了解节点类型:主节点、核心节点和任务节点 - Amazon EMR

了解节点类型:主节点、核心节点和任务节点

通过此节,您可以了解 Amazon EMR 如何使用其中每个节点类型并将其作为集群容量规划的基础。

主节点

主节点管理集群,通常运行分布式应用程序的主要组件。例如,主节点运行 YARN ResourceManager 服务以管理应用程序的资源。此外,它还运行 HDFS NameNode 服务、跟踪提交到集群的任务的状态,并监控实例组的运行状况。

要监控集群的进度并直接与应用程序交互,您可以作为 Hadoop 用户通过 SSH 连接到主节点。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 SSH 连接到主节点 (master node) 。通过连接到主节点,您可以直接访问目录和文件,如 Hadoop 日志文件。有关更多信息,请参阅查看日志文件。您还可以查看应用程序以主节点上运行的网站形式发布的用户界面。有关更多信息,请参阅查看 Amazon EMR 集群上托管的 Web 界面

注意

使用 Amazon EMR 5.23.0 以及更高版本,您可以启动具有三个主节点的集群,以支持应用程序的高可用性(如 YARN Resource Manager、HDFS NameNode、Spark、Hive 和 Ganglia)。使用此功能,主节点不再发生潜在的单点故障。如果其中一个主节点出现故障,Amazon EMR 会自动故障转移到备用主节点,并将出现故障的主节点替换为具有相同配置和引导操作的新主节点。有关更多信息,请参阅计划和配置主节点

核心节点

核心节点由主节点进行管理。核心节点运行数据节点守护程序以将数据存储作为 Hadoop Distributed File System(HDFS)的一部分进行协调。它们还运行任务跟踪守护程序,并对安装的应用程序所需的数据执行其它并行计算任务。例如,核心节点运行 YARN NodeManager 守护程序、Hadoop MapReduce 任务和 Spark 执行器。

每个集群只能有一个核心实例组或实例机群,但可在实例组或实例机群中的多个 Amazon EC2 实例上运行多个节点。对于实例组,您可以在集群运行时添加和删除 Amazon EC2 实例。您还可以设置弹性伸缩,以根据指标的值来添加实例。有关使用实例组配置添加和删除 Amazon EC2 实例的更多信息,请参阅扩展集群资源

对于实例集,您可以通过为按需实例与竞价型实例修改实例集的目标容量来高效地添加和删除实例。有关目标容量的更多信息,请参阅实例集选项

警告

从运行的核心节点删除 HDFS 守护程序或终止核心节点将面临数据丢失的风险。配置核心节点以使用竞价型实例时,请务必小心。有关更多信息,请参阅什么时候应该使用竞价型实例?

任务节点

您可以使用任务节点来支持对数据执行并行计算任务,例如 Hadoop MapReduce 任务和 Spark 执行程序。任务节点不运行数据节点守护程序,也不在 HDFS 中存储数据。与使用核心节点一样,您可以将任务节点添加到集群,方式是将 Amazon EC2 实例添加到现有的统一实例组或修改任务实例机群的目标容量。

对于统一实例组配置,您最多可拥有 48 个任务实例组。通过此方式添加实例组,使您能够将 Amazon EC2 实例类型和定价选项混合在一起,例如按需型实例和 Spot 实例。这使您能够灵活且经济有效地响应工作负载要求。

对于实例集配置,提供了混合实例类型和购买选项的内置功能,因此仅有一个任务实例集。

由于竞价型实例通常用于运行任务节点,而 Amazon EMR 具有调度 YARN 任务的默认功能,因此在竞价型实例上运行的任务节点终止时,正在运行的任务不会失败。Amazon EMR 通过允许应用程序主进程仅在核心节点上运行来实现这一目标。应用程序主进程控制正在运行的任务,并且需要在任务的整个生命周期内保持活动状态。

Amazon EMR 发行版 5.19.0 及更高版本使用内置的 YARN 节点标注功能来实现这一目标。(早期版本使用代码补丁)。yarn-site 中的属性和 capacity-scheduler 配置分类是默认配置,以便 YARN capacity-scheduler 和 fair-scheduler 利用节点标注。Amazon EMR 自动为核心节点添加 CORE 标注,并设置属性,以便只在具有 CORE 标签的节点上安排应用程序主节点。手动修改 yarn-site 和 capacity-scheduler 配置分类中的相关属性,或直接在关联的 XML 文件中修改相关属性,可能会破坏此功能或调整此功能。

从 Amazon EMR 6.x 发行版系列开始,默认情况下禁用 YARN 节点标注功能。默认情况下,应用程序主进程可以在核心节点和任务节点上运行。您可以通过配置以下属性来启用 YARN 节点标注功能:

  • yarn.node-labels.enabled: true

  • yarn.node-labels.am.default-node-label-expression: 'CORE'

有关特定属性的信息,请参阅用于防止因任务节点竞价型实例终止而导致任务失败的 Amazon EMR 设置

Understand node types: master, core, and task nodes - Amazon EMR

Understand node types: master, core, and task nodes

Use this section to understand how Amazon EMR uses each of these node types and as a foundation for cluster capacity planning.

Master node

The master node manages the cluster and typically runs master components of distributed applications. For example, the master node runs the YARN ResourceManager service to manage resources for applications. It also runs the HDFS NameNode service, tracks the status of jobs submitted to the cluster, and monitors the health of the instance groups.

To monitor the progress of a cluster and interact directly with applications, you can connect to the master node over SSH as the Hadoop user. For more information, see Connect to the master node using SSH. Connecting to the master node allows you to access directories and files, such as Hadoop log files, directly. For more information, see View log files. You can also view user interfaces that applications publish as websites running on the master node. For more information, see View web interfaces hosted on Amazon EMR clusters.

Note

With Amazon EMR 5.23.0 and later, you can launch a cluster with three master nodes to support high availability of applications like YARN Resource Manager, HDFS Name Node, Spark, Hive, and Ganglia. The master node is no longer a potential single point of failure with this feature. If one of the master nodes fails, Amazon EMR automatically fails over to a standby master node and replaces the failed master node with a new one with the same configuration and bootstrap actions. For more information, see Plan and Configure Master Nodes.

Core nodes

Core nodes are managed by the master node. Core nodes run the Data Node daemon to coordinate data storage as part of the Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS). They also run the Task Tracker daemon and perform other parallel computation tasks on data that installed applications require. For example, a core node runs YARN NodeManager daemons, Hadoop MapReduce tasks, and Spark executors.

There is only one core instance group or instance fleet per cluster, but there can be multiple nodes running on multiple Amazon EC2 instances in the instance group or instance fleet. With instance groups, you can add and remove Amazon EC2 instances while the cluster is running. You can also set up automatic scaling to add instances based on the value of a metric. For more information about adding and removing Amazon EC2 instances with the instance groups configuration, see Scaling cluster resources.

With instance fleets, you can effectively add and remove instances by modifying the instance fleet's target capacities for On-Demand and Spot accordingly. For more information about target capacities, see Instance fleet options.

Warning

Removing HDFS daemons from a running core node or terminating core nodes risks data loss. Use caution when configuring core nodes to use Spot Instances. For more information, see When should you use Spot Instances?.

Task nodes

You can use task nodes to add power to perform parallel computation tasks on data, such as Hadoop MapReduce tasks and Spark executors. Task nodes don't run the Data Node daemon, nor do they store data in HDFS. As with core nodes, you can add task nodes to a cluster by adding Amazon EC2 instances to an existing uniform instance group or by modifying target capacities for a task instance fleet.

With the uniform instance group configuration, you can have up to a total of 48 task instance groups. The ability to add instance groups in this way allows you to mix Amazon EC2 instance types and pricing options, such as On-Demand Instances and Spot Instances. This gives you flexibility to respond to workload requirements in a cost-effective way.

With the instance fleet configuration, the ability to mix instance types and purchasing options is built in, so there is only one task instance fleet.

Because Spot Instances are often used to run task nodes, Amazon EMR has default functionality for scheduling YARN jobs so that running jobs do not fail when task nodes running on Spot Instances are terminated. Amazon EMR does this by allowing application master processes to run only on core nodes. The application master process controls running jobs and needs to stay alive for the life of the job.

Amazon EMR release version 5.19.0 and later uses the built-in YARN node labels feature to achieve this. (Earlier versions used a code patch). Properties in the yarn-site and capacity-scheduler configuration classifications are configured by default so that the YARN capacity-scheduler and fair-scheduler take advantage of node labels. Amazon EMR automatically labels core nodes with the CORE label, and sets properties so that application masters are scheduled only on nodes with the CORE label. Manually modifying related properties in the yarn-site and capacity-scheduler configuration classifications, or directly in associated XML files, could break this feature or modify this functionality.

Beginning with Amazon EMR 6.x release series, the YARN node labels feature is disabled by default. The application master processes can run on both core and task nodes by default. You can enable the YARN node labels feature by configuring following properties:

  • yarn.node-labels.enabled: true

  • yarn.node-labels.am.default-node-label-expression: 'CORE'

For information about specific properties, see Amazon EMR settings to prevent job failure because of task node Spot Instance termination.