Amazon WorkMail
User Guide (Version 1.0)

Sharing Folders and Folder Permissions

You can share email folders with other Amazon WorkMail users and open folders that have been shared with you. You can also view, change, or remove folder permissions for a shared folder.

Sharing Email Folders with Other Users

You can give another user permission to view an email folder.

To share an email folder with another user

  1. In the Amazon WorkMail web application, on the shortcut bar, choose the mail icon.

  2. In the navigation pane, open the context (right-click) menu for the folder to share, and choose Properties.

  3. On the User details page, under Permissions, choose Add or remove.

  4. Under Users and groups, select the user to share your folder and choose >> to add them to the Permissions list. Choose Save.

  5. On the Permissions tab, select the level of permissions to grant, and choose Save.

Opening Shared Email Folders

You can open an email folder that has been shared with you.

To open a shared email folder

  1. In the Amazon WorkMail web application, on the shortcut bar, choose the mail icon.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Open other inbox.

  3. In the Open other folders dialog box, choose Name.

  4. For Address Book, select the owner of the inbox to open and choose OK.

  5. In the Open other folders dialog box, for Folder type, select the inbox, and choose OK.

    The shared mail folders are now visible in the navigation pane.

    Note

    The shared folders are stored in your Amazon WorkMail web application profile. The next time you log in to the Amazon WorkMail web application, the opened folders are still displayed.

    If you receive a message saying You have insufficient privileges to open this folder, contact the owner of the folder and ask them to grant you access.

    To change folder permissions, in the navigation pane, open the context (right-click) the folder, choose Properties, Permissions.

  6. To close a shared folder, open the context (right-click) menu for the shared folder, and choose Close store.

Viewing Folder Permissions

By default, you have full permissions on all of the folders and items that you own. You can share your folders with other users and groups in your organization by changing the permissions for a folder. The folder permissions provide others with different access privileges to the folder and its contents.

To view folder permissions

  1. In the Amazon WorkMail web application, on the shortcut bar, choose the mail icon.

  2. In the navigation pane, open the context (right-click) menu for the folder, and choose Properties.

  3. In the Properties dialog box, choose the Permissions tab.

  4. For Profile, select a predefined set of permissions, or customize the permissions as needed.

Changing Folder Permissions

You can set the permissions on a shared folder to specify the actions another user can perform on items in folder you shared with them.

To change a folder's permissions

  1. In the Amazon WorkMail web application, on the shortcut bar, choose the mail icon.

  2. In the navigation pane, open the context (right-click) menu for the folder, and choose Properties.

  3. In the Properties dialog box, choose Permissions, Add.

  4. For Address Book, select the users or groups in your organization with which to share the folder, and choose OK.

  5. Select the user or group to which to apply the permissions.

  6. For Profile, select a predefined set of permissions, or customize the permissions as needed.

  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for each of the users or groups in the list.

  8. Choose OK.

Stop Sharing Folders

If you've shared a folder with another user, you can stop sharing it at any time.

To stop sharing a folder

  1. In the Amazon WorkMail web application, on the shortcut bar, choose the mail icon.

  2. In the navigation pane, open the context (right-click) menu for the folder, and choose Properties.

  3. On the User details page, under Permissions, choose Add or remove.

  4. For Permissions, select the user or group to remove, and choose < <.

  5. Repeat as necessary, then choose Save.