Amazon WorkDocs
User Guide

Locking and Unlocking Files

Lock a file to prevent others from overwriting your work. While a file is locked, only the person who locked it can upload a new version.

Owners, co-owners, and contributors can lock files and send requests to unlock a file. Owners and co-owners can also unlock files. Contributors can unlock a file only if they locked it.

To lock a file

  1. Select or open the file to lock.

  2. For Actions, choose Settings and select Lock.

  3. A lock icon appears next to the file.

If you locked a file, you can unlock it when you're done.

To unlock a file

  1. In the web client, select or open the file to unlock it, and choose the lock icon.

  2. The lock icon disappears and the file is unlocked.

To edit a locked file, send an unlock request to the user who locked it.

To send an unlock request

  1. In the web client, select or open the file to unlock it, and choose the lock icon.

  2. When prompted, send the unlock request. The request is sent to the user who locked the file, the file owner, and any co-owners.