實作自動 WLM - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

實作自動 WLM

Amazon Redshift 藉助自動工作負載管理 (WLM),可讓管理查詢並行和記憶體分配。系統將使用服務類別識別碼 100-107 建立最多八個佇列。每個佇列都有優先順序。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 查詢優先順序

相反地,手動 WLM 需要您指定查詢並行和記憶體配置的值。手動 WLM 的預設是五個查詢的並行,而記憶體均分為五。自動 WLM 會決定查詢需要的資源數量,並根據工作負載來調整並行。當系統中有需要大量資源的查詢時 (例如,大型資料表之間的雜湊聯結),並行較低。提出較輕型的查詢時 (例如,插入、刪除、掃描或簡易的彙總),並行較高。

如需如何從手動 WLM 遷移至自動 WLM 的詳細資訊,請參閱從手動 WLM 遷移至自動 WLM

自動 WLM 不同於短期查詢加速 (SQA),它以不同的方式評估查詢。即使長時間執行、非常消耗資源的查詢處於作用中狀態,將自動 WLM 和 SQA 搭配運作,也可以讓短期執行和輕量型查詢完成。如需 SQA 的詳細資訊,請參閱使用短期查詢加速

Amazon Redshift 啟用自動 WLM,以下參數羣組:

  • 如果您的叢集使用預設參數組,Amazon Redshift 會為其啟用自動 WLM。

  • 如果您的叢集使用自訂參數群組,您可以設定叢集來啟用自動 WLM。我們建議您為自動 WLM 組態另外建立參數群組。

若要設定 WLM,請在可與叢集相關聯的參數群組中編輯 wlm_json_configuration 參數。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 修改 WLM 組態

您在 WLM 組態中定義查詢佇列。您可以將更多查詢佇列新增至預設 WLM 組態,最多總共八個使用者佇列。您可以為每個查詢佇列設定下列項目:

  • 優先順序

  • 並行擴展模式

  • 使用者群組

  • 查詢群組

  • 查詢監控規則

優先順序

您可以透過設定優先順序值來定義查詢在工作負載中的相對重要性。為佇列指定優先順序,與佇列關聯的所有查詢就會繼承其優先順序。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 查詢優先順序

並行擴展模式

當並行擴展啟用時,當您需要更多叢集容量以執行增加的並行讀寫查詢時,Amazon Redshift 會自動新增額外的叢集容量。使用者會看到最新資料,無論查詢是執行於主要叢集或並行擴展叢集。

您可藉由設定 (WLM) 佇列來管理要將哪些查詢傳送至並行擴展叢集。當您啟用佇列的並行擴展時,合格查詢將傳送到並行擴展叢集,而非排隊等待。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 使用並行擴展

使用者群組

您可以指定每一個使用者群組名稱或使用萬用字元,將一組使用者群組指派給佇列。當所列的使用者群組中有一個成員執行查詢時,該查詢會在相應佇列中執行。可指派給佇列的使用者群組數沒有固定的限制。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 根據使用者群組將查詢指派給佇列

查詢群組

您可以指定每一個查詢群組名稱或使用萬用字元,將一組查詢群組指派給佇列。查詢群組只是一個標籤。在執行時間,您可以將查詢群組標籤指派給一系列查詢。指派給所列之查詢群組的任何查詢會在相應佇列中執行。可指派給佇列的查詢群組數沒有固定的限制。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 將查詢指派給查詢群組

萬用字元

如果 WLM 佇列組態中啟用萬用字元,您可以個別地或利用 Unix shell 樣式的萬用字元,將使用者組和查詢組指派給佇列。模式比對不區分大小寫。

例如,'*' 萬用字元符合任意數目的字元。因此,如果您將 dba_* 新增至佇列的使用者群組清單,任何使用者執行查詢只要是屬於以 dba_ 為名稱開頭的群組,都指派到該佇列。例如 dba_adminDBA_primary。'?' 萬用字元符合任何單一字元。因此,如果佇列包含使用者群組 dba?1,則名為 dba11dba21 的使用者群組符合,但 dba12 不符。

預設情況下,不會啟用萬用字元。

查詢監控規則

查詢監控規則會為 WLM 佇列定義以指標為基礎的效能邊界,並指定當查詢超出這些邊界時採取的動作。例如,對於短期執行查詢專用的佇列,您可以建立規則,以將執行時間超過 60 秒的查詢取消。若要追蹤設計不良的查詢,您可以使用另一個規則來記錄含有巢狀迴圈的查詢。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 WLM 查詢監控規則

檢查自動 WLM

若要檢查是否已啟用自動 WLM,請執行下列查詢。如果查詢傳回至少一列,表示自動 WLM 已啟用。

select * from stv_wlm_service_class_config where service_class >= 100;

下列查詢顯示通過每個查詢佇列 (服務類別) 的查詢數。也顯示平均執行時間、第 90 個百分位數的查詢數和等待時間,以及平均等待時間。自動 WLM 查詢使用服務類別 100 到 107。

select final_state, service_class, count(*), avg(total_exec_time), percentile_cont(0.9) within group (order by total_queue_time), avg(total_queue_time) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 group by 1,2 order by 2,1;

若要找出哪些查詢由自動 WLM 執行且成功完成,請執行下列查詢。

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class >= 100 and a.final_state = 'Completed' order by b.query desc limit 5;

Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide

Implementing Automatic WLM

With automatic workload management (WLM), Amazon Redshift manages query concurrency and memory allocation. Up to eight queues are created with the service class identifiers 100–107. Each queue has a priority. For more information, see Query Priority.

In contrast, manual WLM requires you to specify values for query concurrency and memory allocation. The default for manual WLM is concurrency of five queries, and memory is divided equally between all five. Automatic WLM determines the amount of resources that queries need, and adjusts the concurrency based on the workload. When queries requiring large amounts of resources are in the system (for example, hash joins between large tables), the concurrency is lower. When lighter queries (such as inserts, deletes, scans, or simple aggregations) are submitted, concurrency is higher.

For details about how to migrate from manual WLM to automatic WLM, see Migrating from Manual WLM to Automatic WLM.

Automatic WLM is separate from short query acceleration (SQA) and it evaluates queries differently. Automatic WLM and SQA work together to allow short running and lightweight queries to complete even while long running, resource intensive queries are active. For more information about SQA, see Working with Short Query Acceleration.

Amazon Redshift enables automatic WLM through parameter groups:

  • If your clusters use the default parameter group, Amazon Redshift enables automatic WLM for them.

  • If your clusters use custom parameter groups, you can configure the clusters to enable automatic WLM. We recommend that you create a separate parameter group for your automatic WLM configuration.

To configure WLM, edit the wlm_json_configuration parameter in a parameter group that can be associated with one or more clusters. For more information, see Modifying the WLM Configuration.

You define query queues within the WLM configuration. You can add additional query queues to the default WLM configuration, up to a total of eight user queues. You can configure the following for each query queue:

  • Priority

  • Concurrency scaling mode

  • User groups

  • Query groups

  • Query monitoring rules

Priority

You can define the relative importance of queries in a workload by setting a priority value. The priority is specified for a queue and inherited by all queries associated with the queue. For more information, see Query Priority.

Concurrency Scaling Mode

When concurrency scaling is enabled, Amazon Redshift automatically adds additional cluster capacity when you need it to process an increase in concurrent read queries. Write operations continue as normal on your main cluster. Users see the most current data, whether the queries run on the main cluster or on a concurrency scaling cluster.

You manage which queries are sent to the concurrency scaling cluster by configuring WLM queues. When you enable concurrency scaling for a queue, eligible queries are sent to the concurrency scaling cluster instead of waiting in line. For more information, see Working with Concurrency Scaling.

User Groups

You can assign a set of user groups to a queue by specifying each user group name or by using wildcards. When a member of a listed user group runs a query, that query runs in the corresponding queue. There is no set limit on the number of user groups that can be assigned to a queue. For more information, see Wildcards.

Query Groups

You can assign a set of query groups to a queue by specifying each query group name or by using wildcards. A query group is simply a label. At runtime, you can assign the query group label to a series of queries. Any queries that are assigned to a listed query group run in the corresponding queue. There is no set limit to the number of query groups that can be assigned to a queue. For more information, see Wildcards.

Wildcards

If wildcards are enabled in the WLM queue configuration, you can assign user groups and query groups to a queue either individually or by using Unix shell–style wildcards. The pattern matching is case-insensitive.

For example, the '*' wildcard character matches any number of characters. Thus, if you add dba_* to the list of user groups for a queue, any user-run query that belongs to a group with a name that begins with dba_ is assigned to that queue. Examples are dba_admin or DBA_primary. The '?' wildcard character matches any single character. Thus, if the queue includes user-group dba?1, then user groups named dba11 and dba21 match, but dba12 doesn't match.

By default, wildcards aren't enabled.

Query Monitoring Rules

Query monitoring rules define metrics-based performance boundaries for WLM queues and specify what action to take when a query goes beyond those boundaries. For example, for a queue dedicated to short running queries, you might create a rule that aborts queries that run for more than 60 seconds. To track poorly designed queries, you might have another rule that logs queries that contain nested loops. For more information, see WLM Query Monitoring Rules.

Checking for Automatic WLM

To check whether automatic WLM is enabled, run the following query. If the query returns at least one row, then automatic WLM is enabled.

select * from stv_wlm_service_class_config where service_class >= 100;

The following query shows the number of queries that went through each query queue (service class). It also shows the average execution time, the number of queries with wait time at the 90th percentile, and the average wait time. Automatic WLM queries use service classes 100 to 107.

select final_state, service_class, count(*), avg(total_exec_time), percentile_cont(0.9) within group (order by total_queue_time), avg(total_queue_time) from stl_wlm_query where userid >= 100 group by 1,2 order by 2,1;

To find which queries were run by automatic WLM, and completed successfully, run the following query.

select a.queue_start_time, a.total_exec_time, label, trim(querytxt) from stl_wlm_query a, stl_query b where a.query = b.query and a.service_class >= 100 and a.final_state = 'Completed' order by b.query desc limit 5;