廣告預取 - AWS Elemental MediaTailor

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

廣告預取

通過廣告預取,AWS 元素MediaTailor主動從廣告決策伺服器 (ADS) 獲取廣告,併為即將到來的廣告中斷做好準備。廣告預取有助於在使用 SCTE-35 信令的實時工作流中最大限度地提高廣告填充率和盈利,這些工作流可能會發生廣告請求和轉碼超時。廣告預取為編程廣告交易提供了更多時間。它還減少了廣告插入延遲,因為MediaTailor的新資產轉碼,ADS 響應在後台運行。

若要設定廣告預取,建立一或多個預回遷排程在您的播放配置上。預回遷計劃告知MediaTailor如何以及何時檢索和準備即將到來的廣告中斷的廣告。每個預回遷計劃定義了一組廣告MediaTailor放置在一個單一的廣告中斷。要預取多個廣告中斷的廣告,您可以創建多個預回遷計劃。創建預回遷計劃時,您可以包含一些條件,讓您精細控制哪些廣告中斷和播放流MediaTailor將預取的廣告放在中。

要創建和管理預回遷計劃,可以使用MediaTailor主控台或MediaTailorAPI。

運作方式

當您的客户端發出清單請求MediaTailor時,該服務將評估與播放配置關聯的所有預回遷計劃。如果MediaTailor找不到匹配的預取時間表,則該服務將恢復為正常的廣告插入,並且不會預取廣告。

如果MediaTailor查找匹配的預回遷計劃時,該服務將根據兩個組件(檢索和消耗)評估計劃。

檢索

其可定義檢索窗口的時間範圍,這是MediaTailor從 ADS 預取廣告。要設置檢索窗口,請首先確定何時發生廣告中斷。

對於高級使用案例,您可以選擇添加動態變數添加到預回遷請求,MediaTailor發送到廣告。這樣,您可以將會話、播放器和其他數據作為請求的一部分發送到 ADS。如果您沒有在預回遷計劃中包含動態變量,則MediaTailor使用您在播放配置的 ADS URL 中配置的動態變量(如果有)。

消耗

其可定義耗用窗口的時間範圍,這是MediaTailor將預取的廣告放置到廣告中斷。

對於此組件,您可以選擇添加多達五個利用匹配條件設置為預回遷計劃。MediaTailor使用這些條件來確定廣告中斷是否有資格投放預回遷廣告。例如,您可使用scte.event_id動態變量,如果您希望服務將廣告放置在具有特定 SCTE 事件 ID 的廣告中。MediaTailor只有當廣告中斷符合動態變量定義的條件時,才會將預取的廣告放入廣告中。

當您的客户端將清單請求發送到MediaTailor在檢索窗口中,MediaTailor主動向 ADS 發送請求,以檢索和準備廣告以供以後插入。如果設置用於檢索的動態變量,MediaTailor將這些變量包含在請求中。

時機MediaTailor在消費窗口中遇到 SCTE-35 廣告中斷標記,則該服務將使用可用匹配條件(如果已配置)來確定將廣告放置在哪個廣告中斷。如果未配置利用匹配條件,MediaTailor將預取的廣告放在消費窗口中的第一個廣告中。

了解預取成本

對於預回遷廣告檢索,您將按標準轉碼費率收取預回遷廣告MediaTailor轉碼。對於預回遷廣告消費量,您將按標準費率收取預回遷廣告MediaTailor在廣告中斷的地方。有關轉碼和廣告插入成本的信息,請參閲AWS ElementalMediaTailor定價

創建預回遷排程

下列程序説明如何使用MediaTailor主控台。如需以編程方式建立和管理預回遷計劃的詳細資訊,請使用MediaTailorAPI,請參PrefetchSchedules中的AWS ElementalMediaTailorAPI 參考

注意

如果要在計劃中使用可用匹配條件,請確保首先將播放配置的 ADS URL 模板配置為動態變數,否則利用匹配條件將不會產生效果。如需使用動態變量的詳細資訊,請參步驟 3:設定 ADS 請求網址和查詢參數中的入門MediaTailor廣告插入主題。

使用主控台建立新的預回遷計劃

  1. 開啟MediaTailor主控台位於https://console.aws.amazon.com/mediatailor/

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇組態。選擇您要為其建立預回遷計劃的回放配置。

  3. 預回遷排程選項卡上,選擇添加預回遷計劃

  4. 在 下方預回遷計劃詳細信息窗格中,執行下列操作:

    • 適用於名稱下,輸入預回遷計劃的標識符,如my-prefetch-schedule

    • 適用於串流 ID中,可以選擇輸入唯一 ID。如果原點包含多個播放流,則可以使用此 ID 指示MediaTailor在特定流中放置廣告。例如,如果您的來源具有體育流和電視節目流,則可以使用流 ID 創建預回遷計劃,以插入針對體育流的廣告。您將流 ID 值傳遞給MediaTailor在客户端的會話初始化或清單請求中。如需詳細資訊,請參下列示例。

      • 適用於伺服器端跟蹤,包括?aws.streamId查詢參數和值GET HTTP請求MediaTailor端點。如需伺服器端跟蹤的一般資訊,請參伺服器端追蹤。對包含流 ID 的 HLS 終端節點的清單請求如下所示,其中myStreamId是串流 ID 的名稱:

        GET <mediatailorURL>/v1/master/<hashed-account-id>/<origin-id>/<asset-id>?aws.streamId=myStreamId
      • 適用於用户端跟蹤,包括streamId鍵和值在您的客户端的POST HTTP會話初始化請求正文添加到MediaTailor/v1/會話端點。如需客户端跟蹤的一般資訊,請參用户端追蹤。包含流 ID 的會話初始化請求如下所示,其中myStreamId是串流 ID 的名稱:

        POST <mediatailorURL>/v1/session/<hashed-account-id>/<origin-id>/<asset-id> { 'streamId': 'myStreamId' }
  5. 檢索窗格中,指定您要使用的檢索設定。這些設置決定MediaTailor從 ADS 預取廣告。它們還確定要在 ADS 的請求中包含哪些動態變量(如果有)。

    • 適用於開始時間中,輸入MediaTailor可以為此廣告中斷開始預回遷檢索。MediaTailor將嘗試為您的客户在此時間或之後發出的清單請求預回遷廣告。預設值是目前時間。如果您未指定值,則服務會儘快開始預回遷檢索。

    • 適用於結束時間中,輸入所需的時間MediaTailor停止為此廣告中斷預取廣告。MediaTailor將嘗試為在此時間或之前發生的清單請求預回遷廣告。檢索窗口可以與衝減窗口重疊。

    • 在 中動態變數部分中,輸入多達 100 個動態變量。MediaTailor在發送到 ADS 的預回遷請求中使用這些變量進行替換。如果您不輸入動態變數,MediaTailor會盡最大努力為廣告URL。

      • 選擇新增動態變數

      • 適用於金鑰中,輸入一個動態變量鍵,例如scte.event_id。您可以使用任何動態變量MediaTailor支援。如需動態變數的詳細資訊,請參在 AWS Elemental 中使用動態廣告變量 MediaTailor

      • 適用於數值中,輸入一個動態變量值,例如我的事件

      • 要添加另一個動態變量,請選擇新增動態變數

  6. 消耗窗格中,指定您想要用於消耗窗口的設定。這些設置決定MediaTailor將廣告放入廣告中斷。它們還決定您想要使用的任何利用匹配條件。

    • 適用於開始時間中,輸入所需的時間MediaTailor開始將預取的廣告放置到廣告中斷。默認值為當前時間。如果您未指定時間,則服務會儘快啟動預回遷消耗。

    • 適用於結束時間中,輸入您需要的時間MediaTailor停止將預取的廣告放置到廣告中斷。MediaTailor將嘗試為在此時間或之前發生的客户清單請求預回遷廣告。結束時間必須在開始時間之後,從現在起不到一天。衝減窗口可以與檢索窗口重疊。

    • 在 中利用匹配條件部分中,選擇新增利用條件,並在您的日程安排中添加儘可能多的廣告五個利用匹配條件。然後,在動態變數索引鍵中,添加一個動態變量鍵,例如scte.event_id。MediaTailor只有當預取的廣告符合您的客户傳遞給的動態變量值定義的條件時,才會將預取的廣告放置到廣告中斷MediaTailor,或者MediaTailor來自會話數據等信息的推斷。如需詳細資訊,請參上一節avail-matching-criteria

  7. 選擇新增利用條件

預回遷計劃在衝減窗口結束時間後自動過期。出於診斷目的,他們仍然可見至少 7 天,之後MediaTailor會自動刪除它們。或者,您可以隨時手動刪除預回遷計劃。如需手動刪除預回遷計劃的詳細資訊,請參下列內容:刪除預回遷計劃一節。

確定您的客户應該多長時間調用CreatePrefetch排程 API

您的客户端可以以編程方式調用CreatePrefetch排程API 每天一次來設置檢索和消費,如果您知道什麼時候會發生廣告中斷。或者,您的客户可以在一天中多次調用 API 來定義檢索和使用。在選擇 API 調用頻率時,請考慮MediaTailor的活動預取排程的最高數量,以及在您創建預回遷計劃後,您的廣告中斷時間表是否會發生變化的可能性。如果在您創建預回遷計劃後,廣告中斷時間表可能會發生變化,您可能需要更頻繁地調用 API。

刪除預回遷計劃

下列程序説明如何使用預回遷計劃刪除MediaTailor主控台。如需有關如何使用主控台刪除預回遷計劃的詳細資訊,請參MediaTailorAPI,請參DeletePrefetch排程中的AWS ElementalMediaTailorAPI 參考

注意

刪除不會實時發生。您可能會遇到延遲MediaTailor刪除預回遷計劃,在此期間,預回遷檢索和使用將繼續在後台運行。

使用主控台刪除預回遷計劃

  1. 開啟MediaTailor主控台位於https://console.aws.amazon.com/mediatailor/

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇組態。選擇包含您要刪除的預回遷計劃的回放配置。

  3. 預回遷排程選項卡上,選擇您要刪除的預回遷計劃。再選擇 Delete (刪除)。

Prefetching ads - AWS Elemental MediaTailor

Prefetching ads

With ad prefetching, AWS Elemental MediaTailor proactively fetches ads from the ad decision server (ADS) and prepares them for upcoming ad breaks. Ad prefetching helps to maximize ad fill rates and monetization in live workflows that use SCTE-35 signaling, where ad request and transcoding timeouts can occur. Ad prefetching provides more time for programmatic ad trading. It also reduces ad insertion latency because both MediaTailor's transcoding of new assets and the ADS response run in the background.

To set up ad prefetching, you create one or more prefetch schedules on your playback configuration. A prefetch schedule tells MediaTailor how and when to retrieve and prepare ads for an upcoming ad break. Each prefetch schedule defines a single set of ads for MediaTailor to place in a single ad break. To prefetch ads for multiple ad breaks, you can create multiple prefetch schedules. When you create a prefetch schedule, you can include criteria that gives you granular control over which ad break and which playback stream MediaTailor places the prefetched ads in.

To create and manage prefetch schedules, you can use the MediaTailor console or the MediaTailor API.

How it works

When your client makes a manifest request to MediaTailor, the service evaluates all of the prefetch schedules that are associated with the playback configuration. If MediaTailor doesn't find a matching prefetch schedule, the service reverts to normal ad insertion and doesn't prefetch ads.

If MediaTailor finds a matching prefetch schedule, the service evaluates the schedule based on two components, retrieval and consumption.

Retrieval

This defines the retrieval window, which is the time range when MediaTailor prefetches ads from the ADS. To set up the retrieval window, first determine when the ad break will occur.

For advanced use cases, you can optionally add dynamic variables to the prefetch request that MediaTailor sends to the ADS. This lets you send session, player, and other data to the ADS as part of the request. If you don't include dynamic variables in the prefetch schedule, MediaTailor uses the dynamic variables, if any, that you configured in your playback configuration's ADS URL.

Consumption

This defines the consumption window, which is the time range when MediaTailor places prefetched ads into the ad break.

For this component, you can optionally add as many as five avail matching criteria to a prefetch schedule. MediaTailor uses these criteria to determine whether the ad break is eligible for placement of the prefetched ads. For example, you can use the scte.event_id dynamic variable if you want the service to place ads in an ad break with a specific SCTE event ID. MediaTailor places the prefetched ads into an ad break only if the ad break meets the criteria defined by the dynamic variables.

When your client sends manifest requests to MediaTailor during the retrieval window, MediaTailor proactively sends requests to the ADS to retrieve and prepare the ads for later insertion. If you set up dynamic variables for retrieval, MediaTailor includes those variables in the requests.

When MediaTailor encounters an SCTE-35 ad break marker during the consumption window, the service uses the avail matching criteria, if configured, to determine which ad break to place the ads in. If avail matching criteria aren't configured, MediaTailor places the prefetched ads in the first ad break within the consumption window.

Understanding prefetching costs

For prefetch ad retrieval, you'll be charged at the standard transcoding rate for the prefetched ads that MediaTailor transcodes. For prefetch ad consumption, you'll be charged at the standard rate for ad insertion for the prefetched ads that MediaTailor places in ad breaks. For information about transcoding and ad insertion costs, see AWS Elemental MediaTailor Pricing.

Creating prefetch schedules

The following procedure explains how to create a prefetch schedule by using the MediaTailor console. For information about creating and managing prefetch schedules programmatically using the MediaTailor API, see PrefetchSchedules in the AWS Elemental MediaTailor API Reference.

Note

If you want to use avail matching criteria in a schedule, make sure that you first configure your playback configuration's ADS URL template with dynamic variables, otherwise the avail matching criteria won't have an effect. For information about working with dynamic variables, see Step 3: Configure ADS request URL and query parameters in the Getting started with MediaTailor ad insertion topic.

To create a new prefetch schedule using the console

  1. Open the MediaTailor console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/mediatailor/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Configurations. Select the playback configuration that you want to create a prefetch schedule for.

  3. On the Prefetch schedules tab, choose Add prefetch schedule.

  4. Under the Prefetch schedule details pane, do the following:

    • For Name, enter an identifier for your prefetch schedule, such as my-prefetch-schedule.

    • For Stream ID, optionally enter a unique ID. If your origin contains multiple playback streams, you can use this ID to instruct MediaTailor to place ads in a specific stream. For example, if your origin has a sports stream and a TV show stream, you can use the stream ID to create prefetch schedules to insert ads targeted for the sports stream. You pass the stream ID value to MediaTailor in your client's session initialization or manifest request. For more information see the following example.

      • For server-side tracking, include the ?aws.streamId query parameter and value in your client's GET HTTP request to your MediaTailor endpoint. For general information about server-side tracking see Server-side tracking. A manifest request to an HLS endpoint that includes a stream ID looks like the following, where myStreamId is the name of your stream ID:

        GET <mediatailorURL>/v1/master/<hashed-account-id>/<origin-id>/<asset-id>?aws.streamId=myStreamId
      • For client-side tracking, include the streamId key and value in your client's POST HTTP session initialization request body to the MediaTailor/v1/session endpoint. For general information about client-side tracking see Client-side tracking. A session initialization request that includes a stream ID looks like the following, where myStreamId is the name of your stream ID:

        POST <mediatailorURL>/v1/session/<hashed-account-id>/<origin-id>/<asset-id> { 'streamId': 'myStreamId' }
  5. On the Retrieval pane, specify the retrieval settings you want to use. These settings determine when MediaTailor prefetches ads from the ADS. They also determine which dynamic variables to include in the request to the ADS, if any.

    • For Start time, enter the time when MediaTailor can start prefetch retrievals for this ad break. MediaTailor will attempt to prefetch ads for manifest requests made by your client on or after this time. The default value is the current time. If you don't specify a value, the service starts prefetch retrieval as soon as possible.

    • For End time, enter the time when you want MediaTailor to stop prefetching ads for this ad break. MediaTailor will attempt to prefetch ads for manifest requests that occur at or before this time. The retrieval window can overlap with the consumption window.

    • In the Dynamic variables section, enter as many as 100 dynamic variables. MediaTailor uses these variables for substitution in prefetch requests that it sends to the ADS. If you don't enter any dynamic variables, MediaTailor makes a best effort attempt to interpolate the values for the dynamic variables contained in your ADS URL.

      • Select Add dynamic variable.

      • For Key, enter a dynamic variable key, such as scte.event_id. You can use any dynamic variable that MediaTailor supports. For information about dynamic variables, see Using dynamic ad variables in AWS Elemental MediaTailor.

      • For Value, enter a dynamic variable value, such as my-event.

      • To add another dynamic variable, choose Select Add dynamic variable.

  6. On the Consumption pane, specify the settings that you want to use for the consumption window. These settings determine when MediaTailor places the ads into the ad break. They also determine any avail matching criteria that you want to use.

    • For Start time, enter the time when you want MediaTailor to begin to place prefetched ads into the ad break. the default value is the current time. If you don't specify a time, the service starts prefetch consumption as soon as possible.

    • For End time, enter a time when you want MediaTailor to stop placing the prefetched ads into the ad break. MediaTailor will attempt to prefetch ads for your client's manifest requests that occur at or before this time. The end time must be after the start time, and less than one day from now. The consumption window can overlap with the retrieval window.

    • In the Avail matching criteria section, select Add avail criteria and add as many ad five avail matching criteria to your schedule. Then, under Dynamic variable key, add a dynamic variable key, such as scte.event_id. MediaTailor will place the prefetched ads into the ad break only if it meets the criteria defined by the dynamic variable values that either your client passes to MediaTailor, or that MediaTailor infers from information such as session data. For information, see the preceding section avail-matching-criteria.

  7. Select Add avail criteria.

Prefetch schedules automatically expire after the consumption window's end time. For diagnostic purposes, they remain visible for at least 7 days, after which MediaTailor automatically deletes them. Alternatively, you can manually delete a prefetch schedule at any time. For information about how to manually delete a prefetch schedule, see the following Deleting prefetch schedules section.

Determining how often your client should call the CreatePrefetchSchedule API

Your client can programmatically call the CreatePrefetchSchedule API once per day to set up retrieval and consumption if you have knowledge of exactly when ad breaks will occur. Or, your client can call the API many times over the course of the day to define retrieval and consumption. When choosing an API call frequency, take into consideration MediaTailor's maximum number of active prefetch schedules, and the likelihood of whether your ad break schedule will change after you create your prefetch schedule(s). If it's likely that the ad break schedule will change after you've created your prefetch schedule(s), you might want to call the API more frequently.

Deleting prefetch schedules

The following procedure explains how to delete a prefetch schedule by using the MediaTailor console. For information about how to delete prefetch schedules programmatically using the MediaTailor API, see DeletePrefetchSchedule in the AWS Elemental MediaTailor API Reference.

Note

Deletion doesn't occur in real-time. You might experience a delay while MediaTailor deletes the prefetch schedule(s), during which time prefetch retrieval and consumption will continue to run in the background.

To delete a prefetch schedule using the console

  1. Open the MediaTailor console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/mediatailor/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Configurations. Select the playback configuration that contains the prefetch schedule(s) that you want to delete.

  3. On the Prefetch schedules tab, select the prefetch schedule that you want to delete. Then, choose Delete.