将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源 - AWS Database Migration Service

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源

AWS DMS支持 MongoDB 3.x 和 4.0 版本作为数据库源。从AWS DMS 3.4.5 开始,AWS DMS支持 MongoDB 版本 4.2 和 4.4。从 MongoDB 4.2、AWS DMS 3.4.5 及更高版本开始,支持分布式事务。有关 MongoDB 分布式事务的更多信息,请参阅 MongoDB 中的事务

如果您是初次使用 MongoDB,请注意以下关于 MongoDB 数据库的重要概念:

  • MongoDB 中的记录是一个文档,它是由字段和值对构成的数据结构。字段值可以包含其他文档、数组和文档数组。文档大致相当于关系数据库表中的行。

  • MongoDB 中的集合 是一组文档,并且大致相当于关系数据库表。

  • MongoDB 中的数据库是一组集合,大致等同于关系数据库中的架构。

  • 在内部,MongoDB 文档以压缩格式存储为二进制 JSON (BSON) 文件,包含文档中每个字段的类型。每个文档都有唯一的 ID。

AWS DMS使用 MongoDB 作为源代码时支持两种迁移模式:文档模式表格模式。您可以在创建 MongoDB 终端节点或通过从AWS DMS控制台设置元数据模式参数来指定要使用的迁移模式。或者,您可以通过在端点配置面板中选择 _id 的复选标记按钮作为单独的列来创建名_id为的第二列作为主键。

您选择的迁移模式会影响目标数据的结果格式,如下所述。

文档模式

在文档模式下,MongoDB 文档按“原样”迁移,这意味着文档数据将并入目标表中一个名为 _doc 的列中。文档模式是您将 MongoDB 作为源终端节点时的默认设置。

例如,请考虑名为 myCollection 的 MongoDB 集合中的以下文档。

> db.myCollection.find() { "_id" : ObjectId("5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0"), "a" : 1, "b" : 2, "c" : 3 } { "_id" : ObjectId("5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1"), "a" : 4, "b" : 5, "c" : 6 }

在使用文档模式将数据迁移到关系数据库表后,数据结构如下所示。MongoDB 文档中的数据字段将并入 _doc 列。

oid_id _doc
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0 { "a" : 1, "b" : 2, "c" : 3 }
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1 { "a" : 4, "b" : 5, "c" : 6 }

您可以选择将额外连接属性 extractDocID 设置为 true,以创建第二个名为 "_id" 的列以作为主键。如果要使用 CDC,请将此参数设置为 true

在文档模式中,AWS DMS 按如下方式管理集合的创建和重命名:

  • 如果您将一个新集合添加到源数据库,则 AWS DMS 将为该集合创建一个新的目标表并复制所有文档。

  • 如果您重命名源数据库上的现有集合,则AWS DMS不会重命名目标表。

如果目标终端节点是 Amazon DocumentDB,请在文档模式下运行迁移。

表模式

在表模式中,AWS DMS 将 MongoDB 文档中的每个顶级字段转换为目标表中的一个列。如果已嵌套字段,则 AWS DMS 会将嵌套值平展到单个列中。随后,AWS DMS 将关键字段和数据类型添加到目标表的列集。

对于每个 MongoDB 文档,AWS DMS 将每个键和类型添加到目标表的列集中。例如,通过使用表模式,AWS DMS 将上一个示例迁移到下表中。

oid_id a b c
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0 1 2 3
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1 4 5 6

嵌套值平展到包含键名 (以句点分隔) 的列中。该列的名称是为由句点分隔的平展字段名的联接。例如,AWS DMS 将具有嵌套值字段(如 {"a" : {"b" : {"c": 1}}})的 JSON 文档迁移到名为 a.b.c. 的列中

为了创建目标列,AWS DMS 将扫描指定数量的 MongoDB 文档并创建包含所有字段及其类型的集。随后,AWS DMS 使用此集创建目标表的列。如果您使用 控制台创建或修改 MongoDB 源终端节点,则可指定要扫描的文档的数量。默认值为 1000 个文档。如果您使用AWS CLI,则可以使用额外的连接属性docsToInvestigate

在表模式中,AWS DMS 按如下方式管理文档和集合:

  • 当您将一个文档添加到现有集合时,将复制该文档。如果某些字段在目标中不存在,则不会复制这些字段。

  • 当您更新文档时,复制更新后的文档。如果某些字段在目标中不存在,则不会复制这些字段。

  • 完全支持文档删除。

  • 在 CDC 任务期间,添加新集合不会导致在目标上生成新的表。

  • 不支持重命名集合。

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 的源时所需的权限

对于使用 MongoDB 源的 AWS DMS 迁移,您可以创建具有根权限的用户账户,也可以仅在要迁移的数据库上创建具有权限的用户。

以下代码创建将作为根账户的用户。

use admin db.createUser( { user: "root", pwd: "password", roles: [ { role: "root", db: "admin" } ] } )

对于 MongoDB 3.x 源代码,以下代码创建对要迁移的数据库具有最低权限的用户。

use database_to_migrate db.createUser( { user: "dms-user", pwd: "password", roles: [ { role: "read", db: "local" }, "read"] })

对于 MongoDB 4.x 源代码,以下代码创建具有最低权限的用户。

{ resource: { db: "", collection: "" }, actions: [ "find", "changeStream" ] }

例如,在 “admin” 数据库中创建以下角色。

use admin db.createRole( { role: "changestreamrole", privileges: [ { resource: { db: "", collection: "" }, actions: [ "find","changeStream" ] } ], roles: [] } )

创建角色后,在要迁移的数据库中创建一个用户。

> use test > db.createUser( { user: "dms-user12345", pwd: "password", roles: [ { role: "changestreamrole", db: "admin" }, "read"] })

为 CDC 配置 MongoDB 副本集

要在 MongoDB 中使用持续复制或 CDC,AWS DMS需要访问 MongoDB 操作日志 (oplog)。要创建 oplog,您需要部署一个副本集 (如果没有副本集)。有关更多信息,请参阅 MongoDB 文档

您可以将 CDC 用于作为源终端节点的 MongoDB 副本集的主要或次要节点。

将独立实例转换为副本集
  1. 使用命令行,连接到 mongo.

    mongo localhost
  2. 停止 mongod 服务。

    service mongod stop
  3. 使用以下命令重新启动 mongod

    mongod --replSet "rs0" --auth -port port_number
  4. 使用以下命令测试与副本集的连接:

    mongo -u root -p password --host rs0/localhost:port_number --authenticationDatabase "admin"

如果您打算执行文档模式迁移,请在创建 MongoDB 终端节点时选择选项 _id as a separate column。通过选择此选项,将创建另一个名为 _id 的列以作为主键。AWS DMS 需要第二列以支持数据操作语言 (DML) 操作。

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源时的安全要求

AWSDMS 支持 MongoDB 的两种身份验证方法。这两种身份验证方法用于加密密码,因此它们仅在将 authType 参数设置为 PASSWORD 时使用。

MongoDB 身份验证方法如下:

  • MONGODB-CR — 为了向后兼容

  • SCRAM-SHA-1 — 使用 MongoDB 版本 3.x 和 4.0 时的默认值

如果未指定身份验证方法,AWSDMS 将使用 MongoDB 源版本的默认方法。

分段 MongoDB 集合并parallel 迁移

为了提高迁移任务的性能,MongoDB 源端点在表映射中支持两个parallel 全负载选项。

换句话说,您可以使用自动分段或范围分段与表映射parallel 迁移集合,在 JSON 设置中实现parallel 满载。使用自动分段,您可以指定标准,AWS DMS以便在每个线程中自动分段要迁移的源。通过范围分段,您可以分辨出每个分段AWS DMS的具体范围,让 DMS 在每个线程中迁移。有关这些设置的更多信息,请参阅表和集合设置规则和操作

使用自动分段范围parallel 迁移 MongoDB 数据库

通过为AWS DMS每个线程指定自动分区(分段)数据的标准,可以parallel 迁移文档。特别是,您可以指定每个线程要迁移的文档数量。使用这种方法,AWS DMS尝试优化分段边界,以实现每线程的最大性能。

您可以使用表格映射中的表格设置选项来指定分段标准。

表格设置选项

描述

"type"

(必选)将"partitions-auto" MongoDB 作为源设置为。

"number-of-partitions"

(可选)用于迁移的分区(分段)总数。默认值为 16。

"collection-count-from-metadata"

(可选)如果将此选项设置为true,则AWS DMS使用估计的收集计数来确定分区数量。如果将此选项设置为false,则AWS DMS使用实际收集次数。默认为 true

"max-records-skip-per-page"

(可选)确定每个分区的边界时要一次跳过的记录数。 AWS DMS使用分页跳过方法来确定分区的最小边界。默认值为 10,000。

设置相对较大的值可能会导致游标超时和任务失败。设置相对较低的值会导致每页的操作次数更多,满载速度会变慢。

"batch-size"

(可选)限制一批返回的文档数量。每批都需要往返服务器。如果批量大小为零 (0),则游标使用服务器定义的最大批处理大小。默认值为 0。

以下示例显示了用于自动分段的表映射。

{ "rules": [ { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "1", "rule-name": "1", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "admin", "table-name": "departments" }, "rule-action": "include", "filters": [] }, { "rule-type": "table-settings", "rule-id": "2", "rule-name": "2", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "admin", "table-name": "departments" }, "parallel-load": { "type": "partitions-auto", "number-of-partitions": 5, "collection-count-from-metadata": "true", "max-records-skip-per-page": 1000000, "batch-size": 50000 } } ] }

自动分段有以下限制。每个分段的迁移分别获取集合计数和集_id合的最小值。然后,它使用分页跳过来计算该分段的最小边界。

因此,确保每个集合的最小_id值保持不变,直到计算出集合中的所有段边界。如果在计算段边界期间更改集合的最小_id值,则可能会导致数据丢失或重复行错误。

使用范围分段parallel 迁移 MongoDB 数据库

您可以通过指定线程中每个分段的范围来parallel 迁移文档。使用这种方法,您可以根据您选择AWS DMS的每个线程的文档范围,告诉每个线程中要迁移的特定文档。

下图显示了一个 MongoDB 集合,该集合包含七个项目_id,并且是主键。


                        MongoDB 集合包含七个项目。

要将集合拆分为三个特定的分段AWS DMS以便parallel 迁移,可以在迁移任务中添加表映射规则。以下 JSON 示例中显示了此方法。

{ // Task table mappings: "rules": [ { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "1", "rule-name": "1", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "testdatabase", "table-name": "testtable" }, "rule-action": "include" }, // "selection" :"rule-type" { "rule-type": "table-settings", "rule-id": "2", "rule-name": "2", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "testdatabase", "table-name": "testtable" }, "parallel-load": { "type": "ranges", "columns": [ "_id", "num" ], "boundaries": [ // First segment selects documents with _id less-than-or-equal-to 5f805c97873173399a278d79 // and num less-than-or-equal-to 2. [ "5f805c97873173399a278d79", "2" ], // Second segment selects documents with _id > 5f805c97873173399a278d79 and // _id less-than-or-equal-to 5f805cc5873173399a278d7c and // num > 2 and num less-than-or-equal-to 5. [ "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c", "5" ] // Third segment is implied and selects documents with _id > 5f805cc5873173399a278d7c. ] // :"boundaries" } // :"parallel-load" } // "table-settings" :"rule-type" ] // :"rules" } // :Task table mappings

该表映射定义将源集合分为三个段并parallel 迁移。以下是分段边界。

Data with _id less-than-or-equal-to "5f805c97873173399a278d79" and num less-than-or-equal-to 2 (2 records) Data with _id > "5f805c97873173399a278d79" and num > 2 and _id less-than-or-equal-to "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c" and num less-than-or-equal-to 5 (3 records) Data with _id > "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c" and num > 5 (2 records)

迁移任务完成后,您可以从任务日志中验证表是否已parallel 加载,如以下示例所示。您还可以验证用于从源表中卸载每个分段的 MongoDB 子find句。

[TASK_MANAGER ] I: Start loading segment #1 of 3 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. Start load timestamp 0005B191D638FE86 (replicationtask_util.c:752) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is initialized. (mongodb_unload.c:157) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is: { "_id" : { "$lte" : { "$oid" : "5f805c97873173399a278d79" } }, "num" : { "$lte" : { "$numberInt" : "2" } } } (mongodb_unload.c:328) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Unload finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 2 rows sent. [TASK_MANAGER ] I: Start loading segment #1 of 3 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. Start load timestamp 0005B191D638FE86 (replicationtask_util.c:752) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is initialized. (mongodb_unload.c:157) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is: { "_id" : { "$lte" : { "$oid" : "5f805c97873173399a278d79" } }, "num" : { "$lte" : { "$numberInt" : "2" } } } (mongodb_unload.c:328) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Unload finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 2 rows sent. [TARGET_LOAD ] I: Load finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 1 rows received. 0 rows skipped. Volume transfered 480. [TASK_MANAGER ] I: Load finished for segment #1 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. 2 records transferred.

目前,AWS DMS支持以下 MongoDB 数据类型作为分段键列:

  • Double

  • 字符串

  • ObjectId

  • 32 位整数

  • 64 位整数

使用 MongoDB 作为源时迁移多个数据库AWS DMS

AWS DMS3.4.5 及更高版本支持在单个任务中迁移所有支持的 MongoDB 版本的多个数据库。如果要迁移多个数据库,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 当您创建 MongoDB 源终端节点时,请执行下列操作之一:

    • 在 DMS 控制台的 “创建端点” 页面上,确保端点配置下的数据库名称为空。

    • 使用AWS CLICreateEndpoint命令为中的DatabaseName参数分配一个空字符串值MongoDBSettings

  2. 对于要从 MongoDB 源迁移的每个数据库,在任务的表映射中将数据库名称指定为架构名称。您可以使用控制台中的引导式输入或直接在 JSON 中执行此操作。有关引导式输入的更多信息,请参阅 从控制台指定表格选择和转换规则。有关 JSON 的更多信息,请参阅选择规则和操作

例如,您可以指定以下 JSON 来迁移三个 MongoDB 数据库。

例 迁移架构中的所有表

以下 JSON 会将源终端节点中的CustomersOrders、和Suppliers数据库中的所有表迁移到目标终端节点。

{ "rules": [ { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "1", "rule-name": "1", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "Customers", "table-name": "%" }, "rule-action": "include", "filters": [] }, { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "2", "rule-name": "2", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "Orders", "table-name": "%" }, "rule-action": "include", "filters": [] }, { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "3", "rule-name": "3", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "Inventory", "table-name": "%" }, "rule-action": "include", "filters": [] } ] }

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源时的限制

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源时,存在以下限制:

  • _id 选项设置为单独一列时,ID 字符串不能超过 200 个字符。

  • 在表模式下,对象 ID 和数组类型键将转换为具有 oidarray 前缀的列。

    将使用具有前缀的名称在内部引用这些列。如果您在AWS DMS引用这些列时使用转换规则,请确保指定带前缀的列。例如,指定 ${oid__id} 而不是 ${_id},或者指定 ${array__addresses} 而不是 ${_addresses}

  • 集合名称和密钥名称不能包含美元符号 ($)。

  • 表格模式和文档模式有前面描述的限制。

  • 使用自动分段进行parallel 迁移存在前面描述的局限性。

  • MongoDB 不支持源过滤器。

  • AWS DMS不支持嵌套级别大于 97 的文档。

使用 MongoDB 作为源时的端点配置设置AWS DMS

在设置 MongoDB 源终端节点时,您可以使用AWS DMS控制台指定多个终端节点配置设置。

下表描述了使用 MongoDB 数据库作为AWS DMS源时可用的配置设置。

设置(属性) 有效值 默认值和描述

身份验证模式

"none"

"password"

该值"password"提示输入有效的用户名和密码。指定后"none",不使用用户名和密码参数。

身份验证来源

有效的 MongoDB 数据库名称。

要用于验证身份验证凭证的 MongoDB 数据库的名称。默认值为 "admin"

身份验证机制

"default"

"mongodb_cr"

"scram_sha_1"

身份验证机制。 "default" 值为 "scram_sha_1"。当 authType 设为 "no" 时,不使用此设置。

元数据模式

文档和表格

选择文档模式或表模式。

要扫描的文档数 (docsToInvestigate)

大于 0 的正整数。

在表格模式下使用此选项仅用于定义目标表定义。

_id 作为单独的列

复选框中的标记

可选的复选框用于创建名为的第二列_id,该列充当主键。

如果选择 “文档” 作为元数据模式,则可以使用不同的选项。

如果目标终端节点是 DocumentDB,请确保在文档模式下运行迁移。另外,修改源端点并选择 _id 选项作为单独的列。如果您的源 MongoDB 工作负载涉及事务,则这是强制性先决条件。

MongoDB 的源数据类型

将 MongoDB 作为 AWS DMS 源的数据迁移支持大多数 MongoDB 数据类型。在下表中,您可以找到使用 AWS DMS 时支持的 MongoDB 源数据类型以及来自 AWS DMS 数据类型的默认映射。有关 MongoDB 数据类型的更多信息,请参阅 MongoDB 文档中的 BSON 类型

有关如何查看目标中映射的数据类型的信息,请参阅有关所使用的目标终端节点的部分。

有关 AWS DMS 数据类型的其他信息,请参阅DatAWS abase Migration Service 数据类型

MongoDB 数据类型

AWS DMS 数据类型

布尔值

Bool

二进制

BLOB

日期

日期

时间戳

日期

Int

INT4

长整型

INT8

Double

REAL8

字符串 (UTF-8)

CLOB

数组

CLOB

OID

字符串

REGEX

CLOB

CODE

CLOB

Using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS - AWS Database Migration Service

Using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS

AWS DMS supports MongoDB versions 3.x and 4.0 as a database source.

If you are new to MongoDB, be aware of the following important MongoDB database concepts:

  • A record in MongoDB is a document, which is a data structure composed of field and value pairs. The value of a field can include other documents, arrays, and arrays of documents. A document is roughly equivalent to a row in a relational database table.

  • A collection in MongoDB is a group of documents, and is roughly equivalent to a relational database table.

  • Internally, a MongoDB document is stored as a binary JSON (BSON) file in a compressed format that includes a type for each field in the document. Each document has a unique ID.

AWS DMS supports two migration modes when using MongoDB as a source. You specify the migration mode using the Metadata mode parameter using the AWS Management Console or the extra connection attribute nestingLevel when you create the MongoDB endpoint. The choice of migration mode affects the resulting format of the target data as explained following.

Document mode

In document mode, the MongoDB document is migrated as is, meaning that the document data is consolidated into a single column named _doc in a target table. Document mode is the default setting when you use MongoDB as a source endpoint.

For example, consider the following documents in a MongoDB collection called myCollection.

> db.myCollection.find() { "_id" : ObjectId("5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0"), "a" : 1, "b" : 2, "c" : 3 } { "_id" : ObjectId("5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1"), "a" : 4, "b" : 5, "c" : 6 }

After migrating the data to a relational database table using document mode, the data is structured as follows. The data fields in the MongoDB document are consolidated into the _doc column.

oid_id _doc
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0 { "a" : 1, "b" : 2, "c" : 3 }
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1 { "a" : 4, "b" : 5, "c" : 6 }

You can optionally set the extra connection attribute extractDocID to true to create a second column named "_id" that acts as the primary key. If you are going to use CDC, set this parameter to true except when using Amazon DocumentDB as target.

In document mode, AWS DMS manages the creation and renaming of collections like this:

  • If you add a new collection to the source database, AWS DMS creates a new target table for the collection and replicates any documents.

  • If you rename an existing collection on the source database, AWS DMS doesn't rename the target table.

If the target endpoint is Amazon DocumentDB, run the migration in Document mode.

Table mode

In table mode, AWS DMS transforms each top-level field in a MongoDB document into a column in the target table. If a field is nested, AWS DMS flattens the nested values into a single column. AWS DMS then adds a key field and data types to the target table's column set.

For each MongoDB document, AWS DMS adds each key and type to the target table's column set. For example, using table mode, AWS DMS migrates the previous example into the following table.

oid_id a b c
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe0 1 2 3
5a94815f40bd44d1b02bdfe1 4 5 6

Nested values are flattened into a column containing dot-separated key names. The column is named the concatenation of the flattened field names separated by periods. For example, AWS DMS migrates a JSON document with a field of nested values such as {"a" : {"b" : {"c": 1}}} into a column named a.b.c.

To create the target columns, AWS DMS scans a specified number of MongoDB documents and creates a set of all the fields and their types. AWS DMS then uses this set to create the columns of the target table. If you create or modify your MongoDB source endpoint using the console, you can specify the number of documents to scan. The default value is 1000 documents. If you use the AWS CLI, you can use the extra connection attribute docsToInvestigate.

In table mode, AWS DMS manages documents and collections like this:

  • When you add a document to an existing collection, the document is replicated. If there are fields that don't exist in the target, those fields aren't replicated.

  • When you update a document, the updated document is replicated. If there are fields that don't exist in the target, those fields aren't replicated.

  • Deleting a document is fully supported.

  • Adding a new collection doesn't result in a new table on the target when done during a CDC task.

  • Renaming a collection isn't supported.

Permissions needed when using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS

For an AWS DMS migration with a MongoDB source, you can create either a user account with root privileges, or a user with permissions only on the database to migrate.

The following code creates a user to be the root account.

use admin db.createUser( { user: "root", pwd: "password", roles: [ { role: "root", db: "admin" } ] } )

The following code creates a user with minimal privileges on the database to be migrated.

use database_to_migrate db.createUser( { user: "dms-user", pwd: "password", roles: [ { role: "read", db: "local" }, "read"] })

Configuring a MongoDB replica set for CDC

To use ongoing replication or CDC with MongoDB, AWS DMS requires access to the MongoDB operations log (oplog). To create the oplog, you need to deploy a replica set if one doesn't exist. For more information, see the MongoDB documentation.

You can use CDC with either the primary or secondary node of a MongoDB replica set as the source endpoint.

To convert a standalone instance to a replica set

  1. Using the command line, connect to mongo.

    mongo localhost
  2. Stop the mongod service.

    service mongod stop
  3. Restart mongod using the following command:

    mongod --replSet "rs0" --auth -port port_number
  4. Test the connection to the replica set using the following commands:

    mongo -u root -p password --host rs0/localhost:port_number --authenticationDatabase "admin"

If you plan to perform a document mode migration, select option _id as a separate column when you create the MongoDB endpoint. Selecting this option creates a second column named _id that acts as the primary key. This second column is required by AWS DMS to support data manipulation language (DML) operations.

Security requirements when using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS

AWS DMS supports two authentication methods for MongoDB. The two authentication methods are used to encrypt the password, so they are only used when the authType parameter is set to PASSWORD.

The MongoDB authentication methods are as follows:

  • MONGODB-CR – for backword compatibility

  • SCRAM-SHA-1 – the default when using MongoDB version 3.x and 4.0

If an authentication method isn't specified, AWS DMS uses the default method for the version of the MongoDB source.

Segmenting MongoDB collections and migrating in parallel

To improve performance of a migration task, MongoDB source endpoints support the range segmentation option of the parallel full load feature. In other words, using table mapping JSON settings for parallel full load, you can migrate a segmented collection using threads in parallel. For more information, see Table and collection settings rules and operations.

The example following shows a MongoDB collection that has seven items, and _id as the primary key.


                    MongoDB collection with seven items.

To split the collection into three segments and migrate in parallel, you can add table mapping rules to your migration task as shown in the following JSON example.

{ "rules": [ { "rule-type": "selection", "rule-id": "1", "rule-name": "1", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "testdatabase", "table-name": "testtable" }, "rule-action": "include" }, { "rule-type": "table-settings", "rule-id": "2", "rule-name": "2", "object-locator": { "schema-name": "testdatabase", "table-name": "testtable" }, "parallel-load": { "type": "ranges", "columns": [ "_id", "num" ] "boundaries": [ [ "5f805c97873173399a278d79", // First segment will select documents with _id less-than-or-equal-to 5eae7331a282eff90bf8b060 and num less-than-or-equal-to 2 "2" ], [ "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c", // Second segment will select documents with _id > 5f805c97873173399a278d79 and _id less-than-or-equal-to 5f805cc5873173399a278d7c "5" // and num > 2 and num less-than-or-equal-to 5 ] // Third segment is implied and selects documents with _id > 5f805cc5873173399a278d7c ] } } ] }

That table mapping definition splits the source collection into three segments and migrates in parallel. The following are the segmentation boundaries.

Data with _id less-than-or-equal-to "5f805c97873173399a278d79" and num less-than-or-equal-to 2 (2 records) Data with _id > "5f805c97873173399a278d79" and num > 2 and _id less-than-or-equal-to "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c" and num less-than-or-equal-to 5 (3 records) Data with _id > "5f805cc5873173399a278d7c" and num > 5 (2 records)

After the migration task is complete, you can verify from the task logs that the tables loaded in parallel, as shown in the following example. You can also verify the MongoDB find() clause used to unload each segment from the source table.

[TASK_MANAGER ] I: Start loading segment #1 of 3 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. Start load timestamp 0005B191D638FE86 (replicationtask_util.c:752) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is initialized. (mongodb_unload.c:157) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is: { "_id" : { "$lte" : { "$oid" : "5f805c97873173399a278d79" } }, "num" : { "$lte" : { "$numberInt" : "2" } } } (mongodb_unload.c:328) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Unload finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 2 rows sent. [TASK_MANAGER ] I: Start loading segment #1 of 3 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. Start load timestamp 0005B191D638FE86 (replicationtask_util.c:752) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is initialized. (mongodb_unload.c:157) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Range Segmentation filter for Segment #0 is: { "_id" : { "$lte" : { "$oid" : "5f805c97873173399a278d79" } }, "num" : { "$lte" : { "$numberInt" : "2" } } } (mongodb_unload.c:328) [SOURCE_UNLOAD ] I: Unload finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 2 rows sent. [TARGET_LOAD ] I: Load finished for segment #1 of segmented table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1). 1 rows received. 0 rows skipped. Volume transfered 480. [TASK_MANAGER ] I: Load finished for segment #1 of table 'testdatabase'.'testtable' (Id = 1) by subtask 1. 2 records transferred.

Currently, AWS DMS supports the following MongoDB data types as a partition key column:

  • Double

  • String

  • ObjectId

  • 32 bit integer

  • 64 bit integer

Limitations when using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS

The following are limitations when using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS:

  • When the _id option is set as a separate column, the ID string can't exceed 200 characters.

  • Object ID and array type keys are converted to columns that are prefixed with oid and array in table mode.

    Internally, these columns are referenced with the prefixed names. If you use transformation rules in AWS DMS that reference these columns, you must specify the prefixed column. For example, you specify ${oid__id} and not ${_id}, or ${array__addresses} and not ${_addresses}.

  • Collection names can't include the dollar symbol ($).

  • Table mode and document mode have the limitations discussed preceding.

Extra connection attributes when using MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS

When you set up your MongoDB source endpoint, you can specify extra connection attributes. Extra connection attributes are specified by key-value pairs. If you have multiple connection attribute settings, separate them from each other by semicolons with no additional white space (for example, oneSetting;thenAnother).

The following table describes the extra connection attributes available when using MongoDB databases as an AWS DMS source.

Attribute name Valid values Default value and description

authType

"no"

"password"

"password" – When "no" is specified, user name and password parameters aren't used and can be empty.

authMechanism

"default"

"mongodb_cr"

"scram_sha_1"

"default" is "scram_sha_1". This setting isn't used when authType is set to "no".

nestingLevel

"none"

"one"

"none" – Specify "none" to use document mode. Specify "one" to use table mode.

extractDocID

"true"

"false"

"false" – Use this attribute when nestingLevel is set to "none".

If your target endpoint is DocumentDB set extractDocID=true.

docsToInvestigate

A positive integer greater than 0.

1000 – Use this attribute when nestingLevel is set to "one".

authSource

A valid MongoDB database name.

"admin" – This attribute isn't used when authType is set to "no".

Note

If the target endpoint is DocumentDB, run the migration in Document mode, and set the extra connection attribute extractDocID=true. To set the extra connection attribute extractDocID=true, modify your source endpoint and check the box _id as separate column.

Source data types for MongoDB

Data migration that uses MongoDB as a source for AWS DMS supports most MongoDB data types. In the following table, you can find the MongoDB source data types that are supported when using AWS DMS and the default mapping from AWS DMS data types. For more information about MongoDB data types, see BSON types in the MongoDB documentation.

For information on how to view the data type that is mapped in the target, see the section for the target endpoint that you are using.

For additional information about AWS DMS data types, see Data types for AWS Database Migration Service.

MongoDB data types

AWS DMS data types

Boolean

Bool

Binary

BLOB

Date

Date

Timestamp

Date

Int

INT4

Long

INT8

Double

REAL8

String (UTF-8)

CLOB

Array

CLOB

OID

String

REGEX

CLOB

CODE

CLOB