使用角色來收集庫存、執行維護期間任務,以及檢視 OpsData:AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM - AWS Systems Manager

使用角色來收集庫存、執行維護期間任務,以及檢視 OpsData:AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM

AWS Systems Manager 使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服務連結的角色。服務連結角色是直接連結至 Systems Manager 的一種特殊 IAM 角色類型。服務連結角色由 Systems Manager 預先定義,且內含該服務代您呼叫其他 AWS 服務所需的所有許可。

服務連結的角色可讓設定 Systems Manager 更為簡單,因為您不必手動新增必要的許可。Systems Manager​ 定義其服務連結角色的許可,除非另有定義,否則僅有 Systems Manager 可以擔任其角色。定義的許可包括信任政策和許可政策,並且該許可政策不能連接到任何其他 IAM 實體。

您必須先刪除服務連結角色的相關資源,才能將其刪除。如此可保護您 Systems Manager 的資源,避免您不小心移除資源的存取許可。

如需關於支援服務連結角色的其他服務資訊,請參閱《可搭配 IAM 運作的 AWS 服務》,尋找 Service-linked roles (服務連結角色) 欄中顯示為 Yes (是) 的服務。選擇具有連結的 Yes (是),以檢視該服務的服務連結角色文件。

Systems Manager 的服務連結角色許可

Systems Manager 使用名為 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 的服務連結角色 – AWS Systems Manager 使用此 IAM 服務角色來代表您管理 AWS 資源。

AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色僅信任 ssm.amazonaws.com 服務擔任此角色。

三個 Systems Manager 功能使用服務連結角色:

  • 庫存功能需要服務連結角色。角色允許系統從標籤和資源群組收集庫存中繼資料。

  • Systems Manager Maintenance Windows 可以選擇使用服務連結角色。此角色允許 Maintenance Windows 服務在目標節點上執行維護任務。Systems Manager 的服務連結角色不一定會提供所有案例需要的許可。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 我應該使用服務連結角色還是自訂服務角色來執行維護時段任務?

  • Explorer 功能使用服務連結角色,以便從多個帳戶中檢視 OpsData 和 OpsItems。當您從 Explorer 或 OpsCenter 中允許 Security Hub 作為資料來源時,此服務連結角色也允許 Explorer 建立受管規則。

用於為 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 角色提供許可的受管政策是 AmazonSSMServiceRolePolicy。如需授予許可的詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS 受管政策:AmazonSSMServiceRolePolicy

建立 Systems Manager 的 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色

您可以在 IAM 主控台透過 EC2 使用案例建立服務連結角色。使用 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 中的 IAM 命令或使用 IAM API,建立使用 ssm.amazonaws.com 服務名稱的服務連結角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的建立服務連結角色

若是維護時段,您便不需要手動建立服務連結角色 (僅限維護時段)。在 AWS Management Console、AWS CLI 或 Systems Manager API 中建立維護時段任務時,如果您選擇不提供自訂服務角色,Systems Manager 會為您建立服務連結角色。

若您刪除此服務連結角色,之後需要再次建立,您可以在帳戶中使用相同程序重新建立角色。

編輯 Systems Manager 的 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色

Systems Manager 不允許您編輯 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色。因為可能有各種實體會參考服務連結角色,所以您無法在建立角色之後變更其名稱。然而,您可使用 IAM 來編輯角色描述。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的編輯服務連結角色

刪除 Systems Manager 的 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色

若您不再使用需要服務連結角色的任何功能或服務,我們建議您刪除該角色。如此一來,您就沒有未主動監控或維護的未使用實體。您可以使用 IAM 主控台、AWS CLI 或 IAM API 手動刪除服務連結角色。若要執行此操作,您必須先手動清除服務連結角色的資源,然後才能手動刪除它。

由於 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色可同時由多個功能使用,試圖將該角色刪除前,請先確認功能都沒有在使用中。

  • 庫存:如果您刪除庫存功能使用的服務連結角色,則標籤和 Resource Groups 的庫存資料將不再同步。手動刪除服務連結角色之前,您必須先清理資源。

  • Maintenance Windows:如果任何維護時段任務正在使用該服務連結角色,您便無法刪除該角色。您必須先從任務移除服務連結角色,才能刪除該角色。

  • Explorer:如果您使用 Explorer 功能刪除服務連結角色,則跨帳戶和跨區域 OpsData 與 OpsItems 不再可檢視。

注意

若 Systems Manager 服務在您嘗試刪除標籤、資源群組或維護時段任務時正在使用該角色,刪除便可能會失敗。若此情況發生,請等待數分鐘後並再次嘗試操作。

刪除 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 所使用的 Systems Manager 資源

  1. 若要刪除標籤,請參閱在個別資源上新增和刪除標籤

  2. 若要刪除資源群組,請參閱從 AWS Resource Groups 刪除群組

  3. 若要刪除維護時段任務,請參閲《更新或取消註冊維護時段任務 (主控台)》。

若要使用 IAM 手動刪除 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色

使用 IAM 主控台、AWS CLI 或 IAM API 刪除 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的刪除服務連結角色

Systems ManagerAWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色的支援區域

Systems Manager 支援在所有提供服務的 AWS 區域 中,使用 AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM 服務連結角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Systems Manager 端點和配額

Using roles to collect inventory and view OpsData: AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM - AWS Systems Manager

Using roles to collect inventory and view OpsData: AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM

AWS Systems Manager uses AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) service-linked roles. A service-linked role is a unique type of IAM role that is linked directly to Systems Manager. Service-linked roles are predefined by Systems Manager and include all the permissions that the service requires to call other AWS services on your behalf.

A service-linked role makes setting up Systems Manager easier because you don’t have to manually add the necessary permissions. Systems Manager defines the permissions of its service-linked roles, and unless defined otherwise, only Systems Manager can assume its roles. The defined permissions include the trust policy and the permissions policy, and that permissions policy can't be attached to any other IAM entity.

You can delete a service-linked role only after first deleting their related resources. This protects your Systems Manager resources because you can't inadvertently remove permission to access the resources.

For information about other services that support service-linked roles, see AWS services that work with IAM and look for the services that have Yes in the Service-linked roles column. Choose a Yes with a link to view the service-linked role documentation for that service.

Service-linked role permissions for Systems Manager

Systems Manager uses the service-linked role named AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM – AWS Systems Manager uses this IAM service role to manage AWS resources on your behalf.

The AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role trusts only ssm.amazonaws.com to assume this role.

Two Systems Manager capabilities use the service-linked role:

  • The Inventory capability requires a service-linked role. The role allows the system to collect Inventory metadata from tags and resource groups.

  • The Explorer capability uses the service-linked role to allow viewing OpsData and OpsItems from multiple accounts. This service-linked role also allows Explorer to create a managed rule when you allow Security Hub as a data source from Explorer or OpsCenter.

    Important

    Previously, the Systems Manager console provided you with the ability to choose the AWS managed IAM service-linked role AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM to use as the maintenance role for your tasks. Using this role and its associated policy, AmazonSSMServiceRolePolicy, for maintenance window tasks is no longer recommended. If you're using this role for maintenance window tasks now, we encourage you to stop using it. Instead, create your own IAM role that enables communication between Systems Manager and other AWS services when your maintenance window tasks run.

    For more information, see Setting up Maintenance Windows.

The managed policy that is used to provide permissions for the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM role is AmazonSSMServiceRolePolicy. For details about the permissions it grants, see AWS managed policy: AmazonSSMServiceRolePolicy.

Creating the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role for Systems Manager

You can use the IAM console to create a service-linked role with the EC2 use case. Using commands for IAM in the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) or using the IAM API, create a service-linked role with the ssm.amazonaws.com service name. For more information, see Creating a service-linked role in the IAM User Guide.

If you delete this service-linked role, and then need to create it again, you can use the same process to recreate the role in your account.

Editing the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role for Systems Manager

Systems Manager doesn't allow you to edit the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role. After you create a service-linked role, you can't change the name of the role because various entities might reference the role. However, you can edit the description of the role using IAM. For more information, see Editing a service-linked role in the IAM User Guide.

Deleting the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role for Systems Manager

If you no longer need to use any feature or service that requires a service-linked role, then we recommend that you delete that role. That way you don’t have an unused entity that isn't actively monitored or maintained. You can use the IAM console, the AWS CLI, or the IAM API to manually delete the service-linked role. To do this, you must first manually clean up the resources for your service-linked role, and then you can manually delete it.

Because the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role can be used by multiple capabilities, ensure that none are using the role before attempting to delete it.

  • Inventory: If you delete the service-linked role used by the Inventory capability, then the Inventory data for tags and Resource Groups will no longer be synchronized. You must clean up the resources for your service-linked role before you can manually delete it.

  • Explorer: If you delete the service-linked role used by the Explorer capability, then the cross-account and cross-Region OpsData and OpsItems are no longer viewable.

Note

If the Systems Manager service is using the role when you try to delete tags or resource groups, then the deletion might fail. If that happens, wait for a few minutes and try the operation again.

To delete Systems Manager resources used by the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM

  1. To delete tags, see Add and delete tags on an individual resource.

  2. To delete resource groups, see Delete groups from AWS Resource Groups.

  3. To delete maintenance window tasks, see Updating or deregistering maintenance window tasks (console).

To manually delete the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role using IAM

Use the IAM console, the AWS CLI, or the IAM API to delete the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role. For more information, see Deleting a service-linked role in the IAM User Guide.

Supported Regions for the Systems ManagerAWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role

Systems Manager supports using the AWSServiceRoleForAmazonSSM service-linked role in all of the AWS Regions where the service is available. For more information, see AWS Systems Manager endpoints and quotas.