演練:在無法觸達的執行個體上執行 EC2Rescue 工具 - AWS Systems Manager

演練:在無法觸達的執行個體上執行 EC2Rescue 工具

EC2Rescue 可協助您對 Linux 和 Windows Server Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 執行個體的問題進行故障診斷。您可以手動執行工具,請參閱 Using EC2Rescue for Linux Server (使用適用於 Linux 伺服器的 EC2Rescue)Using EC2Rescue for Windows Server (使用適用於 Windows Server 的 EC2Rescue)。或者,您可以使用 Systems Manager Automation 和 AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue Runbook 自動執行工具。自動化是 AWS Systems Manager 的功能。AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue Runbook 旨在執行一組 Systems Manager 動作、AWS CloudFormation 動作和 Lambda 函數,以將通常必須使用 EC2Rescue 的步驟自動化。

您可以使用 AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue Runbook 針對不同類型的作業系統 (OS) 問題疑難排解並可能修復。請參閱下列主題以取得完整的清單:

Windows:請參閱將 EC2Rescue for Windows Server 與命令列搭配使用中的救援動作

LinuxmacOS:某些適用於 Linux 模組的 EC2Rescue 會偵測並嘗試修復問題。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 GitHub 上針對各模組的 aws-ec2rescue-linux 文件。

運作方式

使用 Automation 和 AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue Runbook 對執行個體進行故障診斷的運作方式如下:

  • 您要指定無法連線的執行個體 ID 並執行 Runbook。

  • 系統會建立暫時 VPC,接著執行一系列 Lambda 函數以設定 VPC。

  • 系統會在與原始執行個體相同的可用區域中為您的暫時 VPC 識別出子網路。

  • 系統會啟動暫時且啟用 SSM 的協助程式執行個體。

  • 系統會停止您的原始執行個體,並建立備份。接著系統會將原始根磁碟區連接至協助程式執行個體。

  • 系統會使用 Run Command 在協助程式執行個體上執行 EC2Rescue。EC2Rescue 會在已連接的原始根磁碟區上識別並嘗試修正問題。完成後,EC2Rescue 會重新將根磁碟區連接回原始執行個體。

  • 系統會重新啟動您的原始執行個體,並終止暫時執行個體。系統也會終止在自動化開始時建立的暫時 VPC 和 Lambda 函數。

開始之前

執行以下自動化之前,請先執行以下項目:

  • 複製無法連線之執行個體的執行個體 ID。您會在程序中指定此 ID。

  • 或者,收集與無法連線之執行個體位於相同可用區域中的子網路 ID。EC2Rescue 執行個體會在此子網路中建立。如果您不指定子網路,則自動化會在您的 AWS 帳戶 中建立新的暫時 VPC。確認您的 AWS 帳戶 至少有一個可用的 VPC。根據預設,您可以在一個區域中建立五個 VPC。如果您已經在區域中建立五個 VPC,則自動化會失敗且不會變更您的執行個體。如需 VPC 中 IPv6 的詳細資訊,請參閱《Amazon VPC 使用者指南》中的 VPC 和子網路

  • 或者,您可以建立和指定自動化的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色。如果您不指定此角色,則自動化會在執行自動化的使用者內容中執行。如需建立自動化之角色的詳細資訊,請參閱 使用 IAM 服務角色執行自動化

授予 AWSSupport-EC2Rescue 在執行個體上執行動作的許可

EC2Rescue 需要許可才能在自動化執行期間於您的執行個體一系列動作。這些動作會呼叫 AWS Lambda、IAM、Amazon EC2 服務,以安全的方式嘗試修復執行個體的問題。如果您在 AWS 帳戶 帳戶及/或 VPC 中有管理員層級的許可,您或許可以不必設定許可而執行自動化,如本節所述。如果您沒有管理員層級的許可,則您或管理員必須使用以下其中一個選項來設定許可。

使用 IAM 政策授予許可

您可以將以下 IAM 政策做為內嵌政策連接至您的 IAM 使用者帳戶、群組或角色;或者,您可以建立新的 IAM 受管政策並將其連接至您的使用者帳戶、群組或角色。如需新增內嵌政策至使用者帳戶、群組或角色的詳細資訊,請參閱使用內嵌政策。如需建立新受管政策的詳細資訊,請參閱使用受管政策

注意

如果您建立新的 IAM 受管政策,您也必須為其連接 AmazonSSMAutomationRole 受管政策,以使您的執行個體能夠與 Systems Manager API 通訊。

AWSSupport-EC2Rescue 的 IAM 政策

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "lambda:InvokeFunction", "lambda:DeleteFunction", "lambda:GetFunction" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:*:aws-account-id:function:AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*", "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject", "s3:GetObjectVersion" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::awssupport-ssm.*/*.template", "arn:aws:s3:::awssupport-ssm.*/*.zip" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "iam:CreateRole", "iam:CreateInstanceProfile", "iam:GetRole", "iam:GetInstanceProfile", "iam:PutRolePolicy", "iam:DetachRolePolicy", "iam:AttachRolePolicy", "iam:PassRole", "iam:AddRoleToInstanceProfile", "iam:RemoveRoleFromInstanceProfile", "iam:DeleteRole", "iam:DeleteRolePolicy", "iam:DeleteInstanceProfile" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iam::aws-account-id:role/AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*", "arn:aws:iam::aws-account-id:instance-profile/AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "lambda:CreateFunction", "ec2:CreateVpc", "ec2:ModifyVpcAttribute", "ec2:DeleteVpc", "ec2:CreateInternetGateway", "ec2:AttachInternetGateway", "ec2:DetachInternetGateway", "ec2:DeleteInternetGateway", "ec2:CreateSubnet", "ec2:DeleteSubnet", "ec2:CreateRoute", "ec2:DeleteRoute", "ec2:CreateRouteTable", "ec2:AssociateRouteTable", "ec2:DisassociateRouteTable", "ec2:DeleteRouteTable", "ec2:CreateVpcEndpoint", "ec2:DeleteVpcEndpoints", "ec2:ModifyVpcEndpoint", "ec2:Describe*" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

使用 AWS CloudFormation 範本授予許可

AWS CloudFormation 會使用預先設定的範本自動化建立 IAM 角色和政策的程序。藉由以下程序,使用 AWS CloudFormation 為 EC2Rescue 自動化建立所需的 IAM 角色和政策。

為 EC2Rescue 建立所需的 IAM 角色和政策

  1. 下載 AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.zip 並將 AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.json 檔案解壓縮至本機電腦上的目錄。

  2. 如果您的 AWS 帳戶 帳戶是特殊分割區,請編輯範本以將 ARN 值變更為您分割區的服務端點和 ARN 值。

    例如,對於中國區域,將 arn:aws 的所有案例變更為 arn:aws-cn

  3. 請登入 AWS Management Console,開啟位於 https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudformation 的 AWS CloudFormation 主控台。

  4. 選擇 Create stack (建立堆疊)With new resources (standard) (使用新資源 (標準))

  5. Create stack (建立堆疊) 頁面上,對於 Prerequisite - Prepare template (先決條件 - 準備範本),選擇 Template is ready (範本已準備就緒)

  6. 對於 Specify template (指定範本),選擇 Upload a template file (上傳範本檔案)

  7. 選擇 Choose file (選擇檔案),然後瀏覽並從您解壓縮檔案的目錄中選取 AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.json 檔案。

  8. 選擇 Next (下一步)

  9. Specify stack details (指定堆疊詳細資訊) 頁面上,對於 Stack name (堆疊名稱) 欄位,輸入識別此堆疊的名稱,然後選擇 Next (下一步)

  10. (選用) 在 Tags (標籤) 區域中將一個或多個標籤索引鍵名稱/值對套用到堆疊。

    標籤是您指派給資源的選用性中繼資料。標籤可讓您以不同的方式 (例如用途、擁有者或環境) 將資源分類。例如,您可能想要標記堆疊來識別其執行的任務類型、相關的目標類型或其他資源,以及其執行所在的環境。

  11. 選擇 Next (下一步)

  12. Review (檢閱) 頁面上,檢閱堆疊詳細資訊,然後向下捲動,選擇 I acknowledge that AWS CloudFormation might create IAM resources (我知道 AWS CloudFormation 可能會建立 IAM 資源)。

  13. 選擇 Create Stack (建立堆疊)

    AWS CloudFormation 會顯示 CREATE_IN_PROGRESS 狀態數分鐘。堆疊建立之後,狀態會變更為 CREATE_COMPLETE (CREATE_COMPLETE)。您也可以選擇重新整理圖示來檢查建立程序的狀態。

  14. Stacks (堆疊) 清單中,選擇您剛建立堆疊的選項按鈕,然後選擇 Outputs (輸出) 索引標籤。

  15. 請記下 Value (值)。此為 AssumeRole 的 ARN。當您在下一個程序執行自動化中執行自動化時,請指定此 ARN。

執行自動化

重要

以下自動化工作流程會停止無法連線的執行個體。停止執行個體可能會導致已連接執行個體存放磁碟區上的資料遺失 (若有)。停止執行個體也可能會導致公有 IP 變更 (若無關聯的彈性 IP)。

執行 AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue 自動化。

  1. 開啟位於 AWS Systems Managerhttps://console.aws.amazon.com/systems-manager/ 的 主控台。https://console.aws.amazon.com/systems-manager/

  2. 在導覽窗格中選擇 Automation (自動化)。

    -或-

    如果 AWS Systems Manager 首頁先開啟,選擇選單圖示 ( ) 以開啟導覽窗格,然後選擇 Automation (自動化)。

  3. 選擇 Execute automation (執行自動化)

  4. Automation document (自動化文件) 部分,從清單選擇 Owned by Amazon (由 Amazon 所有)

  5. 在 Runbook 清單中,選擇 AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue 卡片中的按鈕,然後選擇 Next (下一步)。

  6. Execute automation document (執行自動化文件) 頁面上,選擇 Simple execution (簡易執行)

  7. Document details (文件詳細資訊) 部分,確認 Document version (文件版本) 設為最高的預設版本。例如,$DEFAULT3 (default) (3 (預設))

  8. Input parameters (輸入參數) 區段中,指定以下參數:

    1. 針對 UnreachableInstanceId (UnreachableInstanceId),指定無法連線之執行個體的 ID。

    2. (選用) 針對 EC2RescueInstanceType (EC2RescueInstanceType),指定 EC2Rescue 執行個體的執行個體類型。預設執行個體類型為 t2.small

    3. 對於 AutomationAssumeRole,如果您使用本主題稍早所述的 AWS CloudFormation 程序來建立此自動化的角色,請選擇您在 AWS CloudFormation 主控台中建立之 AssumeRole 的 ARN。

    4. (選用) 針對 LogDestination,如果您在對解執行個體進行故障診斷時想要收集作業系統層級的日誌,請指定 S3 儲存貯體。日誌會自動上傳至指定的儲存貯體。

    5. 針對 SubnetId (SubnetId),在與無法連線之執行個體位於相同可用區域的現有 VPC 中指定子網路。根據預設,Systems Manager 會建立新的 VPC,但您也可以在現有 VPC 中指定子網路。

      注意

      如果您沒見到指定儲存貯體或子網路 ID 的選項,請確認您使用的是 Runbook 最新的 Default (預設) 版本。

  9. (選用) 在 Tags (標籤) 區域中,套用一個或多個標籤索引鍵名稱/值對以協助識別自動化,例如 Key=Purpose,Value=EC2Rescue

  10. 選擇 Execute (執行)

作為自動化的一部分,Runbook 會建立備份 AMI。其他所有由自動化建立的資源都會自動刪除,但此 AMI 會保留於您的帳戶。AMI 使用以下慣例命名:

備份 AMI:AWSSupport-EC2Rescue:UnreachableInstanceId

您可以搜尋自動化執行 ID 以在 Amazon EC2 主控台找到此 AMI。

Walkthrough: Run the EC2Rescue tool on unreachable instances - AWS Systems Manager

Walkthrough: Run the EC2Rescue tool on unreachable instances

EC2Rescue can help you diagnose and troubleshoot problems on EC2 instances for Linux and Windows Server. You can run the tool manually, as described in Using EC2Rescue for Linux Server and Using EC2Rescue for Windows Server. Or, you can run the tool automatically by using Systems Manager Automation and the AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue document. The AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue document is designed to perform a combination of Systems Manager actions, AWS CloudFormation actions, and Lambda functions that automate the steps normally required to use EC2Rescue.

You can use the AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue document to troubleshoot and potentially remediate different types of operating system (OS) issues. See the following topics for a complete list:

Windows: See Rescue Action in Using EC2Rescue for Windows Server with the Command Line.

Linux: Some EC2Rescue for Linux modules detect and attempt to remediate issues. For more information, see the aws-ec2rescue-linux documentation for each module on GitHub.

How it works

Troubleshooting an instance with Automation and the AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue document works as follows:

  • You specify the ID of the unreachable instance and run the Automation workflow.

  • The system creates a temporary VPC, and then runs a series of Lambda functions to configure the VPC.

  • The system identifies a subnet for your temporary VPC in the same Availability Zone as your original instance.

  • The system launches a temporary, SSM-enabled helper instance.

  • The system stops your original instance, and creates a backup. It then attaches the original root volume to the helper instance.

  • The system uses Run Command to run EC2Rescue on the helper instance. EC2Rescue identifies and attempts to fix issues on the attached, original root volume. When finished, EC2Rescue reattaches the root volume back to the original instance.

  • The system restarts your original instance, and terminates the temporary instance. The system also terminates the temporary VPC and the Lambda functions created at the start of the automation.

Before you begin

Before you run the following Automation, do the following:

  • Copy the instance ID of the unreachable instance. You will specify this ID in the procedure.

  • Optionally, collect the ID of a subnet in the same availability zone as your unreachable instance. The EC2Rescue instance will be created in this subnet. If you don’t specify a subnet, then Automation creates a new temporary VPC in your AWS account. Verify that your AWS account has at least one VPC available. By default, you can create five VPCs in a Region. If you already created five VPCs in the Region, the automation fails without making changes to your instance. For more information about Amazon VPC quotas, see VPC and Subnets in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

  • Optionally, you can create and specify an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role for Automation. If you don't specify this role, then Automation runs in the context of the user who ran the automation. For more information about creating roles for Automation, see Running an automation by using an IAM service role.

Granting AWSSupport-EC2Rescue permissions to perform actions on your instances

EC2Rescue needs permission to perform a series of actions on your instances during the Automation execution. These actions invoke the AWS Lambda, IAM, and Amazon EC2 services to safely and securely attempt to remediate issues with your instances. If you have Administrator-level permissions in your AWS account and/or VPC, you might be able to run the automation without configuring permissions, as described in this section. If you don't have Administrator-level permissions, then you or an administrator must configure permissions by using one of the following options.

Granting permissions by using IAM policies

You can either attach the following IAM policy to your IAM user account, group, or role as an inline policy; or, you can create a new IAM managed policy and attach it to your user account, group, or role. For more information about adding an inline policy to your user account, group, or role see Working With Inline Policies. For more information about creating a new managed policy, see Working With Managed Policies.

Note

If you create a new IAM managed policy, you must also attach the AmazonSSMAutomationRole managed policy to it so that your instances can communicate with the Systems Manager API.

IAM Policy for AWSSupport-EC2Rescue

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "lambda:InvokeFunction", "lambda:DeleteFunction", "lambda:GetFunction" ], "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:*:aws-account-id:function:AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*", "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject", "s3:GetObjectVersion" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::awssupport-ssm.*/*.template", "arn:aws:s3:::awssupport-ssm.*/*.zip" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "iam:CreateRole", "iam:CreateInstanceProfile", "iam:GetRole", "iam:GetInstanceProfile", "iam:PutRolePolicy", "iam:DetachRolePolicy", "iam:AttachRolePolicy", "iam:PassRole", "iam:AddRoleToInstanceProfile", "iam:RemoveRoleFromInstanceProfile", "iam:DeleteRole", "iam:DeleteRolePolicy", "iam:DeleteInstanceProfile" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iam::aws-account-id:role/AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*", "arn:aws:iam::aws-account-id:instance-profile/AWSSupport-EC2Rescue-*" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "lambda:CreateFunction", "ec2:CreateVpc", "ec2:ModifyVpcAttribute", "ec2:DeleteVpc", "ec2:CreateInternetGateway", "ec2:AttachInternetGateway", "ec2:DetachInternetGateway", "ec2:DeleteInternetGateway", "ec2:CreateSubnet", "ec2:DeleteSubnet", "ec2:CreateRoute", "ec2:DeleteRoute", "ec2:CreateRouteTable", "ec2:AssociateRouteTable", "ec2:DisassociateRouteTable", "ec2:DeleteRouteTable", "ec2:CreateVpcEndpoint", "ec2:DeleteVpcEndpoints", "ec2:ModifyVpcEndpoint", "ec2:Describe*" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

Granting permissions by using an AWS CloudFormation template

AWS CloudFormation automates the process of creating IAM roles and policies by using a preconfigured template. Use the following procedure to create the required IAM roles and policies for the EC2Rescue Automation by using AWS CloudFormation.

To create the required IAM roles and policies for EC2Rescue

  1. Download AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.zip and extract the AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.json file to a directory on your local machine.

  2. If your AWS account is in a special partition, edit the template to change the ARN values to those for your partition.

    For example, for the China Regions, change all cases of arn:aws to arn:aws-cn.

  3. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the AWS CloudFormation console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudformation.

  4. Choose Create stack, With new resources (standard).

  5. On the Create stack page, for Prerequisite - Prepare template, choose Template is ready.

  6. For Specify template, choose Upload a template file.

  7. Choose Choose file, and then browse to and select the AWSSupport-EC2RescueRole.json file from the directory where you extracted it.

  8. Choose Next.

  9. On the Specify stack details page, for Stack name field, enter a name to identify this stack, and then choose Next.

  10. (Optional) In the Tags area, apply one or more tag key name/value pairs to the stack.

    Tags are optional metadata that you assign to a resource. Tags enable you to categorize a resource in different ways, such as by purpose, owner, or environment. For example, you might want to tag a stack to identify the type of tasks it runs, the types of targets or other resources involved, and the environment it runs in.

  11. Choose Next

  12. On the Review page, review the stack details, and then scroll down and choose the I acknowledge that AWS CloudFormation might create IAM resources option.

  13. Choose Create stack.

    AWS CloudFormation shows the CREATE_IN_PROGRESS status for a few minutes. The status changes to CREATE_COMPLETE after the stack has been created. You can also choose the refresh icon to check the status of the create process.

  14. In the Stacks list, choose the option button the stack you just created, and then choose the Outputs tab.

  15. Note the Value. The is the ARN of the AssumeRole. You specify this ARN when you run the Automation in the next procedure, Running the Automation.

Running the Automation

Important

The following Automation workflow stops the unreachable instance. Stopping the instance can result in lost data on attached instance store volumes (if present). Stopping the instance can also cause the public IP to change, if no Elastic IP is associated.

To run the AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue Automation

  1. Open the AWS Systems Manager console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/systems-manager/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Automation.

    -or-

    If the AWS Systems Manager home page opens first, choose the menu icon ( ) to open the navigation pane, and then choose Automation.

  3. Choose Execute automation.

  4. In the Automation document section, choose Owned by Amazon from the list.

  5. In the documents list, choose the button in the card for AWSSupport-ExecuteEC2Rescue, and then choose Next.

  6. In the Execute automation document page, choose Simple execution.

  7. In the Document details section, verify that Document version is set to the highest default version. For example, $DEFAULT or 3 (default).

  8. In the Input parameters section, specify the following parameters:

    1. For UnreachableInstanceId, specify the ID of the unreachable instance.

    2. (Optional) For EC2RescueInstanceType, specify an instance type for the EC2Rescue instance. The default instance type is t2.small.

    3. For AutomationAssumeRole, if you created roles for this Automation by using the AWS CloudFormation procedure described earlier in this topic, then choose the ARN of the AssumeRole that you created in the AWS CloudFormation console.

    4. (Optional) For LogDestination, specify an S3 bucket if you want to collect operating system-level logs while troubleshooting your instance. Logs are automatically uploaded to the specified bucket.

    5. For SubnetId, specify a subnet in an existing VPC in the same availability zone as the unreachable instance. By default, Systems Manager creates a new VPC, but you can specify a subnet in an existing VPC if you want.

      Note

      If you don't see the option to specify a bucket or a subnet ID, verify that you are using the latest Default version of the document.

  9. (Optional) In the Tags area, apply one or more tag key name/value pairs to help identify the execution, for example Key=Purpose,Value=EC2Rescue.

  10. Choose Execute.

The Automation creates a backup AMI as part of the workflow. All other resources created by the Automation workflow are automatically deleted, but this AMI remains in your account. The AMI is named using the following convention:

Backup AMI: AWSSupport-EC2Rescue:UnreachableInstanceId

You can locate this AMI in the Amazon EC2 console by searching on the Automation execution ID.