AWS Backup 文件库锁 - AWS Backup

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

AWS Backup 文件库锁

注意

AWS Backup Cohasset Associates已对Vault Lock进行了评估,适用于受美国证券交易委员会17a-4、美国商品期货交易委员会和美国金融监管局法规约束的环境。有关 AWS Backup Vault Lock 与这些法规的关系的更多信息,请参阅 Cohasset Associates 合规性评估

AWS Backup Vault Lock 是备份保管库的一项可选功能,它有助于增强对备份库的安全性和控制力。当锁在合规模式下处于活动状态并且宽限期结束时,客户、账户/数据所有者或 AWS无法更改或删除保管库配置。每个保管库可以有一个保管库锁。

AWS Backup 确保您的备份在保留期到期之前一直可供您使用。如果任何用户(包括 root 用户)尝试删除已锁定文件库中的备份或更改其生命周期属性, AWS Backup 则会拒绝该操作。

  • 拥有充足 IAM 权限的用户可以解除锁定在治理模式下的保管库。

  • 冷静期(“宽限期”)到期后,无法删除合规模式下锁定的保管库。在宽限期内,您仍可以移除保管库锁定并更改锁定配置。

保管库锁定模式

创建保管库锁定时,您可以选择两种模式:治理模式合规模式。治理模式旨在允许只有拥有充足 IAM 权限的用户才能管理保管库。治理模式可帮助组织满足治理要求,确保只有指定的人员才能对备份保管库进行更改。合规模式适用于在数据保留期结束之前永远不会删除或更改保管库(以及其内容)的备份保管库。合规模式下的保管库一旦被锁定,它就不可变,这意味着无法移除锁定。

拥有相应 IAM 权限的用户可以管理或删除在治理模式下锁定的保管库。

任何用户或 AWS都无法更改或删除处于合规模式下的保管库锁定。合规模式下的保管库锁定在锁定并变为不可变之前具有您设置的宽限期。

保管库锁定的好处

AWS Backup 文件库锁有多项好处,包括:

  • 针对您在备份保管库中存储和创建的所有备份进行 WORM(一次写入、多次读取)配置。

  • 额外防御层,可保护备份保管库中的备份(恢复点)免遭意外或恶意删除。

  • 强制执行保留期,防止特权用户(包括 AWS 账户 root 用户)提前删除,并符合贵组织的数据保护策略和程序。

使用控制台锁定备份保管库

您可以使用 Backup 控制台向 AWS Backup 保管库添加文件库锁。

要向备份保管库添加保管库锁定,请执行以下操作:

  1. 登录 AWS Management Console,然后通过 https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup 打开 AWS Backup 控制台。

  2. 在导航窗格中,找到备份保管库。单击 Backup 保管库下嵌套的名为保管库锁定的链接。

  3. 保管库锁定的工作原理保管库锁定下,单击 + 创建保管库锁定

  4. 保管库锁定详细信息窗格中,选择要应用锁定的保管库。

  5. 保管库锁定模式下,选择要锁定保管库的模式。有关选择模式的更多信息,请参阅本页前面的保管库锁定模式

  6. 对于保留期,选择最小和最大保留期(保留期是可选项)。如果保管库中创建的新备份和复制作业不符合您设置的保留期,则这些作业将失败;这些期限不适用于保管库中已有的恢复点。

  7. 如果您选择合规模式,则会显示一个名为保管库锁定开始日期的部分。如果您选择治理模式,则不会显示该部分,并且可以跳过此步骤。

    在合规模式下,保管库锁定的冷静期从创建保管库锁定开始,直到保管库及其锁变为不可变且不可更改。您可以选择此期限的持续时间(称为宽限期),但必须至少为 3 天(72 小时)。

    重要

    宽限期到期后,保管库及其锁定将不可变。任何用户或 AWS都不能对其进行更改或删除。

  8. 如果您对配置选项感到满意,请单击创建保管库锁定

  9. 要确认您希望在所选模式下创建此锁定,请在文本框中键入 confirm,然后选中确认配置符合预期的复选框。

如果步骤已成功完成,则控制台顶部将显示“成功”横幅。

以编程方式锁定备份保管库

要配置 AWS Backup 文件库锁定,请使用 API PutBackupVaultLockConfiguration。要包含的参数将取决于您打算采用哪种保管库锁定模式。如果您想在治理模式下创建保管库锁定,请不要包含 ChangeableForDays。如果包含此参数,则将在合规模式下创建保管库锁定。

以下是创建合规模式保管库锁定的 CLI 示例:

aws backup put-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock \ --changeable-for-days 3 \ --min-retention-days 7 \ --max-retention-days 30

以下是创建治理模式保管库锁定的 CLI 示例:

aws backup put-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock \ --min-retention-days 7 \ --max-retention-days 30

您可以配置四个选项。

  1. BackupVaultName

    要锁定的保管库的名称。

  2. ChangeableForDays适用于合规模式)

    此参数指示 AWS Backup 在合规模式下创建文件库锁。如果您打算在治理模式下创建锁定,请省略此参数。

    该值以天数表示。它必须是一个不小于 3 且不大于 36,500 的数字;否则,将返回错误。

    从创建此保管库锁定到指定日期到期,可以使用 DeleteBackupVaultLockConfiguration 将保管库锁定从保管库中删除。或者,在此期间,您可以使用 PutBackupVaultLockConfiguration 更改配置。

    在此参数确定的指定日期及之后,备份保管库将不可变且无法更改或删除。

  3. MaxRetentionDays(可选)

    这是一个以天为单位的数值。这是保管库保留其恢复点的最长保留期。

    您选择的最大保留时间范围应与您组织的数据保留政策保持一致。如果您的组织要求将数据保留一段时间,则可以将此值设置为该期限(以天为单位)。例如,可能需要将财务或银行数据保存 7 年(大约 2,557 天,视闰年而定)。

    如果未指定, AWS Backup 文件库锁定将不会强制规定最长保留期。如果指定此参数,则生命周期保留期长于最大保留期的备份和复制到此保管库的作业将失败。保管库锁定创建之前已保存在保管库中的恢复点不受影响。您可以指定的最长保留期为 36500 天(大约 100 年)。

  4. MinRetentionDays可选;为必填项 CloudFormation)

    这是一个以天为单位的数值。这是保管库保留其恢复点的最短保留期。此设置应设置为您的组织维护数据所需的 时间。例如,如果法规或法律要求将数据保留至少七年,则以天为单位的值约为 2,557,视闰年而定。

    如果未指定, AWS Backup 文件库锁定将不会强制规定最短保留期。如果指定此参数,则生命周期保留期短于最小保留期的备份和复制到此保管库的作业将失败。在保管库锁定之前已保存在 AWS Backup 保管库中的恢复点不受影响。您可以指定的最短保留期为 1 天。

查看备份保管库的保 AWS Backup 管库锁定配置

您可以通过调用DescribeBackupVaultListBackupVaults API 随时查看 AWS Backup 文件库的保管库锁定详细信息。

要确定您是否对备份保管库应用了保管库锁定,请调用 DescribeBackupVault 并查看 Locked 属性。如果"Locked": true像以下示例一样,您已将 AWS Backup 文件库锁定应用于备份保管库。

{ "BackupVaultName": "my_vault_to_lock", "BackupVaultArn": "arn:aws:backup:us-east-1:555500000000:backup-vault:my_vault_to_lock", "EncryptionKeyArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-east-1:555500000000:key/00000000-1111-2222-3333-000000000000", "CreationDate": "2021-09-24T12:25:43.030000-07:00", "CreatorRequestId": "ac6ce255-0456-4f84-bbc4-eec919f50709", "NumberOfRecoveryPoints": 1, "Locked": true, "MinRetentionDays": 7, "MaxRetentionDays": 30, "LockDate": "2021-09-30T10:12:38.089000-07:00" }

上述输出确认了以下选项:

  1. Locked是一个布尔值,表示您是否已将 AWS Backup 文件库锁定应用于此备份存储库。 True意味着 AWS Backup 文件库锁定会导致对存储在保管库中的恢复点的删除或更新操作失败(无论您是否仍处于冷静期宽限期)。

  2. LockDate 是您的冷静宽限期结束时的 UTC 日期和时间。在此时间之后,您将无法删除或更改对此保管库的锁定。使用任何公开可用的时间转换器将此字符串转换为您的本地时间。

如果 "Locked":false 像以下示例一样,说明您尚未应用保管库锁定(或之前的保管库锁定已被删除)。

{ "BackupVaultName": "my_vault_to_lock", "BackupVaultArn": "arn:aws:backup:us-east-1:555500000000:backup-vault:my_vault_to_lock", "EncryptionKeyArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-east-1:555500000000:key/00000000-1111-2222-3333-000000000000", "CreationDate": "2021-09-24T12:25:43.030000-07:00", "CreatorRequestId": "ac6ce255-0456-4f84-bbc4-eec919f50709", "NumberOfRecoveryPoints": 3, "Locked": false }

在宽限期内移除保管库锁定(合规模式)

要在宽限期(锁定保管库之后但在锁定保管库之前的时间LockDate)使用 AWS Backup 控制台删除文件库锁定,

  1. 登录 AWS Management Console,然后通过 https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup 打开 AWS Backup 控制台。

  2. 我的账户下的左侧导航栏中,单击“备份保管库”,然后单击“备份保管库锁定”。

  3. 单击您要移除的保管库锁定,然后单击管理保管库锁定

  4. 单击删除保管库锁定

  5. 此时,将显示一个警告框,要求您确认删除保管库锁定的意图。在文本框中键入 confirm,然后单击确认

成功完成所有步骤后,控制台屏幕顶部将显示“成功”横幅。

要在宽限期内使用 CLI 命令删除保管库锁定,请使用 DeleteBackupVaultLockConfiguration,如这个 CLI 示例所示:

aws backup delete-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock

AWS 账户 用上锁的金库关闭

当您关闭 AWS 账户 包含备份保管库的, AWS 并在备份完好无损的情况下 AWS Backup 暂停您的帐户 90 天。如果您在这 90 天内没有重新打开账户,即使保管库锁定已到位,也会 AWS 删除备份 AWS Backup 保管库中的内容。

其它安全注意事项

AWS Backup Vault Lock 为您的数据保护防御深度增加了一层额外的安全保护。保管库锁定可以与其他安全功能结合使用:

注意

AWS Backup 文件库锁与 Amazon S3 Glacier 文件库锁的功能不同,后者仅与 S3 Glacier 兼容。

AWS Backup Vault Lock - AWS Backup

AWS Backup Vault Lock

Note

AWS Backup Vault Lock has been assessed by Cohasset Associates for use in environments that are subject to SEC 17a-4, CFTC, and FINRA regulations. For more information about how AWS Backup Vault Lock relates to these regulations, see the Cohasset Associates Compliance Assessment.

AWS Backup Vault Lock is an optional feature of a backup vault, which can be helpful in giving you additional security and control over your backup vaults. When a lock is active, the vault configuration cannot be altered or deleted by a customer, account/data owner, or AWS. Each vault can have one vault lock in place.

AWS Backup ensures that your backups are available for you until they reach the expiration of their retention periods. If any user (including the root user) attempts to delete a backup or change the lifecycle properties in a locked vault, AWS Backup will deny the operation.

  • Vaults locked in governance mode can have the lock removed by users with sufficient IAM permissions.

  • Vaults locked in compliance mode cannot be deleted once the cooling-off period ("grace time") expires. During grace time, you can still remove the vault lock and change the lock configuration.

Vault lock modes

When you create a vault lock, you have a choice of two modes: Governance mode or Compliance mode. Governance mode is intended to allow a vault to be managed only by users with sufficient IAM privileges. Governance mode helps an organization meet governance requirements, ensuring only designated personnel can make changes to a backup vault. Compliance mode is intended for backup vaults in which the vault (and by extension, its contents) is expected to never be deleted or altered until the data retention period is complete. Once a vault in compliance mode is locked, it is immutable, meaning the lock cannot be removed.

A vault locked in Governance mode can be managed or deleted by users who have the appropriate IAM permissions.

A vault lock in Compliance mode cannot be altered or deleted by any user or by AWS. A vault lock in compliance mode has a grace time period you set before it locks and becomes immutable.

Vault lock benefits

AWS Backup Vault Lock provides several benefits, including:

  • WORM (write-once, read-many) configuration for all the backups you store and create in a backup vault.

  • An additional layer of defense that protects backups (recovery points) in your backup vaults from inadvertent or malicious deletions.

  • Enforcement of retention periods, which prevent early deletions by privileged users (including the AWS account root user), and meet your organization’s data protection policies and procedures.

Lock a backup vault using the console

You can add a vault lock to your AWS Backup Vault using the Backup console.

To add a vault lock to your backup vault:

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console, and open the AWS Backup console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup.

  2. In the navigation pane, find Backup vaults. Click the link nested under Backup vaults called Vault locks.

  3. Under How vault locks work or Vault locks, click + Create vault lock.

  4. In the pane Vault lock details, choose which vault to which you want your lock applied.

  5. Under Vault lock mode choose in which mode you want your vault locked. For more information on choosing your modes, see Vault lock modes earlier on this page.

  6. For the Retention period, choose the minimum and maximum retention periods (maximum retention period is optional). Only backup jobs within the retention periods will be successful.

  7. If you chose compliance mode, a section called Vault lock start date is shown. If you chose Governance mode, this will not be displayed, and this step can be skipped.

    In compliance mode, a vault lock has a cooling-off period from the creation of the vault lock until the vault and its lock becomes immutable and unchangeable. You choose the duration of this period (called grace time), though it must be at least 3 days (72 hours).

    Important

    Once the grace time is expired, the vault and its lock are immutable. It cannot be changed or deleted by any user or by AWS.

  8. When you are satisfied with the configuration choices, click Create vault lock.

  9. To confirm you wish to create this lock in the chosen mode, type confirm in the text box, then check the box acknowledging the configuration is as intended.

If the steps have been completed successfully, a "Success" banner will appear at the top of the console.

Lock a backup vault programmatically

To configure AWS Backup Vault Lock, use the API PutBackupVaultLockConfiguration. The parameters to include will depend on which vault lock mode you intend. If you wish to create a vault lock in governance mode, do not include ChangeableForDays. If this parameter is included, the vault lock will be created in compliance mode.

Here is a CLI example of a compliance mode vault lock creation:

aws backup put-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock \ --changeable-for-days 3 \ --min-retention-days 7 \ --max-retention-days 30

Here is a CLI example of a governance mode vault lock creation:

aws backup put-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock \ --min-retention-days 7 \ --max-retention-days 30

You can configure four options.

  1. BackupVaultName

    The name of the vault to lock.

  2. ChangeableForDays (include only for compliance mode)

    This parameter instructs AWS Backup to create the vault lock in compliance mode. Omit this parameter if you intend to create the lock in governance mode.

    This value is expressed in days. It must be a number no less than 3 and no greater than 36,500; otherwise, an error will return.

    From the creation of this vault lock until the expiration of the date specified, the vault lock can be removed from the vault using DeleteBackupVaultLockConfiguration. Alternatively, during this time, you can change the configuration using PutBackupVaultLockConfiguration.

    On and after the specified date determined by this parameter, the backup vault will be immutable and cannot be changed or deleted.

  3. MaxRetentionDays (optional)

    This is a numerical value expressed in days. This is the maximum retention period that the vault retains its recovery points.

    The maximum retention time frame you choose should be in alignment with your organization's policies for retaining data. If your organization instructs data to be retained for a period, this value can be set to that period (in days). For example, financial or banking data may be required to be kept for 7 years (approximately 2,557 days, depending on leap years).

    If not specified, AWS Backup Vault Lock will not enforce a maximum retention period. If specified, backup and copy jobs to this vault with lifecycle retention periods longer than the maximum retention period will fail. Recovery points already saved in the vault prior to the vault lock's creation are not affected. The longest maximum retention period you can specify is 36500 days (approximately 100 years).

  4. MinRetentionDays (optional; required for CloudFormation)

    This is a numerical value expressed in days. This is the minimum retention period that the vault retains its recovery points. This setting should be set to the amount of time your organization is required to maintain data. For example, if regulations or law requires data to be retained for at least seven years, the value in days would be approximately 2,557, depending on leap years.

    If not specified, AWS Backup Vault Lock will not enforce a minimum retention period. If specified, backup and copy jobs to this vault with lifecycle retention periods shorter than the minimum retention period will fail. Recovery points already saved in the vault prior to AWS Backup Vault Lock are not affected. The shortest minimum retention period you can specify is 1 day.

Review a backup vault for its AWS Backup Vault Lock configuration

You can review AWS Backup Vault Lock details on a vault anytime by calling DescribeBackupVault or ListBackupVaults APIs.

To determine whether you applied a vault lock to a backup vault, call DescribeBackupVault and check the Locked property. If "Locked": true, like the following example, you have applied AWS Backup Vault Lock to your backup vault.

{ "BackupVaultName": "my_vault_to_lock", "BackupVaultArn": "arn:aws:backup:us-east-1:555500000000:backup-vault:my_vault_to_lock", "EncryptionKeyArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-east-1:555500000000:key/00000000-1111-2222-3333-000000000000", "CreationDate": "2021-09-24T12:25:43.030000-07:00", "CreatorRequestId": "ac6ce255-0456-4f84-bbc4-eec919f50709", "NumberOfRecoveryPoints": 1, "Locked": true, "MinRetentionDays": 7, "MaxRetentionDays": 30, "LockDate": "2021-09-30T10:12:38.089000-07:00" }

The preceding output confirms the following options:

  1. Locked is a Boolean that indicates whether you have applied AWS Backup Vault Lock to this backup vault. True means that AWS Backup Vault Lock causes delete or update operations to the recovery points stored in the vault to fail (regardless of whether you are still in the cooling-off grace time period).

  2. LockDate is the UTC date and time when your cooling-off grace time period ends. After this time, you cannot delete or change your lock on this vault. Use any publicly-available time converters to convert this string to your local time.

If "Locked":false, like the following example, you have not applied a vault lock (or a previous one has been deleted).

{ "BackupVaultName": "my_vault_to_lock", "BackupVaultArn": "arn:aws:backup:us-east-1:555500000000:backup-vault:my_vault_to_lock", "EncryptionKeyArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-east-1:555500000000:key/00000000-1111-2222-3333-000000000000", "CreationDate": "2021-09-24T12:25:43.030000-07:00", "CreatorRequestId": "ac6ce255-0456-4f84-bbc4-eec919f50709", "NumberOfRecoveryPoints": 3, "Locked": false }

Vault lock removal during grace time (Compliance mode)

To delete your vault lock during grace time (the time after locking the vault but before your LockDate), use DeleteBackupVaultLockConfiguration like this CLI example:

aws backup delete-backup-vault-lock-configuration \ --backup-vault-name my_vault_to_lock

AWS account closure with a locked vault

When you close an AWS account that contains a backup vault, AWS and AWS Backup suspend your account for 90 days with your backups intact. If you do not reopen your account during those 90 days, AWS deletes the contents of your backup vault, even if AWS Backup Vault Lock was in place.

Additional security considerations

AWS Backup Vault Lock adds an additional layer of security to your data protection defense in depth. Vault lock can be combined with these other security features:

Note

AWS Backup Vault Lock is not the same feature as S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval Vault Lock, which is compatible only with Amazon S3.