操作說明AWS Proton規定基礎設施 - AWS Proton

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

操作說明AWS Proton規定基礎設施

AWS Proton可利用兩種方式佈建基礎設施:AWS-管理佈建自我管理佈建。搭配AWS-管理佈建,AWS Proton代表您呼叫佈建引擎。使用自我管理佈建AWS Proton向您提供的儲存庫發出提取要求 (PR),您自己的基礎結構部署系統會執行佈建程序。

在這個時候,AWS-管理佈建支援AWS CloudFormation範本和自我管理佈建支援 Terraform 範本。如需兩種基礎結構即程式碼 (IaC) 範本格式的詳細資訊,請參閱AWS Proton基礎設施作為代碼文件

您可以在環境層級選擇佈建方法。當您建立或更新環境時,您可以選擇它是否使用AWS-託管或自我管理的佈建。然後,您可以提供必要的參數 — 例如AWS Identity and Access Management(IAM) 角色或基礎架構儲存庫。部署到環境的所有服務執行個體都使用與環境本身相同的佈建方法。您無法在執行個體層級變更佈建方法。

使用的開發人員AWS Proton提供服務在這兩種情況下都具有相同的經驗。開發人員不需要知道佈建方法,也不需要變更服務佈建程序中的任何項目。他們選擇部署服務以決定佈建行為的環境。

操作說明AWS-管理的配置工作

當環境設定為使用時AWS-管理佈建,基礎架構佈建如下:

  1. 同時AWS Proton客戶 (系統管理員或開發人員) 建立AWS Proton資源(環境或服務)。客戶選取資源的範本,並提供必要的參數。對於環境,客戶也會提供角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱下一節:的考量AWS-管理佈建

  2. AWS Proton呈現一個完整的AWS CloudFormation用於佈建資源的模板。

  3. AWS Proton呼叫AWS CloudFormation使用呈現的模板開始佈建。

  4. AWS Proton持續監控AWS CloudFormation部署。

  5. 佈建完成時,AWS Proton在發生故障時報告錯誤,並在成功的情況下擷取佈建輸出,例如 Amazon VPC ID。

下圖顯示AWS Proton直接處理大多數這些步驟。


          圖示說明AWS-管理佈建AWS Proton

的考量AWS-管理佈建

  • 基礎設施佈建角色— 當管理員為以下項目設定環境時AWS-受管佈建,他們需要提供 IAM 角色 (直接或作為一部分)AWS Proton環境帳戶連接)。AWS Proton使用此角色來佈建環境的基礎結構,以及部署至環境的所有服務執行個體。角色應具有建立環境和服務範本所包含之所有資源的權限。

  • 服務佈建— 當開發人員選擇一個環境AWS-其服務實例的託管配置,AWS Proton使用提供給該環境的角色來佈建服務執行個體的基礎結構。開發人員看不到這個角色,也無法變更它。

  • 有管道的服務— 環境的服務範本AWS-管理的佈建可能包含管線定義 (例如AWS CodePipeline管道),寫在AWS CloudFormationYAML 架構。AWS Proton還通過調用創建管道AWS CloudFormation。角色AWS Proton用於創建管道是獨立於每個單獨環境的角色。這個角色提供給 ProtonAWS Proton分別地,只有一次AWS帳戶級別,用於佈建和管理所有管道。此角色應具有建立管道和管道所需的其他資源的權限。

    下列程序顯示如何將管線角色提供給AWS Proton。

    AWS Proton console

    提供管線角色

    1. 在 中AWS Proton安慰的導覽窗格中,選擇設定 > 帳戶設定下一步。設定

    2. 使用CI/CD 管道角色部分以配置新的或現有的管線服務角色。

    AWS Proton API

    提供管線角色

    1. 使用UpdateAccountSettingsAPI 動作。

    2. 在下列區段中提供管線服務角色的 Amazon Resource Name (ARN)pipelineServiceRoleArn參數。

    AWS CLI

    提供管線角色

    執行以下命令:

    $ aws proton update-account-settings \ --pipeline-service-role-arn \ "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/my-pipeline-role"

自我管理佈建

當環境設定為使用自我管理佈建時,會依下列方式佈建基礎結構:

  1. 同時AWS Proton客戶 (系統管理員或開發人員) 建立AWS Proton資源(環境或服務)。客戶選取資源的範本,並提供必要的參數。對於環境,客戶也會提供連結的基礎架構儲存庫。如需詳細資訊,請參閱下一節:自我管理佈建的考量

  2. AWS Proton呈現完整的地形範本。它由一個或多個 Terraform 文件組成,可能位於多個文件夾中,以及.tfvars變數檔案。AWS Proton將資源建立呼叫上提供的參數值寫入此變數檔案。

  3. AWS Proton使用轉譯的 Terraform 範本,將 PR 提交至基礎結構儲存庫。

  4. 當客戶 (系統管理員或開發人員) 合併 PR 時,客戶的自動化會觸發佈建引擎,使用合併的範本啟動佈建基礎結構。

    注意

    如果客戶(管理員或開發人員)關閉 PR,AWS Proton將 PR 識別為已關閉,並將部署標記為已取消。

  5. 佈建完成時,客戶的自動化會呼叫NotifyResourceDeploymentStatusChange AWS Proton用於指示完成、提供狀態 (成功或失敗) 以及提供輸出 (如 Amazon VPC ID) 的 API 動作 (如果有的話)。

    重要

    請確定您的自動化程式碼會重新呼叫AWS Proton具有佈建狀態和輸出。如果沒有,AWS Proton可能會將佈建視為擱置時間超過應該的時間,並繼續顯示In progress (正在進行)狀態。

下圖說明下列步驟AWS Proton執行和您自己的佈建系統執行的步驟。


          說明自我管理佈建的圖表AWS Proton

自我管理佈建的考量

  • 基礎設施存庫— 當管理員設定自我管理佈建的環境時,他們需要提供連結的基礎結構存放庫。AWS Proton將 PRs 提交至此儲存區域,以佈建環境的基礎架構以及所有部署至該儲存區域的服務執行個體。儲存庫中客戶擁有的自動化動作應假設具有權限的 IAM 角色,以建立環境和服務範本包含的所有資源,以及反映目標的身分識別AWS帳戶。例如 GitHub 擔任角色的動作,請參閱假設角色中的「設定 AWS 登入資料」動作 GitHub 動作文件中)。

  • 服務佈建— 當開發人員為其服務實例選擇具有自我管理佈建的環境時,AWS Proton將 PR 提交至關聯的儲存庫,以佈建服務執行個體的基礎結構。開發人員看不到存儲庫,也無法更改它。

    注意

    無論環境使用哪種佈建方法,在環境中建立服務的開發人員都會使用相同的程序,而且差異會從中抽取出來。但是,使用自我管理的佈建,開發人員可能會遇到較慢的回應,因為他們需要等到有人(可能不是本身)合併基礎結構存放庫中的 PR,然後才能啟動佈建。

  • 有管道的服務— 具有自我管理佈建之環境的服務範本可能包含管線定義 (例如,AWS CodePipeline管道),寫在地形 HCL。啟用AWS Proton若要佈建這些管道,管理員會提供連結的管線存放庫AWS Proton。佈建管道時,儲存庫中客戶擁有的自動化動作應假設具有佈建管道許可的 IAM 角色,以及反映目標的身分識別AWS帳戶。管線存放庫和角色與用於每個個別環境的存放庫和角色不同。鏈接的存儲庫被提供給 ProtonAWS Proton分別地,只有一次AWS帳戶級別,用於佈建和管理所有管道。該角色應具有建立管道和管道所需的其他資源的權限。

    下列程序顯示如何將管線儲存庫和角色提供給AWS Proton。

    AWS Proton console

    提供管線角色

    1. 在 中AWS Proton安慰的導覽窗格中,選擇設定 > 帳戶設定下一步。設定

    2. 使用CI/CD 管道儲存庫區段以配置新的或現有的儲存庫連結。

    AWS Proton API

    提供管線角色

    1. 使用UpdateAccountSettingsAPI 動作。

    2. 提供您的管道存放庫的提供者、名稱和分支pipelineProvisioningRepository參數。

    AWS CLI

    提供管線角色

    執行以下命令:

    $ aws proton update-account-settings \ --pipeline-provisioning-repository \ "provider=GITHUB,name=my-pipeline-repo-name,branch=my-branch"
  • 刪除自我管理的佈建資源— Terraform 模組除了資源定義之外,還可能包含 Terraform 作業所需的組態元素。因此AWS Proton無法刪除環境或服務實例的所有 Terraform 文件。反之AWS Proton標記要刪除的文件,並在 PR 元數據中更新了一個標誌。您的自動化操作可以讀取該標誌並使用它來觸發地形摧毀命令。

How AWS Proton provisions infrastructure - AWS Proton

How AWS Proton provisions infrastructure

AWS Proton can provision infrastructure in two ways: AWS-managed provisioning and self-managed provisioning. With AWS-managed provisioning, AWS Proton calls the provisioning engine on your behalf. With self-managed provisioning, AWS Proton issues a pull request (PR) to a repository that you provide, where your own infrastructure deployment system runs the provisioning process.

At this time, AWS-managed provisioning supports AWS CloudFormation templates, and self-managed provisioning supports Terraform templates. For more information about the two Infrastructure as Code (IaC) template formats, see AWS Proton infrastructure as code files.

You choose the provisioning method at the environment level. When you create or update an environment, you choose if it uses AWS-managed or self-managed provisioning. You then provide the required parameters — for example, an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role or the infrastructure repository. All service instances deployed to the environment use the same provisioning method as the environment itself. You can't change the provisioning method at the instance level.

Developers who use AWS Proton to provision a service have the same experience in both cases. Developers don't need to be aware of the provisioning method and don't need to change anything in the service provisioning process. The environment that they choose to deploy their service to determines the provisioning behavior.

How AWS-managed provisioning works

When an environment is configured to use AWS-managed provisioning, infrastructure is provisioned as follows:

  1. An AWS Proton customer (an administrator or a developer) creates the AWS Proton resource (an environment or a service). The customer selects a template for the resource and provides the required parameters. For an environment, the customer also provides a role. For more information, see the following section, Considerations for AWS-managed provisioning.

  2. AWS Proton renders a complete AWS CloudFormation template for provisioning the resource.

  3. AWS Proton calls AWS CloudFormation to start provisioning using the rendered template.

  4. AWS Proton continuously monitors the AWS CloudFormation deployment.

  5. When provisioning completes, AWS Proton reports back errors in case of failure, and captures provisioning outputs, like Amazon VPC ID, in case of success.

The following diagram shows that AWS Proton takes care of most of these steps directly.


          Diagram illustrating AWS-managed provisioning in AWS Proton

Considerations for AWS-managed provisioning

  • Infrastructure provisioning role – When an administrator configures an environment for AWS-managed provisioning, they need to provide an IAM role (either directly or as part of an AWS Proton environment account connection). AWS Proton uses this role to provision the infrastructure of the environment and all the service instances that are deployed to it. The role should have permissions to create all the resources that your environment and service templates include.

  • Service provisioning – When a developer chooses an environment with AWS-managed provisioning for their service instance, AWS Proton uses the role provided to that environment to provision infrastructure for the service instance. Developers don't see this role and can't change it.

  • Service with pipeline – A service template for an environment with AWS-managed provisioning may include a pipeline definition (for example, an AWS CodePipeline pipeline), written in the AWS CloudFormation YAML schema. AWS Proton also creates the pipeline by calling AWS CloudFormation. The role that AWS Proton uses to create a pipeline is separate from the role for each individual environment. This role is provided to Proton AWS Proton separately, only once at the AWS account level, and it's used to provision and manage all pipelines. This role should have permissions to create pipelines and other resources that your pipelines need.

    The following procedures show how to provide the pipeline role to AWS Proton.

    AWS Proton console

    To provide the pipeline role

    1. In the AWS Proton console, on the navigation pane, choose Settings > Account settings, and then choose Configure.

    2. Use the CI/CD pipeline roles section to configure a new or existing pipeline service role.

    AWS Proton API

    To provide the pipeline role

    1. Use the UpdateAccountSettings API action.

    2. Provide the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of your pipeline service role in the pipelineServiceRoleArn parameter.

    AWS CLI

    To provide the pipeline role

    Run the following command:

    $ aws proton update-account-settings \ --pipeline-service-role-arn \ "arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/my-pipeline-role"

How self-managed provisioning works

When an environment is configured to use self-managed provisioning, infrastructure is provisioned as follows:

  1. An AWS Proton customer (an administrator or a developer) creates the AWS Proton resource (an environment or a service). The customer selects a template for the resource and provides the required parameters. For an environment, the customer also provides a linked infrastructure repository. For more information, see the following section, Considerations for self-managed provisioning.

  2. AWS Proton renders a complete Terraform template. It consists of one or more Terraform files, potentially in multiple folders, and a .tfvars variables file. AWS Proton writes parameter values provided on the resource creation call into this variables file.

  3. AWS Proton submits a PR to the infrastructure repository with the rendered Terraform template.

  4. When the customer (administrator or developer) merges the PR, the customer's automation triggers the provisioning engine to start provisioning infrastructure using the merged template.

    Note

    If the customer (administrator or developer) closes the PR, AWS Proton recognizes the PR as closed and marks the deployment as cancelled.

  5. When provisioning completes, the customer's automation calls the NotifyResourceDeploymentStatusChange AWS Proton API action to indicate completion, provide the status (success or failure), and provide outputs, like Amazon VPC ID, if any exist.

    Important

    Be sure that your automation code calls back into AWS Proton with the provisioning status and outputs. If it doesn't, AWS Proton might consider the provisioning as pending for longer than it should, and keep showing In progress status.

The following diagram illustrates the steps that AWS Proton performs and the steps that your own provisioning system performs.


          Diagram illustrating self-managed provisioning in AWS Proton

Considerations for self-managed provisioning

  • Infrastructure repository – When an administrator configures an environment for self-managed provisioning, they need to provide a linked infrastructure repository. AWS Proton submits PRs to this repository to provision the infrastructure of the environment and all the service instances that are deployed to it. The customer-owned automation action in the repository should assume an IAM role with permissions to create all the resources that your environment and service templates include, and an identity that reflects the destination AWS account. For an example GitHub Action that assumes a role, see Assuming a Role in the "Configure AWS Credentials" Action For GitHub Actions documentation.

  • Service provisioning – When a developer chooses an environment with self-managed provisioning for their service instance, AWS Proton submits a PR to the associated repository to provision infrastructure for the service instance. Developers don't see the repository and can't change it.

    Note

    Developers creating services in an environment use the same process no matter which provisioning method the environment uses, and the difference is abstracted from them. However, with self-managed provisioning developers might experience slower response, because they need to wait until someone (which might not be themselves) merges the PR in the infrastructure repository before provisioning can start.

  • Service with pipeline – A service template for an environment with self-managed provisioning may include a pipeline definition (for example, an AWS CodePipeline pipeline), written in Terraform HCL. To enable AWS Proton to provision these pipelines, an administrator provides a linked pipeline repository to AWS Proton. When provisioning a pipeline, the customer-owned automation action in the repository should assume an IAM role with permissions to provision the pipeline, and an identity that reflects the destination AWS account. The pipeline repository and role are separate from those used for each individual environment. The linked repository is provided to Proton AWS Proton separately, only once at the AWS account level, and it's used to provision and manage all pipelines. The role should have permissions to create pipelines and other resources that your pipelines need.

    The following procedures show how to provide the pipeline repository and role to AWS Proton.

    AWS Proton console

    To provide the pipeline role

    1. In the AWS Proton console, on the navigation pane, choose Settings > Account settings, and then choose Configure.

    2. Use the CI/CD pipeline repository section to configure a new or existing repository link.

    AWS Proton API

    To provide the pipeline role

    1. Use the UpdateAccountSettings API action.

    2. Provide the provider, name, and branch of your pipeline repository in the pipelineProvisioningRepository parameter.

    AWS CLI

    To provide the pipeline role

    Run the following command:

    $ aws proton update-account-settings \ --pipeline-provisioning-repository \ "provider=GITHUB,name=my-pipeline-repo-name,branch=my-branch"
  • Deletion of self-managed provisioned resources – Terraform modules may include configuration elements that are necessary for Terraform operation, in addition to resource definitions. Therefore, AWS Proton can't delete all the Terraform files for an environment or service instance. Instead, AWS Proton marks the files for deletion and updated a flag in the PR metadata. Your automation can read that flag and use it to trigger a terraform destroy command.