在 DynamoDB 为关系数据建模的初始步骤 - Amazon DynamoDB

在 DynamoDB 为关系数据建模的初始步骤

重要

NoSQL 设计需要不同于 RDBMS 设计的思维模式。对于 RDBMS,可以创建规范化数据模型,不考虑访问模式。出现新问题和查询要求后进行扩展。而在 Amazon DynamoDB 中,应先了解需要解决的问题,再开始设计架构。预先了解业务问题和应用程序使用案例是至关重要的。

要开始设计能够高效扩展的 DynamoDB 表,必须先采取几个措施,确定其需要的支持的运营和业务支持系统 (OSS/BSS) 所需的访问模式。

  • 对于新应用程序,查看有关活动和目标的用户案例。记录确定的各种使用案例,然后分析这些案例需要的访问模式。

  • 对于现有应用程序,分析查询日志以了解人们目前使用该系统的方式,以及键访问模式。

完成此过程后,应获得一个可能如下所示的列表。


      键访问模式列表,包括按 ID 查找员工详细信息、按员工姓名查询、查找客户电话号码等项目。

实际应用程序的列表可能更长。这个列表代表生产环境中可能出现的查询模式复杂性的范围。

DynamoDB 架构设计的常见方法是确定应用程序层实体,利用反规范化和复合键聚合降低查询复杂性。

在 DynamoDB 中,这意味着使用复合排序键、重载全局二级索引、分区表/索引以及其他设计模式。可以使用这些元素构造数据,使得应用程序可以在表或索引上使用单个查询,检索对于给定访问模式所需的任何内容。可以用于建模 关系建模 显示的规范化架构的主要模式是邻接列表模式。此设计使用的其他模式包括全局二级索引写入分片、全局二级索引重载、复合键和具体化聚合。

重要

通常应保持 DynamoDB 应用程序中的表保留尽可能少。例外情况包括涉及大量时间序列数据,或者数据集具有明显不同的访问模式的情况。具有反向索引的单个表通常支持简单查询,创建和检索应用程序所需的复杂层次数据结构。

Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

First Steps for Modeling Relational Data in DynamoDB

Important

NoSQL design requires a different mindset than RDBMS design. For an RDBMS, you can create a normalized data model without thinking about access patterns. You can then extend it later when new questions and query requirements arise. For DynamoDB, by contrast, you shouldn't start designing your schema until you know the questions it needs to answer. Understanding the business problems and the application use cases up front is absolutely essential.

To start designing a DynamoDB table that will scale efficiently, you must take several steps first to identify the access patterns that are required by the operations and business support systems (OSS/BSS) that it needs to support:

  • For new applications, review user stories about activities and objectives. Document the various use cases you identify, and analyze the access patterns that they require.

  • For existing applications, analyze query logs to find out how people are currently using the system and what the key access patterns are.

After completing this process, you should end up with a list that might look something like the following:


      List of key access-patterns, including items like looking up employee details by ID,
        querying by employee name, finding customer phone numbers, and so on.

In a real application, your list might be much longer. But this collection represents the range of query pattern complexity that you might find in a production environment.

A common approach to DynamoDB schema design is to identify application layer entities and use denormalization and composite key aggregation to reduce query complexity.

In DynamoDB, this means using composite sort keys, overloaded global secondary indexes, partitioned tables/indexes, and other design patterns. You can use these elements to structure the data so that an application can retrieve whatever it needs for a given access pattern using a single query on a table or index. The primary pattern that you can use to model the normalized schema shown in Relational Modeling is the adjacency list pattern. Other patterns used in this design can include global secondary index write sharding, global secondary index overloading, composite keys, and materialized aggregations.

Important

In general, you should maintain as few tables as possible in a DynamoDB application. Most well-designed applications require only one table. Exceptions include cases where high-volume time series data are involved, or datasets that have very different access patterns. A single table with inverted indexes can usually enable simple queries to create and retrieve the complex hierarchical data structures required by your application.