Workload Invitations - AWS Well-Architected Tool

Workload Invitations

A workload invitation is a request to share a workload owned by another AWS account. A workload can be shared with all users in an AWS account, individual IAM users, or both. If you accept the workload invitation, the workload is added to your Workloads and Dashboard pages. If you reject the invitation, it's removed from the list.

Note

Workloads can only be shared within the same AWS Region.

The owner of the workload controls who has shared access. Access to the workload is not removed until the owner deletes the workload invitation.

The Workload invitations page, available from the left navigation, provides information about your pending workload invitations.

The following information is displayed for each workload invitation:

Workload

The name of the workload to be shared.

Owner

The AWS account ID that owns the workload.

Permission

The permission that you are being granted to the workload.

  • Read-Only

    Provides read-only access to the workload.

  • Contributor

    Provides update access to answers and their notes, and read-only access to the rest of the workload.

Permission details

Detailed description of the permission.

Accepting a Workload Invitation

To accept a workload invitation

  1. Select the workload invitation to accept.

  2. Choose Accept.

The workload is added to the Workloads and Dashboard pages.

You have seven days to accept a workload invitation. If you do not accept the invitation within seven days, it's automatically expired. Shared access to the workload is not removed until the workload owner deletes the workload invitation.

If an IAM user and the user's AWS account both have accepted workload invitations, the workload invitation for the IAM user determines the user's permission.

Rejecting a Workload Invitation

To reject a workload invitation

  1. Select the workload invitation to reject.

  2. Choose Reject.

The workload invitation is removed from the list.

Shared access to the workload is not removed until the workload owner deletes the workload invitation.