适用于 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 的动态扩展 - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling

适用于 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 的动态扩展

当您配置动态扩展时,必须定义如何根据不断变化的需求扩展 Auto Scaling 组的容量。

例如,假设您有一个当前在两个实例上运行的 Web 应用程序,并希望在应用程序负载变化时将 Auto Scaling 组的 CPU 使用率保持在 50% 左右。这为您提供额外容量以处理流量高峰,而无需维护过多的空闲资源。

您可以通过创建扩展策略,将 Auto Scaling 组配置为动态扩展以满足此需求。然后 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 可以向外扩展组(添加更多实例)以处理高峰时段的高需求,并在低利用率期间缩减组(运行更少的实例)以降低成本。

扩展策略的工作方式

扩展策略指示 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 跟踪特定 CloudWatch 指标,并定义当关联的 CloudWatch 警报处于 ALARM 状态时要采取的措施。用于触发警报的指标是来自 Auto Scaling 组中所有实例的指标聚合。(例如,假设您有一个 Auto Scaling 组,其中有两个实例,一个实例的 CPU 利用率为 60%,另一个实例的 CPU 利用率为 40%。平均而言,其 CPU 利用率为 50%。) 策略生效时,在触发警报时 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 向上或向下调整组的所需容量。

执行扩展策略时,如果容量计算生成的数字超出了组的最小和最大大小的范围,则 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 确保新容量永远不会超出最小和最大大小限制。容量通过以下两种方式衡量:使用您在以实例数设置所需容量时选择的相同单位;或者使用容量单位(如果应用了实例权重)。

  • 示例 1:Auto Scaling 组的最大容量为 3,当前容量为 2,并有增加 3 个实例的扩展策略。执行此扩展策略时,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 仅向组添加 1 个实例,以防止组超出其最大大小。

  • 示例 2:Auto Scaling 组的最小容量为 2,当前容量为 3,并有移除 2 个实例的扩展策略。执行此扩展策略时,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 仅从组中删除 1 个实例,以防止组小于其最小大小。

当所需容量达到最大大小限制时,向外扩展停止。如果需求下降并且容量下降,则 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 会再次向外扩展。

但使用实例权重时例外。在这种情况下,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 可以向外扩展并超过最大大小限制,但上限为您的最大实例权重。其目的是尽可能接近新的所需容量,但仍然遵循为该组指定的分配战略。分配策略决定要启动的实例类型。权重根据实例类型确定每个实例向所需的组容量贡献的容量单位数。

  • 示例 3:Auto Scaling 组的最大容量为 12,当前容量为 10,并有增加 5 个容量单位的扩展策略。向实例类型分配三个权重之一:1、4 或 6。执行扩展策略时,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 根据分配策略,选择启动权重为 6 的实例类型。此横向扩展事件的结果是得到所需容量为 12、当前容量为 16 的组。

扩展策略类型

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 支持以下类型的扩展策略:

  • 目标跟踪扩展 - 根据特定指标的目标值增加或减少组的当前容量。这与恒温器保持家里温度的方式类似,您选择一个温度,恒温器将完成所有其他工作。

  • 步进扩展 - 根据一组扩展调整,增加或减小组的当前容量,这些调整称为步进调整,将根据警报严重程度发生变化。

  • 简单扩展 - 根据一个扩展调整值增加或减小当前组容量。

如果您根据一个按 Auto Scaling 组中的实例数成比例增减的使用率指标进行扩展,我们建议您使用目标跟踪扩展策略。否则,我们建议您使用步进扩展策略。

多个扩展策略

在大多数情况下,目标跟踪扩展策略就足以将您的 Auto Scaling 组配置为自动横向扩展和缩减。目标跟踪扩展策略允许您选择所需结果,并让 Auto Scaling 组根据需要添加和删除实例以实现该结果。

对于高级扩展配置,您的 Auto Scaling 组可以有多个扩展策略。例如,您可以定义一个或多个目标跟踪扩展策略,一个或多个步进扩展策略,或者同时使用两种策略。这样可以更灵活地覆盖多种场景。

为了说明多个扩展策略如何协同工作,请设想一个应用程序,它使用一个 Auto Scaling 组和 Amazon SQS 队列将请求发送到单个 EC2 实例。为了帮助确保应用程序性能达到最佳级别,有两个策略用于控制何时扩展 Auto Scaling 组。一个是使用自定义指标、根据队列中的 SQS 消息数增加和移除容量的目标跟踪策略。另一个是步进扩展策略,它使用 Amazon CloudWatch CPUUtilization 指标,当实例在指定时间长度内的使用率超过 90% 时增加容量。

在同时实施多个策略时,各个策略可能会同时指示 Auto Scaling 组扩展(或缩减)。例如,CPUUtilization 指标可能会在 SQS 自定义指标达到峰值并触发自定义指标警报的同时触发 CloudWatch 警报。

如果发生上述情况,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 会选择在扩展和缩减时都提供最大容量的策略。例如,假定 CPUUtilization 策略启动一个实例,而 SQS 队列的策略启动两个实例。如果同时满足两个策略的扩展条件,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 优先选择 SQS 队列策略。这会导致 Auto Scaling 组启动两个实例。

即使策略使用不同的扩展条件,使提供最大容量的策略具有优先级的方法也适用。例如,如果一个策略终止三个实例,另一个策略将实例数量减少 25%,且在扩展时组中有八个实例,则 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 会优先考虑为组提供最大数量实例的策略。这会导致 Auto Scaling 组终止两个实例(8 X 25% = 2)。目的是防止 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 删除过多实例。

不过,在将目标跟踪扩展策略与步进扩展策略结合使用时,我们建议您务必谨慎,因为这些策略之间的冲突可能会导致意外的行为。例如,如果步进扩展策略在目标跟踪策略准备执行缩减之前启动缩减活动,则不会阻止缩减活动。在缩减活动完成后,目标跟踪策略可能会指示组重新横向扩展。

Dynamic scaling for Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling

Dynamic scaling for Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling

When you configure dynamic scaling, you define how to scale the capacity of your Auto Scaling group in response to changing demand.

For example, let's say that you have a web application that currently runs on two instances, and you want the CPU utilization of the Auto Scaling group to stay at around 50 percent when the load on the application changes. This gives you extra capacity to handle traffic spikes without maintaining an excessive number of idle resources.

You can configure your Auto Scaling group to scale dynamically to meet this need by creating a scaling policy. Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can then scale out your group (add more instances) to deal with high demand at peak times, and scale in your group (run fewer instances) to reduce costs during periods of low utilization.

How scaling policies work

A scaling policy instructs Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling to track a specific CloudWatch metric, and it defines what action to take when the associated CloudWatch alarm is in ALARM. The metrics that are used to trigger an alarm are an aggregation of metrics coming from all of the instances in the Auto Scaling group. (For example, let's say you have an Auto Scaling group with two instances where one instance is at 60 percent CPU and the other is at 40 percent CPU. On average, they are at 50 percent CPU.) When the policy is in effect, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling adjusts the group's desired capacity up or down when the alarm is triggered.

When a scaling policy is executed, if the capacity calculation produces a number outside of the minimum and maximum size range of the group, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling ensures that the new capacity never goes outside of the minimum and maximum size limits. Capacity is measured in one of two ways: using the same units that you chose when you set the desired capacity in terms of instances, or using capacity units (if instance weighting is applied).

  • Example 1: An Auto Scaling group has a maximum capacity of 3, a current capacity of 2, and a scaling policy that adds 3 instances. When executing this scaling policy, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling adds only 1 instance to the group to prevent the group from exceeding its maximum size.

  • Example 2: An Auto Scaling group has a minimum capacity of 2, a current capacity of 3, and a scaling policy that removes 2 instances. When executing this scaling policy, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling removes only 1 instance from the group to prevent the group from becoming less than its minimum size.

When the desired capacity reaches the maximum size limit, scaling out stops. If demand drops and capacity decreases, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can scale out again.

The exception is when you use instance weighting. In this case, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can scale out above the maximum size limit, but only by up to your maximum instance weight. Its intention is to get as close to the new desired capacity as possible but still adhere to the allocation strategies that are specified for the group. The allocation strategies determine which instance types to launch. The weights determine how many capacity units each instance contributes to the desired capacity of the group based on its instance type.

  • Example 3: An Auto Scaling group has a maximum capacity of 12, a current capacity of 10, and a scaling policy that adds 5 capacity units. Instance types have one of three weights assigned: 1, 4, or 6. When executing the scaling policy, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling chooses to launch an instance type with a weight of 6 based on the allocation strategy. The result of this scale-out event is a group with a desired capacity of 12 and a current capacity of 16.

Scaling policy types

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling supports the following types of scaling policies:

  • Target tracking scaling—Increase or decrease the current capacity of the group based on a target value for a specific metric. This is similar to the way that your thermostat maintains the temperature of your home—you select a temperature and the thermostat does the rest.

  • Step scaling—Increase or decrease the current capacity of the group based on a set of scaling adjustments, known as step adjustments, that vary based on the size of the alarm breach.

  • Simple scaling—Increase or decrease the current capacity of the group based on a single scaling adjustment.

If you are scaling based on a utilization metric that increases or decreases proportionally to the number of instances in an Auto Scaling group, we recommend that you use target tracking scaling policies. Otherwise, we recommend that you use step scaling policies.

Multiple scaling policies

In most cases, a target tracking scaling policy is sufficient to configure your Auto Scaling group to scale out and scale in automatically. A target tracking scaling policy allows you to select a desired outcome and have the Auto Scaling group add and remove instances as needed to achieve that outcome.

For an advanced scaling configuration, your Auto Scaling group can have more than one scaling policy. For example, you can define one or more target tracking scaling policies, one or more step scaling policies, or both. This provides greater flexibility to cover multiple scenarios.

To illustrate how multiple scaling policies work together, consider an application that uses an Auto Scaling group and an Amazon SQS queue to send requests to a single EC2 instance. To help ensure that the application performs at optimum levels, there are two policies that control when the Auto Scaling group should scale out. One is a target tracking policy that uses a custom metric to add and remove capacity based on the number of SQS messages in the queue. The other is a step scaling policy that uses the Amazon CloudWatch CPUUtilization metric to add capacity when the instance exceeds 90 percent utilization for a specified length of time.

When there are multiple policies in force at the same time, there's a chance that each policy could instruct the Auto Scaling group to scale out (or in) at the same time. For example, it's possible that the CPUUtilization metric spikes and triggers the CloudWatch alarm at the same time that the SQS custom metric spikes and triggers the custom metric alarm.

When these situations occur, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling chooses the policy that provides the largest capacity for both scale out and scale in. Suppose, for example, that the policy for CPUUtilization launches one instance, while the policy for the SQS queue launches two instances. If the scale-out criteria for both policies are met at the same time, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling gives precedence to the SQS queue policy. This results in the Auto Scaling group launching two instances.

The approach of giving precedence to the policy that provides the largest capacity applies even when the policies use different criteria for scaling in. For example, if one policy terminates three instances, another policy decreases the number of instances by 25 percent, and the group has eight instances at the time of scale in, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling gives precedence to the policy that provides the largest number of instances for the group. This results in the Auto Scaling group terminating two instances (25 percent of 8 = 2). The intention is to prevent Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling from removing too many instances.

We recommend caution, however, when using target tracking scaling policies with step scaling policies because conflicts between these policies can cause undesirable behavior. For example, if the step scaling policy initiates a scale-in activity before the target tracking policy is ready to scale in, the scale-in activity will not be blocked. After the scale-in activity completes, the target tracking policy could instruct the group to scale out again.