MFA types - AWS Single Sign-On

MFA types

MFA types represent the different mechanisms that users will be able to register and provide as secondary means of verifying their identity when challenged. All MFA types are supported for both browser-based console access as well as using the AWS CLI v2 with AWS SSO.

AWS SSO MFA provides support to enable one or both of the following types of client-side authentication types.

  • Authenticator apps

  • Security keys and built-in authenticators

Alternatively, you can also utilize your own RADIUS implementation connected through AWS Managed Microsoft AD. For more information, see RADIUS MFA.

For more information, see Configure MFA types.