全域資料表準備檢查清單 - AWS 規定指引

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

全域資料表準備檢查清單

部署全域資料表時,請使用下列檢查清單來制定決策和執行任務。

  • 決定有多少以及哪些區域應參與全域資料表。

  • 判斷應用程式的寫入模式

  • 根據您的寫入模式規劃路由策略

  • 根據您的寫入模式和路由策略定義疏散計劃

  • 擷取每個區域的運作狀態、延遲和錯誤的指標。如需 DynamoDB 指標的清單,請參閱AWS部落格文章監控 Amazon DynamoDB 以瞭解營運感知。您還應該使用合成金絲雀(旨在檢測故障的人工請求)以及實時觀察客戶流量。並非所有問題都會出現在 DynamoDB 指標中。

  • ReplicationLatency 中任何持續增加設定警示。增加可能表示意外設定錯誤,而全域資料表在不同區域中有不同的寫入設定,這會導致複寫請求失敗並增加延遲。這也可能表示存在區域中斷。一個很好的例子是如果最近的平均值超過 180,000 毫秒,則發出警示。您也可能會注意ReplicationLatency下降到 0,這表示停止複寫。

  • 為每個全域資料表指派充足的最大讀取和寫入設定值。

  • 確定您將撤離區域的條件。如果決定涉及人為判斷,請記錄所有考量因素。這項工作應提前仔細完成,而不是在壓力下進行。

  • 為每個動作維護執行手冊,作為當疏散區域時必須採取的措施。通常,全域資料表涉及的工作很少,但移動堆疊的其餘部分可能很複雜。

    注意

    使用容錯移轉程序時,最佳做法是僅仰賴資料平面作業,而非控制平面作業,因為某些控制平面作業在區域故障期間可能會降級。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS 部落格文章使用 Amazon DynamoDB 全域資料表建置彈性應用程式:第 4 部分

  • 定期測試執行手冊的各個方面,包括區域疏散。未經測試的執行手冊是不可靠的執行手冊。

  • 請考慮使用AWS Resilience Hub來評估整個應用程式 (包括全域資料表) 的彈性。此服務透過其儀表板,提供應用程式產品組合復原狀態的全面檢視。

  • 請考慮使用 Route 53 ARC 準備程度檢查來評估應用程式目前的組態,並追蹤與最佳作法之間的任何差異。

  • 當您撰寫健康狀態檢查以搭配 Route 53 或全域加速器使用時,請進行一組涵蓋完整資料庫流程的呼叫。如果您將檢查限制為僅確認 DynamoDB 端點已啟動,則無法涵蓋許多失敗模式,例如 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 組態錯誤、程式碼部署問題、DynamoDB 外部堆疊中的故障、高於平均讀取或寫入延遲等等。

Preparation checklist for global tables - AWS Prescriptive Guidance

Preparation checklist for global tables

Use the following checklist for decisions and tasks when you deploy global tables.

  • Determine how many and which Regions should participate in the global table.

  • Determine your application’s write mode.

  • Plan your routing strategy, based on your write mode.

  • Define your evacuation plan, based on your write mode and routing strategy.

  • Capture metrics on the health, latency, and errors across each Region. For a list of DynamoDB metrics, see the AWS blog post Monitoring Amazon DynamoDB for operational awareness. You should also use synthetic canaries (artificial requests designed to detect failures) as well as live observation of customer traffic. Not all issues appear in the DynamoDB metrics.

  • Set alarms for any sustained increase in ReplicationLatency. An increase might indicate an accidental misconfiguration in which the global table has different write settings in different Regions, which leads to failed replicated requests and increased latencies. It could also indicate that there is a Regional disruption. A good example is to generate an alert if the recent average exceeds 180,000 milliseconds. You might also watch for ReplicationLatency dropping to 0, which indicates stalled replication.

  • Assign sufficient maximum read and write settings for each global table.

  • Identify the conditions where you would evacuate a Region. If the decision involves human judgment, document all considerations. This work should be done carefully in advance, not under stress.

  • Maintain a runbook for every action that must take place when you evacuate a Region. Usually very little work is involved for the global tables, but moving the rest of the stack might be complex.

    Note

    With failover procedures, it’s best practice to rely only on data plane operations and not on control plane operations, because some control plane operations might be degraded during Region failures. For more information, see the AWS blog post Build resilient applications with Amazon DynamoDB global tables: Part 4.

  • Test all aspects of the runbook periodically, including Region evacuations. An untested runbook is an unreliable runbook.

  • Consider using AWS Resilience Hub to evaluate the resilience of your entire application (including global tables). This service provides a comprehensive view of the resiliency status of your application portfolio through its dashboard.

  • Consider using Route 53 ARC readiness checks to evaluate the current configuration of your application and track any deviances from best practices.

  • When you write health checks for use with Route 53 or Global Accelerator, make a set of calls that cover the full database flow. If you limit your check to confirm only that the DynamoDB endpoint is up, you won’t be able to cover many failure modes such as AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) configuration errors, code deployment problems, failure in the stack outside DynamoDB, higher than average read or write latencies, and so on.