在 DynamoDB 中建模关系数据的最佳实践 - Amazon DynamoDB

在 DynamoDB 中建模关系数据的最佳实践

传统关系数据库管理系统 (RDBMS) 平台在规范化关系结构中存储数据。此结构将分层数据结构简化为一组存储在多个表中的公共元素。下面的架构是通用订单输入应用程序的示例,支持 HR 架构可支持理论制造商的运营和业务支持系统。

示例 RDBMS 架构。

RDBMS 平台使用即席查询语言(通常倾向于 SQL),生成或具体化规范化数据视图以支持应用程序层访问模式。

例如,要生成按照可发运每个项目的所有仓库库存数量排序的采购订单项目列表,可以对上述架构发出下面的查询。

SELECT * FROM Orders INNER JOIN Order_Items ON Orders.Order_ID = Order_Items.Order_ID INNER JOIN Products ON Products.Product_ID = Order_Items.Product_ID INNER JOIN Inventories ON Products.Product_ID = Inventories.Product_ID ORDER BY Quantity_on_Hand DESC

这种一次性查询提供用于访问数据的灵活 API,但需要大量处理。您必须经常从多个位置查询数据,而且必须汇总查询结果进行演示。上述查询对多个表发起复杂查询,然后排序并汇总得到的数据。

可能降低 RDBMS 系统速度的另一个因素是需要支持符合 ACID 的事务框架。大多数在线事务处理 (OLTP) 应用程序使用的层次数据结构存储在 RDBMS 中,必须分解并分布在多个逻辑表。因此,需要一个符合 ACID 的事务框架,避免应用程序尝试读取正在写入的对象时可能发生的争用情况。此类事务框架必定会大幅增加写入开销。

这两个因素是扩展传统 RDBMS 平台的主要障碍。NewSQL 社区是否可以成功提供分布式 RDBMS 解决方案还有待观察。但这几乎不可能解决前面提到的两个局限性。无论提供怎样的解决方案,规范化和 ACID 事务的处理成本还是非常高。

为此,如果业务需要低延迟响应高流量查询,采用 NoSQL 系统通常具有技术和经济意义。Amazon DynamoDB 可以避免这些限制,帮助解决问题。

关系数据库系统无法正常扩展的原因包括:

  • 规范化数据并存储在多个表中,需要多个查询以写入磁盘。

  • 通常产生 ACID 合规事务系统的性能成本。

  • 使用成本高昂的连接,重新组织需要的查询结果视图。

DynamoDB 可以正常扩展的原因包括:

  • 架构灵活性支持 DynamoDB 在单个项目内存储复杂层次数据。

  • 复合键设计支持将相关项目一起存储在同一个表。

针对数据存储的查询变得简单得多,通常采用以下形式:

SELECT * FROM Table_X WHERE Attribute_Y = "somevalue"

与前面示例中的 RDBMS 相比,DynamoDB 可以更轻松返回请求的数据。

Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Best Practices for Modeling Relational Data in DynamoDB

Traditional relational database management system (RDBMS) platforms store data in a normalized relational structure that reduces hierarchical data structures to a set of common elements that are stored across multiple tables. The following schema is an example of a generic order-entry application with supporting HR schema backing the operational and business support systems of a theoretical manufacturer.

Example RDBMS schema.

RDBMS platforms use an ad hoc query language (generally a flavor of SQL) to generate or materialize views of the normalized data to support application-layer access patterns.

For example, to generate a list of purchase order items sorted by the quantity in stock at all warehouses that can ship each item, you could issue the following query against the preceding schema:

SELECT * FROM Orders INNER JOIN Order_Items ON Orders.Order_ID = Order_Items.Order_ID INNER JOIN Products ON Products.Product_ID = Order_Items.Product_ID INNER JOIN Inventories ON Products.Product_ID = Inventories.Product_ID ORDER BY Quantity_on_Hand DESC

One-time queries of this kind provide a flexible API for accessing data, but they require a significant amount of processing. You must often query the data from multiple locations, and the results must be assembled for presentation. The preceding query initiates complex queries across a number of tables and then sorts and integrates the resulting data.

Another factor that can slow down RDBMS systems is the need to support an ACID-compliant transaction framework. The hierarchical data structures used by most online transaction processing (OLTP) applications must be broken down and distributed across multiple logical tables when they are stored in an RDBMS. Therefore, an ACID-compliant transaction framework is necessary to avoid race conditions that could occur if an application tries to read an object that is in the process of being written. Such a transaction framework necessarily adds significant overhead to the write process.

These two factors are the primary barriers to scale for traditional RDBMS platforms. It remains to be seen whether the NewSQL community can be successful in delivering a distributed RDBMS solution. But it is unlikely that even that would resolve the two limitations described earlier. No matter how the solution is delivered, the processing costs of normalization and ACID transactions must remain significant.

For this reason, when your business requires low-latency response to high-traffic queries, taking advantage of a NoSQL system generally makes technical and economic sense. Amazon DynamoDB helps solve the problems that limit relational system scalability by avoiding them.

A relational database system does not scale well for the following reasons:

  • It normalizes data and stores it on multiple tables that require multiple queries to write to disk.

  • It generally incurs the performance costs of an ACID-compliant transaction system.

  • It uses expensive joins to reassemble required views of query results.

DynamoDB scales well for these reasons:

  • Schema flexibility lets DynamoDB store complex hierarchical data within a single item.

  • Composite key design lets it store related items close together on the same table.

Queries against the data store become much simpler, often in the following form:

SELECT * FROM Table_X WHERE Attribute_Y = "somevalue"

DynamoDB does far less work to return the requested data compared to the RDBMS in the earlier example.