DeepAR+ 算法 - Amazon Forecast

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

DeepAR+ 算法

Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ 是一种监督学习算法,用于使用递归神经网络 (RNN) 来预测标量(一维)时间序列。经典预测方法,如自回归积分滑动平均模型 (ARIMA) 或指数平滑法 (ETS),将一个模型拟合到各个单独的时间序列,然后使用该模型外推时间序列到未来的情况。但是,在很多应用中,您有跨一组具有代表性单元的多个相似时间序列。这些时间序列分组需要不同的产品、服务器负载和网页请求。在此情况下,联合所有时间序列来训练单个模型会非常有益。DeepAR+ 采用此方法。当您的数据集包含数百个特征时间序列时,DeepAR+ 算法的效果将超过标准 ARIMA 和 ETS 方法。您还可以使用训练后的模型生成与其训练过的时间序列类似的新时间序列的预测。

Python 笔记

对于 a step-by-step 使用 Deepar+ 算法的指南,请参阅Depar+ 入门.

DeepAR+ 的工作原理

在训练过程中,DeepAR+ 将使用训练数据集和可选的测试数据集。它将使用测试数据集评估训练后的模型。通常,训练数据集和测试数据集不必包含相同的时间序列集。您可以使用在给定训练集上训练的模型来生成训练集中时间序列的未来以及其他时间序列的预测。训练数据集和测试数据集都由(最好是多个)目标时间序列组成。或者,它们可以与要素时间序列的矢量和分类要素的矢量相关联(有关详细信息,请参见DeepAR 输入/输出接口在里面SageMaker 开发人员指南)。以下示例说明如何对由 i 索引的训练数据集的元素执行此操作。训练数据集包含一个目标时间序列 zi,t 和两个关联的特征时间序列 xi,1,txi,2,t


        镜像:Deepar+ 时间序列数据。

目标时间序列可能包含缺失值(在图表中用时间序列中的断点表示)。DeepAR+ 仅支持将来已知的特征时间序列。这允许您运行反事实的“假设”场景。例如,“如果我以某种方式改变产品的价格,会发生什么?”

每个目标时间序列也可以与大量分类特征关联。您可以使用它们对属于特定分组的时间序列进行编码。使用分类特征允许模型学习这些分组的典型行为,这可以提高准确性。模型通过学习每个组的嵌入向量来实现这一点,该嵌入向量捕获组中所有时间序列的公共属性。

为了便于学习与时间相关的模式(如周末的峰值),DeepAR+ 将根据时间序列粒度自动创建特征时间序列。例如,DeepAR+ 按每周时间序列频率创建两个特征时间序列(一月中的某天和一年中的某天)。它使用这些派生的特征时间序列以及您在训练和推理期间提供的自定义特征时间序列。以下示例说明了两个派生的时间序列特征:ui,1,t 表示一天中的几点,ui,2,t 表示一周中的某天。


        镜像:Deepar+ 两个派生的时间序列。

DeepAR+ 将根据数据频率和训练数据的大小自动包括这些特征时间序列。下表列出了可为每个支持的基本时间频率派生的特征。

时间序列的频率 派生的特征
分钟 minute-of-hour, hour-of-day, day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
小时 hour-of-day, day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
week-of-month, week-of-year
月份 month-of-year

通过从训练数据集中的每个时间序列中随机抽取多个训练示例来训练 DeepAR+ 模型。每个训练示例包括一对具有固定的预定义长度的相邻上下文和预测窗口。context_length 超参数控制网络可以往前回顾多长时间,ForecastHorizon 参数控制可以往后预测多长时间。训练期间,Amazon Forecast 将忽略训练数据集中的时间序列短于指定的预测长度的元素。以下示例显示了五个样本,其中上下文长度(以绿色突出显示)为 12 小时,预测长度(以蓝色突出显示)为 6 小时,从元素 i 中提取。为简洁起见,我们排除了特征时间序列 xi,1,tui,2,t


        镜像:Deepar+ 采样了。

为了捕获季节性模式,DeepAR+ 还自动提供目标时间序列的延迟(过去的时段)值。在我们的以小时频率采样的示例中,对于每个时间索引 t = T,模型会公开 zi,t 值,过去大约 1 天、2 天和 3 天(以粉色突出显示)执行此操作一次。


        镜像:Deepar+ 滞后。

对于推理,训练后的模型将目标时间序列(这些时间序列在训练期间可能已使用,也可能未使用),并预测后续的 ForecastHorizon 值的概率分布。由于 DeepAR+ 是在整个数据集上进行训练的,因此,预测会考虑来自类似时间序列的学习模式。

有关 Deepar+ 背后的数学的信息,请参阅DeepAR:使用自回归循环网络进行概率预测在康奈尔大学图书馆网站上。

DeepAR+ 超参数

下表列出了可在 DeepAR+ 算法中使用的超参数。粗体显示的参数参与超参数优化 (HPO)。

参数名称 描述
context_length

模型在进行预测之前读入的时间点数。此参数的值应该与 ForecastHorizon 大致相同。此模型还接收来自目标的滞后输入,因此 context_length 可以比典型的季节性小得多。例如,每日时间序列可以具有每年的季节性。该模型自动包含一年的延迟,因此上下文长度可以短于一年。模型选取的滞后值取决于时间序列的频率。例如,每日频率的滞后值为:前 1 周、2 周、3 周、4 周和年。

有效值

正整数

典型值

ceil(0.1 * ForecastHorizon) 到 min(200, 10 * ForecastHorizon)

默认值

2 * ForecastHorizon

epochs

扫描训练数据的最大次数。最佳值取决于您的数据大小和学习率。较小的数据集和较低的学习率都需要有更多的周期,才能获得良好的效果。

有效值

正整数

典型值

10 到 1000

默认值

500

learning_rate

训练中使用的学习率。

有效值

正浮点数

典型值

0.0001 到 0.1

默认值

0.001

learning_rate_decay

学习率降低的速度。学习率最多降低 max_learning_rate_decays 次,然后训练停止。仅当 max_learning_rate_decays 大于 0 时才会使用此参数。

有效值

正浮点数

典型值

0.5 到 0.8(含)

默认值

0.5

likelihood

模型生成一个概率预测,并可以提供分布的分位数和返回样本。根据您的数据,选择用于不确定性估算的适当可能性(噪声模型)。

有效值

  • beta:用于 0 和 1 之间(含 0 和 1)的实值目标。

  • deterministic-L1:一个损失函数,它不估算不确定性,只学习点预测。

  • gaussian:用于实值数据。

  • negative-binomial:用于计数数据(非负整数)。

  • piecewise-linear:用于灵活分布。

  • student-T:将此替代值用于突发数据的实值数据。

默认值

student-T

max_learning_rate_decays

应发生的学习率降低的最大数量。

有效值

正整数

典型值

0 到 10

默认值

0

num_averaged_models

在 DeepAR+ 中,一个训练轨迹可以遇到多个模型。每种模型可能具有不同的预测优势和劣势。DeepAR+ 可以平均模型行为以利用所有模型的优势。

有效值

正整数

典型值

1 到 5(含)

默认值

1

num_cells

RNN 的各个隐藏层中使用的单元数。

有效值

正整数

典型值

30 到 100

默认值

40

num_layers

RNN 中的隐藏层数。

有效值

正整数

典型值

1 至 4

默认值

2

优化 DeepAR+ 模型

要优化 Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ 模型,请遵循这些建议来优化训练流程和硬件配置。

流程优化的最佳实践

要实现最佳结果,请遵循以下建议:

  • 除了分割训练和测试数据集之外,始终提供用于训练和测试的整个时间序列,以及在调用模型进行推理时。无论您如何设置 context_length,都不要划分时间序列或仅提供时间序列的一部分。对于滞后值特征,该模型将使用的数据点比 context_length 更早。

  • 对于模型优化,您可以将数据集拆分为训练数据集和测试数据集。在典型的评估方案中,您应该采用训练所用的相同时间序列,但在未来的 ForecastHorizon 个时间点(紧跟着在训练期间可见的最后一个时间点)上测试模型。要创建满足这些条件的训练数据集和测试数据集,请使用整个数据集(所有时间序列)作为测试数据集,并从每个时间序列中删除最后的 ForecastHorizon 个点来作为训练数据集。这样一来,在训练期间,模型将看不到测试期间评估它的时间点的目标值。在测试阶段,会保留测试数据集中每个时间序列的最后 ForecastHorizon 个点并生成预测。随后,将预测与最后 ForecastHorizon 个点的实际值进行比较。您可以在测试数据集中多次重复时间序列,但在不同的终端节点处切割它们来创建更复杂的评估。这将生成针对不同时间点的多个预测平均的准确率指标。

  • 避免对 ForecastHorizon 使用非常大的值(大于 400),因为这会降低模型的速度和准确性。如果您想进一步预测将来的情况,请考虑以更高的频率进行聚合。例如,使用 5min 而不是 1min

  • 由于滞后,模型的预测范围可以比 context_length 更大。因此,您不必将此参数设置为较大的值。此参数的一个好的起点是其值与 ForecastHorizon 相同。

  • 使用尽可能多的时间序列训练 DeepAR+ 模型。尽管在单个时间序列上训练的 DeepAR+ 模型可能正常工作,但标准预测方法(如 ARIMA 或 ETS)可能更准确,并且更适合此使用案例。当数据集包含数百个特征时间序列时,DeepAR+ 方法开始优于标准方法。目前,DeepAR+ 要求所有训练时间序列中可用的观察总数至少为 300。

  • Deepar+ 可跨目标时间序列、相关时间序列和项目元数据进行学习,使其适用于冷启动场景。Deepar+ 可以预测对具有历史数据的其他商品具有相似特征的新商品和 SKU 的需求。关注这个笔记本开始使用。

Amazon Forecast
Developer Guide

The AWS Documentation website is getting a new look!
Try it now and let us know what you think. Switch to the new look >>

You can return to the original look by selecting English in the language selector above.

DeepAR+ Algorithm

Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ is a supervised learning algorithm for forecasting scalar (one-dimensional) time series using recurrent neural networks (RNNs). Classical forecasting methods, such as autoregressive integrated moving average (ARIMA) or exponential smoothing (ETS), fit a single model to each individual time series, and then use that model to extrapolate the time series into the future. In many applications, however, you have many similar time series across a set of cross-sectional units. These time-series groupings demand different products, server loads, and requests for web pages. In this case, it can be beneficial to train a single model jointly over all of the time series. DeepAR+ takes this approach. When your dataset contains hundreds of feature time series, the DeepAR+ algorithm outperforms the standard ARIMA and ETS methods. You can also use the trained model for generating forecasts for new time series that are similar to the ones it has been trained on.

How DeepAR+ Works

During training, DeepAR+ uses a training dataset and an optional testing dataset. It uses the testing dataset to evaluate the trained model. In general, the training and testing datasets don't have to contain the same set of time series. You can use a model trained on a given training set to generate forecasts for the future of the time series in the training set, and for other time series. Both the training and the testing datasets consist of (preferably more than one) target time series. Optionally, they can be associated with a vector of feature time series and a vector of categorical features (for details, see DeepAR Input/Output Interface in the Amazon SageMaker Developer Guide). The following example shows how this works for an element of a training dataset indexed by i. The training dataset consists of a target time series, zi,t, and two associated feature time series, xi,1,t and xi,2,t.


        Image: DeepAR+ time-series data.

The target time series might contain missing values (denoted in the graphs by breaks in the time series). DeepAR+ supports only feature time series that are known in the future. This allows you to run counterfactual "what-if" scenarios. For example, "What happens if I change the price of a product in some way?"

Each target time series can also be associated with a number of categorical features. You can use these to encode that a time series belongs to certain groupings. Using categorical features allows the model to learn typical behavior for those groupings, which can increase accuracy. A model implements this by learning an embedding vector for each group that captures the common properties of all time series in the group.

To facilitate learning time-dependent patterns, such as spikes during weekends, DeepAR+ automatically creates feature time series based on time-series granularity. For example, DeepAR+ creates two feature time series (day of the month and day of the year) at a weekly time-series frequency. It uses these derived feature time series along with the custom feature time series that you provide during training and inference. The following example shows two derived time-series features: ui,1,t represents the hour of the day, and ui,2,t the day of the week.


        Image: DeepAR+ two derived time-series.

DeepAR+ automatically includes these feature time series based on the data frequency and the size of training data. The following table lists the features that can be derived for each supported basic time frequency.

Frequency of the Time Series Derived Features
Minute minute-of-hour, hour-of-day, day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
Hour hour-of-day, day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
Day day-of-week, day-of-month, day-of-year
Week day-of-month, week-of-year
Month month-of-year

A DeepAR+ model is trained by randomly sampling several training examples from each of the time series in the training dataset. Each training example consists of a pair of adjacent context and prediction windows with fixed predefined lengths. The context_length hyperparameter controls how far in the past the network can see, and the prediction_length parameter controls how far in the future predictions can be made. During training, Amazon Forecast ignores elements in the training dataset with time series shorter than the specified prediction length. The following example shows five samples, with a context length (highlighted in green) of 12 hours and a prediction length (highlighted in blue) of 6 hours, drawn from element i. For the sake of brevity, we've excluded the feature time series xi,1,t and ui,2,t.


        Image: DeepAR+ sampled.

To capture seasonality patterns, DeepAR+ also automatically feeds lagged (past period) values from the target time series. In our example with samples taken at an hourly frequency, for each time index t = T, the model exposes the zi,t values which occurred approximately one, two, and three days in the past (highlighted in pink).


        Image: DeepAR+ lags.

For inference, the trained model takes as input the target time series, which might or might not have been used during training, and forecasts a probability distribution for the next prediction_length values. Because DeepAR+ is trained on the entire dataset, the forecast takes into account learned patterns from similar time series.

For information on the mathematics behind DeepAR+, see DeepAR: Probabilistic Forecasting with Autoregressive Recurrent Networks on the Cornell University Library website.

Exclusive Features of Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ over Amazon SageMaker DeepAR

The Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ algorithm improves upon the Amazon SageMaker DeepAR algorithm with the following new features:

  • Learning rate scheduling

    During a single training run, DeepAR+ can reduce its learning rate. This often reduces loss and forecasting error.

  • Model averaging

    When you use multiple models for training with the DeepAR+ algorithm, Amazon Forecast averages the training runs. This can reduce forecasting error and dramatically increase model stability. Your DeepAR+ model is more likely to provide robust results every time you train it.

  • Weighted sampling

    When you use a very large training dataset, DeepAR+ applies streaming sampling to ensure convergence despite the size of the training dataset. A DeepAR+ model can be trained with millions of time series in a matter of hours.

For information on how to use these features, see DeepAR+ Hyperparameters.

DeepAR+ Hyperparameters

The following table lists the hyperparameters that you can use in the DeepAR+ algorithm. Parameters in bold participate in hyperparameter optimization (HPO).

Parameter Name Description
learning_rate

The learning rate used in training.

Valid values

Positive floating-point numbers

Typical values

0.0001 to 0.1

Default value

0.001

context_length

The number of time points that the model reads in before making the prediction. The value for this parameter should be about the same as the prediction_length. The model also receives lagged inputs from the target, so context_length can be much smaller than typical seasonalities. For example, a daily time series can have yearly seasonality. The model automatically includes a lag of one year, so the context length can be shorter than a year. The lag values that the model picks depend on the frequency of the time series. For example, lag values for daily frequency are: previous week, 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 4 weeks, and year.

Valid values

Positive integers

Typical values

ceil(0.1 * prediction_length) to min(200, 10 * prediction_length)

Default value

2 * prediction_length

prediction_length

The number of time-steps that the model is trained to predict, also called the forecast horizon. The trained model always generates forecasts with this length.

The prediction_length is set with the ForecastHorizon parameter of the CreatePredictor API. It cannot be changed without retraining the model.

Valid values

Positive integers

Typical values

N/A

Default value

N/A

num_layers

The number of hidden layers in the RNN.

Valid values

Positive integers

Typical values

1 to 4

Default value

2

num_cells

The number of cells to use in each hidden layer of the RNN.

Valid values

Positive integers

Typical values

30 to 100

Default value

40

epoch

The maximum number of passes to go over the training data. The optimal value depends on your data size and learning rate.

Valid values

Positive integers

Typical values

10 to 1000

Default value

500

likelihood

The model generates a probabilistic forecast, and can provide quantiles of the distribution and return samples. Depending on your data, choose an appropriate likelihood (noise model) that is used for uncertainty estimates.

Valid values

  • gaussian: Use for real-valued data.

  • beta: Use for real-valued targets between 0 and 1, inclusively.

  • student-T: Use this alternative for real-valued data for bursty data.

  • negative-binomial: Use for count data (non-negative integers).

  • deterministic-L1: A loss function that does not estimate uncertainty and only learns a point forecast.

Default value

student-T

Tune DeepAR+ Models

To tune Amazon Forecast DeepAR+ models, follow these recommendations for optimizing the training process and hardware configuration.

Best Practices for Process Optimization

To achieve the best results, follow these recommendations:

  • Except when splitting the training and testing datasets, always provide entire time series for training and testing, and when calling the model for inference. Regardless of how you set context_length, don't divide the time series or provide only a part of it. The model will use data points further back than context_length for the lagged values feature.

  • For model tuning, you can split the dataset into training and testing datasets. In a typical evaluation scenario, you should test the model on the same time series used in training, but on the future prediction_length time points immediately after the last time point visible during training. To create training and testing datasets that satisfy these criteria, use the entire dataset (all of the time series) as a testing dataset and remove the last prediction_length points from each time series for training. This way, during training, the model doesn't see the target values for time points on which it is evaluated during testing. In the test phase, the last prediction_length points of each time series in the testing dataset are withheld and a prediction is generated. The forecast is then compared with the actual values for the last prediction_length points. You can create more complex evaluations by repeating time series multiple times in the testing dataset, but cutting them off at different end points. This produces accuracy metrics that are averaged over multiple forecasts from different time points.

  • Avoid using very large values (> 400) for the prediction_length because this slows down the model and makes it less accurate. If you want to forecast further into the future, consider aggregating to a higher frequency. For example, use 5min instead of 1min.

  • Because of lags, the model can look further back than context_length. Therefore, you don't have to set this parameter to a large value. A good starting point for this parameter is the same value as the prediction_length.

  • Train DeepAR+ models with as many time series as are available. Although a DeepAR+ model trained on a single time series might already work well, standard forecasting methods such as ARIMA or ETS might be more accurate and are more tailored to this use case. DeepAR+ starts to outperform the standard methods when your dataset contains hundreds of feature time series. Currently, DeepAR+ requires that the total number of observations available, across all training time series, is at least 300.