 3M) / 48K = 13

在此情况下,需要在 GSI 2 的至少 13 个逻辑分区分布所有订单,确保读取所有具有 OPEN 状态的 Order 项目不会在物理存储层产生热门分区。可以填充允许数据集存在异常的数字。因此,使用 N = 15 的模型可能合适。如上所述,将 0–N 随机值添加到表上插入的每个 OrderOrderItem 记录的 GSI 2 PK 属性。

这种划分方式假定,需要收集所有 OPEN 发票的访问模式发生的频率相对较低,这样可以利用爆增容量满足请求。可以使用 StateDate Range 排序键条件查询以下全局二级索引,根据需要生成处于指定状态的部分或所有 Orders


      显示 GSI 2 主键和投影属性的示例表。

在此示例中,项目随机分布在 15 个逻辑分区。此结构之所以适用,是因为访问模式需要检索大量项目。因此,不可能所有 15 个线程都返回空结果集,这可能代表容量浪费。查询始终使用 1 个读取容量单位 (RCU) 或 1 个写入容量单位 (WCU),即使未返回任何内容或未写入任何数据。

如果访问模式需要对返回稀疏结果集的全局二级索引执行高速查询,更好的做法是使用哈希算法分配项目,而不是随机模式。在此情况下,选择的属性可能在运行查询时已知,插入项目时将该属性哈希至 0-14 键空间,然后可从全局二级索引高效读取项目。

最后,您可以再次访问之前定义的访问模式。下面是将用于新的 DynamoDB 版本应用程序的访问模式和查询条件列表。


      访问模式和查询条件列表,包括按 ID 和姓名查询员工,以及按日期或状态查询订单。

Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Example of Modeling Relational Data in DynamoDB

This example describes how to model relational data in Amazon DynamoDB. A DynamoDB table design corresponds to the relational order entry schema that is shown in Relational Modeling. It follows the Adjacency List Design Pattern, which is a common way to represent relational data structures in DynamoDB.

The design pattern requires you to define a set of entity types that usually correlate to the various tables in the relational schema. Entity items are then added to the table using a compound (partition and sort) primary key. The partition key of these entity items is the attribute that uniquely identifies the item and is referred to generically on all items as PK. The sort key attribute contains an attribute value that you can use for an inverted index or global secondary index. It is generically referred to as SK.

You define the following entities, which support the relational order entry schema:

  1. HR-Employee - PK: EmployeeID, SK: Employee Name

  2. HR-Region - PK: RegionID, SK: Region Name

  3. HR-Country - PK: CountyId, SK: Country Name

  4. HR-Location - PK: LocationID, SK: Country Name

  5. HR-Job - PK: JobID, SK: Job Title

  6. HR-Department - PK: DepartmentID, SK: DepartmentID

  7. OE-Customer - PK: CustomerID, SK: AccountRepID

  8. OE-Order - PK OrderID, SK: CustomerID

  9. OE-Product - PK: ProductID, SK: Product Name

  10. OE-Warehouse - PK: WarehouseID, SK: Region Name

After adding these entity items to the table, you can define the relationships between them by adding edge items to the entity item partitions. The following table demonstrates this step:


      Example table showing relationships between entity items.

In this example, the Employee, Order, and Product Entity partitions on the table have additional edge items that contain pointers to other entity items on the table. Next, define a few global secondary indexes (GSIs) to support all the access patterns defined previously. The entity items don't all use the same type of value for the primary key or the sort key attribute. All that is required is to have the primary key and sort key attributes present to be inserted on the table.

The fact that some of these entities use proper names and others use other entity IDs as sort key values allows the same global secondary index to support multiple types of queries. This technique is called GSI overloading. It effectively eliminates the limit of five global secondary indexes for tables that contain multiple item types. This is shown in the following diagram as GSI 1:


      Example table showing global secondary indexes supporting multiple queries.

GSI 2 is designed to support a fairly common application access pattern, which is to get all the items on the table that have a certain state. For a large table with an uneven distribution of items across available states, this access pattern can result in a hot key, unless the items are distributed across more than one logical partition that can be queried in parallel. This design pattern is called write sharding.

To accomplish this for GSI 2, the application adds the GSI 2 primary key attribute to every Order item. It populates that with a random number in a range of 0–N, where N can generically be calculated using the following formula, unless there is a specific reason to do otherwise:

ItemsPerRCU = 4KB / AvgItemSize PartitionMaxReadRate = 3K * ItemsPerRCU N = MaxRequiredIO / PartitionMaxReadRate

For example, assume that you expect the following:

  • Up to 2 million orders will be in the system, growing to 3 million in 5 years.

  • Up to 20 percent of these orders will be in an OPEN state at any given time.

  • The average order record is around 100 bytes, with three OrderItem records in the order partition that are around 50 bytes each, giving you an average order entity size of 250 bytes.

For that table, the N factor calculation would look like the following:

ItemsPerRCU = 4KB / 250B = 16 PartitionMaxReadRate = 3K * 16 = 48K N = (0.2 * 3M) / 48K = 13

In this case, you need to distribute all the orders across at least 13 logical partitions on GSI 2 to ensure that a read of all Order items with an OPEN status doesn't cause a hot partition on the physical storage layer. It is a good practice to pad this number to allow for anomalies in the dataset. So a model using N = 15 is probably fine. As mentioned earlier, you do this by adding the random 0–N value to the GSI 2 PK attribute of each Order and OrderItem record that is inserted on the table.

This breakdown assumes that the access pattern that requires gathering all OPEN invoices occurs relatively infrequently so that you can use burst capacity to fulfill the request. You can query the following global secondary index using a State and Date Range Sort Key condition to produce a subset or all Orders in a given state as needed.


      Example table showing GSI 2 primary key and projected attributes.

In this example, the items are randomly distributed across the 15 logical partitions. This structure works because the access pattern requires a large number of items to be retrieved. Therefore, it's unlikely that any of the 15 threads will return empty result sets that could potentially represent wasted capacity. A query always uses 1 read capacity unit (RCU) or 1 write capacity unit (WCU), even if nothing is returned or no data is written.

If the access pattern requires a high velocity query on this global secondary index that returns a sparse result set, it's probably better to use a hash algorithm to distribute the items rather than a random pattern. In this case, you might select an attribute that is known when the query is executed at run time and hash that attribute into a 0–14 key space when the items are inserted. Then they can be efficiently read from the global secondary index.

Finally, you can revisit the access patterns that were defined earlier. Following is the list of access patterns and the query conditions that you will use with the new DynamoDB version of the application to accommodate them:


      List of access patterns and query conditions, including querying employees by ID and
        name, and querying orders by date or status.