使用 Application Load Balancer 驗證使用者 - Elastic Load Balancing

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

使用 Application Load Balancer 驗證使用者

您可以設定 Application Load Balancer 器,以便在使用者存取您的應用程式時安全地驗證使用者。這可讓您將驗證使用者的工作卸載到您的負載平衡器,使得您的應用程式可以專注在商業邏輯上。

支援下列使用案例:

  • 透過與 OpenID Connect (OIDC) 相容的身分提供者 (IdP) 驗證使用者。

  • 透過社交驗證使用者 IdPs, 如亞馬遜, 臉書, 或谷歌, 通過 Amazon Cognito 支持的用戶池.

  • 透過 Amazon Cognito 支援的使用者集區使用 SAML、LDAP 或微軟 AD,透過公司身分識別驗證使用者。

準備使用符合 OIDC 標準的 IdP

如果您要搭配 Application Load Balancer 器使用符合 OIDC 標準的 IdP,請執行下列動作:

  • 在 IdP 中建立新 OIDC 應用程式。IdP 的 DNS 必須是可公開解析的。

  • 您必須設定用戶端 ID 和用戶端機密。

  • 取得 IdP 發佈的以下端點:授權、字符和使用者資訊。您可以在配置中找到此信息。

  • 在您的 IdP 應用程式中允許下列其中一個重新導向 URL (無論使用者將使用哪一個),其中 DNS 是負載平衡器的網域名稱,而 CNAME 是應用程式的 DNS 別名:

    • https://DNS/oauth2/idpresponse

    • https://CNAME/oauth2/idpresponse

準備使用 Amazon Cognito

如果您將 Amazon Cognito 使用者集區與 Application Load Balancer 器搭配使用,請執行下列動作:

  • 建立使用者集區。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《》Amazon Cognito user poolsAmazon Cognito 開發人員指南

  • 建立使用者集區用戶端。您必須設定用戶端來產生用戶端機密,使用代碼授予流程,並支援負載平衡器使用的相同 OAuth 範圍。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《》配置使用者集區應用程式用戶端。Amazon Cognito 開發人員指南

  • 建立使用者集區物件網域。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《》為您的使用者集區新增網域名稱Amazon Cognito 開發人員指南

  • 驗證請求的範圍傳回 ID 字符。例如,預設範圍 openid 會傳回 ID 字符,但 aws.cognito.signin.user.admin 範圍則不會。

  • 若要聯合社交或公司 IdP,請在聯合區段啟用 IdP。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《》新增社交登入至使用者集區或者將使用 SAML IdP 的登入資訊新增至使用者集區Amazon Cognito 開發人員指南

  • 在 Amazon Cognito 的回呼 URL 欄位中允許下列重新導向 URL,其中 DNS 是負載平衡器的網域名稱,CNAME 是應用程式的 DNS 別名 (如果您使用的是):

    • https://DNS/oauth2/idpresponse

    • https://CNAME/oauth2/idpresponse

  • 在 IdP 應用程式的回呼 URL 上允許您的使用者集區網域。針對 IdP 使用此格式。例如:

    • https://domain-prefix.auth.region.amazoncognito.com/saml2/idpresponse

    • HTTPS://user-pool-domain/oauth2/oauth2/oauth2/oauth2/oauth2/oauth2/

若要讓 IAM 使用者設定負載平衡器使用 Amazon Cognito 驗證使用者,您必須授與使用者呼叫cognito-idp:DescribeUserPoolClient動作。

準備使用 Amazon CloudFront

如果您使用的是,請啟用以下設定 CloudFront Application Load Balancer 前面的分佈:

  • 轉寄要求標頭 (全部) — 確保 CloudFront 不會快取已驗證要求的回應。這可避免在驗證工作階段過期後從快取中提供回應。或者,為了在啟用快取時降低此風險, CloudFront 分佈可以設置 time-to-live (TTL) 值要在驗證 Cookie 到期前過期。

  • 查詢字串轉送和快取 (全部) — 確保負載平衡器可存取使用者透過 IdP 驗證所需的查詢字串參數。

  • 餅乾轉發 (全部) — 確保 CloudFront 將所有驗證 Cookie 轉寄至負載平衡器。

設定使用者驗證

您透過為一個或多個接聽程式規則建立驗證動作來設定使用者身分驗證。authenticate-cognitoauthenticate-oidc 動作類型僅支援使用 HTTPS 接聽程式。如需相應欄位的描述,請參閱AuthenticateCognitoActionConfigAuthenticateOidcActionConfigElastic Load Balancing API 參考版

負載平衡器會傳送工作階段 Cookie 給用戶端,以維護驗證狀態。此 Cookie 永遠包含 secure 屬性,因為使用者驗證需要 HTTPS 接聽程式。此 Cookie 包含具有 CORS (跨來源資源共享) 請求的 SameSite=None 屬性。

對於支援需要獨立用戶端驗證之多個應用程式的負載平衡器,每個具有驗證動作的接聽程式規則應具有唯一的 Cookie 名稱。這可確保用戶端在路由傳送至規則中指定的目標群組之前,一律會使用 IdP 進行驗證。

Application Load Balancer 不支援經過 URL 編碼的 Cookie 值不支援經過 URL 編碼的 Cookie 值。

依預設,SessionTimeout 欄位會設為 7 天。如果您需要較短的工作階段,您可以將工作階段逾時設定為最短至 1 秒。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 工作階段逾時

根據您的應用程式適當地設定 OnUnauthenticatedRequest 欄位。例如:

  • 需要使用者使用社交或企業身分登入的應用程式預設選項支援此選項,authenticate。如果使用者未登入,負載平衡器會將請求重新導向至 IdP 授權端點,並且 IdP 會提示使用者使用其使用者界面登入。

  • 提供個人化檢視給已登入的使用者或未登入之使用者的一般檢視的應用程式若要支援此類型的應用程式,請使用allow選項。如果使用者已登入,負載平衡器會提供使用者宣告,而應用程式可提供個人化的檢視。如果使用者未登入,負載平衡器會轉送不帶使用者宣告的請求,而應用程式可提供一般檢視。

  • 單頁應用程式 JavaScript 每隔幾秒鐘加載一次— 如果您使用deny選項中,負載平衡器會將 HTTP 401 未經授權的錯誤傳回給沒有驗證資訊的 AJAX 呼叫。但是,如果使用者已過期驗證資訊,則會將用戶端重新導向至 IdP 授權端點。

負載平衡器必須能夠與 IdP 字符端點 (TokenEndpoint) 和 IdP 使用者資訊端點 (UserInfoEndpoint) 通訊。驗證您的負載平衡器的安全群組和您的 VPC 的網路 ACL 允許對這些端點的傳出存取。驗證您的 VPC 具有網際網路存取。如果您有面對內部的負載平衡器,請使用 NAT 閘道來啟用負載平衡器對這些端點的存取。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《》NAT 閘道基本概念Amazon VPC User Guide

使用以下 create-rule 命令來設定使用者驗證。

aws elbv2 create-rule --listener-arn listener-arn --priority 10 \ --conditions Field=path-pattern,Values="/login" --actions file://actions.json

以下是actions.json指定的文件authenticate-oidc動作和forward動作。AuthenticationRequestExtraParams可讓您在驗證期間將額外的參數傳遞至 IdP。請依照您的身分識別提供者提供的說明文件來判斷支援的欄位

[{ "Type": "authenticate-oidc", "AuthenticateOidcConfig": { "Issuer": "https://idp-issuer.com", "AuthorizationEndpoint": "https://authorization-endpoint.com", "TokenEndpoint": "https://token-endpoint.com", "UserInfoEndpoint": "https://user-info-endpoint.com", "ClientId": "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz123456789", "ClientSecret": "123456789012345678901234567890", "SessionCookieName": "my-cookie", "SessionTimeout": 3600, "Scope": "email", "AuthenticationRequestExtraParams": { "display": "page", "prompt": "login" }, "OnUnauthenticatedRequest": "deny" }, "Order": 1 }, { "Type": "forward", "TargetGroupArn": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:targetgroup/target-group-name/target-group-id", "Order": 2 }]

下列是會指定 authenticate-cognito 動作和 forward 動作的 actions.json 檔案的範例。

[{ "Type": "authenticate-cognito", "AuthenticateCognitoConfig": { "UserPoolArn": "arn:aws:cognito-idp:region-code:account-id:userpool/user-pool-id", "UserPoolClientId": "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz123456789", "UserPoolDomain": "userPoolDomain1", "SessionCookieName": "my-cookie", "SessionTimeout": 3600, "Scope": "email", "AuthenticationRequestExtraParams": { "display": "page", "prompt": "login" }, "OnUnauthenticatedRequest": "deny" }, "Order": 1 }, { "Type": "forward", "TargetGroupArn": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:targetgroup/target-group-name/target-group-id", "Order": 2 }]

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 接聽程式規則

身分驗證流程

下列網路圖是 Application Load Balancer 器如何使用 OIDC 驗證使用者的視覺化表示。


                    Application Load Balancer 器如何透過 OIDC 驗證使用者

下面的編號項目,突出顯示和解釋在前面的網絡圖中顯示的元素。

  1. 使用者將 HTTPS 要求傳送至 Application Load Balancer 器後方託管的網站。當規則的條件滿足某個驗證動作時,負載平衡器會請求標頭中檢查身分驗證工作階段 Cookie。

  2. 如果 Cookie 不存在,負載平衡器會將使用者重新導向到 IdP 授權端點,使得 IdP 可驗證使用者。

  3. 驗證使用者之後,IdP 會使用授權授與代碼將使用者傳回負載平衡器。

  4. 負載平衡器向 IdP 令牌端點提供授權授予代碼。

  5. 在收到有效的授權授與代碼後,IdP 會向 Application Load Balancer 器提供 ID 權杖和存取權杖。

  6. 然後,Application Load Balancer 將訪問令牌發送到用戶信息端點。

  7. 用戶信息端點將訪問令牌交換為用戶聲明。

  8. Application Load Balancer 器會重新導向使用者AWSELB原始 URI 的驗證工作階段 Cookie。由於大多數瀏覽器將 Cookie 大小限制為 4K,因此負載平衡器會將大小大於 4K 的 Cookie 分割為多個 Cookie。如果從 IdP 收到的使用者宣告和存取字符的總大小大於 11K 位元組,負載平衡器會傳回 HTTP 500 錯誤給用戶端,並且遞增 ELBAuthUserClaimsSizeExceeded 指標。

  9. Application Load Balancer 器會驗證 Cookie,並將使用者資訊轉送至X-AMZN-OIDC-*HTTP 標頭設定。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 用戶聲明編碼和簽名驗證

  10. 目標會將回應傳送回 Application Load Balancer 器。

  11. Application Load Balancer 器會傳送最終回應給使用者。

每個新的請求都會經歷步驟 1 到 11,而後續的請求則會經過步驟 9 到 11。也就是說,只要 Cookie 尚未過期,每個後續請求都會從步驟 9 開始。

如果 IdP 在 ID 字符中提供有效的重新整理字符,負載平衡器會儲存該重新整理字符,並在每次存取字符過期時使用它來重新整理使用者宣告,直到工作階段逾時或 IdP 重新整理失敗。如果使用者登出,重新整理會失敗,並且負載平衡器會將使用者重新導向至 IdP 授權端點。這可讓負載平衡器在使用者登出後捨棄工作階段。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 工作階段逾時

注意

Cookie 到期時間與驗證工作階段到期時間不同。餅乾有效期是餅乾的一個屬性,它被設置為 40 年。長期到期的原因是為了確保瀏覽器始終重播 cookie。驗證工作階段的實際長度取決於在 Application Load Balancer 器上為驗證功能設定的工作階段逾時。此會話超時包含在身份驗證 cookie 值中,該值也經過加密。

用戶聲明編碼和簽名驗證

負載平衡器成功驗證使用者之後,它會將從 IdP 收到的使用者宣告傳送到目標。負載平衡器會簽署使用者宣告,讓應用程式可以驗證簽章並驗證宣告是由負載平衡器傳送。

負載平衡器會新增下列 HTTP 標頭:

x-amzn-oidc-accesstoken

來自字符端點的存取字符,純文字格式。

x-amzn-oidc-identity

來自使用者資訊端點的主旨欄位 (sub),純文字格式。

x-amzn-oidc-data

使用者宣告,JSON Web 字符 (JWT) 格式。

訪問令牌和用戶聲明與 ID 令牌不同。訪問令牌和用戶聲明僅允許訪問服務器資源,而 ID 令牌攜帶其他信息來驗證用戶。應用程序負載平衡器對用戶進行身份驗證,並僅將訪問令牌和聲明傳遞給後端,但不會傳遞 ID 令牌信息。

這些字符採用 JWT 格式,但不是 ID 字符。JWT 格式包含使用 base64 URL 編碼的標頭、承載和簽章,而且尾端包含填補字元。JWT 簽章為 ECDSA + P-256 + SHA256。

JWT 標頭是 JSON 物件,具有下列欄位:

{ "alg": "algorithm", "kid": "12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789012", "signer": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:loadbalancer/app/load-balancer-name/load-balancer-id", "iss": "url", "client": "client-id", "exp": "expiration" }

JWT 承載為 JSON 物件,其中包含從 IdP 使用者資訊端點收到的使用者宣告。

{ "sub": "1234567890", "name": "name", "email": "alias@example.com", ... }

由於負載平衡器不會加密使用者宣告,我們建議您將目標群組設定為使用 HTTPS。如果將您的目標群組設定為使用 HTTP,請務必使用安全群組限制對您的負載平衡器的流量。我們也建議您在根據宣告執行任何授權之前驗證簽章。要獲取公鑰,請從 JWT 標頭獲取密鑰 ID,然後使用它從端點查找公鑰。每個端點的端點AWS區域如下:

https://public-keys.auth.elb.region.amazonaws.com/key-id

對於AWS GovCloud (US),端點如下:

https://s3-us-gov-west-1.amazonaws.com/aws-elb-public-keys-prod-us-gov-west-1/key-id https://s3-us-gov-east-1.amazonaws.com/aws-elb-public-keys-prod-us-gov-east-1/key-id

下列範例顯示如何在 Python 3.x 中取得公有金鑰:

import jwt import requests import base64 import json # Step 1: Get the key id from JWT headers (the kid field) encoded_jwt = headers.dict['x-amzn-oidc-data'] jwt_headers = encoded_jwt.split('.')[0] decoded_jwt_headers = base64.b64decode(jwt_headers) decoded_jwt_headers = decoded_jwt_headers.decode("utf-8") decoded_json = json.loads(decoded_jwt_headers) kid = decoded_json['kid'] # Step 2: Get the public key from regional endpoint url = 'https://public-keys.auth.elb.' + region + '.amazonaws.com/' + kid req = requests.get(url) pub_key = req.text # Step 3: Get the payload payload = jwt.decode(encoded_jwt, pub_key, algorithms=['ES256'])

下列範例顯示如何在 Python 2.7 中取得公有金鑰:

import jwt import requests import base64 import json # Step 1: Get the key id from JWT headers (the kid field) encoded_jwt = headers.dict['x-amzn-oidc-data'] jwt_headers = encoded_jwt.split('.')[0] decoded_jwt_headers = base64.b64decode(jwt_headers) decoded_json = json.loads(decoded_jwt_headers) kid = decoded_json['kid'] # Step 2: Get the public key from regional endpoint url = 'https://public-keys.auth.elb.' + region + '.amazonaws.com/' + kid req = requests.get(url) pub_key = req.text # Step 3: Get the payload payload = jwt.decode(encoded_jwt, pub_key, algorithms=['ES256'])

請注意,標準程式庫與 JWT 格式的 Application Load Balancer 器驗證 Token 中包含的填充不相容。

逾時

工作階段逾時

重新整理字符和工作階段逾時的共同運作方式如下所示:

  • 如果工作階段逾時短於存取字符過期,負載平衡器會採用該工作階段逾時。如果使用者有 IdP 的主動工作階段,應該就不會提示使用者再次登入。否則,系統會將使用者重新導向至登入。

    • 如果 IdP 工作階段逾時長於 Application Load Balancer 器工作階段逾時,使用者不需要提供認證即可重新登入。而是使用新的授權授與代碼將 IdP 重新導向回 Application Load Balancer 器。即使沒有重新登錄,授權碼也是一次性使用。

    • 如果 IdP 工作階段逾時等於或短於「Application Load Balancer 器」工作階段逾時,系統會要求使用者提供認證以重新登入。使用者登入後,IdP 會使用新的授權授與代碼重新導向回 Application Load Balancer 器,其餘的驗證流程會繼續進行,直到要求到達後端為止。

  • 如果工作階段逾時時間長於存取權杖到期時間,且 IdP 不支援重新整理權杖,則負載平衡器會保留驗證工作階段,直到逾時為止。然後,它讓用戶再次登錄。

  • 如果工作階段逾時為長於存取字符過期,並且 IdP 支援重新整理字符,負載平衡器會在每次存取字符過期時重新整理該使用者工作階段。負載平衡器只會在驗證工作階段逾或重新整理流程失敗時,才會將使用者再次登入。

用戶端登入逾時

用戶端必須在 15 分鐘內啟動並完成驗證程序。如果用戶端無法在 15 分鐘內完成驗證,則會從負載平衡器收到 HTTP 401 錯誤。此逾時值無法變更或移除。

例如,如果使用者透過 Application Load Balancer 器載入登入頁面,則必須在 15 分鐘內完成登入程序。如果使用者等待 15 分鐘逾時後嘗試登入,負載平衡器會傳回 HTTP 401 錯誤。使用者必須重新整理頁面並嘗試再次登入。

驗證登出

當應用程式需要將已驗證的使用者登出時,您應該將驗證工作階段 Cookie 的過期時間設定為 -1,並將用戶端重新導向至 IdP 登出端點 (如果 IdP 有支援)。為了防止使用者重複使用已刪除的 Cookie,建議您將存取字符設定為合理的簡短過期時間。如果用戶端為負載平衡器提供具有已過期存取權杖且具有非 Null 重新整理權杖的工作階段 Cookie,則負載平衡器會聯絡 IdP 以判斷使用者是否仍然登入。

用戶端登出登陸頁面是未經驗證的頁面。這表示它不能落後於需要驗證的 Application Load Balancer 器規則之後。

  • 將要求傳送至目標時,應用程式必須將所有驗證 Cookie 的到期時間設定為 -1。應用程式負載平衡器支援最大 16K 的 Cookie,因此最多可建立 4 個碎片以傳送給用戶端。

    • 如果 IdP 具有登出端點,則應發出重新導向至 IdP 登出端點,例如登出端點記錄在Amazon Cognito 開發人員指南

    • 如果 IdP 沒有登出端點,請求會返回到用戶端登出登陸頁面,並重新啟動登入程序。

  • 假設 IdP 具有登出端點,則 IdP 必須使存取權杖和重新整理權杖過期,並將使用者重新導向回用戶端登出登入頁面。

  • 後續要求會遵循原始驗證流程。

Authenticate users using an Application Load Balancer - Elastic Load Balancing

Authenticate users using an Application Load Balancer

You can configure an Application Load Balancer to securely authenticate users as they access your applications. This enables you to offload the work of authenticating users to your load balancer so that your applications can focus on their business logic.

The following use cases are supported:

  • Authenticate users through an identity provider (IdP) that is OpenID Connect (OIDC) compliant.

  • Authenticate users through social IdPs, such as Amazon, Facebook, or Google, through the user pools supported by Amazon Cognito.

  • Authenticate users through corporate identities, using SAML, LDAP, or Microsoft AD, through the user pools supported by Amazon Cognito.

Prepare to use an OIDC-compliant IdP

Do the following if you are using an OIDC-compliant IdP with your Application Load Balancer:

  • Create a new OIDC app in your IdP. You must configure a client ID and a client secret.

  • Get the following endpoints published by the IdP: authorization, token, and user info. You can locate this information in the config.

  • Allow one of the following redirect URLs in your IdP app, whichever your users will use, where DNS is the domain name of your load balancer and CNAME is the DNS alias for your application:

    • https://DNS/oauth2/idpresponse

    • https://CNAME/oauth2/idpresponse

Prepare to use Amazon Cognito

Do the following if you are using Amazon Cognito user pools with your Application Load Balancer:

  • Create a user pool. For more information, see Amazon Cognito user pools in the Amazon Cognito Developer Guide.

  • Create a user pool client. You must configure the client to generate a client secret, use code grant flow, and support the same OAuth scopes that the load balancer uses. For more information, see Configuring a user pool app client in the Amazon Cognito Developer Guide.

  • Create a user pool domain. For more information, see Adding a Domain name for your user pool in the Amazon Cognito Developer Guide.

  • Verify that the requested scope returns an ID token. For example, the default scope, openid returns an ID token but the aws.cognito.signin.user.admin scope does not.

  • To federate with a social or corporate IdP, enable the IdP in the federation section. For more information, see Add social sign-in to a user pool or Add sign-in with a SAML IdP to a user pool in the Amazon Cognito Developer Guide.

  • Allow the following redirect URLs in the callback URL field for Amazon Cognito, where DNS is the domain name of your load balancer, and CNAME is the DNS alias for your application (if you are using one):

    • https://DNS/oauth2/idpresponse

    • https://CNAME/oauth2/idpresponse

  • Allow your user pool domain on your IdP app's callback URL. Use the format for your IdP. For example:

    • https://domain-prefix.auth.region.amazoncognito.com/saml2/idpresponse

    • https://user-pool-domain/oauth2/idpresponse

To enable an IAM user to configure a load balancer to use Amazon Cognito to authenticate users, you must grant the user permission to call the cognito-idp:DescribeUserPoolClient action.

Prepare to use Amazon CloudFront

Enable the following settings if you are using a CloudFront distribution in front of your Application Load Balancer:

  • Forward request headers (all) — Ensures that CloudFront does not cache responses for authenticated requests. This prevents them from being served from the cache after the authentication session expires. Alternatively, to reduce this risk while caching is enabled, owners of a CloudFront distribution can set the time-to-live (TTL) value to expire before the authentication cookie expires.

  • Query string forwarding and caching (all) — Ensures that the load balancer has access to the query string parameters required to authenticate the user with the IdP.

  • Cookie forwarding (all) — Ensures that CloudFront forwards all authentication cookies to the load balancer.

Configure user authentication

You configure user authentication by creating an authenticate action for one or more listener rules. The authenticate-cognito and authenticate-oidc action types are supported only with HTTPS listeners. For descriptions of the corresponding fields, see AuthenticateCognitoActionConfig and AuthenticateOidcActionConfig in the Elastic Load Balancing API Reference version 2015-12-01.

The load balancer sends a session cookie to the client to maintain authentication status. This cookie always contains the secure attribute, because user authentication requires an HTTPS listener. This cookie contains the SameSite=None attribute with CORS (cross-origin resource sharing) requests.

For a load balancer supporting multiple applications that require independent client authentication, each listener rule with an authenticate action should have a unique cookie name. This ensures that clients are always authenticated with the IdP before being routed to the target group specified in the rule.

Application Load Balancers do not support cookie values that are URL encoded.

By default, the SessionTimeout field is set to 7 days. If you want shorter sessions, you can configure a session timeout as short as 1 second. For more information, see Session timeout.

Set the OnUnauthenticatedRequest field as appropriate for your application. For example:

  • Applications that require the user to log in using a social or corporate identity—This is supported by the default option, authenticate. If the user is not logged in, the load balancer redirects the request to the IdP authorization endpoint and the IdP prompts the user to log in using its user interface.

  • Applications that provide a personalized view to a user that is logged in or a general view to a user that is not logged in—To support this type of application, use the allow option. If the user is logged in, the load balancer provides the user claims and the application can provide a personalized view. If the user is not logged in, the load balancer forwards the request without the user claims and the application can provide the general view.

  • Single-page applications with JavaScript that loads every few seconds—If you use the deny option, the load balancer returns an HTTP 401 Unauthorized error to AJAX calls that have no authentication information. But if the user has expired authentication information, it redirects the client to the IdP authorization endpoint.

The load balancer must be able to communicate with the IdP token endpoint (TokenEndpoint) and the IdP user info endpoint (UserInfoEndpoint). Verify that the security groups for your load balancer and the network ACLs for your VPC allow outbound access to these endpoints. Verify that your VPC has internet access. If you have an internal-facing load balancer, use a NAT gateway to enable the load balancer to access these endpoints. For more information, see NAT gateway basics in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

Use the following create-rule command to configure user authentication.

aws elbv2 create-rule --listener-arn listener-arn --priority 10 \ --conditions Field=path-pattern,Values="/login" --actions file://actions.json

The following is an example of the actions.json file that specifies an authenticate-oidc action and a forward action. AuthenticationRequestExtraParams allows you to pass extra parameters to an IdP during authentication. Please follow documentation provided by your identity provider to determine the fields that are supported

[{ "Type": "authenticate-oidc", "AuthenticateOidcConfig": { "Issuer": "https://idp-issuer.com", "AuthorizationEndpoint": "https://authorization-endpoint.com", "TokenEndpoint": "https://token-endpoint.com", "UserInfoEndpoint": "https://user-info-endpoint.com", "ClientId": "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz123456789", "ClientSecret": "123456789012345678901234567890", "SessionCookieName": "my-cookie", "SessionTimeout": 3600, "Scope": "email", "AuthenticationRequestExtraParams": { "display": "page", "prompt": "login" }, "OnUnauthenticatedRequest": "deny" }, "Order": 1 }, { "Type": "forward", "TargetGroupArn": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:targetgroup/target-group-name/target-group-id", "Order": 2 }]

The following is an example of the actions.json file that specifies an authenticate-cognito action and a forward action.

[{ "Type": "authenticate-cognito", "AuthenticateCognitoConfig": { "UserPoolArn": "arn:aws:cognito-idp:region-code:account-id:userpool/user-pool-id", "UserPoolClientId": "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz123456789", "UserPoolDomain": "userPoolDomain1", "SessionCookieName": "my-cookie", "SessionTimeout": 3600, "Scope": "email", "AuthenticationRequestExtraParams": { "display": "page", "prompt": "login" }, "OnUnauthenticatedRequest": "deny" }, "Order": 1 }, { "Type": "forward", "TargetGroupArn": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:targetgroup/target-group-name/target-group-id", "Order": 2 }]

For more information, see Listener rules.

Authentication flow

The following network diagram is a visual representation of how an Application Load Balancer uses OIDC to authenticate users.


                    How the Application Load Balancer authenticates users via OIDC

The numbered items below, highlight and explain elements shown in the preceding network diagram.

  1. User sends an HTTPS request to a website hosted behind an Application Load Balancer. When the conditions for a rule with an authenticate action are met, the load balancer checks for an authentication session cookie in the request headers.

  2. If the cookie is not present, the load balancer redirects the user to the IdP authorization endpoint so that the IdP can authenticate the user.

  3. After the user is authenticated, the IdP sends the user back to the load balancer with an authorization grant code.

  4. The load balancer presents the authorization grant code to the IdP token endpoint.

  5. Upon receiving a valid authorization grant code, the IdP provides the ID token and access token to the Application Load Balancer.

  6. The Application Load Balancer then sends the access token to the user info endpoint.

  7. The user info endpoint exchanges the access token for user claims.

  8. The Application Load Balancer redirects the user with the AWSELB authentication session cookie to the original URI. Because most browsers limit the cookie size to 4K, the load balancer shards a cookie that is greater than 4K in size into multiple cookies. If the total size of the user claims and access token received from the IdP is greater than 11K bytes in size, the load balancer returns an HTTP 500 error to the client and increments the ELBAuthUserClaimsSizeExceeded metric.

  9. The Application Load Balancer validates the cookie and forwards the user info to targets in the X-AMZN-OIDC-* HTTP headers set. For more information, see User claims encoding and signature verification.

  10. The target sends a response back to the Application Load Balancer.

  11. The Application Load Balancer sends the final response to the user.

Every new request goes through steps 1 through 11, while subsequent requests go through steps 9 through 11. That is, every subsequent request starts at step 9 as long as the cookie has not expired.

If the IdP provides a valid refresh token in the ID token, the load balancer saves the refresh token and uses it to refresh the user claims each time the access token expires, until the session times out or the IdP refresh fails. If the user logs out, the refresh fails and the load balancer redirects the user to the IdP authorization endpoint. This enables the load balancer to drop sessions after the user logs out. For more information, see Session timeout.

Note

The cookie expiry is different from the authentication session expiry. The cookie expiry is an attribute of the cookie, which is set to 40 years. The reason for the long expiry is to ensure that the browser always replays the cookie. The actual length of the authentication session is determined by the session timeout configured on the Application Load Balancer for the authentication feature. This session timeout is included in the Auth cookie value, which is also encrypted.

User claims encoding and signature verification

After your load balancer authenticates a user successfully, it sends the user claims received from the IdP to the target. The load balancer signs the user claim so that applications can verify the signature and verify that the claims were sent by the load balancer.

The load balancer adds the following HTTP headers:

x-amzn-oidc-accesstoken

The access token from the token endpoint, in plain text.

x-amzn-oidc-identity

The subject field (sub) from the user info endpoint, in plain text.

x-amzn-oidc-data

The user claims, in JSON web tokens (JWT) format.

Access tokens and user claims are different from ID tokens. Access tokens and user claims only allow access to server resources, while ID tokens carry additional information to authenticate a user. The Application Load Balancer authenticates the user and only passes access tokens and claims to the backend but does not pass the ID token information.

These tokens follow the JWT format but are not ID tokens. The JWT format includes a header, payload, and signature that are base64 URL encoded and includes padding characters at the end. The JWT signature is ECDSA + P-256 + SHA256.

The JWT header is a JSON object with the following fields:

{ "alg": "algorithm", "kid": "12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456789012", "signer": "arn:aws:elasticloadbalancing:region-code:account-id:loadbalancer/app/load-balancer-name/load-balancer-id", "iss": "url", "client": "client-id", "exp": "expiration" }

The JWT payload is a JSON object that contains the user claims received from the IdP user info endpoint.

{ "sub": "1234567890", "name": "name", "email": "alias@example.com", ... }

Because the load balancer does not encrypt the user claims, we recommend that you configure the target group to use HTTPS. If you configure your target group to use HTTP, be sure to restrict the traffic to your load balancer using security groups. We also recommend that you verify the signature before doing any authorization based on the claims. To get the public key, get the key ID from the JWT header and use it to look up the public key from the endpoint. The endpoint for each AWS Region is as follows:

https://public-keys.auth.elb.region.amazonaws.com/key-id

For AWS GovCloud (US), the endpoints are as follows:

https://s3-us-gov-west-1.amazonaws.com/aws-elb-public-keys-prod-us-gov-west-1/key-id https://s3-us-gov-east-1.amazonaws.com/aws-elb-public-keys-prod-us-gov-east-1/key-id

The following example shows how to get the public key in Python 3.x:

import jwt import requests import base64 import json # Step 1: Get the key id from JWT headers (the kid field) encoded_jwt = headers.dict['x-amzn-oidc-data'] jwt_headers = encoded_jwt.split('.')[0] decoded_jwt_headers = base64.b64decode(jwt_headers) decoded_jwt_headers = decoded_jwt_headers.decode("utf-8") decoded_json = json.loads(decoded_jwt_headers) kid = decoded_json['kid'] # Step 2: Get the public key from regional endpoint url = 'https://public-keys.auth.elb.' + region + '.amazonaws.com/' + kid req = requests.get(url) pub_key = req.text # Step 3: Get the payload payload = jwt.decode(encoded_jwt, pub_key, algorithms=['ES256'])

The following example shows how to get the public key in Python 2.7:

import jwt import requests import base64 import json # Step 1: Get the key id from JWT headers (the kid field) encoded_jwt = headers.dict['x-amzn-oidc-data'] jwt_headers = encoded_jwt.split('.')[0] decoded_jwt_headers = base64.b64decode(jwt_headers) decoded_json = json.loads(decoded_jwt_headers) kid = decoded_json['kid'] # Step 2: Get the public key from regional endpoint url = 'https://public-keys.auth.elb.' + region + '.amazonaws.com/' + kid req = requests.get(url) pub_key = req.text # Step 3: Get the payload payload = jwt.decode(encoded_jwt, pub_key, algorithms=['ES256'])

Note that standard libraries are not compatible with padding that is included in the Application Load Balancer authentication token in JWT format.

Session timeout

The refresh token and the session timeout work together as follows:

  • If the session timeout is shorter than the access token expiration, the load balancer honors the session timeout. If the user has an active session with the IdP, the user might not be prompted to log in again. Otherwise, the user is redirected to log in.

    • If the IdP session timeout is longer than the Application Load Balancer session timeout, the user does not have to supply credentials to log in again. Instead, the IdP redirects back to the Application Load Balancer with a new authorization grant code. Authorization codes are single use, even if there is no re-login.

    • If the IdP session timeout is equal to or shorter than the Application Load Balancer session timeout, the user is asked to supply credentials to log in again. After the user logs in, IdP redirects back to the Application Load Balancer with a new authorization grant code, and the rest of the authentication flow continues until the request reaches the backend.

  • If the session timeout is longer than the access token expiration and the IdP does not support refresh tokens, the load balancer keeps the authentication session until it times out. Then, it has the user log in again.

  • If the session timeout is longer than the access token expiration and the IdP supports refresh tokens, the load balancer refreshes the user session each time the access token expires. The load balancer has the user log in again only after the authentication session times out or the refresh flow fails.

Authentication logout

When an application needs to log out an authenticated user, it should set the expiration time of the authentication session cookie to -1 and redirect the client to the IdP logout endpoint (if the IdP supports one). To prevent users from reusing a deleted cookie, we recommend that you configure as short an expiration time for the access token as is reasonable. If a client provides a load balancer with a session cookie that has an expired access token with a non-NULL refresh token, the load balancer contacts the IdP to determine whether the user is still logged in.

The client logout landing page is an unauthenticated page. This means that it cannot be behind an Application Load Balancer rule that requires authentication.

  • When a request is sent to the target, the application must set the expiry to -1 for all authentication cookies. Application Load Balancers support cookies up to 16K in size and can therefore create up to 4 shards to send to the client.

    • If the IdP has a logout endpoint, it should issue a redirect to the IdP logout endpoint, for example, the LOGOUT Endpoint documented in the Amazon Cognito Developer Guide.

    • If the IdP does not have a logout endpoint, the request goes back to the client logout landing page, and the login process is restarted.

  • Assuming that the IdP has a logout endpoint, the IdP must expire access tokens and refresh tokens, and redirect the user back to the client logout landing page.

  • Subsequent requests follow the original authentication flow.