使用 Kubernetes kube-proxy 附加组件 - Amazon EKS

使用 Kubernetes kube-proxy 附加组件

重要

建议您向集群添加 Amazon EKS 类型的附加组件,而不是自行管理类型的附加组件。如果不熟悉这些类型之间的区别,请参阅 Amazon EKS 附加组件。有关向集群中添加 Amazon EKS 附加组件的更多信息,请参阅 创建附加组件。如果您无法使用 Amazon EKS 附加组件,我们鼓励您向容器路线图 GitHub 存储库提交有关您为什么无法使用的问题。

kube-proxy 附加组件部署在 Amazon EKS 集群中的每个 Amazon EC2 节点上。该附加组件会在节点上维护网络规则,并实现与 Pods 的网络通信。该附加组件不会部署到集群中的 Fargate 节点。有关更多信息,请参阅 Kubernetes文档中的 kube-proxy

下表列出了每个 Kubernetes 版本的 Amazon EKS 附加组件类型的最新版本。

Kubernetes 版本 1.29 1.28 1.27 1.26 1.25 1.24 1.23
v1.29.1-eksbuild.2 v1.28.6-eksbuild.2 v1.27.10-eksbuild.2 v1.26.13-eksbuild.2 v1.25.16-eksbuild.3 v1.24.17-eksbuild.8 v1.23.17-eksbuild.9
重要

该文档的早期版本不正确。kube-proxy 版本 v1.28.5v1.27.9v1.26.12 不可用。

如果您自行管理此附加组件,则表中的版本可能与可用的自行管理版本不同。

每个 Amazon EKS 集群版本都有两种类型的 kube-proxy 容器映像可用:

  • 默认:此映像类型以 Kubernetes 上游社区维护的基于 Debian 的 Docker 映像为基础。

  • 最低:此映像类型基于 Amazon EKS Distro 维护的最低要求基本映像,其中包含最低要求的程序包并且没有 Shell。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EKS Distro

每个 Amazon EKS 集群版本的最新可用的自行管理 kube-proxy 容器映像版本
映像类型 1.29 1.28 1.27 1.26 1.25 1.24 1.23
kube-proxy(默认类型) 只有最小类型可用 只有最小类型可用 只有最小类型可用 只有最小类型可用 只有最小类型可用 v1.24.10-eksbuild.2 v1.23.16-eksbuild.2
kube-proxy(最低要求类型) v1.29.1-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.28.6-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.27.10-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.26.13-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.25.16-minimal-eksbuild.3 v1.24.17-minimal-eksbuild.4 v1.23.17-minimal-eksbuild.5
重要
  • 默认镜像类型不适用于 Kubernetes 版本 1.25 及更高版本。您必须使用最小的镜像类型。

  • 更新 Amazon EKS 附加组件类型时,可以指定有效的 Amazon EKS 附加组件版本,该版本可能不是此表中列出的版本。这是因为 Amazon EKS 附加组件版本并不总是与更新此附加组件的自行管理类型时指定的容器映像版本相匹配。更新此附加组件的自行管理类型时,可指定此表中列出的有效容器映像版本。

先决条件

注意事项
  • Amazon EKS 集群上的 Kube-proxy 具有与 Kubernetes 相同的兼容性和偏斜策略

  • Kube-proxy 必须与您的Amazon EC2 节点上的 kubelet 具有相同的次要版本。

  • Kube-proxy 不能高于集群控制面板的次要版本。

  • Amazon EC2 节点上的 kube-proxy 版本不能比控制面板的版本低两个以上的次要版本。例如,如果您的控制面板正在运行 Kubernetes 1.29,则 kube-proxy 次要版本不能低于 1.27。

  • 如果您最近将集群更新到新的 Kubernetes 次要版本,请将 Amazon EC2 节点更新到相同的次要版本,然后再将 kube-proxy 更新到与节点相同的次要版本。

更新 kube-proxy 自行管理的附加组件
  1. 确认已在集群上安装自行管理类型的附加组件。将 my-cluster 替换为您集群的名称。

    aws eks describe-addon --cluster-name my-cluster --addon-name kube-proxy --query addon.addonVersion --output text

    如果返回错误消息,则表明集群上安装有自行管理类型的附加组件。本主题中的其余步骤用于更新自行管理类型的附加组件。如果返回版本号,则表明集群上安装有 Amazon EKS 类型的附加组件。要对其进行更新,请使用 更新附加组件 中的步骤,而不是本主题中的步骤。如果不熟悉这些附加组件类型之间的区别,请参阅 Amazon EKS 附加组件

  2. 查看集群上当前安装的容器映像版本。

    kubectl describe daemonset kube-proxy -n kube-system | grep Image

    示例输出如下。

    Image:    602401143452.dkr.ecr.region-code.amazonaws.com/eks/kube-proxy:v1.25.6-minimal-eksbuild.2

    在示例输出中,集群上安装的版本是 v1.25.6-minimal-eksbuild.2

  3. 602401143452region-code 替换为上一步中输出的值来更新 kube-proxy 附加组件。将 v1.26.2-minimal-eksbuild.2 替换为每个 Amazon EKS 集群版本的最新可用的自行管理 kube-proxy 容器映像版本表中列出的 kube-proxy 版本。您可以指定默认最低要求映像类型的版本号。

    kubectl set image daemonset.apps/kube-proxy -n kube-system kube-proxy=602401143452.dkr.ecr.region-code.amazonaws.com/eks/kube-proxy:v1.26.2-minimal-eksbuild.2

    示例输出如下。

    daemonset.apps/kube-proxy image updated
  4. 确认新版本现已安装在集群上。

    kubectl describe daemonset kube-proxy -n kube-system | grep Image | cut -d ":" -f 3

    示例输出如下。

    v1.26.2-minimal-eksbuild.2
  5. 如果您在同一集群中使用 x86Arm 节点,而且您的集群是在 2020 年 8 月 17 日之前部署的。那么请使用以下命令编辑您的 kube-proxy 清单以将多个硬件架构的节点选择器纳入其中。您只需执行此操作一次。将选择器添加到清单中之后,您无需在每次更新附加组件时都进行添加。如果您的集群是在 2020 年 8 月 17 日或之后部署的,则 kube-proxy 已经具有多架构功能。

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset/kube-proxy

    将以下节点选择器添加到编辑器中的文件中,然后保存文件。有关在编辑器的何处纳入此文本的示例,请参阅 GitHub 上的 CNI 清单文件。这使 Kubernetes 能够根据节点的硬件架构提取正确的硬件镜像。

    - key: "kubernetes.io/arch" operator: In values: - amd64 - arm64
  6. 如果您的集群最初是使用 Kubernetes 版本 1.14 或更高版本创建的,则可以跳过此步骤,因为 kube-proxy 已经包含此 Affinity Rule。如果您的 Amazon EKS 集群最初是使用 Kubernetes 版本 1.13 或更低版本创建的,并打算在您的集群中使用 Fargate 节点,请编辑 kube-proxy 清单以将 NodeAffinity 规则纳入其中,以防从 Fargate 节点上调度 kube-proxy Pods。您只需执行此编辑一次。将 Affinity Rule 添加到清单中之后,您无需在每次更新附加组件时都进行添加。编辑您的 kube-proxy DaemonSet

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset/kube-proxy

    将以下 Affinity Rule 添加到编辑器中文件中的 DaemonSet spec 部分,然后保存文件。有关在编辑器的何处纳入此文本的示例,请参阅 GitHub 上的 CNI 清单文件。

    - key: eks.amazonaws.com/compute-type operator: NotIn values: - fargate

Working with the Kubernetes kube-proxy add-on - Amazon EKS

Help improve this page

Want to contribute to this user guide? Scroll to the bottom of this page and select Edit this page on GitHub. Your contributions will help make our user guide better for everyone.

Working with the Kubernetes kube-proxy add-on

Important

We recommend adding the Amazon EKS type of the add-on to your cluster instead of using the self-managed type of the add-on. If you're not familiar with the difference between the types, see Amazon EKS add-ons. For more information about adding an Amazon EKS add-on to your cluster, see Creating an add-on. If you're unable to use the Amazon EKS add-on, we encourage you to submit an issue about why you can't to the Containers roadmap GitHub repository.

The kube-proxy add-on is deployed on each Amazon EC2 node in your Amazon EKS cluster. It maintains network rules on your nodes and enables network communication to your Pods. The add-on isn't deployed to Fargate nodes in your cluster. For more information, see kube-proxy in the Kubernetes documentation.

The following table lists the latest version of the Amazon EKS add-on type for each Kubernetes version.

Kubernetes version 1.30 1.29 1.28 1.27 1.26 1.25 1.24 1.23
v1.30.0-eksbuild.3 v1.29.1-eksbuild.2 v1.28.6-eksbuild.2 v1.27.10-eksbuild.2 v1.26.13-eksbuild.2 v1.25.16-eksbuild.3 v1.24.17-eksbuild.8 v1.23.17-eksbuild.9
Important

An earlier version of the documentation was incorrect. kube-proxy versions v1.28.5, v1.27.9, and v1.26.12 aren't available.

If you're self-managing this add-on, the versions in the table might not be the same as the available self-managed versions.

There are two types of the kube-proxy container image available for each Amazon EKS cluster version:

  • Default – This image type is based on a Debian-based Docker image that is maintained by the Kubernetes upstream community.

  • Minimal – This image type is based on a minimal base image maintained by Amazon EKS Distro, which contains minimal packages and doesn't have shells. For more information, see Amazon EKS Distro.

Latest available self-managed kube-proxy container image version for each Amazon EKS cluster version
Image type 1.30 1.29 1.28 1.27 1.26 1.25 1.24 1.23
kube-proxy (default type) Only minimal type is available Only minimal type is available Only minimal type is available Only minimal type is available Only minimal type is available Only minimal type is available v1.24.10-eksbuild.2 v1.23.16-eksbuild.2
kube-proxy (minimal type) v1.30.0-minimal-eksbuild.3 v1.29.1-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.28.6-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.27.10-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.26.13-minimal-eksbuild.2 v1.25.16-minimal-eksbuild.3 v1.24.17-minimal-eksbuild.4 v1.23.17-minimal-eksbuild.5
Important
  • The default image type isn't available for Kubernetes version 1.25 and later. You must use the minimal image type.

  • When you update an Amazon EKS add-on type, you specify a valid Amazon EKS add-on version, which might not be a version listed in this table. This is because Amazon EKS add-on versions don't always match container image versions specified when updating the self-managed type of this add-on. When you update the self-managed type of this add-on, you specify a valid container image version listed in this table.

Prerequisites

Considerations
  • Kube-proxy on an Amazon EKS cluster has the same compatibility and skew policy as Kubernetes. Learn how to Retrieve addon version compatibility.

  • Kube-proxy must be the same minor version as kubelet on your Amazon EC2 nodes.

  • Kube-proxy can't be later than the minor version of your cluster's control plane.

  • If you recently updated your cluster to a new Kubernetes minor version, then update your Amazon EC2 nodes to the same minor version before updating kube-proxy to the same minor version as your nodes.

To update the kube-proxy self-managed add-on
  1. Confirm that you have the self-managed type of the add-on installed on your cluster. Replace my-cluster with the name of your cluster.

    aws eks describe-addon --cluster-name my-cluster --addon-name kube-proxy --query addon.addonVersion --output text

    If an error message is returned, you have the self-managed type of the add-on installed on your cluster. The remaining steps in this topic are for updating the self-managed type of the add-on. If a version number is returned, you have the Amazon EKS type of the add-on installed on your cluster. To update it, use the procedure in Updating an add-on, rather than using the procedure in this topic. If you're not familiar with the differences between the add-on types, see Amazon EKS add-ons.

  2. See which version of the container image is currently installed on your cluster.

    kubectl describe daemonset kube-proxy -n kube-system | grep Image

    An example output is as follows.

    Image:    602401143452.dkr.ecr.region-code.amazonaws.com/eks/kube-proxy:v1.29.1-eksbuild.2

    In the example output, v1.29.1-eksbuild.2 is the version installed on the cluster.

  3. Update the kube-proxy add-on by replacing 602401143452 and region-code with the values from your output. in the previous step Replace v1.30.0-eksbuild.3 with the kube-proxy version listed in the Latest available self-managed kube-proxy container image version for each Amazon EKS cluster version table. You can specify a version number for the default or minimal image type.

    kubectl set image daemonset.apps/kube-proxy -n kube-system kube-proxy=602401143452.dkr.ecr.region-code.amazonaws.com/eks/kube-proxy:v1.30.0-eksbuild.3

    An example output is as follows.

    daemonset.apps/kube-proxy image updated
  4. Confirm that the new version is now installed on your cluster.

    kubectl describe daemonset kube-proxy -n kube-system | grep Image | cut -d ":" -f 3

    An example output is as follows.

    v1.30.0-eksbuild.3
  5. If you're using x86 and Arm nodes in the same cluster and your cluster was deployed before August 17, 2020. Then, edit your kube-proxy manifest to include a node selector for multiple hardware architectures with the following command. This is a one-time operation. After you've added the selector to your manifest, you don't need to add it each time you update the add-on. If your cluster was deployed on or after August 17, 2020, then kube-proxy is already multi-architecture capable.

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset/kube-proxy

    Add the following node selector to the file in the editor and then save the file. For an example of where to include this text in the editor, see the CNI manifest file on GitHub. This enables Kubernetes to pull the correct hardware image based on the node's hardware architecture.

    - key: "kubernetes.io/arch" operator: In values: - amd64 - arm64
  6. If your cluster was originally created with Kubernetes version 1.14 or later, then you can skip this step because kube-proxy already includes this Affinity Rule. If you originally created an Amazon EKS cluster with Kubernetes version 1.13 or earlier and intend to use Fargate nodes in your cluster, then edit your kube-proxy manifest to include a NodeAffinity rule to prevent kube-proxy Pods from scheduling on Fargate nodes. This is a one-time edit. Once you've added the Affinity Rule to your manifest, you don't need to add it each time that you update the add-on. Edit your kube-proxy DaemonSet.

    kubectl edit -n kube-system daemonset/kube-proxy

    Add the following Affinity Rule to the DaemonSet spec section of the file in the editor and then save the file. For an example of where to include this text in the editor, see the CNI manifest file on GitHub.

    - key: eks.amazonaws.com/compute-type operator: NotIn values: - fargate